Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Motorcycles Reviews (10)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-09-20 1985 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have always wanted a Nighthawk and more specifically one of the 84 through 86 models. Of all the Nighthawks I felt these were the best of the breed. Not only are they the best of the breed, they are one of the best bikes ever built. Things about this bike that really took me by surprise were the little things like self adjusting valves, anti dive front suspension, shaft drive, and dual disk front breaks. The ride is excellent and the power comes right on when you twist the throttle. Even two up riding is not a problem. I live in the northeast where we have many twisting turning climbs and this bike has yet to let me down. That said the bike is a little give and take. don't expect sport bike handling and power and don't expect touring bike comfort. The faring provides no wind protection at all. It is more of an aesthetic piece. Finding parts for these bikes is an exercise in patience and persistence. Ebay and salvage yards will become your friends when you get one of these. What you get in return, though, is one of the best engineered, lowest maintenance engine transmission combinations ever created. Shifting is smooth and the engine feels solid. The riding position makes this bike a very easy bike to maneuver and inspires you to really want to get out there and see what it can do. Living here in VT we have many unpaved roads and this bike handles them with ease. Two substantial upgrades I have made are adding a Corbin seat and Progressive Suspension springs and shocks for both the front and rear. The Corbin allows you to ride a lot longer than the stock seat ever would and the Progressive Suspension makes the bike come alive in the corners and is better for two-up riding. I find myself riding this bike far more than I intend to. I do have a new BMW R12GS which I truly love. That bike will be the one we take on vacation in a couple of weeks. Never the less, if you are new to motorcycling or an experienced rider such as myself, don't pass one of these by they are too much fun!
- Rob Louis, Burlington, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-02 1985 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my black/red (type A) 85' Honda Nighthawk CB700SC 5 years ago. Since that time, I have changed the oil, air filter, front tire, plugs, and cleaned the carbs (because the tank was rusted - had that Kream'd). My only complaint is that the tank rusted even though I use fuel treatment, and always keep it topped-off. What stands out about this bike? The technology you get for something made in '85: adjustable Trac (anti-dive) front shock control, front disc brake, oil cooler routed through the frame, shaft drive (that doesn't have that chain 'whine'). The handling and weight balance is terrific - I am able to come to a complete stop and then take-off without touching the ground. I see these guys cruise up to and away from stops with their feet off the pegs nearly touching the ground, and chuckle. I very seldom take my feet off the pegs for a stop sign. The speed is invigorating above 6,000 RPM - a blast hits when the main jets kick-in. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone who can find one in good condition. I have learned that you cannot use a K&N filter without changing the carburetor jets, and it's best to use the Honda OEM air filter - not a Uni or any other aftermarkets. Also, have the tank lined (if it's not already) immediately! Another side note: With the age of this bike, I have found that consumable parts are still readily available, but things like gas tanks, side plates, OEM stickers, and the like are no longer available. My next bike? Honda ST1300 with ABS. Why did I rate the bike only 4 stars for comfort... Goldwings take the cake!
- MW, Evansville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-08 1985 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owend my CB700s for two years has 13000 miles on clock this bike has never let me down. I have been to Wales & Devon on it brakes/handling/comfort all FANTASTIC. Why do you yanks get all the good bikes. The main and only problem will be when i do need spares which are hard to get in UK for import bikes. (long time away i hope) happy biking
- Tony, Birmingham, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-18 1985 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Two years ago I sold my trusty Kawi 550 Zephy because I needed money (same old story). Last year my financial situation had improved to the point that I decided to go bike shopping. I was out at a local dealership drooling over the new bikes when I saw the old Nighthawk 750 in the used bike section (they imported the bike as a 750 in Canada). When I walked over to take a closer look at the red and black beauty I couldn't believe the condition of the bike. It had less than 5000 miles on it, and had obviously spent most of its life in a nice, dry garage. A few days later I rode the new old bike home. It was love at the first twist of the throttle. What a great sounding snarl that comes out of those big, black mufflers! The bike suits my style of riding almost perfectly (I don't think that I'd be comfortable on a new sport bike or cruiser). The bike performs pretty well for a machine with 16-year-old technology and the shaft drive and hydraulic valve gear make it a very low maintenance bike. My only complaints are the lack of wind protection (a slightly larger Rifle fairing should cure that) and slightly soft acceleration off the line (not sure what I'm going to do for that, yet). I'm really happy with the bike and hope that I will never get in the situation where I have to sell it. With a few up-grades it will make a great all-around bike.
- Andy Walters, London, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-28 1986 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this model for five years. Bought used from a friend with 4,200 miles on it. It now has 7,400 miles on it and still looks like new. I live in the mountainous region of northern California on the coast, and find that this bike is so versatile, and such a pleasure to ride. I am considering letting it go only due to my obsession for more power. Thinking of the CBR1100XX. Ironically some of the new sport touring bikes resemble this same design, ie. Kawasaki,Suzuki, and Yamaha. Maybe Honda will re-think their strategy and introduce a new Nighthawk CB1100S, for those of us who would like just a little more from a shaft driven machine. 15 years old, and I and this machine still get's with it!
- Brandon A. Lee, Fort Bragg, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-02 1985 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '84 Nighthawk S as a new leftover in April '85. I rode that thing to death...or at least tried because it won't die! I had a transmission bearing noise @82,000 miles, yes, that's right, that required tearing the motor down so I rebuilt it while I had it apart. Now at 105,000 mi. I finally have to retire it for a while. It developed an engine idle problem that no one can figure out and then the starter clutch finally gave out. I don't feel like ripping it down now so I bought a Kaw Concours. (Time to move up!) I'm keeping the Nighthawk though for a future rainy day, I have no reason, much less, desire, to part with this thing. This bike has been the epitome of reliablility! I've never babied it, with a 10,750 redline the needle shook hands with the red on a regular basis. I've put 3 or 4 clutches in it over the years and it only takes 45 minutes with the tools that come with the bike. There's nothing to adjust, just change the oil every 4,000 miles. It's QUICK, (at 9,000 rpm it's like another engine comming on line, they can run 12 sec. flat in the 1/4.) nimble, smooth, fairly comfy, (rode it to NC several years back, 834 mi. in one day.....not a Goldwing but it didn't kill me either!) sharp looking, great handling (!) and it sounds good. They never excelled in any one category but they rate consistant 9+'s in so many. It has to be the best all around, reliable, maintanance-free, performance bike ever concieved in this cc class. How could anything be better?? What more could you ever ask out of a 700cc bike? I make my living as a (truck)mechanic and I don't think I've ever seen a more RELIABLE mechanical device, I was always happy to say I owned it! You just CAN'T go wrong with one of these!
- Rick McCutchan, Sodus, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-11 1985 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used to celebrate my divorce. I would have divorced her sooner if I knew how much I would enjoy this motorcycle. It is a true one up do everything bike. BUT it's not the perfect ride. It is heavy for its size. Its a little small for two up extended rides. And it's almost impossible to find after-market accessories. But all things considered I will probably keep it for those times I want to do some solo peg grinding. P.s. Does anyone know where to find a decent four into one that will fit one of these?
- B. Tann, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-25 1985 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a love affair with this bike in high school. Now, 15 years later, I got my hands on another one. It's an excellent bike - docile enough for new riders. Get up some nerve and experience the bike. It just howls. It still turns heads, and offers a lot of features new bikes don't have for five times the price. A true hot rod if there ever was one.
- STEVE DUNCAN, Bakersfield,California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 1986 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode about 10,000 miles on a 1986 Nighthawk S, using it for long distance, around town, and all weather commuting 15 miles one way. I live in southeast Ohio so I have ridden it on freeways and twisty back roads as well. I am an experienced rider with above average sport riding capabilities but no tolerance for sport bike handlebar position so the Nighthawk S was perfect for my style. It has a better seat than the 87 and older Gold Wings, handles well enough to run with sport bikes under most performance riding, and has a CLASSIC LOOK THAT WILL NEVER GROW OLD. With a Thunder Products Dial-A-Jet the bike improves over the entire range of carburetion, a 90-minute installation with the right tools. I only sold my Nighthawk S because I had been laid off from a job and it was selling season. Unfortunately I sold it just before I found another job, heartbreaker for sure. I will try to find another. A clean Nighthawk S with less than 15,000 miles is easily worth $2000-2400. I know, I sell motorcycles part time. The only improvement I can see that I would like to try on the Nighthawk S would be to fit 17" rims, the 16" rims are the only "dated" looking item on the bike. This is a bargain price motorcycle in the mold of the Kawasaki ZRX1200, before it even existed.
- Mark Krieger, New Philadelphia, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-29 1985 Honda CB700SC Nighthawk S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sit high, see the road & be seen. Comfortable ergonomics and nibble handling. Power peaks at 8500-10000 revs, hold on!!! Low maintenance, ...still. Bikini fairing only for show, minimum wind protection. Great 1st bike, hope I always have one in my garage.
- Dave Dolan, Upstate New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: