Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-10-31 2002 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my GL 1800 in April 2002 it was the first yellow bike in Chicago. I rode it around downtown for a couple years and everyone told me it was the best looking bike they had ever seen. After 20000 miles it still handles like an F-16 on two wheels it takes turns at full speed I can lay it down on the pegs and send sparks behind me in the turns. I ride it all over south Florida it packs the groceries and carries the luggage. I have had it up to 137 miles an hour - pretty scary but still a smooth ride. I can't wait to get a 2006 or 2007. It blows my Harleys out of the water.
- russell leach, st petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-17 2002 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I must admit, my wife was the reason I purchased a 2002 GL1800 Goldwing. The passenger accommodations were too much for her to NOT bug me about getting a Goldwing for the last 6 years or so. When she told me about the Honda GL1800 demo program, it was with the pretext that "Its just for fun, I know you don't want one." I surprised myself during that demo ride. I loved it! Smooth, fast sport bike like handling, and man that acceleration, soon had me thinking of all the fun roads I'd like to carve up on this baby! My wife and both my daughters have a whole system worked out on who gets to ride with me next. Sit up straight, excellent stereo, extremely comfortable long haul seat, pass when I please power, and places to put everything I need or may want while out riding. Ain't none better. I haven't had any problems with it, but I am going to have the ECM replaced according to the recall Honda is having. don't worry, just enjoy!!!
- Sam, Green Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-16 2002 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had my 2002 GL1800 for a few months now,and every oppertunity I have I ride it.Have had other bikes I have enjoyed,but wife didn't like riding with me due to comfort.We are fulltime RVers,and travel from coast to coast and the bike goes with us.Now my wife and myself can both get out on the scenic byways and enjoy the ride.To sum it up,"We just love it"!
- Rodger Miller, Aberdeen, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-14 2002 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1800 Wings is a great bike which I give a 5 star plus. I put on over 15k last year on my 01 with absolutely not one single problem. Traveling through southern Florida during August in 100 degree temps posed no overheating problem what so ever including a lot of city time in downtown Key West. I have read about some overheating problem which is caused by the cooling fans blowing the air forward and in a near perfect situation of very slow driving, air does not move through the radiator and the temp goes up. I never had a problem and have never talked with anyone who has. I would say, if a temp gauge was put on most any air cooled bike in the same situation, you could probably fry your bacon and eggs! This past season I traded my Wing for a VTX 1800 just for a different ride. Love the X, will keep it and by a 03 Wing next season. I've ridden a lot of bikes in the last 35 years and the 1800 Gold Wing is the best all round bike I have ever owner. It has power, sportbike handling, plus all the comforts of home. Buy one, it can't be beat!
- Barry, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-13 2002 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I alomost made the mistake of buying a Honda GL1800. It's a good thing that I did research and an exhaustive 'on the street interview' before sinking thousands into this potential nightmare. The results of all of my pre-buy investigation, is that the bike will overheat in heavy/parade-duty type traffic. Save your money and the associated aggravation. Honda has not seriously addressed this issue, and will probably try to hide behind the corporate wall on this one.
- ted, New york, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-08 2002 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My SO and I have had a 2003 GL1800 ABS for two months and have put 8,500 miles on it. We both love it. We have had cruisers before - Shadows and Vulcans. We were used to the V-twin rumble and torque. After the test ride of the Goldwing, my wife commented that the bike was nice and comfortable, but it wasn't "fun." We bought it anyway, for two-up touring. We take turns at the helm. She now loves the bike and considers the Vulcan to be cumbersome in comparison. As a prior review said - this bike almost rides itself. Its balance is indeed perfect - in a turn, straight down the rode, or coming to a stop. My Vulcan Nomad always felt like it wanted to tip over when coming to a stop - not the Goldwing. The bike weights 800 pounds, but the only time I notice it is when pushing it up from the side stand with the bike fully loaded and the wife in the passenger seat. Two complaints. The seats are o.k, but could be better (the wife thinks the passenger seat it perfect, but it gives me a sore lower back after awhile). The other problem is the leaking antifreeze. My temperature gauge never indicates overheating, but very often after the initial startup and warmup, the stuff will start leaking out. It took it in, was told they fixed a kinked hose, but it still does it. It is annoying, but I will live with it due to all that is great with the bike until Honda comes up with a fix.
- Dave Hlebechuk, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-06 2002 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I currently ride a 1993 K75S and love it. I want a bit more comfort for both myself and my wife, so I am looking for a tourer. The K1200LT and GL1800 are in the running. I just finished two test rides on two different new GlodWings. The bike is wonderful. But during both test rides the bike overheated anbd the gauge went to the redline. Look at www.GL1800.org and you'll see lots of folks whose GL1800's overheat in a few minutes of Interstate traffic jams or city driving on a warm day. Honda has know this since the 2001 model was reviewed by Motorcycle Consumer News and pointed out that it overheated several times in their test. I consider the problem to be very serious, especially for a bike that costs so much. The question is will Honda make the bikes right or just come outr with a new and improved one in 2004 that does not overhjeat. be aware, Honda's only "fix" to date is a new wiring harness that essentially slows the needle's move to redline. The problem is the cooling fans blow forward and as the bike moves the wind blows backward and wala, no air flow over the radiators.
- Walt Wood, Bethesda, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-02 2002 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a year with a Suzuki Intruder LC1500, a great bike for a big guy like me( 6'4" 240lbs.) I longed for more power and handling and my research led me to the GL1800. I bought one in February and think I did the right thing. It is heavy of course but it feels like a light weight and the power is simply awesome immediate and very controllable. I opted for the ABS and have had one stop requiring its use in mountain riding. Well worth the price. I am most impressed by the handling at all speeds particularly parking lot manuevers. The bike is perfectly balanced and the torque so plentiful I rarely have to downshift much to overtake anyone or even in taking corners. The bike is so well designed it damn near drives itself if that's what you want--but the sport bike performance is always right there when you get the urge. Buy one you won't be disappointed.
- GW, Clyde, NC, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: