Honda CRF230F Motorcycles Reviews (118)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda CRF230F Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda CRF230F Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-12-06 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been along time since I rode dirt and just bought 230crf bike and it's perfect for me to get back in the groove of riding a bike. Great power when needed and it's pretty fast. I'm happy with it. I bought it used and it started right up. No probelms yet.
- Tyler , Havana, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-27 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 230 as an upgrade from my 150. This bike is so fast for its size and weight. I got mine to go about 65. It rips up steep hills like nothing. It jumps ok for anything less than 6ft. So I bought the bbr springs and it makes a world of a difference. I fly over the whoops and the doubles (no tripples lol) like nothing. But I have to constantly remind myself that this is a TRAIL BIKE, not a race bike so you can't be screwing around at the track. For a 230, it's a great bike even stock. I just added a few after market parts to suit my style of riding :)
- Brian, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-30 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes and wheelers since I was 4 yrs old and this bike will take me almost anywhere I am willing to take it. I have not had any big problems just a few operator errors that lead from one thing to the next all in all, a great bike!
- mitch, dayton, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-23 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding 8 months ago. My 230 is my first bike. I have experience in pretty much all of the different riding conditions and I can honestly say that I've missed maybe three days of riding this machine during those eight months. It rides well (I've recorded 50 miles plus per day and the bike just rides awesome), it handles well (I've ridden with a CR125 and he couldn't keep up with me on the trails nor could a Yamaha 600 Enduro), and it has good power from the top to bottom. I've ridden my buddy's track with it and had no problem with the jumps (just stiffen the suspension). It's a very universal bike whether you want to cruise in third or fourth or rip it up. I recommend this bike to any one who is a bigger beginner to an experienced rider. 5 star rating.
- RineRider108, utica, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-17 2007 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike for me to ride with my 16 year old daughter, who we purchased a CRF 150F for. I am 45 years old, and while I grew up on dirt bikes, the last 20 years have been spent on asphalt, on Harley's. So this was my re-introduction to off road bikes. I was concerned about buying the 230 because of my height and weight. Started to buy the 250, but honestly the price on the 230 sold me, and I knew I was only going to trail ride it and desert ride it in Arizona on vacations, so I took the chance. I have ridden it about 100 miles, 85% of which was rough trails, and have been VERY IMPRESSED. The bike is light enough that I feel like I can throw it around, and it handles so well it inspires confidence. I can stand up on it and am comfortable doing so. It climbs like a goat, and is geared low enough to allow you to use the bottom end to climb and go through mud without having to hit it wide open. Even at my weight, power is no problem. It has a ton of power in 2nd and 3rd, and goes as fast as I want to go. Overall, aside from the seat feeling like a brick, I am 100% pleased with the 230. Suspension is adequate for how I ride it, and there is more than ample power for climbing, and good enough speed to stay with the kids on trails. For the weekend off road rider, who is not planning to go off of triples at full throttle, it will meet your needs.
- Chuck, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2007 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike for my son. He lost interest, so I ride it on my home track. A great all around fun bike. Good horsepower to weight ratio. While this bike is not a YZ250 race bike, it is an excellent choice for an off road weekend riding in the woods type application. I would highly recommend this bike to all beginners and younger riders moving up from smaller bikes. The electric start feature is a big plus for the beginner. With a little TLC, this bike can be modified to produce considerably more horsepower and the suspension can be massaged easily to allow younger riders to keep the bike longer.
- Rbeckett, Bronson, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-02 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to have a 70 and haven't ridden since I was like 10, so when I got this bike for my 16th, I was a little intimidated. I got on it, learned how to clutch, and am now having more fun than I can describe.
- Joshua, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-27 2007 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my new 2006 Honda CRF 230F. I went from an XR 80R to a CRF 230F. It has the perfect horsepower to weight ratio and it climbs hils and handles the trails just as well as the 250's and 450's. Even with it stock I had no problem keepin' up with the big dogs. It is geared perfectly for hill climbs but still allows you to break free and get into the higher RPM range just like you are racing. I felt so comfortable with the seat height and size of the bike.
- Mitch, Roseville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-11 2007 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike after I got too big for my 125 TTR and this bike hauls some tail. I race up at Dade City against modified 250's and I smoke them with this bike. Awesome power, good suspension, and really reliable starting.
- Ryan, plant city, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-06 2007 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never ridden a dirtbike much less one with a clutch. So I figured it would take a week or so of learning to get it down. But it only took a day! This is a great bike and I'm extremely happy with it. It has tons of power and rides really smoothly. And it's big enough for a 6 ft guy like me!
- Austin Shelnutt, Douglasville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-27 2007 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best 4 stroke bike ever. From trails to track, I burn anyone. I've even raced a KX 85 and burned him easily. I only laid it down once only because I wasn't paying attention but it's easy to pick up and I'm small..lol.
- cody wyatt, abingdon , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-22 2004 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is one awesomely sweet bike. It has more power than any other bike I've ridden (85r,100kx). Also, this bike has never let me down once, starts right up with no hesitation. And, if you don't like fast bikes, it's great for sight seeing, but when you want a burst of power, you're still looking at the right bike.
- Preston, Staples, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2004 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When you hit the throttle, this bike digs holes!I've only had this bike for 4 days, but so far it can do more than any other bike I've owned(XR100 and CR80R). It has great low end torque, and will go up almost any hill in any gear. People think that CR 80's have as much power as the 230 but I could hardly get my CR's front wheel off the ground, with the 230 a small shot of gas and you're going over backwards, and my CR80 couldn't climb any hills. The downsides to this bike are the rear suspension (it's stiff and throws you off the seat when you hit a bump), and the top end speed, it's fairly fast but I always find myself looking for a seventh gear. I rode a KLX 300R, and my bike can do anything that the 300 could do, and doesn't take 6 kicks to start! Thats all I have to say about the CRF230F, but if you wanna screw around on trails, fields, hills, and mud, then the CRF230F can get the job done.
- Shane Carthew, Peterborough, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-31 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't been riding this bike long, but so far, this bike is awesome. Not real fast, but it is very reliable. The electric start is great and it handles really well.
- Mike Klein, Sandy, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-05 2007 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. As a first time rider, this bike has been perfect. The push button start and kick stand are great when riding with my young boys, to be able to stop and help them get back up on the track. My husband who has ridden motocross for 20 years even enjoys this bike.
- kim roussin, Cary, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-17 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the greatest Honda I've ever rode. It is on the border line between medium and fast. I give Honda 2 thumbs up. The bike is perfect for anyone over five feet. I can ride all day with the great shocks. The bike will last forever. It is tough! The bike is the best match for someone coming up from a smaller bike like a 50 or 100. If you are 5 ft tall you can tip toe two feet and flatten one. But overall this is a great bike and is definitely worth the money.
- sam , springfield , Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-29 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is perfect for trails and playing around on. It's easy to handle and ultra reliable so far. No kick start sucks. It's not terribly fast either, I don't care what anyone says. Mine tops out at about 67 mph. Not slow, but not fast. Mid to high end torque is any thing but steller also. However this is a great bike on the trails and is plenty fast for an AVERAGE rider. If you're a moto maniac, get a true race bike, as this is slightly scaled down. It is lower then say, a 250r which makes it easier to handle for shorter riders on trails. It is cold blooded and the seat is like sitting on a brick, other than that it's great.
- josh, kingsford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-22 2007 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for the money! I looked at the 250, but for my needs as an occassional off road rider the 230 fits the bill. I've upgraded the rear shock and front suspension, added an LED tail light and Acerbis headlight for night riding. This is a great bike for the occassional or beginner off road rider. I have 20 years of street riding experience and feel that anyone looking for a weekender bike has found the right match with the CRF230F!
- Eric, Brighton , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-05 2007 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike for the price. A blast to ride, perfect for a first time rider. Get an aftermarket exhaust to bring the bike to life and change the suspension to really see the potential.
- unknown, Arlington, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-24 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 230 about a couple months ago and it is a really FUN bike to ride. The power is easy to get used to and the clutch has a nice and easy pull. Anyway, after riding a couple of months on it, there are some noticiable things wrong with it. Like the main problem is the rear drum brake! It always wears out on me. The other thing is that the suspension is a little soft but ok to live with. The last thing is the gearing. The 6 gear box is all out of whack, but can easily be fixed. Just buy a 50 tooth SideWinder trimetal back sprocket and 15 front sprocket and it improves out the power for each gear (increases top end by 10mph!). So besides all that the bike runs great, and don't get me wrong, it has some power. Personally, riding this has made me a way better rider and has put me to a level to where I could take on any 250 and when I get a little bigger for sure the 450s. Great Honda bike to have fun on.
- nate, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-20 2004 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I first saw the pictures of the new CRF230F in a UK trail magazine, I wanted one. After riding a 1982 XR200R for about 6 years, this had to be the bike to save for. The specs were almost identical to the XR200 in wheelbase, height, weight, and power, but it had 2 things the XR lacked, the electric start and a disc brake. Fitting an mtx disc brake was relatively easy, but the electric start was a different matter. So after saving hard and having a test run, (my wife said I looked right on that bike) I got my CRF in march 2005. I generally trail ride and occasional road use. Our UK trail rides are however very different from those dusty, dry, rock and desert trails in the US. We in the UK, in the south west, have lots of very muddy, slippery, narrow and very wet trails to ride, so something light to pick up that is easily started is a must. I have to say after almost 2 years of ownership, I would not swap it for anything else and I intend to keep it as long as I can ride it. The reliability is excellent and it has taken everything thrown at it, including a 70 mile event in the pouring rain and hailstones. I have left the gears standard as well as the suspension. The only down side I can find is the rear of the front mudguard is not long enough and I have had to fit a plate under the tank to stop all the mud accumulating there on the ignition coil. Honda is now selling direct in the UK, but only as a play bike, an opportunity missed I think.
- shaun matthews, burnham on sea, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-26 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike! It is very fast and great for what it's meant for. Some people say it's no good for jumps above 6 ft and that is true. The bike is not a motocross bike, but is an excellent trail bike. And it is also full size so you won't out grow it and best of all it's HONDA!
- Ryan, Bloomfield, Newfoundland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-15 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The low seat height makes it easy to handle. The electric start option is great. I would prefer to have both kick and electric but that's ok. It is a great trail bike. Completly stock, the bike lacks snap but I found I can maneuver through tight trails with ease. Definitely not made to compete but compared to other bikes in its class, the CRF 230f is a great buy.
- Frank Spathanas, whitman, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-16 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike and it has performed very well, it has great torque for its size and a high top speed. Maintenance wise it's very reliable and the electric star is a luxury. The only thing wrong was the Pirelli tires, they just don't hook up well, but what can you expect from a $20.00 tire.
- Kyle, Puyallup, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is really easy to get use too. First gear is a little slow but it's just because of the low end tourqe. Execellent trail bike. If your looking for your first bike/trail bike this is the right bike.
- Josh Ignaski, West Mifflin, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: