Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-09-09 1987 Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a breeze to start, it has very little vibration, has a great braking system, and plenty of power. It is a little heavy in close, congested traffic, but on the open road, it is truly a dream.
- Michael P. Mayfield, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-09 1987 Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike to see if I'd like the bigger style of a touring bike. My other is a 1987 Super Magna that I love the looks of, but cannot pack for weekend trips on. The Gold Wing has plenty of room to pack, but I needed to put on highway pegs as my legs are in a position that I cannot ride for many miles before cramping. The bike has been very reliable, and has the power to pull that big of a bike. Great lean angles for its size. Easy to work on as well - get a manual and you should be able to do about everything yourself. Great bike!
- Gypsy2-kewl, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-17 1986 Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you have a '86 Goldwing Interstate, or Aspencade, hang on to it i had mine for 13 yr's and never had one bit of trouble with it, I got the new bike bug and not liking the gl 1500 i got a '99 Ultra Classic rode it for two years, service costs out of sight, traded it straight across for a new gl 1800 in June'01. I just hope this new wing is as good as the old '86
- Barry L., Cheyenne,Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-24 1986 Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have really enjoyed my wing. 1986 was a very good year for the wings. I have owned my bike for 4 years and am very happy with it. It's comfortable to ride, even with 2 on board.I have extra lights on the saddle bags & trunk. Easy to see at night. I also have fog lights, which do come in handy. It is very dependable for trips or just around town. I haven't taken any long trips yet,(keep saying I will) but I know it will deliver for me. I am looking forward to this summer and know my wing will be there waiting !!
- J Baker, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 1986 Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One day last year I decided to "buy a bike". I had never owned a bike before, have only been on the back of one once or twice.. I found an advertisement in the paper for an "'86 Aspencade one owner" I am now the proud owner and enjoy the bike very much. It has all the bells and whistles including CB,tape player,head sets, lots of chrome, lights and gizmos that light up or make noise. It also came with the original tool kit and owners manuel. Both in their unopened original cases. The bike is silver color and the original saddle is almost in new condition. With 30K on it and a one owner bike I guess I got lucky but I am very satisfied and couldn't see trading or selling it as it is everything I need to satisfy my riding needs. Great acceleration, smooth ride, stable, and it has the original stator that the Honda dealer says is in fine shape... I took the Pa. safety course and have enjoyed my Sunday rides. I wish I would have done this years ago...
- Grant Brown, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-27 1986 Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved "down" to an 84 Aspencade with a sidecar from a 95 SE. WOW, it wasn't a step down at all! I recently added an 86 Aspencade without a sidecar to my stable. Better suspension than the GL1500. It's an excellent ride, has adjustable riding position, and great handling PLUS it's the fastest touring bike made... the jury is still out on the 2001 GL1800. Both of my Aspencades are in near showroom condition with less than 10K miles. I go through several new bikes every year, but these are definitely "keepers!" The one drawback was already mentioned... the stator will fail on these bikes (if it hasn't already) and it takes a lot of labor to replace it.
- Bob, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-06 1986 Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I too love my '86 'wing. This bike came to me through a co-worker whose father-in-law had died. In settling his father-in-law's estate there was a 'wing that had been parked out in front of the house sometime in '95, had fallen over and laid there for some time. I had admired this bike prior to that and often wished I could afford one. I remember seeing it lying on its side sometime late in '95 and the following winter and early spring. I often wondered why and was about to stop in and find out why. But the bike was gone. Good I thought someone had finally gotten it up and out of the weather. But I found out later it had been moved to the barn in back and had not been ridden since. It had fallen over again soon after being parked in the barn spring '96. Another co-worker who had at one time been a Honda mechanic took a look at the bike this year and was not certain it was worth getting into. But as a favor he took a look. Put a new battery in, cleaned the carbs, as this was the Interstate, new fuel pump, worked on the starter, changed the oil, and anti-freeze. The thing actually started and ran. Amazing!!! Well now my co-worker was asking what I thought it might be worth. I said about $2500-3000. Then he started telling me this story. I got curious and went to see the bike. It was rough, really rough, the radio was gone, there was no shine to it. You could tell it had not had good care. But it had only 40,000 miles on it and the tires were in good shape, maybe 2-3000 miles on those. So I offered $1200 for it and we settled on $1300. Amazing the Lord is truly good I remembering thinking. Well on July 7, Jill and I started our relationship 4400 miles later, we are still together. The thrill is the ride home from work because my four-year-old daughter, Olivia, has me stop in front of the house, blow my horn and wait for her to come out, climb up on back and "help you put away your mo'tah'cycle"
- Ben Durbin, Danville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-05 1986 Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. The 86 is an old bike now, but a well maintained GL1200A still does everything you could want a touring bike to do. I once rode 700 miles in a day and got off only because I wanted to ride just as far the next day. The bike has lots of power for any sane person, provides excellent wind protection and handles well at any speed over 5 mph. This bike can can handle stuffed saddlebags, rider and passenger and cruise along at 85 mph all day long through the AZ desert. If you can find a good one for $3,500-$4,000 you will be able to go as far as you want with power, comfort and reliability. You will also be part of the 'Gold Wing Culture' if you like riding clubs, group trips and that sort of thing. I'm not saying the bike is perfect. Negatives are dated styling, smallish gas tank which limits cruising range, awkward handling at walking speed and a very expensive stator to repair if it needs one, and most will if it still has the original unit. All in all, this is an inexpensive way to experience motorcycle touring at its best.
- Cory W, Pleasanton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-28 1987 Honda GL1200A Gold Wing Aspencade Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike allows for on-board air shock adjustments for both front & rear. This is a very nice feature. I installed a tall Tulsa windscreen for added passenger & rider comfort. I have my Stator checked every month or so during riding season. With 54,000 miles it never had a problem. This is a GREAT first touring bike.
- Gary, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: