Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda CB900F 919 reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Paul Jimenez

Pittsburg, California

Reviewed on 2005-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CB900F 919

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike I would have to say is everything that I thought that it would be. It's a perfect seat height, great on power, perfect for long distance or for hooligan tactics through the backstreets. I sold my '02 Gixxer 600 for my '02 919 and took a hit on performance but I'll never sell or trade this bike. My girl loves it, even with her on the back, I'll still egg on Mustangs who try me, new or old. Great for beginners, cheap on insurance and worth the money... every penny! Check out my Fighter Jet on 2 Wheels
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Huh?

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CB900F 919

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Before I begin I must state the obvious: This bike is VERY powerful and should be driven with a small level of fear and respect. OK now that I've said that, off I go. I got my bike on Ebay from a great guy. The first bike I drove was in South Korea. It was a 125cc Suzuki, kind of a cuiser/street bike. It was great. When I got back home I drove my Pop's 750cc Yamaha Magnum. It was more powerful but it wasn't that bad. When I drove the 919 for the first time I was worried about all the potential torque and speed. Here's my point. If you use your head and learn the bike's capabilities it is great. Acceleration anywhere you need it. It is very agile and will surprise you. Obviously not meant for long, long trips but nothing mods wouldn't enable. For commuting and short trips it is fun. I LIKE feeling the wind on my chest. I LIKE being able to smell everything while I'm driving. Honda's reputation on quality is what I'm banking on. The bike is comfortable enough. Nothing is more comfortable than a car. Whenever someone asks me how I feel about the 919 I say: "It's a powerful standard looking motorcycle." I hope that helps persuade or dissuade whoever reads this rambling review. Beware!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ET

Summerfield, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CB900F 919

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my 919 since last September. It does have great power and is extremely comfortable up to 70 mph. It isn't designed for high speeds (>85 for prolonged periods) or roadracing. If racing is what you want to do, get a bike designed for racing and use it on a track, not the streets. As street bikes go, this one performs extremely well. The throttle response is verrrry crisp so watch those takeoffs and sharp turns. There is definitely exhaust smell in the pocket of air behind the rider/passenger. The back of your riding jacket will smell of exhaust somewhat but you won't smell it while riding at all. I also recommend that the passenger stay very close to the pilot to minimize their breathing exhaust fumes during the ride. The smell in your riding clothes will go away after a little "airing out" after your ride though. The fit and finish is first rate. Wish it had a center stand though. On the plus side it has tremendous torque all the way from idle to redline, great neutral steering, its VERY lightweight for 900+ cc bike, this makes handling a breeze. I'd recommend this bike to anyone. You should be able to get one for about $7200 + tax, tag, setup. You'll have to pick the bugs outa your teeth from smiling so much while riding a 919...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jody Vogel

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CB900F 919

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my 919 for a year (bought Apr 02) and have enjoyed every moment of it. I never liked the feel of the stock Michelin Hi-Sport tires so at 4500 miles I pitched them (they could have probably gone another 2k) in favor of Metzeler Sportec M-1 tires. These tires are great and makethe bike feel much quicker and inspire tremendous confidence that the will keep on gripping. My recommendation - get the dealer to swap the tires at purchase time OR burn up those Hi-Sports and get a good set of tires and you will find even more reason to love your 919.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick Knowles

Garden Grove, California

Reviewed on 2003-03-25

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CB900F 919

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my bike in Oct 2002, and after 3400 miles I still get up and can't wait to ride it. I love the responsiveness of the throttle and the responsive brakes. I ride the 405 traffic jam everyday and the bikes cuts the traffic like a hot knife through butter. I would recommend this bike to anyone who enjoys the wind on their chest. Knock on wood, I haven't had any problems.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Adams

Harrow, Ontario

Reviewed on 2003-02-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CB900F 919

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned 3 1981 cb900f's and was in my glory when this bike came to my dealership... i bought it 12 days after it arrived in canada :) I love power too much to buy a cruiser and i think fully faired bikes look like a condom on wheels :) If you can't see the engine it aint a bike :) nothin like the brutal reality of a 919 cc 4 banger hangin out of a stripped down frame... I sold my 2000 vfr800 interceptor and regret nothing. The 919 suits my ever desire
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

St. Joseph, Missouri

Reviewed on 2002-12-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CB900F 919

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike gets better and better all the time. Handling, suspension, power - it's all good. For more infor check www.geocities.com/honda919rider I would buy another! Issues: 1. Exhaust makes clothes smell and also made wife sick/kid almost pass out - I installed a CBR900RR exhaust and fixed that. 2. Chain - lasts about 4000 miles . . Warranty replaced it though - Honda is KING!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2002-09-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CB900F 919

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have had a problem with starting the bike and Honda does not know the problem. For the first week I had the bike, I had no problem starting it. After about 700 miles and when the bike is warm, it will not start or is very difficult to start. Everything sounds ok at the start, but the engine does not start. Honda told my dealer to change the starter. Anyone have this prob? This is my first bike. So, some of the noises might me common to this kind of bike [I do not know]. 1. The brakes drag/rub (I can hear them especially when riding along-side a highway barrier). The dealer said that was normal. 2.The transmission is very loud. I can hear the burrr of the trans over the humm of the engine at certain speeds..especially when accelerating. Anyone else experience these things? Are they normal? Please reply to: tony ignot42@yahoo.com
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris H

Dothan, Alabama

Reviewed on 2002-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CB900F 919

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
On my bike, the speedometer is not accurate above 55mph. I tested its accuracy by attaching my Magellan GPS unit to my tank bag which will tack actual ground speed to an accuracy of +/- 1 mph. Whenever the speedometer states you're doing 90 mph, you're actually doing only 80 mph. Somewhere between 55 mph and 70 mph, the speedometer gains about 10 mph above your actual ground speed. I havn't done a scientific study of this, but it seems the faster you go, the wider the gap spreads between the speedometer reading and your actual speed. Is this a manufacturing defect, or a marketing psychological ploy? You be the judge.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul

Middletown, Delaware

Reviewed on 2002-06-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CB900F 919

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 919 has been compared to the FZ1 since it's introduction. I'd like to put my slant on it. Bikes are more than specs and looks. It seems that the mags get folks hyped-up needlessly. As with everything you buy, boats, cars, etc., you need to find what suits you. If you put attributes such as handling, power delivery, appearance, comfort and price in order of importance to you, the answer becomes obvious. I happened to have narrowed my choice of all bikes in all classes to the FZ1 and the 919. When I compared them side-by-side I chose the 919 for riding position, usable power for the street and appearance. I think that the average rider loses out when they are confused and mislead to think they can handle a bike like the testers. Horsepower is not how a bike rides, handles or performs. Keep it in perspective, do you want to cruise, tour, sportride or race. Pick the class and select the bike that is best for your needs. By the way, I am thrilled with the outstanding handling, terrific power delivery, great comfort, unique styling and excellent overall value of my 919 in that order. This is a bike that I love to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: