Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A) reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Kurt Repsher

Gardiner, New York

Reviewed on 2007-03-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike handles like it's on rails. It saved me a bundle of money since I don't need a sport, or sport-touring bike to satisfy my twisty fix. The only problem is keeping foot pegs on it. They keep getting ground into the road. It's the perfect bike if you like taking the superslab to your favorite canyon carving mountains. It's both comfortable and capable. I'm so glad I got the 05. The only way to get ABS on the 06, 07's is with the GPS package. Much $$$! Besides that, I have my own GPS that I take with me in the cage, motel, home, etc. I hope Honda changes that before I'm ready for my next one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce Morrison

Victoria, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2006-12-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A)

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have been driving bikes since 66 and I have had a 84 1200 & 98 1500 prior to my 05 1800. I must say after the input into the previous Wings, I was disappointed in the detail missing on the new Wings. The leg room must be designed for 5 ft tall drivers since I am only 6 ft and my knees hit the fairing. The mechanics and reliability are exceptional but the type & upgrade of the GPS, the removal of the heat/cool air vent, and not having a built in tape/cd/MP3 player is an oversight.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roland Logan

Reisterstown, Maryland

Reviewed on 2006-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased the 2005 ABS Wing in April 2006 over a HD Ultra Glide Classic. Great machine, fourth motorcycle since 1985 and it took some practice to get use to the weight and view when turning. Great great brakes, I know this very well. No problem with the location of the foot peg location.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil Weaver

Searcy, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2006-03-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have ridden many motorcycles since my first Sport 50 in 1966, but nothing... NOTHING... compares with the Gold Wing. I have had no problems whatsoever with it. It is comfortable, quiet and easily good for 8-10 hours a day in the saddle. If you're considering a touring bike that handles like a dream, look no further than the Gold Wing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Art Koch

Cresco, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was looking at the new 1800 wings when they first came out. Had a hard time trading my 93 wing with lots of extras. We went through a lot together (Clean and never down) Got the price I was looking for on a trade in for a 2005 Metalic Silver/ABS. My passenger says she has more room. Bike handles great on back roads. Acceleration is outstanding. Very comfortable for driver and passenger on long distance. Have both a camper and cargo trailer. We have been in a few sudden stop situations with the '93. The bike was hard to control at hard breaking with the trailer. If you are or plan on pulling a trailer, go for the ABS model. It will save your life at some time. If you do not have alot of years and miles riding, also go with ABS! How can Honda improve on something already perfect (1500)? This 1800 is an awesome machine. P.S. Riding motorcycles for 42 years. Always look out for the unexpected!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Del Morgan

Ashburn, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-07-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Honda did it right. The engineering, electronics and engine are fantastic. My only disapointment is the foot peg position. You can not comfortably stretch out on long rides. On a touring bike I want my foot forward of my knee position. On the Goldwing, your foot position is slightly behind your knee. Highway pegs are not a good answer to this issue on this bike because your feet and legs must be postioned to far apart to take advantage of the forward pegs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jon Jones

Fort Mohave, Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently traded an 02 Road King for a new GL1800A. I made the change for additional comfort for my wife. When I made the trade, I was told that, even though I was losing the cool factor, it would be made up in performance and comfort. My wife and I just finished a Norhtern California tour, covering 1500 miles in 5 days. The bike is a dream to ride, unbelieveable power, and draws its fair share of attention, even when mixed with my friend's Harleys.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jnc

Wright County, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2005-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
You've read it before, but here it is again: this is a magnificent machine. Riding alone on a back road, commuting in rush hour traffic, throwing it through twisties, cruising at 80, riding in a downpour, it feels and rides great. This is my first bike in 15 years and third overall. I took both the basic and experienced rider course through MSF shortly after purchase and was amazed at how nimble and responsive the Wing is, even at very low speed. Insurance is cheap. A gallon of gas gets me nearly 40 miles. Gold Wing reliability and longevity is legend. My iPod fits in the left pouch and plays through the built-in AUX input. What's not to love?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2005-04-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Once you are moving you would never know that you are on a big bike, handling is superb, and braking, accelaration, & comfort are excellent. I get 38 mpg. You can't hear the speakers very well at high speed so you need helmet speakers if you are a little hard of hearing like me. You can really lean it into the corners, handles better than many sport bikes. This is the ultimate travel machine and my second new Gold Wing. I also bought a new 1979 and loved it but it doesn't compare with the GL1800. Bags hold a lot and the remote trunk opener is quite convenient.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Skip Wood

Fort Pierce, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-04-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda Gold Wing ABS (GL1800A)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Black 2004 with ABS in Feb 2004. This is my 6th Gold Wing since 1975 and the best by far. I have added the CB for riding with others, Tulsa extra tall windshield and mirror wind deflectors for passenger comfort, belly pan to protect the coolant bottle, Garmin GPS, Sirius Satellite Radio, radar detector and cell phone all integrated through our helmet speakers. I have Reg handlebar risers, Kuryakin foot pegs and Utopia backrest for my comfort. This sounds like a lot, but I ride 20,000 miles a year to CT and CA from FL. These items make it a real pleasure to ride for weeks on all the back roads and meet people. The 123 lbs of torque allows you to leave it in 5th gear down to 40 mph and thus saves a lot of shifting. Passing is a literal snap. The road is ours!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: