Honda CB750 Nighthawk Motorcycles Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda CB750 Nighthawk Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda CB750 Nighthawk Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-01-12 2001 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll probably never sell this bike. It's a solid all-around bike for people who'd rather ride than wrench all the time. PROS: Comfortable 1-up/2-up, easy to work on yourself, cheap to buy/insure, pretty fast, handles very well at speed, extremely reliable and no-maintenance hydraulic valves. CONS: Almost useless rear drum brake, so-so gas mileage (38 mpg. mixed city/hwy.), heavy for a 750cc @ ~500lbs wet, shifter is a bit clunky for a Honda and odd size bias ply tires. If you can find a '91-03 Nighthawk 750 in decent shape, buy it. It'll do just about anything - commute, tour, canyon carve - and won't ask for much in return. I wouldn't recommend it for a first bike because of the weight, but it'd be a perfect first "big" bike.
- bc, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-22 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Hawk nearly 5 years now, and she's got 82,000 miles and still runs strong and true. Other than normal items (oil, filters, battery, tires, chain) only repairs have been rebuild the starter and fix an oil seepage from the valve cover. Oh, yes, and the tach quit (as it does on all these early NHs). Have now added a bunch of stuff, including a fairing, headlight modulator, luggage rack, taillight flashers, hiway pegs, you name it. Will probably keep this bike forever.
- Jay S, South Florida, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-11 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike to get back into riding after a 3 year hiatus. I'll tell you, it has been a great experience and a fantastic value! I rode around Lake Huron and up into Canada. Absolutely NO problems! She does not like 70-80 mph cruising, but at 55 everything is great, including 50-55 mpg! The seat gets a little uncomfortable around 200 miles, but a scenery break takes care of that. I also have a '03 Triumph Bonneville. If I had to keep only one, it would be the Nighthawk!
- Jay, Harbor Springs, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-10 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For a standard, all purpose street bike, you will not find a better handling, smoother riding, more predictable ride than this. If you change the oil every 2-3k on this bike, it will run forever. This is my second one. First was a NH700S in '84 to 90. I rode that to over 75K miles. These things are animals. Not the fastest but definitely not slow. It gets great mileage. It's excellent for taller people or anyone not looking for a cruiser, but who don't want the rice rocket either. It is a little tall for shorter people. My wife is 5'2and can't touch with her feet with the stock saddle.
- Rob R, Clearwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-30 2001 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always find myself online and in bike stores drooling over the candidates I would like to replace my Nighthawk with. Trouble is... all the bikes do what mine does, to a greater degree in most cases. Sure the bike is dated with its bais-plys and old-school suspension. But the machine does everything.. and not too bad either. In the twisties, it changes direction very quickly and in a controlled manner. I still get satisfaction from a hard acceleration. I love the sound. One limitation I commonly run into is the constant footpeg dragging. This is one of the few things that nags me to get a more capable machine The reliability and maintenance can't be beat. Only thing to break was a brake light switch. Not bad considering this bike rides no matter what the weather is. Otherwise all maintenance costs have been to filters, plugs, oil, chains, tires, and a battery. All work done by me. And at 35,000 miles oil consumption is the same as new. Clutch is in need of its first replacement soon. Also keep in mind I am not easy on this thing. Typical commute speed is 90 plus... and I don't hesitate to redline it a couple times a week. Often at outside temperatures near 100. Tires I like to use include a stock size Pirelli up front and a dual tread compound, stock size, Bridgestone in the rear (BT 45). I've found this combo of tires to be great on the bike. Both tires still bias-ply. Otherwise I find it to be a great touring machine. I've spent as much as 22 hours with this bike resulting in a 1200 plus mile ride. I'm considering a ride to Los Angeles on this beast. I wouldn't put it past it.
- Ryan Koenig, Southaven, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-29 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a 92 Nighthawk 750 in April 2005. I am the third owner of this bike, and I must say it has exceeded all my expectations. This is my second bike, I previously owned a 1985 Nighthawk 450. That bike was also solid, but after a few years was looking for something slightly bigger. I "kept it in the family" so to speak and am very happy I did, I will always be a Nighthawk fan. Just rode cross country on my '92 750 from New York to San Francisco and the bike was solid. The chain and sprockets were making noise midway through, but was my fault for not lubing them enough. A little spray every few hunderd miles and they are fine. As for performance, I find it more them adequite. I am not out racing, so highway speeds with ample power in reserve for passing is all I need. I'm not a heavyweight, but I've had this bike loaded down with gear up past 100mph more times then I should have. Reliability? not even an issue with this bike, I don't have to worry about it. Comfort is usually not an issue, but on long rides I would be better off getting some highway pegs as my legs do get stiff. Quality is great. Honda has not let me down yet.
- Bruce Doscher, New York - San Francisco, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-21 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike used. It's a 1993 model and the previous owners put some serious miles on it. I have put many thousand on myself. I'm not a rider that drives it to work everyday and I don't go over the road either (not that you couldn't, that just isn't for me). I like to weekend ride and get away with my bike. This is a great bike as all the other reviews attest but not only ride ability but this is NOT a bike you have to invest time and money into the constant maintenance on. If you are the type of rider that likes to ride a lot and then take a brake and not ride for a while, I'd strongly consider a Nighthawk CB750. It is virtually free of upkeep. With all of the miles mine has and years that I've had it I have only changed oil, the battery once, and tires once (I did replace my Tach when I first got it also). Trust me when I say that is great compared to some bikes out there. If anything does go wrong... you won't be stuck without a part. Honda CB750's are as plentiful as Honda Accords and it hasn't changed a whole lot over the years if you have access to a good motorcycle junk yard. I've owned plenty of bikes and have thrown my leg over many more but this has been my favorite. Easy to ride, always ready to go, and a good price for what you get. I can leave most of my friends off the line and down the road if I wanted to with the exception of just a few super bikes that I run with. I've had tons of compliments on it and have been asked if I wanted to sell it repeatedly, everyone loves to ride it. don't fall in love with a paint job... get a whole bike that you'll love, and the one I love is the Nighthawk.
- J.D., Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-18 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 92 Nighthawk, This is a great bike. My friends and I go on frequent day trips. Most of my buddys have Harley Davidsons, but I refuse to pay the price. My nighthawk performs just as well, if not better. In fact I've had to give some of them a ride, after their bike would not start. The nighthawk will run 50-60mph along side the others. I have no desire to go faster. Yes, you can spend more, have more chrome, louder pipes, but if you want an all around good bike, then the Nighthawk is the bike for you.
- L.Brown, Chattanooga, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-12 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I commute in L.A. traffic almost daily on this bike....about 90 miles per day. As a commuter in traffic, it will leave you sane in an otherwise aggravating situation. I first bought it used around 5 years ago. Other than regular oil changes, the bike is virtually maintenance free. The only thing is the seating position can be a little more comfortable. Traveling 90 miles per day, sitting upright does not do your legs nor your back any favors. I'm thinking of getting some after-marktet footpegs so my legs can extend a little more. Great all-around bike.
- Commuter, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-12 2001 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My very first motorcycle was a 80's model Nighthawk. I bought my 2001 in March of 2001. First thing I noticed was how little it had change for the 80's. Some nice imporvements was the Oil Filter that used a Screw on type as opposed to the Canister type. Second the addition of Hydraulic lifters. No more adjusting!!. Great Bike Fast and friendly. Easy for a begginer and fun for an Expert. I recenlty sold it and got a 2002 1800VTX. In some ways I miss my Nighthawk!
- Michael Freed, Crestwood, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-11 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1995 Nighthawk 750 used in the Spring of 2001. It had slightly less than 2500 miles on it and was stock. I bought it on the opposite side of the country from where I live, so I took some time to get to the East coast and ride it home. Before leaving Boston, I installed some accessories: The factory case savers and centerstand, Givi wing rack and three hard bags, a Kriss Industries Headlight modulator and Tailgunner brake light flasher. The ride was pleasantly uneventful and totally free of mechanical problems, in spite of riding two up and exceeding the GVWR by 75 lbs or so. As a fifty-ish re-entry rider--my first bike was a Norton Commando Interstate--I'm completely pleased with this motorcycle. The motorcycle magazines are routinely underwhelmed with this bike, but that's because it does everything well, but excells at nothing. There are faster bikes, but this bike is more than fast enough and quick enough for a rider with nothing to prove. There are bikes that handle better, but how many riders can fully explore those limits on the street? Raised on what is now called "standard" motorcycles, the appearance of this bike is very pleasing to me. Add to that the low maintenance-lube the chain, change the oil-and this is a near perfect motorcyle, IMHO. Could it have better brakes? Sure, but the stockers are fine, and there are cheap and easy up-grades available. Better suspension? Yeah, more state-of-the-art boingers would be nice, but, again, for most people, these are just fine, and they can be up-graded, too. In a motorcycle world where way too much horsepower is frequently considered not enough, this bike doesn't stand out. For the guy who wants a good bike that doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is, it's a fine bike. Kurt Jensen
- Kurt Jensen, Eugene, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-30 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1992 CB750 Nighthawk just recently. I bought it second-hand from a guy who'd actually bought 2 years before for his girlfriend. Well...the girlfriend lost interest and bang!!! I found searching online for a bike. I have to tell you, first bike, second bike or last bike, the Nighthawk is great. Like I said, mine's a '92 with less than 5000 miles. It looks almost exactly the same as the '02 model. It will knock your socks off zero to 60 -- it's no Yamaha VMax, but it'll go. I'm a big guy (6'3", 250 lbs) and it is great for me. The bike's very light in comparison to just about all others I've ridden. The corner handling is great as well. The Nighthawk sits pretty high off the ground, so you tall folks should enjoy it. A suggestion would be to buy a set of custom footpegs to fit on your custom chrome engine guard as well to stretch out on for longer journeys. Once you get to 60 in 5th gear it'll still get up and go pretty well if you're worried about passing other vehicles. To sum this up, I probably won't let my Nighthawk go either, once I'm ready for another one. Excellent all-around bike and you just cannot get more for your money.
- Clayton , Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-09 2001 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am still loving my 750 Nighthawk. I now have 3500 miles on it and everything is working great. The only maintenance that I needed done on it was to get the chain tightened (about $20) which was around 2000 miles. After riding and getting to know this bike, I am very pleased with its performance. It has plenty of power to get the front tire up if you want to, but it wasn't made to ride wheelies like the lighter sport bikes. that's not bad considering it weights 500 pounds. This bike is a great standard for pleasure riding through town or for a weekend getaway. The standard seat is comfortable and the riding position is just right. It has plenty of braking power with the front disc and back drum. The gas mileage ranges from 45-50 miles per gallon (w/ a 4 gal. tank not including the reserve). I really like the way it looks as well. The black paint and chrome really go good together. It gives it a tough image. I will keep this bike for a while, good job Honda on making a great bike. (Just remember riders-don't ride under the influence of any drugs or alcohol. Ride safe!)
- Sonny, Eastern, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-11 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine in 95 and I love It. Put new Bridgestones on it at 10,000 miles upgraded the chain and at 15,000 miles still runs like a top. This bike is an all around good buy for the money. It's not a speed demon but it will go fast enough to kill you. Moving up to a Calif. Guzzi this fall but I'm keeping the Nighthawk. Ride safe.
- GLF, Vancouver, BC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-11 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't ridden in 44 years when I bought my 92 Nighthawk in Sept 2000. It's sure a great bike to get back into the sport with. I only paid $2200 for it, and it's been trouble free so far. I've put almost a 1000 miles on it. It got me hooked again. I bought a 2000 Harley FXDL the next month, but I couldn't get rid of the Nighthawk. It's just to much fun to ride. I'm going to keep it for as long as I'm riding.
- Harley Lawrence, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-28 1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 92, which I bought in 96. I have used this bike for commuting and touring and it has proven very reliable, very good gas mileage, and smooth running. With soft luggage, you can travel anywhere. Installed Michelin radial tires, made for smoother ride, good handling. Could use some improvements to suspension. Overall a great bike for the money.
- Ray, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: