Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda 599 (CB600F) reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Les

toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2010-03-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda 599 (CB600F)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned a bunch of bikes, but I stopped looking since I've had this one. Never a problem. In the years that I've owned it I've replaced the tires a few times, plugs, oil, filter and one dead blinker bulb. Biggest issue is the battery. Leave your light on by error for 10 minutes and you are looking at a push start. It's real fussy about starting with a cold engine on a hot day until you figure out how to caress the choke. The exhaust is pretty much pure death. You don't want to stand behind one while it idles. The tank is a small. You'll stop many times for gas on a highway run, but you'll want to anyway as the legs get a bit cramped from the rear-sets. It's brilliant in the city. Decent low end off the lights without the need to rev to the moon. It runs nice and quiet in 'stealth' mode at about 5 to 6k rmp, but if you wick it up a bit it wakes up and screams a nice song. It'll lift the wheel from a start for the first couple gears if you get in the power. The wind from this 'naked' is not an issue until you hit about 140kmph. You can ride around all day at 'normal' highway speed without much trouble. The buffeting is less on this bike then many bikes with screens. (DO NOT BUY A MINI SCREEN, you'll rip that junk off to reduce the buffeting if you do). It could use about 10 more HP, but couldn't they all once you get used to them? If you are a larger person (I'm only 135lbs) you'll maybe want to consider the 919 for the extra juice. All in all, I have zero regrets with this buy and I'm too afraid to sell it to buy a new one which will probably not be as fine as my 599. :) In yellow of course :)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fab S.

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2009-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda 599 (CB600F)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
2004-599, my second bike. Purchased new in 2005. Now with 45,000km. Used for everyday commuting, never a problem, just the usual wear items changed (brakes, tires, chain) and regular oil changes, otherwise all original. You cannot beat Honda reliabilty. I've been riding for 0ver 20 years (first bike was an '83 Honda CM450E, retired in 2005, still ran, but I wanted an upgrade, tired of front drum brakes!) I prefer standard naked street bikes! Hate cruisers and not a big fan of super-sport bikes. The 599 is a great bike, period.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Josh Roberts

Avilla, Indiana

Reviewed on 2007-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda 599 (CB600F)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 599 is my very first bike. I have never ridden anything before, I got on it in the parking lot of Hayden and killed it about 3 times and then I just took off. Very easy to learn how to ride. I think I made a very good choice on the 599 for my first bike, I LOVE IT. I've put just over 400 miles on it in my first 4 days of riding. It has a lot of power and yet very clean to ride. I plan on keeping this bike for 2 years and swithcing up to the Honda ST1300, the bike that I really wanted but decided it wouldn't be a good idea to spend so much on my first bike. I love Honda.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Clinton, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2007-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda 599 (CB600F)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 2004 Honda 599 was my first bike. I hadn't ridden anything until I rode my baby in the parking lot. I picked it up looking for fast and comfortable. I picked very well. I would recommend this bike to anybody looking for an all around bike. The only reason I got rid of it was to get a cruiser so my fiance would be more comfortable. Great bike. I literally cried when I traded it in.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

fernando

santa maria, California

Reviewed on 2007-02-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda 599 (CB600F)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
For being my first bike, I sure do have a lot of confidence to step up to bigger and better rides. I got my 04 CB600 about a year and a half ago. Back then I was still pretty green and eager to rev this thing to the limit. Now, thanks to the bikes ergonomics, performance and simplicity, I can keep up with bigger bikes. I rode some other sport bikes before but never really liked them. This bike feels more adaptable. I used it as a commuter for some time and it was very fun to ride. Recently it only sees the twisty turnies on the weekends and that's where this bike shines. The power is always there for when you need it but it won't bite unless you provoke it. Overall, this bike is a great learners bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ohblackwater

Huntsville, Alabama

Reviewed on 2006-12-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda 599 (CB600F)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 45 years old and this is my m-teenth bike. Prior to this one, I had a Honda Shadow Spirit 1100. I loved that bike, but decided to go with the 599 because of the (former) cruiser's inability to do wheelies. The 599 screams! It inspires confidence from the minute you get on it. The tires/brakes/engine power, all are TOP NOTCH! This bike is the perfect sleeper! It's quiet, and yet it will rawk! I'd like to do something for the comfort factor however, sometimes the seat is a little much on the body after 300-400 miles in a day. A corbin seat would be nice but they don't make one for the 599 yet. Also, I wouldn't mind if the seating position were a little more upright (maybe bringing the bars back and up just a bit), but that would probably screw up your ability to lean into the wind and let the wind support your body on the highway. AWESOME! This is a total Honda folks. Dead-nuts perfect bike. 100% on the quality, and capabilities for a casual ride to work or a 400 mile trip.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John N.

Sahuarita, Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-07-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda 599 (CB600F)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 599 as my first bike one year ago and it's proven to have been an excellent choice for me. I've put 4,500 miles on it and I can't think of any significant flaw - yes, granted, I don't have any other biking experience with which to compare. I still get a kick from it every time I ride it and reliability has been flawless, so what more could I ask? I'd highly recommend the 599 to anyone, but especially new riders.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pat Bedard

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2005-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda 599 (CB600F)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I think N.A.S.A. did a good job on the rocket I traded in for the 599 (Yamaha YZF R6) I am a new rider and the R6 was a bad choice for me. The 599 on the other hand, I love this bike, very comfortable (although the vibration in the pegs will take some getting used to), plenty of power when you want it and very good looking. I didn't like the half fairing that Yamaha and Suzuki had to offer. I highly recommend this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doud Dickey

San Gabriel, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2005-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda 599 (CB600F)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This was my first bike. I was looking for something that would be a little bit of everything. Fun, fast, yet comfortable. And this bike delivered. It has a sporty attitude. However, it's very forgiving. It can be a daily commuter or a real sport bike depending on how you ride it. For beginners it takes some practice. Because it wants to go fast. Very comfortable and sporty, all in one package.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rider

Susanville, California

Reviewed on 2004-10-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda 599 (CB600F)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just finished high school and I recieved this bike as a graduation present. I wanted a Honda 919 but I was scared of the "big bike thing" and that I would pop a wheele and fall off. The 599 has enough power to throw you off but it feels like it won't. It is the perfect amount of performance, comfort, and reliability that anyone could ask for. I give it two thumbs up!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: