Honda CBR954RR Motorcycles Reviews (81)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda CBR954RR Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda CBR954RR Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-12-09 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2003 CBR 954RR Fireblade and it is the best bike I have ever owned. It is fast, secure and cool. I love my motorcycle. Take care of your bikes because they have feelings like you and me.
- 2003cbr954rr, college station, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-09 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I want to start this review by telling you a bit about another bike I owned two years ago - a brand new Ducati 1098S and fitted a full termignoni exhaust system. Then I want to tell you about a bike I bought two days ago - a second hand 2003 CBR 954RR. Guess which is the better bike? You'll have to wait and see. First the Duke. It had presence, killer low/midrange torque and gorgeous ohlins suspension. I put 12k on it. But what they don't tell you in the brochure is that it's not a super easy bike to ride fast. I never really trusted the front end no matter how much I played with rebound and compression damping and ride height. The steering was super sharp but the rate of turn seemed inconsistent, especially at low to midrange (i.e. less that 80 mph). It would kind of flop into a corner and you had to trust it would catch when sometimes it wouldn't. I almost lost the front a few times. The sheer grunt made riding the bike hard quite challenging. You had to be super delicate with your inputs. The engine braking was good for a big twin but every time you chopped off the throttle, there would be this huge weight transfer to the front. Then when you opened it up, it would lurch back. Tricky but rewarding. Then I picked up the CBR. Apart from the sound, I just can't fault it. It has sharp, accurate steering. I love to trail brake. It has nice balance and it's good on the brakes and off throttle. There's plenty of grunt down low but nothing that will spit you off. It holds a line with the best of them, but here's the thing - I acutally think it feels better midturn than the Duke. I know Ducati's are supposed to have a rep for midcorner speed but I've owned one - ridden it on the track and the street - and I prefer the blade. Trail brake to the apex, weigh the outside peg, nail it. Repeat. Is it balance, tuned flex, good geometry? Probably all of the above. It's like a squat little bulldog that can dance. What's more, I prefer this blade to the more recent versions of the same model. Even newer models of bikes like the R1. I love the sharp but chunky looks - I like the fact it gets a bit twitchy without a steering damper. The build quality is flawless. It just feels like it has had more time spent on design, construction, testing...whatever. I was surprised this bike turned out so good. If you're thinking about buying a new sportsbike, even a Ducati, consider riding one of these things. The best bit is, they look almost as good as new and you'll save 2/3 off the price. Bargain.
- Adam Burke, Canberra, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-16 2002 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a 954rr for 2 years. The only major additions I have added is a scotts steering damper and a corbin front seat. Even though the old girl is gaining in age she can still keep up and better most newer liter bikes, as well as being better in the twisties then most 600cc bikes. A good aftermarket exhaust, with a PCIII gets rid of the studder in the lower RPMs, with the flapper mod and the HETV mod it helps even more. The riding stance is very comfortable compared to all the newer bikes. Not so race oriented and it keeps a lot of pressure off of your wrists, and the after market seat keeps your arse in one place and feels much better than stock. And of course the scotts steering damper gets rid of that headshake for the most part. There are also A LOT of parts out there for these bikes aftermarket and OEM. My only complaint is that this bike is not as stable as new as newer bikes so it makes the power a little harder to harness when really getting on it. But this is not a starter bike by any means but if you can get one of these bikes, do so. They are rare and beautiful pieces of work. And better yet it is a Honda so it will last forever. ENJOY.
- carlosfinch, tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-21 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is all anyone will ever need. This is my second bike and the best by far. It has speed of the unknown. Invest in a steering damper because you'll soon find out why at high speeds. It has a redline of 11.5rpms. I've made it to 170 m.p.h. in 5th gear at 8000 rpms. Plenty of room left in 5th with 6 still waiting. Torque is always there. Be careful though. NOT FOR BEGINNERS.
- cbr954rr, washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-29 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you get a chance to see one of these pretty rare bikes, buy it. The bike handles awesome and has absolute power and handling. It is fast, comfortable, reliable... It's a Honda. It is known for its incredible all-around power. The powerband is so smooth. Cruising through town, or down the highway, it will never disappoint.
- Tony Anderson, Eyota, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-08 2002 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned this bike for four years now and it's still my top pick for a street bike. The build quality seems better than most other brands and even better than the new CBRs (which now have flimsy plastic gas tanks). Everyone always raves about the GSXR's and the R1's because they are a few tenths of a second faster in the quarter mile; but on the street, the difference is barely noticable. You can do a 70mph wheelie while spinning the back tire all in first gear, how much more power could you possibly need? The bike is also very comfortable on long rides too. My only complaints are that the throttle feels a little twitchy at low speeds and it sometimes falls into a false neutral when shifting gears. Also the rear fender/ license holder looks ridiculous, the first thing I did was replaced it with a Fender Eliminator kit.
- Demonspeed, MIlwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-14 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love everything about this bike. The Titanium color is great. The power is more than enough not to mention I am comfortable riding it daily. I hear others complain about the stock seat but it doesn't bother me and allows me to slide off the edge easily. I haven't had one issue with this bike since I brought it new in 04. I am a maintenance oriented person so check my bike regularly but I never found anything out of the ordinary to replace or fix.
- Spencer, Fort Bragg, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-22 2002 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 20th motorcycle. I'm 59 and have ridden approx 500K mi. I bought it used, 4 yrs old, with only 3600 miles on it. Except for some snatchiness off idle and an occassional clunk when shifting, it's perfect, at least for me. One pleasant surprise: it's actually comfortable on long trips. Strangely, averaging 75-80, I've managed 50mpg. I'm surprised to hear about bad mileage. Zero oil usage. Wonderful midrange. Weak below 3K, but comes on strong just below 4. Smooooth.(esp.65-90) Bet it will still feel young years after Gixers have started falling apart. It's a keeper.
- John Airsman, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-12 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awsome bike! that's all really. It is reliable, snappy, and it has more than enough power. It is just a dang good bike. I would recommend this bike to anyone out there looking.
- andrew , bucyrus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-27 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having ridden a 929 Blade for the past 18 months and needing to get another bike after a massive track accident, I decided to go for another Blade. Spent a few weeks looking around for a decent private buy and came across a few 954's. Decided to upgrade and have had the bike for two whole days now. Did my first 70 Km's this morning and this is what I have to say. Bike feels a little flighty in the front and I will fit my steering damper salvaged from the 929 accident to help calm the front. Feels smaller and much faster turning in than the 929. Power delivery via the fuel injection is much smoother. The build quality is great and the paint job superb. haven't really had a decent opportunity to open her up so will explore the power curve in the coming weeks. The gears are very positive and better than the 929's (the 929 did have about 54,000 Km on the clock though this one has only 6,000 Km on her). Will be doing a trip down to the best kept biking secret on the planet in a few weeks time. South Africa's lowveld region Mphumalanga Province. Several hundred Km's of brilliant roads in the beautiful semi-tropical region after which I will really know how well she can perform.
- Joe Visser, Johannesburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-16 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I will make this short. The 954RR is often seen as a 600 bike that they some how fit a liter motor into. As nimble as a 600cc class bike but with a good deal more HP. I am not a very agressive rider so do not begin to push the bike near it's limits. Not a bike for all day riding because of it's typical sports bike riding position. But man this beast is fast!!! And turns on a dime!
- Craig, Puyallup, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-20 2002 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. This bike handles well, very light easy to flick back & forth. Its not the most powerful of the liter bikes & has a snatchy FI at very low speeds until bike warms up properly so when you read complaints about this item its because they don't let bike warm-up properly before taking off. One of the best paint finishes of the Jap bikes. My bike has been dumped 2 times & all I have had to do is replace plastics. Best quality of the Jap bikes! Red & Black paint scheme looks awesome also.
- Bert Williams, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-30 2002 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Honda quality is always top notch. I was driving straight down on a long street one day to the lake (125miles). I cracked the throttle up to fourth and fifth, doing a 155mph. I was just feather light and flying! For a sportbike, I would say this CBR954RR is the bomb! Thanks!
- airiders, Merced, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-19 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 2001 F4i which I never had a problem with and recently upgraded to the 954RR. Wow. What a masterpiece of engineering. This bike has the exact same weight as the F4i with a 60% larger engine. That should say enough, but this bike is incredibly quick and seems to blur reality when you twist the throttle. Razor sharp handling, controllable wheelies with ease and grace. I am extremely pleased with this bike overall and it is an excellent value right now as you can find them in a reasonable price range. My buddy has a Triumph 955i Daytona and we swapped for a while. The Honda was so much better handling and so much quicker. It was hard to believe they had the same size engines. The 954RR is 2 seconds quicker to 60 MPH than the Triumph.
- firemedic10c, Dawsonville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-05 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought the brand new 2003 Honda CBR954RR about two months ago. I had upgraded from Suzuki SV650s. Compared to the Suzuki (moped), this has an unbelieveable amount of power. I was driving a nice long street stretch one day when I had decided to have a little fun with the bike. Well anyway driving down this street and cracked the throttle in second gear and the bike came up like a feather. I was amazed that the bike could do that. All and all I wouldn't trade it for anything else. Oh and two weeks later some guy decided to take a u-turn in front of me and I slammed on the brakes and went head over heals. The bike is getting fixed, thank goodness.
- Chris, weymouth, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-04 2002 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 2002 954RR from a friend. It had 2500 miles on it, with a Yoshimura bolt-on and a Lockhart smoke windscreen - more mods to come later. I am thoroughly impressed with this bike. It delivers all of the performance of the current liter bikes, with a considerably higher comfort level. Sure, the magazines rave about the new ZX-10 and the Gixxer 1000, but I rode both in addition to the CBR 1000, and chose the 954. For the street, you can't beat the ergos of the 954, and I'll gladly take that in trade for a small degree of performance difference.
- Sean, Lake Stevens, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-05 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up this bike as a leftover and got it for a steal. It is such a blast to ride! This is by far the best handling bike I've ridden, and the brakes make you stop so fast your tongue will stick out!! Seriously, the 330mm rotors have incredible braking power while maintaining control and predictability. The only negative feedback I've received under incredibly heavy breaking (90+mph down to 35 mph) is a little stutter from the front end. Other than that, perfect. The engine accelerates very well and will pull hard from 3200 rpm to redline giving you a powerband that feels electric, seamless, and very manageable. When you begin to utilize the full throttle, straights become very short and corners come quickly. Fortunately this bike brakes and handles so well, you feel safe, confident and in control. The stock tires on my bike are the Michelin Pilot Sports. They are fantastic and provide excellent feedback in corners as well as providing great tractability coming hard out of corners. Exhilarating!! My only minor complaint is the transmission: it is notchy and slaps around a bit (noisy), but it hasn't given me any problems and the gearing is great. For the street you only need two gears anyway: First and Sixth. :) But the ones in between add some real excitement! I really like the analog tach and digital dash, and the ergonomics of the bike fit me like a glove: It really inspires confidence in corners and helps push your abilities while still being very forgiving. For a sportbike, this thing is snug and comfy and is fun to commute on. It loves to cruise and heat up on the twisties. I am very happy with this Honda and I'm glad a bought it. Oh yeah, in these times of higher gas prices, I'm receiving about 43mph. What a great bike! I've left mine completely stock. It is whisper quiet, so I attract no attention and don't piss off any homeowners: I can quietly speed along, unnoticed. If you have the opportunity to buy a new leftover, you'll save thousands and have a bike that handles second to none and accelerates fast enough to amaze police! Get one if you can, you won't regret it.
- CheckMate, Montgomery, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-27 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a F3 600 to a 954RR in 2 months. Everyone told me it was too much bike, but it is a perfect bike for me. It has all the power in the world, but you can ride it like a grandma if you want. I was hesitant, thinking it was going to be too jerky or powerful, but don't buy into that, if you have a few years of riding dirt or street, this is the perfect bike. It is comfortable, very light, and has an awesome motor! Get used to having to do a lot of counter steering in the corners with it, but once you get the hang of it, you will smoke 600's like they are standing still and hang with any bike on the street, if not beat them.
- Dewayne, Saginaw, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-17 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last bike was a 2002 ZX9R Ninja. It was sold before my move to Colorado. Upon arrival here, I wanted to get another bike. I decided on the 2003 Honda 954RR. Brand new, held over model. Not only did I get a sweet deal on a great bike, but I am pleased overall. Comfort is definitely up on the R1, pre 2004. The bike seems to me to make a lot of noise, however. The gear shifting is loud and it "clunks" into gear. Fuel injection is a little hesitant below 3000 RPM. But once it winds up, I believe it is as fast as anyone needs to go on two wheels, (sometimes one wheel). Looks are awesome, and Honda quality has always been top notch. My friends are still riding mid 1990 model F-3's with tens of thousands of miles on them. No, the bike is not Honda's "top dog"... but the maneuverability far out weighs the few tenth of a second the ZX10R will beat it by in the 1/4 mile. Not to mention your legs and back won't be killing you when you get there. All in all, a SOLID performer and most dependable thing going.
- Doug, Colorad Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-28 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
7,500 Km (4660 miles) in 5 months. One long ride of about 800Km straight with many shorter rides. Two track days. AND I LOVE THIS BIKE! Anything above 50 MPH is comfortable and it is a great sports tourer. It's cheap to run, goes, stops and looks great. I've found the fuel injection a bit 'off/on' compared to other fuel injected bikes I've ridden. I bought this new during a 'run out' sale. I would buy it again for sure.
- Tux, Oz, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-08 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi guys, been riding the 954 for about one and a half years. This bike is a great all arounder and is always hungery for speed and acceleration. She can't stay below 2700 rpm and once you pass this point, it flys! The seat is a bit hard and your wrist will be sore but what do you expect... a bike tuned for optimal performance?? Its the most sexy and lightest among the rivals and it handles corners the best! She will bring you down and up! I have been going touring with my buddies, riding hayabusa, R1, Gixxer, 929, zx12r in Malaysia and the truth is 954 is able to catch up with them and overtake them if you are daring enough... When corners come, then you realize the true real life of a sportsbike.... never mind people saying the 954 is slower but what makes a true sportsbike is speed, acceleration, weight and most important of all the rider and cornering.... last but not least, do not wear shorts when riding her, the engine is hot enough to burn your skin. She is a FIREBLADE!! Cheers to the 954 riders out there!!!
- FIREBLADE, nil, Singapore

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-17 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I have put in excess of 9300 miles on the bikes since August, 2003. I broke her in and afterward I rode with her solo through Colorado. It was a 3500 mile trip in 10 days. This bike can do everything and is extremely easy to live with on a day to day basis, especially due to its light weight. It doesn't have the gut wrenching punch of my second bike, a Kawasaki ZX-12R, but instead it handles extremely well for an undampered bike. If I had to choose right now a bike to stick with for the rest of my life, it would be this one. She has served me well and I wish I could keep her, but I want to try different things. The styling attracts attention (especially women, who have taste). The only 2 quirks - abrupt fuel injection and twitchier handling in the corners, once the pace gets up (triple digits). Finish and utility are exceptional. This is a bike that will have you smiling for a very long time.
- Hristo, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-15 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the only bike to own! It is so fast. Nothing beats the 954RR!!! I love eating up R1's and GSXR's on the race track. Gotta go, it's time to ride. See ya at the Track!
- Speed Racer, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2002 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has a great throttle response and the handling is excellent. I bought my CBR brand new in 2002 and it still surprises me everytime I take it out. Next year I am planning on buying the new CBR1000RR, which replaced this awesome bike. Honda is just getting better and better every year!
- Steve, Chester County, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-04 2003 Honda CBR954RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my new Honda CBR. I traded a Yamaha YZF 750R in on the bike and let me tell you that bike was a piece. The new Honda handles like a dream. It is extremely quick, just a little twist on the throttle and you are gone. The powerband is smooth and pulls hard from low rpm's. I thought about the new R1 and the new CBR 1000, but settled for the 954 and I couldn't be happier. It is a great looking bike that gets attention. On top of that it is not hard to insure. If you are thinking of getting a litre bike, Honda is where it's at. Ride Red! Peace.
- Brandon, Hinsdale, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: