Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda CBR954RR reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

81 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Adam Burke

Canberra, Alabama

Reviewed on 2010-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR954RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I want to start this review by telling you a bit about another bike I owned two years ago - a brand new Ducati 1098S and fitted a full termignoni exhaust system. Then I want to tell you about a bike I bought two days ago - a second hand 2003 CBR 954RR. Guess which is the better bike? You'll have to wait and see. First the Duke. It had presence, killer low/midrange torque and gorgeous ohlins suspension. I put 12k on it. But what they don't tell you in the brochure is that it's not a super easy bike to ride fast. I never really trusted the front end no matter how much I played with rebound and compression damping and ride height. The steering was super sharp but the rate of turn seemed inconsistent, especially at low to midrange (i.e. less that 80 mph). It would kind of flop into a corner and you had to trust it would catch when sometimes it wouldn't. I almost lost the front a few times. The sheer grunt made riding the bike hard quite challenging. You had to be super delicate with your inputs. The engine braking was good for a big twin but every time you chopped off the throttle, there would be this huge weight transfer to the front. Then when you opened it up, it would lurch back. Tricky but rewarding. Then I picked up the CBR. Apart from the sound, I just can't fault it. It has sharp, accurate steering. I love to trail brake. It has nice balance and it's good on the brakes and off throttle. There's plenty of grunt down low but nothing that will spit you off. It holds a line with the best of them, but here's the thing - I acutally think it feels better midturn than the Duke. I know Ducati's are supposed to have a rep for midcorner speed but I've owned one - ridden it on the track and the street - and I prefer the blade. Trail brake to the apex, weigh the outside peg, nail it. Repeat. Is it balance, tuned flex, good geometry? Probably all of the above. It's like a squat little bulldog that can dance. What's more, I prefer this blade to the more recent versions of the same model. Even newer models of bikes like the R1. I love the sharp but chunky looks - I like the fact it gets a bit twitchy without a steering damper. The build quality is flawless. It just feels like it has had more time spent on design, construction, testing...whatever. I was surprised this bike turned out so good. If you're thinking about buying a new sportsbike, even a Ducati, consider riding one of these things. The best bit is, they look almost as good as new and you'll save 2/3 off the price. Bargain.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

2003cbr954rr

college station, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-12-09

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR954RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2003 CBR 954RR Fireblade and it is the best bike I have ever owned. It is fast, secure and cool. I love my motorcycle. Take care of your bikes because they have feelings like you and me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

carlosfinch

tallahassee, Florida

Reviewed on 2010-04-16

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CBR954RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned a 954rr for 2 years. The only major additions I have added is a scotts steering damper and a corbin front seat. Even though the old girl is gaining in age she can still keep up and better most newer liter bikes, as well as being better in the twisties then most 600cc bikes. A good aftermarket exhaust, with a PCIII gets rid of the studder in the lower RPMs, with the flapper mod and the HETV mod it helps even more. The riding stance is very comfortable compared to all the newer bikes. Not so race oriented and it keeps a lot of pressure off of your wrists, and the after market seat keeps your arse in one place and feels much better than stock. And of course the scotts steering damper gets rid of that headshake for the most part. There are also A LOT of parts out there for these bikes aftermarket and OEM. My only complaint is that this bike is not as stable as new as newer bikes so it makes the power a little harder to harness when really getting on it. But this is not a starter bike by any means but if you can get one of these bikes, do so. They are rare and beautiful pieces of work. And better yet it is a Honda so it will last forever. ENJOY.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

cbr954rr

washington, District of Columbia

Reviewed on 2009-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR954RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is all anyone will ever need. This is my second bike and the best by far. It has speed of the unknown. Invest in a steering damper because you'll soon find out why at high speeds. It has a redline of 11.5rpms. I've made it to 170 m.p.h. in 5th gear at 8000 rpms. Plenty of room left in 5th with 6 still waiting. Torque is always there. Be careful though. NOT FOR BEGINNERS.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony Anderson

Eyota, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2008-01-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR954RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
If you get a chance to see one of these pretty rare bikes, buy it. The bike handles awesome and has absolute power and handling. It is fast, comfortable, reliable... It's a Honda. It is known for its incredible all-around power. The powerband is so smooth. Cruising through town, or down the highway, it will never disappoint.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Demonspeed

MIlwaukee, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2007-03-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CBR954RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I owned this bike for four years now and it's still my top pick for a street bike. The build quality seems better than most other brands and even better than the new CBRs (which now have flimsy plastic gas tanks). Everyone always raves about the GSXR's and the R1's because they are a few tenths of a second faster in the quarter mile; but on the street, the difference is barely noticable. You can do a 70mph wheelie while spinning the back tire all in first gear, how much more power could you possibly need? The bike is also very comfortable on long rides too. My only complaints are that the throttle feels a little twitchy at low speeds and it sometimes falls into a false neutral when shifting gears. Also the rear fender/ license holder looks ridiculous, the first thing I did was replaced it with a Fender Eliminator kit.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Spencer

Fort Bragg, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2006-12-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR954RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love everything about this bike. The Titanium color is great. The power is more than enough not to mention I am comfortable riding it daily. I hear others complain about the stock seat but it doesn't bother me and allows me to slide off the edge easily. I haven't had one issue with this bike since I brought it new in 04. I am a maintenance oriented person so check my bike regularly but I never found anything out of the ordinary to replace or fix.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Airsman

Salt Lake City, Utah

Reviewed on 2006-11-22

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda CBR954RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my 20th motorcycle. I'm 59 and have ridden approx 500K mi. I bought it used, 4 yrs old, with only 3600 miles on it. Except for some snatchiness off idle and an occassional clunk when shifting, it's perfect, at least for me. One pleasant surprise: it's actually comfortable on long trips. Strangely, averaging 75-80, I've managed 50mpg. I'm surprised to hear about bad mileage. Zero oil usage. Wonderful midrange. Weak below 3K, but comes on strong just below 4. Smooooth.(esp.65-90) Bet it will still feel young years after Gixers have started falling apart. It's a keeper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

andrew

bucyrus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-11-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR954RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Awsome bike! that's all really. It is reliable, snappy, and it has more than enough power. It is just a dang good bike. I would recommend this bike to anyone out there looking.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe Visser

Johannesburg, South Africa

Reviewed on 2006-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda CBR954RR

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Having ridden a 929 Blade for the past 18 months and needing to get another bike after a massive track accident, I decided to go for another Blade. Spent a few weeks looking around for a decent private buy and came across a few 954's. Decided to upgrade and have had the bike for two whole days now. Did my first 70 Km's this morning and this is what I have to say. Bike feels a little flighty in the front and I will fit my steering damper salvaged from the 929 accident to help calm the front. Feels smaller and much faster turning in than the 929. Power delivery via the fuel injection is much smoother. The build quality is great and the paint job superb. haven't really had a decent opportunity to open her up so will explore the power curve in the coming weeks. The gears are very positive and better than the 929's (the 929 did have about 54,000 Km on the clock though this one has only 6,000 Km on her). Will be doing a trip down to the best kept biking secret on the planet in a few weeks time. South Africa's lowveld region Mphumalanga Province. Several hundred Km's of brilliant roads in the beautiful semi-tropical region after which I will really know how well she can perform.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 81 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: