Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda CBR1100XX reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

80 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Howie

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2009-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed1997 Honda CBR1100XX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought with 12K, now have 20K. My 12th motorcycle and 3rd Blackbird. Should have never sold the other 2...first one I got with too little riding experience though :) Probably the best bike of all time. Smooth as glass...ooozes quality everywhere from the insane power to incredible brakes, shifter, chassis. Totally reliable. A shame can no longer buy them new. Had a Hayabusa...felt like cheap vibrator compared to the Blackbird.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big Bob

Thousand Oaks, California

Reviewed on 2009-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR1100XX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Blackbird represented the best that could be offered without a jet pilot's license. A cult following in Europe, this machine flys like an F-16. The linked brake system provides for excellent braking without thinking about stopping. The bike cuts through canyons like a Samurai sword. Not for the timid, you will turn into a slingshot if you are not careful. Not for the timid or pop wheely crowd.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Conyers, Georgia

Reviewed on 2009-04-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR1100XX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is an outstanding machine that I bought new on 4/2/2002. It runs like a watch, has linear, liquid acceleration, almost like an electric motor and it does not vibrate. 300-500 mile day rides through 3 states are common. It has the brain-rotting speed to pass... anything.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2007-04-20

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR1100XX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a closing review for my 2003 CBR1100xx. I have owned this bike since new for 3 years. And what a blast it was! I picked up the last bike at my dealership right out of the box and kept it stock. A very rare thing to do with a motorcycle. I just couldn't re do perfection. The bikes performance was astounding and left me speechless on many occasions and left me with a silly grin on my face. I have had the bike up to 140MPH on the freeway, that was fast enough and didn't have to downshift from sixth gear for more power. This is the smoothest bike I have ever ridden and it gets better with mileage. She will cruise at 100MPH all day long without a complaint because that's what she was built for. The engine sounds like a jet fighter, just roll the throttle back and that big ram air fed 1100 spools right up and effortlessly hurls you down the road. The ride is very stable and smooth. Cornering is excellent for a machine of this size and weight. I actually ground off the chicken strip on the right peg form doing off ramps at 60MPH - awesome bike! Honda got it right with this bike and it's a shame they don't make these anymore. Now for the bad. The only complaint I have is the ergos of the bike. If your short in the inseam like me, the bike is too big. You will be stretched out like a drag racer across the fuel tank. After 30 minutes discomfort sets in. My wrists and back took the most abuse. My Sunday ride landed my at the chiropractor on Monday. And no matter what I tried, the pain wouldn't stop. So sadly I had to sell it. My advice is if you're 6 ft or greater this bike should fit you just fine. If you're short like me test ride it first to see how you feel. I'm sure you will love it. I know I did.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rock barnett

oswego, Illinois

Reviewed on 2007-04-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR1100XX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have now logged over 8000 mi. since Sept.05 on my 03 bird. Got it used with 7000mi. The bike has run like a new bike since day 1. The bird is as great as a sport tourer as it is a sport bike. Riding alone the bike is a rocket, 0-100 by the time you hit 3rd gear. Crack the throttle at 4000 rpm in 1st and the bike will stand straight up. It's a heavy bike so it doesn't dive into corners like the lite sport bikes but it still handles great. I like to take longer rides with my wife on back, and we both love it. Took a trip down onto the ozark mts. in 06 500 miles 1 way without a hitch. Handled great through the twisty mountain roads with the wife on back. We have the givi bags and largest trunk so we can easly hold all our gear for a long weekend. I don't know what more a person could want out of a bike because the blackbird has it all! Ride On!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alex Esser

Valparaiso, Indiana

Reviewed on 2007-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR1100XX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
In a world of 180+ hp sport-brutes, why would Honda (who had such an amazing bike in the late 90's) just bow out of this competition? I ride with some real nut jobs; long two-up wheelies, drag racing, endo's, everything. I have never gotten one ounce of 'dis' from any of them. I have also handed out my share of whoop'ins. For what Honda put into these bikes, they're right on. Is a guy gonna start beating the big boys? Not without mods. This bike will get into the mid to low 10's stock with 9's close at hand, and NO other sport-brute will leave with you for the price - that's for sure. I recommend a full exhaust and tech-box immediately for anyone. Saves weight and gives power (half the pipe burns too). Also, if you want to wheelie, stiffen up your rear susp. There's no need to change gearing, but if you're not going to do 180, it'll make that trip to 150 A LOT quicker. Watch out for this thing in first gear though; it has a monster midrange so it will 12 oclock like nothing if you don't know what you're doing. Remember those little 1000R's have to wait for power.. 1100's don't. This was the first new bike I've ever bought and if Honda can't pull thier heads out of their butts, I'll have to get a Kaw next time. If money's no object, get a 14; if you don't want the BIG size, get a Busa; if you have a tight budget, still want big power, and you still want the size, then get a Blackbird.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

Woodbury, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-09-19

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda CBR1100XX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
5 years of trouble-free fun. I've been riding sport-oriented bikes for thirty years (now 46 years old). Have owned Kawasaki, Suzuki, and Honda brands in the past. This one's got great acceleration, and I appreciate the classic lines, quality candy red paint, and lack of high school hooligan appearance. Very refined, as one would expect from this hyper-tourer. I've taken her on some pretty long jaunts with a level of comfort I couldn't have dreamed of based on the bike's performance. Short spirited hops are rewarding as well. My only complaint would be the handling, but it's a minor sacrifice for the creature comfort. I've ridden the 'Busa and the Kawi, but I'm still quite happy with my choice. I usually don't keep bikes over five years, but don't think I'll be replacing this one for a long time. I've found the perfect match for what I consider most important: performance, some degree of comfort, understated style, and reliability. Thanks Honda.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick

Hastings, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR1100XX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
WOW, a super fast sport bike that is comfy enough to tour on! 1,000 mile days are nothin for this bad boy!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jamie

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2005-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR1100XX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my '02 used with 1630 miles in Aug. '05. I also have an '05 Busa. The XX is 100 times smoother than the buzzy Busa and nearly as fast and much more satisfying to own. Bulletproof so far. Build quality is second to none. The Busa is a bit more comfy to ride and has a better stock suspension than the XX but the XX is so smooth in every gear... no vibes. Might be the greatest bike ever. And it's wicked fast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Justin McMillan

Calgary, Alberta

Reviewed on 2005-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Honda CBR1100XX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a blue 1999 blackbird it has full micron exhuast and upgraded computer,I first test drove a 1997 carbed blackbird then mine and wow the fuel injected bike is much more responsive and aftermarket pipe make this bike a beast I have had it up to 270kmh no problem. The power this bike makes over 7000rpms is insane but is also a very easy bike to ride slow, but make no mistake about it this bike likes the open road. This is an amazing machine. PERIOD.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 8
  • 1 - 10 of 80 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: