Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda CBR929RR reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

83 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

chizzau

fairfax, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda CBR929RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I absolutely love this bike, I used to ride a 600 F4, took a 3 year break and got back on this 929 and it felt right at home. The power delivery and reliability is impossible to rival, it is probably the most fun bike I have ever ridden.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tyler

Athens , Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda CBR929RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I owned my 929RR for a little over three years. I acquired it from a friend who upgraded to a 2007 1000RR. This bike is all-around great. Although it does lack some of the power of the newer 1000's, it still gets up and goes! It runs in the low 10 second 1/4's and does 175. My gas mileage has been about 35mpg, give or take a couple depending on how late for work you are. This bike is extremely reliable. I got it with 18,000 on the clock and rode it up to 32,000 before selling it to one of my really good friends (that should attest for the fact that I know it will be running well for years to come.) It's one of the lightest open class bikes ever which translates to nice snappy turn in and great flickability. The brakes are great, huge and beautiful. The suspension is the only thing I haven't been 100% happy with. I have been fiddling with the adjustments for a long time but can't seem to get it right where I want it. Many people recommend upgrading the front springs to aftermarket, or sending the forks out. This is a much cheaper option than going with other high price suspension pieces which are great, but cost almost as much as you would pay for a 2000 929 at this point in time. The only problem I have ever had with it was the spark plug backing out a couple times. This was solved by buying the correct size extension for my socket wrench, because it's a really tight squeeze to get them tightened correctly. I removed the flapper from the air intake, which was only put there for noise reasons. It made the bike pull a little harder and sound much gnarlier in a good way. This bike likes to shake it's head too, so I would definitely recommend a steering stabalizer. I have a GPR and it works great, and they have great customer service. I also have a 2bro carbon-fiber slip on pipe. It sounds and looks great, but it will fade to a dingy goldish color if left in the sun too much. My friend and I just made a home made undertail/licence plate remover from sheet metal and it looks great and seriously took 10 minutes to make and install + paint time. That made the rear end look great. I could talk about how much I love the bike all day. But what it really comes down to is it's a great bike for the street. It came out before the big four turned their super bikes into full out track bikes with seating and bar positions that will make you ache on long trips. I find I can ride 160 miles straight with relative ease and little discomfort (which is how many miles you will get out of an almost full tank). I love this bike so much I am thinking of buying a 954RR as my next bike, which is almost exactly the same as the 929 but with a little more power and different plastics. You will not regret getting one. And just for all you haters out there, this was my first bike. It's not too powerful for a newbie rider, it all just depends on how far you turn the throttle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Fairburn, Georgia

Reviewed on 2006-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda CBR929RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the 929 used in 2002 from a guy I knew. The bike has been a champ over the last few years. While in Florida for college it was my only form of transportation. Even though it was kept outside every day it started like a dream and was just as much fun on the ride to class as it was on the weekends!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chris

fort mohave , Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda CBR929RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well number one let me say that all the reviews that I read are what made me decide to get this bike.... I traded an atv and some cash for this bike. The man I got it from was scared of it... I have ridden a lot of fast bikes... I had a gsxr-1100 1990 that was raced out...super fast but not very comfortable to ride...this bike so far is amazing....lots of power handles like no other bike that I've ridden... I've only had it one day...and man oh man I am very impressed with it.. I'll tell you what?.... I think I will be very happy with it... I need to get it serviced probably today... It'll give me an exscuse to go riding
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

lawrence

detroit, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-03-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda CBR929RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I remember my first ride on my 929RR from my CBR 600f4. I couldn't believe the power behind this bike after just tapping the throttle, it almost went up into the air. I'm pleased with the braking & lightness compared to the R1. I love this bike. For all users, if you don't put a pipe, steering damper, or command control on your bike, you only have 60% of what the bike actually is coming out of the plant.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Carman

Ocala, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-10-24

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda CBR929RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2001 Honda CBR 929RR for my first street bike. A stupid decision because of how unexprienced I was. But I will say this... with all the respect I have given the bike, it does perfect. I know that I can get on the Honda and just go. I run ONLY DUNLOP 208 ZR's best tires ever, strongly suggest them, it's your life... you're already on a Honda, just finish it up with Dunlops. Buy a Honda. You won't be let down! Keep up the good work guys!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

wrdhugo

las vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2004-04-18

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda CBR929RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the best bike that I have ever rode. I have driven my fair share of bikes, but they don't dare to compare to the CBR29. Have fun ride hard but keep the rubber side down.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Fredericksburg, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-01-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda CBR929RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike rocks. I owned a 900RR back in 1998 and this bike blows it away. Mods include a Scotts steering damper, a Micron Exhaust and a Power Commander III. It's the Erion Racing edition. I bought it in January and have been riding in 30/40 degree weather. Can't wait for the summertime.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

VladiP

Bloomfield, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2003-04-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda CBR929RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bough a 00' 929, used, about 6K on it. Have put another 2K since. I was thinking of getting a smaller bike, this being my first one and all, but I'm a sucker for pretty things, besides every1 and their mother has an R6 or a 6R. Comparing it to my brother's 2002 Kawi 6R, is like comparing a Z3 to a 911 Twin Turbo. I do not wheelie on purpose, but with the 929 you just can't help it. If you don't lean forward, up it goes, even in 3rd. The only major problem the CBR has is the head wobble, YOU MUST GET A STEERING DAMPER. Having little experience riding, coming out of a turn it started shaking, I panicked, boom ended up flying down the road NOT on my bike. Thank god for frame sliders and grass, only cost me a little cleaning work to fix it up. My friends who have the SCOTTS steering damper on 929s say that problem is taken care of. My friends with GSXR1000s when they ride my bike, all they can say is WoW I didn't expect that from a Honda!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Zippy

Appleton, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2002-10-15

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda CBR929RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 11 track days, and 17K miles, it is still the best sportbike I've ever owned. The 929 is my 5th new sportbike. I've just had a blast with it. Been riding sportbikes for 20+ years, and the this is the best package altogether. Runs great, no problems with it. It is great on the track. I added a Scotts damper, but have done no other modifications to it. The throttle is extremely responsive, so a steady hand is needed. I am running a 180 on the rear, which makes it turn in even quicker. I would buy another one anytime.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 83 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: