Honda CN250 Helix Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda CN250 Helix Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda CN250 Helix Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-08-29 2004 Honda CN250 Helix Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Found a new yellow '04 Helix for sale at a Honda dealership for a discounted price, so went ahead and got it. Have had quite a few other bikes, including a Yamaha Riva 125 scooter, and currently also have a Kaw Vulcan 500. I read all the reviews I could find on the Helix before deciding to get it, since was torn between getting it, a Big Ruckus, or a Morphous. Glad I got this, and so far must agree with what most of the other reviews say about this great machine. The ride is indeed smooth as silk, and very comfortable. What others say about it generating a lot of interest and folks wanting to strike up conversations and ask about it is true. I've noticed it really attracts the attention of a lot of women especially who think it is cute, and the ones I've gotten to take rides on it love it - this thing is a bona-fide chick magnet unlike any other bike I've ever had! While at this point it has over 700 miles on it, it feels like it has a long way to go before being "broken in". Have had it easily up to 70mph, and up to 75 breifly when riding alone. While it has plently of get-up-and-go, and acceleration is quite adequate, unlike a motorcycle, nailing the throttle from a dead stop doesn't do much, and you're never going to take off like a rocket-ship. I think one of the best skills you can develop to get the most out of this scooter is how to work the throttle and smoothly get up to speed while slowly advancing the throttle just enough to get you there. Handling and cornering is extremely nimble at any speed, and it almost begs to be dipped down into a corner like a sport bike. With the low center of gravity, it is quite easy to come to almost a complete stop without having to put your feet down. Between myself and a passenger, we have exceeded the max weight limit (350lbs) by about 100 pounds, but it handles the load fine, and haven't bottomed out the suspension yet. I do make sure though when doing this to take it easy, and stick to known smooth roads where I rarely need to exceed 45mph. I have noticed when overloaded, there is a slight shudder felt when starting out from a stop. It feels like it happens when the clutch is trying to engage, but seems to be smoothing out as the bike get more broken in. The effects of overloading can also be clearly seen in higher readings on the coolant temp guage from the engine working harder. While there is a cooling fan behind the radiator, its effectivness is questionable. You don't want to stay stopped for too long letting the engine idle, or the temp gauge really starts rising fast. While I haven't gotten the temp into the red, it did get into the yellow once after sitting for a few minutes before I started moving to get more air through the radiator. The storage space in the trunk is a lot more than one would think at first glance, and you can easily get a few 6-packs in there. The glove box space, on the other hand, is only enough for a pair of goggles on one side, and garage door opener on the other without much room left over. One must be careful when filling the gas tank, and keep the flow slow when nearing full, or else it will splash up. Overall though, I would have to say that it is the probably the most fun bike I've had, and a great ride, not to mention extremely practical. All bikes have their own unique personalities, and I've concluded the Helix has a lot more charm and charisma than most, even if it is slow and funny looking compared to a big bike. Everybody, freinds and strangers, seem to love it and think "that thing is cool". It's just a whole different mindset, mentality, and way of riding than a motorcycle, and in my opinion a better overall vehicle if you're not concerned with doing any extended road trips on 70mph highways.
- TW, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-02 2004 Honda CN250 Helix Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the fact that I can sit on this bike while it is on the center stand, and my feet are flat on the ground. I love the huge trunk. It stores all the stuff my bike might need - cover, airpump light, a small assorted tool box with various hand tools, 1 quart oil, 1 quart radiator fluid and a mat for me to rest on while checking the tires or oil. It also has a decent sized glove box to hold my cell phone DC charger, and black GI beret. I love the way this beast handles. I have ridden a Reflex and it was nowhere near as comfy. Also, the seat was quite a bit higher. I also have ridden a 200 CC Vespa. While my bike is loaded down, the blasted Vespa was empty. The Helix even loaded down out-accelerated and out-braked the Vespa, and was a lot more comfy to ride. The turning was about equal, though.
- daniel veteto, grand praire, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-19 2004 Honda CN250 Helix Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my first Helix in 1989, when the bike first appeared on the market. I was driving an Elite 150 that had a "pop-up" headlight. A great scooter as well, until I saw the grey Helix in the show room. A few months later, it was mine! I used to commute 1 hour each way to New York City on it averaging 65mph on the highway. Ran like a champ. Anyway, I moved to Florida and left the bike for a new owner in N.Y. The scooter bug bit again, so from 1999 to current I had 3 more scooters. They were Italian models and they were fine, but never the same feel as my Helix. Also remember, Helix production stopped for a few years. Well 2 weeks ago today, I purchased my second Helix. I love it as much as I did my first 16 years earlier. There is nothing like the driving comfort, especially at 6' 1". My legs stretch out nicely! The power is just fine, but no more highway riding, espcially in South Florida! This bike is pure genius. I can only imagine this same scooter with a 400cc in it.
- Dan Gaffen, Coconut Creek, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-03 2004 Honda CN250 Helix Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a brand new cycle rider and my 2005 Honda Helix has been a wonderful bike to learn on! I am only 5'3" and every other scooter felt to tall for me. My Helix fits me just fine. I can't wait to get experienced enough to try Tampa Bay traffic and ride to work.
- Shellie aka Michele, Clearwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-16 2004 Honda CN250 Helix Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
No doubt in my mind, this is THE single best scoot made. Its comfort is legendary. Acceleration is, at the very least, adequate if not downright quick. You will leave most 4 wheel vehicles and many motorcycles behind. My average mpg is 68-73. Braking with the front disc and rear drum is astonishingly good. Top speed I have seen on mine was 75mph before I chickened out. Handling around town is nimble and light. I've been riding motorcycles for a long time, and this scoots' a keeper. Honda got it right the first time, and I'm glad it's back.
- Susan, Colts Neck, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-19 2004 Honda CN250 Helix Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked at all kinds of scooters and settled on the Helix because of the reliable honda name and the way I sit on it. It's low enough for my feet to touch the ground comfortably. It performs like a beast on the road. Plenty of power with some to spare and the mileage is great. Plenty of trunk room too. Would you believe it fits 5 loves of bread? Buy one. You won't be disappointed, and if you are, I'll buy it from you.
- floyd varney, FORT ANN, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-27 2004 Honda CN250 Helix Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a bright yellow 2004 Helix for several reasons. Economically...$2.50/gal of 87octane gasoline is not pleasant when your main pony is a '95 Jeep Wrangler with only 15mpg. My Helix gets 50mpg on average. Have yet to try higher octanes. Practicality... that trunk is HUGE! I hit the weight limit(22#)long before the volume limit. It holds an 18pack of beverages with room to spare! How about 2 gallons on Milk, loaf of bread, 2 dozen eggs and a brick of cheese? Breakfast for the whole tribe! Ease of use... since it's an automatic, my wife has no worries while using it to commute when she desires to. Esthetically... nothing turns more heads. Sure, a larger cycle can go faster from a dead stop (and lose more rubber!) but my Helix is so quiet and so sleek that I spend more time in the grocery store parking lot explaining the scooter than I do actually shopping, loading and commuting back and forth! If you commute short distances and hate to put that kind of wear/tear on your primary pony, I recommend a HELIX! Test drive a new one today, but watch out for older ones that have low miles and high storage. Lack of use is NOT a plus for these beasts... they love to be ridden and I love to ride it!
- Todd Erdody, Apache Junction, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-27 2004 Honda CN250 Helix Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this scooter with previous experience with motorcycles. Due to a bad back I was unable to return to motorcycles but found scooters within my realm for daily use. The Helix combines a great machine for comfort and speed under 65 mph. Fuel consumption has averaged 64-72 mpg which is both highway and local driving using Super Unleaded fuel. I do find that at 65 mph the rear end starts to resonate although I have obtained 70mph on a flat surface or downhill with no headwind and single rider. With any bike you can feel it's upper limit comfort zone from the feel of the frame etc. I feel the comfortable limit for me is at 60-65 mph max. At 65 mph it starts it's resonating trick in the rear end. My wife and I ride frequently (she weighs about 125 lbs.)and 55 mph seems to be it's sweet spot with some reserve power. I perform my own service (600 mile service done) and so far found it to be typical access for maintenance. Scooters in general with their fairing and fender removal make service more time consuming. I did obtain the optional passenger backrest which made a world of difference in handling, balance etc. with a passenger on board. It aids both the operator and passenger greatly. I have now averaged 100 miles per week and find it very useful and manueverable. I do recommend any of the aftermarket tailight modulator devices to be more visible. I have already had several Texas drivers try to take me with them to heaven prematurely. Since the only running light in the rear is the brake light unit, I recommend Honda changes the Helix so the turn signal lights become running lights also.
- Peter, Fredericksburg, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-13 2004 Honda CN250 Helix Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Helix is one of those rare masterpieces of design that approaches perfection in all respects. It is solid as an anvil and swift as the wind. Not many Harleys can keep up on a long road trip because the Helix has almost double the range at 70 mph. While the Harley rider is wasting time gassing up the Helix is still continuing at or over the speed limit, mile after comfortable mile. Joe Ott completed the 1995 Iron Butt Rally on a 1995 Helix, circumnavigating the U.S. and averaging almost 900 miles per day, day after day. It would have been difficult and tiring in a fast car. He and his Helix finished the grueling run and qualified in the Silver, beating out many Gold Wings, Beemers, Harleys, and numerous others, proving that the Helix is a serious machine. The Helix is just as much at home on the open highway as running errands to the grocery store. I've carried everything from watermelons to briefcases in the large trunk. With the Helix you don't worry about shifting gears. You just twist and go. While others are shifting, you are continuously accelerating and enjoying the scenery. This is about as perfect a machine as can be found for doing the job it's supposed to do. No wonder it was resurrected. It should never have been discontinued. I like mine better than the larger follow-ons because it has a lower center of gravity and the step-through is much easier. It rides two-up with very little degradation of performance. You will never go wrong with a Helix. My 1987 model is holding its resale value because of its proven performance and trouble free record. Take care of it and it will give you 100,000 fast miles in comfort.
- Al Thompson, Brady, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: