Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda CBR1000RR Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

93 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

ndevin1000

Ottawa, Kansas

Reviewed on 2012-04-04

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda CBR1000RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went from a modded 929 to the 1000 and they are both great. I love the technology - dampener, smoother fueling, suspension, etc. Midrange power is amazing, but the comfort lacks especially for passengers. I did easy fixes and small tweaks. It's a great bike, track, road, however you ride. I put 36k on my 929 and shouldn't have waited so long to get a 1000.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin

Lakewood, Colorado

Reviewed on 2011-06-11

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Honda CBR1000RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This machine has so much power. I haven't been able to use it - or really come close. Other than that, it's light and nimble and really shines in medium speed sweepers; i.e., curves in the legal 35-50 mph. range. In those curves, it is easy to lean it all the way over to the edge of the rear tire if there is enough curve. Even then it feels planted. When it gets down to the 10-15 mph. hair pins, there is too much bike to get fast but it hustles right around them unless you give it too much gas. Then it gets choppy with brake and gas. I've set the suspension to a pretty soft setting and it works really well given some of the bad roads you run into along the Front Range here in Colorado; lots of holes and sharp bumps. If you want to cruise around, it's an easy bike to ride. It has a lot of low end and mid-range grunt. Compared to my other bike, an '02 RC51, this feels like a bicycle. Once leaned over and on track, they feel similar. Getting slowed down, this bike is much easier. Picking it back up, the RC is much smoother being less powerful, heavier and much slower. With this bike I think I could get bucked off if I wasn't careful with the gas. This bike would be really, really fun on a track (duh! what bike wouldn't). The body work is an origami special. You have to be very patient when taking the plastic apart. If you are it will go right back together. But working with it I am afraid it is going to break. Fit and finish are typical Honda; rich paint, everything fits as it should, I doubt I can break the motor. When you work the engine it fires right up to 225 degrees. As soon as you back off the temperature drops right back to 180. When the motor hits about 4k, it really starts to growl; about 8500 you better be hanging on-tight! I've changed the oil twice now and it's easy. I doubt you would be disappointed with any of the new liter bikes. I know I'm not with this one. The only "bad" mark is for comfort and it's a race rep. Its OK for a race rep. I like the looks too; a really gorgeous bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryland

Plano, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-01-25

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda CBR1000RR

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I traded in my first bike - an '09 Kawi Ninja 250R. I have to say it was a huge jump from that to a liter bike but it's been a pretty easy transition. The mid-range power can catch me off guard sometimes but overall I love it so far! I bought it used. It was broken in very well and already had flush mount fronts and a fender eliminator for the rear. It's an awesome bike! I have to say though, I've been on a few buddies' 600's and one gixxer 750 and they are a lot more comfortable than my CBR, but I'm getting used to it pretty quick. It's just a different riding position than I'm really used to. I still love this thing, though. I bet it will be a while before I get another bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

U

Killeen, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Honda CBR1000RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a very nice bike indeed. As with so many others, I agree, at 3500 RPM the bike comes to life. At 5500 RPM, game over, as the flapper mod opens. Its about this time the rider smiles. There's no mistake she is a liter bike but you would never know it cruising around the city under 5000 RPM. The bad side is the seat, on long rides two hours+ - your backside will hurt. I heard the after market seat has good marks. The bike will seem laggy until 2500 RPM. It can be fixed with exhaust or fuel mapping if you wish to do so. Though, I see no need if it's a street-only bike. Power: Um, power wheelies 1st through 3rd gear confirmed, no clutch, just twist the throttle. Speed: 1st gear 98 mph., I have been clocked at 177 mph. 6th gear and the tach was still wrapping around the clock at a nice pace. Overall: this can be a beginner's bike. Just keep the RPM below 5500, change the seat and you will have yourself a very, very nice ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

super1000rr

Falls Church, Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-04-13

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Honda CBR1000RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is by far the sickest bike I have ever owned. I was looking for a 1000cc bike that wasn't going to weigh a ton. No doubt the 2009 R1 is a nice bike, but it was that pig size I couldn't deal with on track. The 1000RR is virtually fatigue free and the power! Whoa... it comes on SO SILKY smooth. The FI is spot on, which I couldn't say about the R1. I rode the R1 back to back with my 1000RR on track, the 1000RR was hands down easier to ride fast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bad VooDoo

Elkridge, Maryland

Reviewed on 2010-02-11

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Honda CBR1000RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is just a follow up to my long winded review. After breaking this bike in and letting her run a little bit I can tell you that she truly is all you would ever want and more. I had the chance to ride every bike in the class except for the new BMW and I can tell you that the CBR truly is a work of art and should be the Ferrari of bikes! You owe it to yourself to sit on every Litre to see for yourself. The Honda's and Suzuki's will feel about the same in the seat and the Yamaha's and Kawi's are about the same. With that said Honda is the lightest, most flick-able, rider friendly bike out! And by rider friendly I do NOT mean weak, slow or docile. What I DO mean is that the CBR will do exactly what you want her to when you want it! There are no unexpected surprises with this machine! Ok so I lied, there is 1 unexpected surprise with this bike. On the left side under the panel for rear seat removal there is a wire, this is your prewired connection for your battery tender. It is nicely tucked under so you can buy your tender and plug it right in right away with out taking apart your battery connection! Great Idea Honda! This bike taunts you to press her in every aspect. She is super sticky and just rolls through the curves! No matter what kind of rider you are, whether you are Mr bike night, track and street, everyday commuter, or Mr I just want the chicks red light captain. This bike is the one machine that does it all. She will make good riders great and 1st time Litre owners confident. To recap- 1 Lightest Breaking system that will stop you right quick. 2 Best slipper clutch in the business 3 Electric steering Dampener that eliminates head shake, wobble, and vibration keeping you on the ground with super confidence. 4 The best slipper clutch in the business, say goodbye to rear wheel hop! 5 A finely tuned engine that will keep you comfortable in everyday traffic and mean enough to make a fool of anyone that dares to test you. In my professional opinion I recommend this bike over the 600's because the new 600's are wicked fast too, and they are actually very dangerous because most people underestimate them. I am not saying but this bike the day you pass your BRC, but I am saying if you have some miles under your belt and are thinking about a new 600 or this machine, Buy this for the extra cash! 600's are track bikes, very light and fun but so is the HONDA cbr 1000rr! She is a 600 on steroids! And the best part is...She KNOWS IT!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D

Shelbyville, Indiana

Reviewed on 2009-12-15

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda CBR1000RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I really don't know what to say, but that this is one fast machine. It has excellent bottom and very good midrange power that can be extremely scary. Great bike for the street because you don't have run past 9 and 10 grand to get the power you need. All in all I think this bike is the best of the bunch.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry K Bibby

Anderson Island, Washington

Reviewed on 2009-10-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Honda CBR1000RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have to say I agree with all of the positive comments I have read here. I am a vet rider, age 53, and have ridden for the last 45 years. Somewhere around 35 motorcycles later, I have found that the big CBR is hands down the fastest, most sure footed and best handling motorcycle I have ever owned. This thing is a tractor that pulls you very quickly to breathtaking speeds with razor like handling! Very impressive package! I have been a fan of Honda since my first motorcycle and spent 12 years at 4 different dealerships in 2 different States in either parts or service. You will not beat Hondas quality and reputation. Bought this in June of 2009 and in early July I was off to Laguna Seca, near Monterey, Ca. for the Moto GP races. Over 2000 miles in the saddle in 4 days caused me to only give the bike a 4 for comfort. I am working on a custom seat right now. I realize what the bike is designed for and purchased it with both eyes wide open but need to make this last adjustment. 75 to 100 miles without a short break is about all I want to do until I make this change. I could not be happier with the CBR and plan to keep it a long time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Redandblackattack

Southern, California

Reviewed on 2009-10-09

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Honda CBR1000RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Incredible handling, awesome brakes, mind numbing power. What else is there to say? LOL 600 cc chasis stuffed with a liter bike mill.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt Novak

Sykesville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2009-10-07

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda CBR1000RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my '07 1000RR for 7 months now, and I absolutely love it. I have put 4k miles on it this season, and ride this bike some for commuting and some for pleasure. It handles well, has TONS of power, and the most torque'y first gear of any of the liter bikes I've ridden. I rode the bike to Ocean City, MD a few weekends ago and was able to get 50mpg (keeping it under 75mph). The bike is a bit uncomfortable after 2 hours of continuous riding, but you aren't buying it for comfort. It does everything well and has legendary Honda reliability. I'm continuously amazed at how the CBR can take anything you throw at it. You will not be disappointed!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 10
  • 1 - 10 of 93 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: