Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Motorcycles Reviews (13)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-11-18 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the 2002 new when it first was on the dealer's floor. I have since put over 103,000 miles on it with very little problems. The only problems I have had are with tire mileage. I was used to getting 24,000 plus miles on tires with my 1994 SE 1500 and now I am getting half of that. Not the bikes fault, the tires just do not last as well as the motorcycle does. I do all my own servicing with oil changes. Primarily I use Synthetic oil at approximately 8,000 miles depending on conditions. I have an extended warranty until 2008 and have not had to use it yet. The frame was not cracked like some bikes were and with a hint of overheating, the dealer completed the recall on the ECM. That is the ONLY time the Wing has been in for mechanical repair. There were two other occasions where things were not right and that is explained below. The CB radio was replaced under warranty and the CD Changer/player was replaced under warranty.
- Jim Pennington, Cleves, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-26 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't ridden in 30 years when a trip to SD (while sturgis was happening) gave me the bug. My wife thought I was nuts when I bought an '04 Spirit 1100. Before I knew it, she was hooked as a co-rider. Then we found the Wing. It's simply an unbelievable machine. It does everything you ask and has plenty left with amazing creature comforts. I took it to a sport rider training class (filled with 20 year olds on crotch rockets) and this old man (52) kept up fine. After 6,000 miles on the Wing, the Spirit is mine... but the Wing is ours. And by the way, the GWRRA is an awesome group of folks.
- Don Roberts, Naperville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-04 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2002 Pearl Orange Gold Wing 1800 in August of 2003. It was brand new but hadn't sold because of the color. I love the orange color, but I didn't anticipate wanting to color coordinate myself with my bike. This is my first Gold Wing and I have found out from others that this is a common phenomenon. The bike drives awesome. Handles better than a sport bike to me. I can drive it longer because of the protection the bike affords me. I went through the original set of Dunlaps at 12,000 miles and I replaced them with Metzlers Me880's. I paid $200 for the rear tire and $160 for the front. It is very easy to remove the rear tire compared to the 1500 Wing. Put the bike on the center stand, take one panel off the back with 5 screws, and a single bar with two screws, then reach up and take the 5 automotive style lug nuts off and pull off the rear tire. I can't wait to start doing all of the other labor on the bike. Too bad nothing ever goes wrong with it. I am looking forward to the air filter change, some people have said that takes about 3 hours to do. I get about 35 to 38 miles to the gallon one up around town and 41 to 44 one or two up on the highway. If you see an orange Gold Wing around Green Bay, Wisconsin weaving back and forth in the lane, you can just know, I'll be grinning from ear to ear.
- Sam Davis, Green Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-23 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had many (many) cycles over the years. My father even had a cycle business (so I have rode) many brands over the years. But nothing like the Wing. I had taken my 2 year old Suzuki Intruder in for an Oil change, and saw the new 2002 Pearl Orange Goldwing and rode it home. It's been the best and I love it. Only problems were the two recalls. For the frame weld and over heating problem, "it was in the Honda shop almost two weeks".
- Bill Bessinger, Galion, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-11 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike in Oct. 2003. I haven't had a bike for 19 yrs. Last bike I had was a 1100 interstate. This is the best bike I've ever owned, I can't say enough about it. My wife says I'm going through my second childhood sure is fun is all I got to say. 5 Stars plus.
- Preston Hale, Dickinson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-03 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike is great, only exceeded by the quality of the service. Injector pump sounds and cam chain sound loud, but who can really complain. Great work Honda, and thanks again.
- Mel Stark, Marshall, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-22 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned several Goldwings, the latest being a 1500SE. Most of my riding is done 2 up. Three of the people we ride with bought 2001 Wings. We all love riding the "twisties". It became somewhat of a challange to keep up with the 2001's. I avoided a "test" ride on one of their bikes because I had heard that, if you ride one, you'll buy one. Well, I did and I did. What a ride! We go all weekend, sometimes 700 miles or more. We just can't get enough. One of our riders describes the experience as "liquid power". I installed a set of highway pegs and have ground off quite a lot of chrome. The only problem I've noticed is that my bike likes higher octane fuel when we ride two up pulling a cargo trailer. I think I'll keep 1)the wife, 2) the higher octane fuel, and 3) the bike.
- Gary, Blaine, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-05 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
my son owns a harley ultra classic my wing out performs it all. power looks sure is great to listen to the cd and hear it!!!
- tom janik, hobart, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-02 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
bought my first wing in november 01,Yellow,the fastest, what I've wanted for a long time. It was great around the state for short rides,with no problems.Then when my wife and i took it on the cross country trip we always wanted to dowe found the problems everyone was talking about, got stuck in atraffic jam in ILL. and the temp guage started going up, thank god I was close to an exit. After about 200 miles the seat is like a brick, the cd changer stuck a few times, the speedometer stuck when going away from the sun, the left bag would not open, the trunk would not close,the noise in the intercom is terrible. I spent about 600 bucks trying to get thesame wind protection that my brother got on his 1500 with no luck. sold the bike two weeks after we got back, will never go back to a wing, honda will not stand behind it, and own up to there mistakes
- Carl Wise, Mineral City, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-13 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned mine for 3 months now with almost 8000 miles covered. I've been riding bikes for over 30 years, had a 1500 before this and am an instructor. There are still some minor niggles, some details a slight backward step from the 1500 (like fitting 2 helmets in the trunk - not easy without scratching them), but overall a better bike. The handling and performance is much better, the feel more solid. Recommended.
- David Fennell, Chilton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-09 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like Forbes, in his "What the Hell?" review, I was blown away by the 1800. He is 27, I am 57 but I'll just bet we like screaming through the same twisties. I had a Yamaha XS750SF (the triple, for those who can remember) that kicked ass in all conditions for it's design and engine size. I never suspected such performance from a Wing, but was also wanting some long distance comforts that only the Wing provides. Lo and behold, I get all the comfort and kick ass performance in one package. So I bought the Illusion Blue GL1800, tricked it out, and now, 4,690 miles later would never blink to do it again. I'll be putting another 3,000 on it in August when my buddy and I do the Ohio River Valley and Deals Gap. This, as they say, "Is not your father's Goldwing" - I'm glad I can still think like that .. and ride like that.
- Spike, Leesburg, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-09 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took one of the demo rides & was truly impressed. I own a 1988 Venture & it feels heavier than the new Wing. I like the response, the ride & the looks. I am almost 6' 4", so a little more leg room would be nice, but it has as much or more than most touring type bikes.:-)))
- Larry, Chattanooga, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-10 2002 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I currently ride an SV650 trying to decide if I want another bike that is light and agile with more power or a touring oriented bike. Well I have been tring to compromise but in reality the way I ride is in a touring fashion. I just took Hondas free test ride on the new 1800. How do they engineer a 900 lb bike that lane changes better than my SV that is about 400 lbs. These are wet weight appox. The Goldwing is like ice skating. I get on the bike it feels like I am piloting the bike rather than riding. Which is a good thing. I take off and I can tell it's a little heavier than my bike but I've never ridden anything like this and not used to it. I could almost recommend this bike to a beginner. I got up on the highway after cranking the throttle and rocketing on the freeway like a damn corvette and just cruze. There was a little helmet buffeting but the sheild was all the way down and it can adjust up some. I am about 5,11 and 175 lbs. I am 27 yrs old and love this bike. I thought I would never get a touring bike but this is hands down what I'm getting next. I thought about an ST1300 but no way. Because the way I ride the Goldwing towers over that bike. It's amazing how they engineered this bike. I stopped in a tight parking lot and was extremely confident in leaning the bike and making short tight turns. Then right out of the parking lot was the freeway ramp of which I bolted past traffice. I LOVE THIS BIKE!! I am still drop jawed in how this bike performes and it feels small to. I'll be getting one soon.
- Forbes, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: