Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda CB750 Nighthawk reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

bc

United States

Reviewed on 2014-01-12

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I'll probably never sell this bike. It's a solid all-around bike for people who'd rather ride than wrench all the time. PROS: Comfortable 1-up/2-up, easy to work on yourself, cheap to buy/insure, pretty fast, handles very well at speed, extremely reliable and no-maintenance hydraulic valves. CONS: Almost useless rear drum brake, so-so gas mileage (38 mpg. mixed city/hwy.), heavy for a 750cc @ ~500lbs wet, shifter is a bit clunky for a Honda and odd size bias ply tires. If you can find a '91-03 Nighthawk 750 in decent shape, buy it. It'll do just about anything - commute, tour, canyon carve - and won't ask for much in return. I wouldn't recommend it for a first bike because of the weight, but it'd be a perfect first "big" bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charlie Bravo

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2021-04-20

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
On my third Nighthawk, first a 2003, then a 91, now a 92. I keep getting lured away by other CB's, the 919, 500X, and the 1100, only to keep coming back to one of the most underrated bikes of all time. I have crossed the US on mine, both on and off road, alone and with my dog on the back of the bike; there's not much more that can be said that hasn't already been said about performance, except slap on a set of Avon Road Riders and you can hang with anyone in the twisties. But for the love of all things holy, don't buy one and start chopping it up, as that's sacrilegious.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jay S

South Florida, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my Hawk nearly 5 years now, and she's got 82,000 miles and still runs strong and true. Other than normal items (oil, filters, battery, tires, chain) only repairs have been rebuild the starter and fix an oil seepage from the valve cover. Oh, yes, and the tach quit (as it does on all these early NHs). Have now added a bunch of stuff, including a fairing, headlight modulator, luggage rack, taillight flashers, hiway pegs, you name it. Will probably keep this bike forever.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jay

Harbor Springs, Michigan

Reviewed on 2008-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike to get back into riding after a 3 year hiatus. I'll tell you, it has been a great experience and a fantastic value! I rode around Lake Huron and up into Canada. Absolutely NO problems! She does not like 70-80 mph cruising, but at 55 everything is great, including 50-55 mpg! The seat gets a little uncomfortable around 200 miles, but a scenery break takes care of that. I also have a '03 Triumph Bonneville. If I had to keep only one, it would be the Nighthawk!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob R

Clearwater, Florida

Reviewed on 2008-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
For a standard, all purpose street bike, you will not find a better handling, smoother riding, more predictable ride than this. If you change the oil every 2-3k on this bike, it will run forever. This is my second one. First was a NH700S in '84 to 90. I rode that to over 75K miles. These things are animals. Not the fastest but definitely not slow. It gets great mileage. It's excellent for taller people or anyone not looking for a cruiser, but who don't want the rice rocket either. It is a little tall for shorter people. My wife is 5'2and can't touch with her feet with the stock saddle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan Koenig

Southaven, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2006-08-30

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I always find myself online and in bike stores drooling over the candidates I would like to replace my Nighthawk with. Trouble is... all the bikes do what mine does, to a greater degree in most cases. Sure the bike is dated with its bais-plys and old-school suspension. But the machine does everything.. and not too bad either. In the twisties, it changes direction very quickly and in a controlled manner. I still get satisfaction from a hard acceleration. I love the sound. One limitation I commonly run into is the constant footpeg dragging. This is one of the few things that nags me to get a more capable machine The reliability and maintenance can't be beat. Only thing to break was a brake light switch. Not bad considering this bike rides no matter what the weather is. Otherwise all maintenance costs have been to filters, plugs, oil, chains, tires, and a battery. All work done by me. And at 35,000 miles oil consumption is the same as new. Clutch is in need of its first replacement soon. Also keep in mind I am not easy on this thing. Typical commute speed is 90 plus... and I don't hesitate to redline it a couple times a week. Often at outside temperatures near 100. Tires I like to use include a stock size Pirelli up front and a dual tread compound, stock size, Bridgestone in the rear (BT 45). I've found this combo of tires to be great on the bike. Both tires still bias-ply. Otherwise I find it to be a great touring machine. I've spent as much as 22 hours with this bike resulting in a 1200 plus mile ride. I'm considering a ride to Los Angeles on this beast. I wouldn't put it past it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce Doscher

New York - San Francisco, New York

Reviewed on 2005-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just bought a 92 Nighthawk 750 in April 2005. I am the third owner of this bike, and I must say it has exceeded all my expectations. This is my second bike, I previously owned a 1985 Nighthawk 450. That bike was also solid, but after a few years was looking for something slightly bigger. I "kept it in the family" so to speak and am very happy I did, I will always be a Nighthawk fan. Just rode cross country on my '92 750 from New York to San Francisco and the bike was solid. The chain and sprockets were making noise midway through, but was my fault for not lubing them enough. A little spray every few hunderd miles and they are fine. As for performance, I find it more them adequite. I am not out racing, so highway speeds with ample power in reserve for passing is all I need. I'm not a heavyweight, but I've had this bike loaded down with gear up past 100mph more times then I should have. Reliability? not even an issue with this bike, I don't have to worry about it. Comfort is usually not an issue, but on long rides I would be better off getting some highway pegs as my legs do get stiff. Quality is great. Honda has not let me down yet.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J.D.

Birmingham, Alabama

Reviewed on 2005-01-21

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my bike used. It's a 1993 model and the previous owners put some serious miles on it. I have put many thousand on myself. I'm not a rider that drives it to work everyday and I don't go over the road either (not that you couldn't, that just isn't for me). I like to weekend ride and get away with my bike. This is a great bike as all the other reviews attest but not only ride ability but this is NOT a bike you have to invest time and money into the constant maintenance on. If you are the type of rider that likes to ride a lot and then take a brake and not ride for a while, I'd strongly consider a Nighthawk CB750. It is virtually free of upkeep. With all of the miles mine has and years that I've had it I have only changed oil, the battery once, and tires once (I did replace my Tach when I first got it also). Trust me when I say that is great compared to some bikes out there. If anything does go wrong... you won't be stuck without a part. Honda CB750's are as plentiful as Honda Accords and it hasn't changed a whole lot over the years if you have access to a good motorcycle junk yard. I've owned plenty of bikes and have thrown my leg over many more but this has been my favorite. Easy to ride, always ready to go, and a good price for what you get. I can leave most of my friends off the line and down the road if I wanted to with the exception of just a few super bikes that I run with. I've had tons of compliments on it and have been asked if I wanted to sell it repeatedly, everyone loves to ride it. don't fall in love with a paint job... get a whole bike that you'll love, and the one I love is the Nighthawk.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

L.Brown

Chattanooga, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2003-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own a 92 Nighthawk, This is a great bike. My friends and I go on frequent day trips. Most of my buddys have Harley Davidsons, but I refuse to pay the price. My nighthawk performs just as well, if not better. In fact I've had to give some of them a ride, after their bike would not start. The nighthawk will run 50-60mph along side the others. I have no desire to go faster. Yes, you can spend more, have more chrome, louder pipes, but if you want an all around good bike, then the Nighthawk is the bike for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Commuter

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2003-05-12

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I commute in L.A. traffic almost daily on this bike....about 90 miles per day. As a commuter in traffic, it will leave you sane in an otherwise aggravating situation. I first bought it used around 5 years ago. Other than regular oil changes, the bike is virtually maintenance free. The only thing is the seating position can be a little more comfortable. Traveling 90 miles per day, sitting upright does not do your legs nor your back any favors. I'm thinking of getting some after-marktet footpegs so my legs can extend a little more. Great all-around bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: