Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Motorcycles Reviews (15)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-03-07 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike handles like it's on rails. It saved me a bundle of money since I don't need a sport, or sport-touring bike to satisfy my twisty fix. The only problem is keeping foot pegs on it. They keep getting ground into the road. It's the perfect bike if you like taking the superslab to your favorite canyon carving mountains. It's both comfortable and capable. I'm so glad I got the 05. The only way to get ABS on the 06, 07's is with the GPS package. Much $$$! Besides that, I have my own GPS that I take with me in the cage, motel, home, etc. I hope Honda changes that before I'm ready for my next one.
- Kurt Repsher, Gardiner, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-13 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been driving bikes since 66 and I have had a 84 1200 & 98 1500 prior to my 05 1800. I must say after the input into the previous Wings, I was disappointed in the detail missing on the new Wings. The leg room must be designed for 5 ft tall drivers since I am only 6 ft and my knees hit the fairing. The mechanics and reliability are exceptional but the type & upgrade of the GPS, the removal of the heat/cool air vent, and not having a built in tape/cd/MP3 player is an oversight.
- Bruce Morrison, Victoria, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-08 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the 2005 ABS Wing in April 2006 over a HD Ultra Glide Classic. Great machine, fourth motorcycle since 1985 and it took some practice to get use to the weight and view when turning. Great great brakes, I know this very well. No problem with the location of the foot peg location.
- Roland Logan, Reisterstown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-28 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden many motorcycles since my first Sport 50 in 1966, but nothing... NOTHING... compares with the Gold Wing. I have had no problems whatsoever with it. It is comfortable, quiet and easily good for 8-10 hours a day in the saddle. If you're considering a touring bike that handles like a dream, look no further than the Gold Wing.
- Phil Weaver, Searcy, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-31 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking at the new 1800 wings when they first came out. Had a hard time trading my 93 wing with lots of extras. We went through a lot together (Clean and never down) Got the price I was looking for on a trade in for a 2005 Metalic Silver/ABS. My passenger says she has more room. Bike handles great on back roads. Acceleration is outstanding. Very comfortable for driver and passenger on long distance. Have both a camper and cargo trailer. We have been in a few sudden stop situations with the '93. The bike was hard to control at hard breaking with the trailer. If you are or plan on pulling a trailer, go for the ABS model. It will save your life at some time. If you do not have alot of years and miles riding, also go with ABS! How can Honda improve on something already perfect (1500)? This 1800 is an awesome machine. P.S. Riding motorcycles for 42 years. Always look out for the unexpected!!!
- Art Koch, Cresco, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-24 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Honda did it right. The engineering, electronics and engine are fantastic. My only disapointment is the foot peg position. You can not comfortably stretch out on long rides. On a touring bike I want my foot forward of my knee position. On the Goldwing, your foot position is slightly behind your knee. Highway pegs are not a good answer to this issue on this bike because your feet and legs must be postioned to far apart to take advantage of the forward pegs.
- Del Morgan, Ashburn, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-20 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently traded an 02 Road King for a new GL1800A. I made the change for additional comfort for my wife. When I made the trade, I was told that, even though I was losing the cool factor, it would be made up in performance and comfort. My wife and I just finished a Norhtern California tour, covering 1500 miles in 5 days. The bike is a dream to ride, unbelieveable power, and draws its fair share of attention, even when mixed with my friend's Harleys.
- Jon Jones, Fort Mohave, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-08 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You've read it before, but here it is again: this is a magnificent machine. Riding alone on a back road, commuting in rush hour traffic, throwing it through twisties, cruising at 80, riding in a downpour, it feels and rides great. This is my first bike in 15 years and third overall. I took both the basic and experienced rider course through MSF shortly after purchase and was amazed at how nimble and responsive the Wing is, even at very low speed. Insurance is cheap. A gallon of gas gets me nearly 40 miles. Gold Wing reliability and longevity is legend. My iPod fits in the left pouch and plays through the built-in AUX input. What's not to love?
- jnc, Wright County, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-30 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Once you are moving you would never know that you are on a big bike, handling is superb, and braking, accelaration, & comfort are excellent. I get 38 mpg. You can't hear the speakers very well at high speed so you need helmet speakers if you are a little hard of hearing like me. You can really lean it into the corners, handles better than many sport bikes. This is the ultimate travel machine and my second new Gold Wing. I also bought a new 1979 and loved it but it doesn't compare with the GL1800. Bags hold a lot and the remote trunk opener is quite convenient.
- Dave, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-02 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Black 2004 with ABS in Feb 2004. This is my 6th Gold Wing since 1975 and the best by far. I have added the CB for riding with others, Tulsa extra tall windshield and mirror wind deflectors for passenger comfort, belly pan to protect the coolant bottle, Garmin GPS, Sirius Satellite Radio, radar detector and cell phone all integrated through our helmet speakers. I have Reg handlebar risers, Kuryakin foot pegs and Utopia backrest for my comfort. This sounds like a lot, but I ride 20,000 miles a year to CT and CA from FL. These items make it a real pleasure to ride for weeks on all the back roads and meet people. The 123 lbs of torque allows you to leave it in 5th gear down to 40 mph and thus saves a lot of shifting. Passing is a literal snap. The road is ours!
- Skip Wood, Fort Pierce, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-08 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I saved for 10 years to pay cash, build it my way and love this motorcycle. It has been more than I could have hoped for and still am learning to enjoy it with my sweetheart on longer rides. It cruises at 80 mph and you don't feel jostled, or worn out when done from a 350 mile cruise. The music system, lights, brakes and acceleration are all finely tuned and enjoyable. If you want to ride and enjoy the scenery and road, Goldwing is for you. Take the time to learn how to handle, get up to speed and then enjoy the road.
- Ibr8k4hoops, Tumwater, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-06 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let me first qualify my riding abilites, not to brag but to write a qualified review. I was a police motorcycle operator for 20yrs and went through all the riding schools cops go through. So, I probably have a better than average know how of the do's and don'ts of motorcycles. I bought a Yamaha Roadstar Silverado - which is a very nice ride but my better half wasn't that comfortable on rides longer than a half hour. I traded in the Roadstar and bought an '04 1800A (white). I got a quick education. I always looked at the GW as a grandpa motorcycle and never paid much attention to it. Wow! Let me tell you. The GW is the "Bad Daddy" of bikes. It is very nimble riding through the city and a fighter interceptor on the freeway. The accelleration feels like an electric vehicle surge which is very quiet. You can actually have a conversation when driving in a normal tone of voice. Loud bikes on long rides will tire you quickly and if you're serious about taking a long trip there is no way a standard cruiser will keep up with you. Parking is a lot more versatile because you have reverse and don't have to tip toe backing up. The tail light assembly makes you as visible as a semi and the front headlight assembly turns night into day. The adjustable headlight with a flick of the wrist is a very nice option. I like all kinds of bikes. While checking out the Harleys a little while ago, a salesman asked what I rode. I responded, "An '04 Wing" His response was, "you'll never ride anything else" -Ain't that the truth. Have fun and be safe.
- Steve Emm, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-11 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a Black '04 GL1800 ABS Gold Wing I bought over Labor Day weekend (2004). I have been out for several 5 hour runs and there is NO fatigue when I pull into my driveway. I can't compare my GW to my other 2 bikes because it is light years ahead. Handles twisties with grace and straight aways in style. If you're looking for speed, comfort, and ride - this is the PERFECT match.
- Dan R, Sellersville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-10 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've taken long distance tours on several different H-D models including my former Electra-Glide Classic. Nothing provides the blend of power, comfort, capacity, and agility offered by the GL1800. Passengers rave about the comfort of the rear seat. We did a few 500 mile days on our last tour with little of the fatigue I used to get after just 300 miles on my Harley. The low center of gravity, lean clearance, and 123 ft-lbs of torque lets this machine blow through the curves in a manner that just isn't possible on bikes with top-heavy v-twin configurations. The GL has plenty of power and stability to operate at speeds of up to 120 mph.
- Kent B, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-07 2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Upgraded from a Valkyrie, which I loved, and what a difference. The balance and tuning was so much better. It was a major step up. All I can say is WOW!
- Jerry Larsen, Seabrook, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: