Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Motorcycles Reviews (126)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-10-28 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 05 Anniversary model, which I purchased used March, 2009 and it currently has 30k on it. The cremey-smooth engine loves to travel and remains all-around comfortable day-after-day. Only lack of adjustable ergo's (bars/pegs/seat) and want for about 20 more hp keep it from a perfect 5-star rating across-the-board. The handling is the true surprise! Ease of turn-in, steady tracking, and stellar manuverability due to sport-bike aluminum frame and low center-of-gravity (flat 6 design/engine placement) make this a true "sport-tourer" despite the luggage and large fairing. The only limitation is a rider's abilities! Nothing gone wrong in the first 30k. This is highly recommended.
- Gary Klavans, Silver Spring, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-31 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 1989 GL 1500 before I purchased my 2005 GL 1800. I personally love them both. I have nothing but good things to say about my 05 and as of this writing I know of nothing that even comes close to the feel of the "new" goldwing. There is NOT a finer bike made.
- Jeff Eberhart, Johnston City, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-08 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This gl1800 is the greatest bike I have ever rode. I have not had a chance to take it on a road trip but have been riding to work and around town for the past 10 days with limited highway riding. All I can say is each time I ride it, the more I like it. I am the second owner and the bike has just over 23K miles and is in perfect condition. I have ridden road kings & road glides, I had 2 aprilia scarabeo 150 & 500, I loved the 500 but crashed it at around 60mph in Nov 08 and broke my hand, that is a whole nother story about how it happened. I had been looking at gl1800 before the accident but had not found what I was looking for at the price I wanted to pay. I bought a 2006 suzuki M109R and started riding it in May 09, it is super fast but has real loud cobra pipes so was not what I wanted to ride everyday. The M109 to me is like a corvette, great fun to drive, just would not want to ride it everyday. I bought a 2003 Honda silverwing for to and from work and it is great for in town or the highway, it is so easy to ride and you can be a 70-80 mph before you know it. I thought I was happy with the 2 bikes one for my daily rider and one for crusing and then my son bought the 2005 gl1800, I rode it home the day he brought it in and have been riding it everyday since. It is a dream to ride. The radio is great, you can hear it going 70-80 mph through the speakers with my helmet on. The cruise is also great. I can not wait for my first road trip. At this point I would like to keep the other 2 bikes and the gl1800 but am not sure I need 3 bikes, but for sure I a keeping the gl1800. As I have read before if you ride motorcycles, do not ride the gl1800 unless you are willing to buy it. I was asked by a friend today if I ever wanted to buy a harley someday and I said no, I want to ride for the ride and you just can not beat the gl1800, it is top of the class.
- Tra, Vernon, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-25 2003 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have over 50K of great miles on the bike. In 2005 it was triked and even more fun. I have over one million miles on Goldwings and the 1800 is by far the best yet. When better bikes are made, they will say Honda on them. The addition of a voltmeter is a worthwhile upgrade.
- Lee St.Clair, Lake Havasu City, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-01 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '01 Pearl Blue GL1800 used with 190,000 miles on it. It now has 211,000 miles and still runs like new. It is very comfortable even on long trips and runs like a dream. I just finished a 4200 mile road trip with no problems. I was pulling a trailer with it through the Rocky Mountains and it never lacked power. This is an awesome machine and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a powerful, comfortable riding machine.
- Mark, Lexington, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-18 2003 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 3 Harleys and 3 Gold Wings. I always go back to the Gold Wing. This 2003 that I got, after all of the warranty work was done, it's the top of the top of the line of tour cruisers. I get no back aches, no aching arms and do no slouching over. The passenger loves it. You can't beat the e-com. I love the stereo built into the head sets. It gets 42 to 46 miles per gallon with endless power and no high dollar maintenance. I did change the air filter myself; it is a 4 hour job the first time. When I changed the air filter I installed the CB radio. It seems frustrating to have to take off so much stuff for a simple filter but it gets easier after the first time. I can only imagine the second time will be cut in half. There are good movies on maintenance on the web that you can watch to save you tons of money and time! Being short legged I can still touch the ground flat footed and this 1000 pound bike is only heavy lifting it off of the kick stand. After that it's feather-light and handles great in twisty mountain roads. It is like a crouch rocket with saddle bags! Now that I added all of the stuff to it that I added and all warranty work is done it is a 5 star bike with no regrets! Definitely a keeper for life!
- Don, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-07 2003 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden many different brands and models of bikes. None of the cycles could even compare to the Gold Wing. Of course, none of the other cycles were touring models either. When I first rode the Gold Wing I knew I would buy it. It is just pure comfort in the saddle. As for power - there is plenty of it. I've ridden 600 miles daily and I would ride another 600; it's so smooth and comfortable. To me I love my Gold Wing. It's a beautiful candy RED. And it shines like SATIN.
- Rick, Buffalo, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-22 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year I swapped a Suzuki Katana 600 for a 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 750, looking for a smoother, more relaxed riding style. However, I wasn't happy with the power or the vibration. So I recently traded the Vulcan in on a 2004 GL1800 in Titanium. WOW! This is the bike I have been looking for. It has the power and handling of a big, bad sport bike, the ride of a BMW 7 Series, and the bags and trunk to carry a weekend's worth of stuff along. I could never get my wife to go more than 5 or 10 miles on my other bikes, because they hurt her butt. Not so on the 'Wing. She LOVES that seat! If you ever get the chance to ride a GL1800, take it. But, don't be surprised if you find yourself figuring out how to get yourself a Gold Wing! Have owned CB350; KZ750; KZ900; KZ1000; GS-L1100; GSX600R; VN750 and now this GL1800. This is by far the best ride I have ever owned.
- Gunslinger, Henderson, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-03 2003 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The GL1800 is one of the greatest road bikes ever. I had a VTX1800C and DR650SE before this one. I don't miss either one of them. I have knocked out 900 mile days with this comfortable riding bike. I did add an additional intercom in addition to the Honda intercom. I can hook up my cell phone, iPod, satellite radio, and ham radio all at once in addition to the functions of the Honda set up; it is a great set-up. The bike has all the power one would ever need and then some with two people and fully loaded baggage.
- Coopernan, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just passed 10,000 miles on my silver Wing and I can tell anyone interested in touring that this bike rocks. It is indeed an adult crotch rocket. The acceleration, brakes, handling and comfort are legendary. The salesman told me that once you own a Wing, you will throw stones at everything else. HE was right. We just got back from AMA's in Bham. We had 15 bikes of every variety with one Harley guy stuck at the back. Poor soul. The Wing was fully loaded with three chairs, a cooler and full luggage. Despite the weight, I could keep up fairly well on the back roads. Other riders marvelled that I could keep pace. The weight is always there...but underway, you don't feel it at all. I have a CBR 600 and a Duc monster. They are fun but when you want to put some miles on your bike to get that freedom, nothing beats the Wing.
- Michael Cranmer, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-04 2003 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in Fall 2003 and ride it just about every day as my primary transportation. When I first bought it, I sometimes put in excess of 1000 miles a week on it in the summer months, less now becasue of the gas prices. I ride it a minimum of 400 to 500 miles a week these days. It now has in excess of 100,000 miles on it and is going strong. Although it had a couple of warranty problems nothing so critical that it left me at the side of the road. It delivers a comfortable dependable ride. You have all the power you need at normal highway speeds and above with one or two riders. I have ridden it in heavy rain storms with cross winds, wind storms experiencing gusts up to 60 mph (so the weather man said), and even on black ice a couple of times (would not recommend that), in temp ranges from 14 to 108 degrees and it got me where I was going safely. I even hit a deer (luckily not dead center) and while there was a resounding thump the bike tracked perfectly and I did not feel any loss of control. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone who rides a lot and needs a dependable ride. It would probably be overkill for someone who is a Sunday fair weather rider.
- Mark, Durham, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-01 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The greatest bike on the road! I would highly recommend this bike to anyone currently looking. It is very comfortable.
- Billy Watkins, Southaven, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-31 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, this summer (2006) I rented a Goldwing from a big motorcycle dealer in San Antonio Texas. We (my twin brother and I), swapped riding between my Vstar 650 Custom bike and the Goldwing. Well, the Goldwing was the bike my brother, my wife, my kids, his kids, and all our family wanted to ride. I suspect, if my dog had a choice, he would have picked the Goldwing too. The Goldwing is a fantastic bike. Big enough to let you know you're on a machine, but small enough to handle. At stops, I was a bit concerned about holding it up, but now, after about a week of ridding, it's a piece of cake. Moving on, right around Christmas of 2006, I bought a 2006 Goldwing with Nav. Boy am I hooked. When I first rode the rented bike, I felt a bit high and positioned a bit forward. But after only a couple of weeks of riding my own bike, the position feels great. There are over 51 switches on the Goldwing control panels, and if your like me, the more, the merrier. I went ahead and installed a CB, CD, XM satellite sportier radio, Utopia backrest, and helmet headset during a weekend, and found the work to be very fun - but long. Note, you MUST plan every step before you start, since you have to remove a significant number of panels. The most interesting panel to remove was the rear trunk(s) since you must drill two 7/8 holes using a hole bit to route the wires and grommets through to connect under the seat. You must also mount a very nice, but expensive, CD suspension bracket to the bikes rear frame, and route 4 large bolts up through the trunk. I also put the satellite antenna on the truck, on the passenger arm rest. I looked on as many web sites that I could find about CB/CD installs before beginning the task (about 2 weeks of planning), and the only difference that I found was when pulling the front meter cover on a 06, Goldwing version 2001-2005 have screws behind the front speakers while 2006 and 2007 do not have screws. Just gently pull up on the meter, then carefully disconnect the large connector near the key switch, and the two front tweeters, and wa-la, able to plug the CB connector in (CD connections are all under the seat). The Nav is better than most cars! It's a Gamin, so the ladies voice will sound familiar through all 6 speakers on your bike, or in your headset. The entire US is in it and yes, it's better than most car's because there's special 'bike' features, like - auto muting, volume control vs music control, speed volume control, wave point adding, full navigation controls on the left faring, and a nav back and nav menu button. The Garmin screen is also the bike regular screen (really large and colorful). Buy the way, the headset works great only after you tune the auto mute feature correctly (the detection of wind and noise, vs your voice). Your passenger can talk normally, and you can have a very nice conversation along the way, while listening to music (Honey, did you see that? Yes, that was interesting - after the music is automatically muted by the Goldwing - nice programming). I did cut the rubber water protector cover around the 5pin din Hondaoline headset connector, since it's a pain to connect at night, and in the dark. I also added a color matched Honda brake light/spoiler and feel this will be all the extra goodies I need, or can afford. The bike is wonderful, AS IS. By the way, riding in the cold, is no problem. The heated grips, and heated seat work so well, that you can forget about the weather, and enjoy the ride. Just make sure you wrap up around your neck since that's the only place cold can get you. We're looking forward to summer ridding!
- Les Goodwin, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-23 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just recently completed a cross country, 7K mile trip on my 05 VTX 1300. While riding I thought how nice it would be to be doing so on a Gold Wing, and that if I ever made another trip, I would try to find a way to purchase one. A week after returning home from my adventure, I found an 05 and decided to buy it. Of course I haven't found a way to afford it, but it is sitting in my garage none-the-less. Sold the VTX. Have put 1000 miles on in three weeks. What a magnificent machine. So quiet, smooth riding, and great handling. Am eager to embark on another trip and hope to do so before Thanksgiving, once I determine how badly I broke my bank on the Xcountry trip. Am looking forward to enjoying the many wonderful features and creature comforts of this magnificient motorcycle. don't believe there is anything that can compare. But of course it is a Honda. Sweeeeeeeet!
- Todd, Stephens City, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-22 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the top. I had a cruiser before this and rode one or two days a week. Now I have to force myself to go out and start my truck once a month. I am fairly tall and did have a minor problem with legroom when I got my new Goldwing. I changed out the seat to an aftermarket made for taller drivers and lowered the pegs and now it is Great! Before I got the Wing, I would ride by other bikes (HD etc) and wonder if I had made the right decision. Now I ride by then all and feel sorry for them. The Goldwing is the tops!
- Alan , Fellsmere, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-31 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After one year and 22,800 miles on my 2005, my admiration for this bike has grown significantly. The availability of accessories is mind boggling which adds further to the creature comforts of the bike and dresses it up to be one attractive piece of machinery. Performing much of the routine maintenance is easy with the aid of a owner's manual which increases pride in ownership much more when exposed to the design features "under the hood". Time in the seat and a few miles will result in complete and total confidence in the bike's handling and feel that you can't help but attack every curve and begin seeking new routes to explore. I just don't drive my truck to work anymore and Saturdays see me waiting for the alarm clock to go off so I can get a jump start on weekend trips. I truly resent that it took so long to discover the Goldwing and all the refinements it has to offer. A bad day on a Goldwing will beat a good day on any other bike any day.
- Tom Mann, Abilene, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-30 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There exists no peer to the GL1800, BMW is the closest offer of a refined touring bike but their models aren't THAT close to matching the features of the Wing. I've never been happier on any previously-owned motorcycle, Japanese or American made. Gold Wing is the uncontested King of the Road. The handling of the GL1800 is absolutely awesome!! Its size, coupled with multiple lamps front and rear also increase the rider's visibility to everyone on the road, I drive with the fog lamps on all the time to take full advantage of a well-illuminated profile. Recommend anyone considering purchasing a touring bike take a test ride on a Gold Wing before settling on any other option.
- Diamond Dog, Gainesville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-24 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After adding another 1,500 miles this bike continues to impress with its handling, smooth power and overall comfort. No bike is perfect, the flat Six 1832cc engine produces lots of heat which hits you from the ankle to the calf on both legs unless you keep your knees tucked in on the gas tank. I figure this problem will even out this winter when all that heat will feel great. I've ridden in a medium hard rain twice and only my helmet got wet, my shoulders were almost totally dry, as were my legs. A 250 mile ride to the Mts of N. Ga proved to be great fun, this bike should be called the "Sports Wing". My son, owner of 8 crotch rockets, is impressed with the overall speed and handling, for an 800+ lb bike, especially not being doubled over the tank.
- Gary Stewart, Senoia, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-04 2004 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike in 2005 with 20k kms. Great ride with power to spare. Would have been nice to see a 6th gear or an OD gear for highway speeds but overall it is the perfect machine. I looked at the Venture and Ultra Classic and neither comes even close to the Wing. A little pricey and not very well equipped from the factory but there are an abondance of after market accessories availabe, all be it a little pricey.
- Jim McCrindle, Mt Pearl

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-17 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motorcycles for 37 years but none can compare to the Goldwing. It is unmatched for a smooth ride and the power of the 1832cc opposing head motor is amazing. I cruise through town at 30mph and forget downshifting. I've taken lots of winding roads and gone up mountains without downshifting. It's been maintenance free and you can ride it anywhere with confidence. It truly is in a class all by itself. Best bike I've ever owned for sure.
- Derek Richardson, Van Buren, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-09 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '05 GoldWing on January 16 of this year and now have 8,000 miles on it in less than five months. I am enjoying it more every day. Fuel mileage has improved to around 42 mpg on the highway at 75 mph. If I run 65 I can get in the upper 40's. I've gotten 46 and 47 twice on regular fuel (recommended). The most amazing thing about the GL1800 is the handling. I am short and only 145 lbs., and I never feel uneasy because of the 822+ lbs. It feels light as soon as you are in motion. The reverse feature is a life saver. When riding double with my wife the GVW is around 1,200 lbs. and yet I have no trouble at stops. Out on the road the GoldWing is wonderfully powerful and comfortable. My wife loves the seat, large back rest, and floorboards. I am constantly amazed at the smoothness and power of this 1832cc six cylinder engine. You can surprise people on smaller bikes with the quick acceleration. While traveling in Florida I was passed by a rider on a custom V-twin. I picked up speed to stay with him. He kept increasing to about 90 mph thinking he would leave me behind. Suddenly he rolled on the throttle. I did too and quickly accelerated to 120 mph leaving him in the dust. The Wing felt stable and still, had plenty of room left to go faster. This is the most amazing engine on any motorcycle. Pheonominal all around bike. Loads of fun.
- Tom Rash, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-06 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 41 years and this is my first Wing. It's performance, comfort and amenities blew me away. Many a motorcyle has been between my legs, from almost all manufacturers and all styles, but none compare to the overall package the Wing delivers. I should have taken a demo ride years ago, I've short changed myself out of alot of smiles.
- Larry, Oregon, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-08 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding my "dream bike" for 6 years, a 1999 Honda Shadow Aero 1100, my wife and I decided to step up to Luxury Touring. Our white "Ultimate Dream Bike" has more than lived up to it's reputation. After many exciting weekend trips, we've now decided to spend our summer vacation on the Wing. We can't wait.
- Bill Gray, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-31 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a 1997 Gold wing SE for my 2005 30th Anniversary Edition and could not be happier. The difference between the two bikes is huge. This Gold wing handles well in wind, corners and in parking lots. Even though it's not broken in, it gets 43 - 46 miles per gallon. The brakes are excellent and have plenty of stopping power. The stock exhaust has a nice tone. The seat is far more comfortable than the 1997 wing. There is not much to hate about the new wing. If you have been thinking of upgrading to a new Gold wing, go to your dealer and ride the Demo. I guarantee you won't be disappointed.
- Mike Robson, Woodland Park, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-20 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agonized over this decision. I've ridden for over 40 years --- Triumph, BSA, Norton, BMW and a number of Japanese bikes, in every style from old school choppers to a K1100LT. I was about to fulfill my long-time ambition and buy a full-dress Harley. I've ridden them quite a lot, and really like them. My brother-in-law told me not to buy before I rode a 'wing. I can't thank him enough! This is the best bike I've ever ridden, bar none --- and by a wide margin. I've only had it four days, and the temperature hasn't been above 38 since I got it, but I've put over 300 miles on thanks to the comfort package, and I haven't been cold at all. (For you 4 season folks, think extended riding season!) Power, throttle modulation, balance and positioning are awesome on this bike. It gets better every time I ride it. On the twisties, it's easy to forget you're on a touring bike. On the highway, it's a luxury ride. This bike does it all, and very well.
- Irv True, Duxbury, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: