Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Motorcycles Reviews (21)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-06-10 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcyle (5+ years on a 400 cc maxi-scooter, though). I was blown away by the ease of operation. Slow speed handling takes some getting used to, but at highway speeds the Wing handles as well as the scooter. The handlebars are just slightly too far front for 100% comfort, so I will have to extend them back about 1 to 1.5 inches at some point. The stereo is awesome. GPS is adequate although I understand there may be no map upgrades available, which may eventually be a problem. i highly recommend this bike!
- Brad, Glenmoore, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-15 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was a dream of mine to get. In March, 2006 I took delivery & have never been happier. Some annoying little things have happened. Foot Peg Rubber (Torn at edge twice) and the Trunk Hinges (Wire Holders). The Dunlop Tires didn't last long enough. Clearance in the center of the bike is too low. Plastic rivets are a nice idea but tend to lose a couple. Besides that all else is great. Center of gravity is always awesome on Honda's products. Handles super for me for such a large bike. Plenty of Torque. Wished it was a 6-speed though. It would improve gas mileage which is not bad right now. It ranges from 39-45 mpg depending on how I ride. Love it over all. Keep listening to the buyer & success will continue.
- DreamWing, Brooklyn, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-16 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a machine! My wife and I were originally going to purchase the titanium Gold Wing. Then the white caught our eye. We decided to go with pearl white. My wife loved the comfort of the passenger seat (she had never been on a motorcycle before). I rode the bike in the parking lot and it handled like a dream. This machine likes the highway. The cruise control is superb and responsive. Navigation system was easy to use and see even in bright light. This is a gem.
- Zach Bon, Chesapeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-21 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well here it is nearly 3 years and 32,000 miles later and my Wing is still rated #1 by me personally. I've test ridden so many other cruisers and tourers in the last 3 years trying to find a future replacement for my Wing, instead I can only hope for a suitable stable mate to my Wing. The more miles I put on my Wing the more smoother it runs. Its like it hasn't been broken in yet. As you have read earlier in my last follow up my Wing is now a trike. I get 36-38 mpg on average as a Champion trike conversion. It corners as if it was on rails. I wish Honda would build a trike Gold Wing from the ground up with an independant rear suspension using a CVT transmission. This would be utopia for me. Now I guess I'll have to wait to see what the 2011 Wing will bring as a new model change.
- cpt.denny, Port St. Lucie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-20 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to agree with Kevin's Post. I had a great time on my 08 Nomad last summer, got my wife on a trip, had no intention to change bikes as the Nomad was new, Wife was interested in a bit more comfort, so we tried the Harley Ultra Classic, I tried the Harley Street Glide, and the Gold Wing. Hands down the Goldwing shined above all. Had to buy last fall as 2009 does not make black this year, but the Dark blue looks great too. Again the dealer made the right suggestions as to a trade value and made the deal work. I was sold with Reverse, Navi, Cruise, etc. Sweet bike, but now I find out Honda discontinued chrome acents for the trunk and saddle bags... Any ideas out there where to get chrome accents???
- Miked, New maryland, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-14 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Gold Wing. My first Gold Wing was a 1988 GL1500 which was in excellent condition. However after going just to look at a 2008 Gold Wing GL18HPN I made the mistake of sitting on it. I still was not ready to purchase a new Gold Wing as my 1988 Gold Wing only had 46,000 miles until the salesman cut me a sweet deal that I just could not turn down. There was no dealer pressure as this bike sold itself. The handling and power of this bike is unbelievable. Well worth the purchase. I love the color, Titanium. Hats off to the dealership and the staff. Great service.
- Steve Stevens, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-22 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '08 Gold Wing in January '08. I have over 10,000 miles on it. We pulled our trailer from MD to southern WV, to Honda Wing Ding in Greenville, SC to Glacier Park in northwest Montana, and all around MD, WV, VA and PA. My wife and I really enjoy riding our bike. It is a great machine!
- Randall Webb , Damascus, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-09 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What an unbelievable machine. There is a sport bike beneath all those goodies! It has power, handling and reliability. What a great investment!
- MARK J, southington, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-15 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had never ridden a Gold Wing before I showed up to 'look' at one. I was used to my 2 cruisers I have. When I let off the clutch, I was in love. This bike is an absolute dream to drive and handles oh so well. The difference between riding on my cruisers and my 'Wing' is like riding in a Cadillac versus a log truck. I only have one word of advice DO NOT show up to test one unless you are ready to own it. It's that great of a bike!
- Kevin Murphy, Harrison, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-27 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Never owning a bike before, I purchased a 07 Shadow Spirit 1100 for me and the wife to enjoy weekend rides. After her third ride she started complaining that it was too rough for her. Not wanting me to trade it in on another bike since I only had this one for five months, I convinced her otherwise. I purchased a 08 Titanium Gold Wing Audio / Comfort / Navi (GL18HPN). Our first trip on it was to Bay St. Louis. I didn't hear one complaint the whole way there. Instead she was in the back singing to the music on the radio. Now she is planning weekend trips for us to take. You just can't describe the ride and handling of this bike. I wouldn't buy or suggest any other bike then the Gold Wing. It is that impressive.
- John Bonaventure, Denham Springs, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-21 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 45 and this is my 5th bike in 15 years riding on three continents. I watched a guy maneuver this bike through built up city traffic for 20 seconds before I realized it was a Wing. Intrigued I took a test ride - not with any intention of selling my BMW R1150GS which took me to the Arctic Circle a year ago. And then I read the reviews - common theme, don't ride this bike unless you are prepared to buy it! Too true. In 3 weeks I had sold the BMW and you can't get me off the Wing now - even with 8 inches of snow I am still riding it!
- David, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-06 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning a 2006 Gold Wing and without a doubt I was thinking, "How could they make it better in 2008?They did! I was scared to death that the size of the 2006 would be way too much. I was completely wrong. It handled like a dream over any surface and around any turn. But, one day I asked my dealer what's new for 2008 and he said Pearl White. I ordered right then and there thinking that the only difference would be color. Wrong! It handles better, it is smoother, it is powerful and a breeze to ride. I didn't think that I would like or want the Nav system. WRONG! I just didn't know that I wanted it! The bike works GREAT, NO PROBLEMS right off the dock. NO flaws. The wife LOVES it. I LOVE IT! We made a 750 mile, one day trip, and were NOT tired one bit. Enough said. IT IS GREAT!
- Art Jiles, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-01 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just when you thought that Gold Wings couldn't get anymore comfortable out comes the Traxxion complete up grade suspension along with a Kuryakyn fork brace. If you thought that the stock Wing rode like a $70K Lexus, with Traxxion, it rides like a $300K Bently! Using regular gas I average 43 mpg to 45 mpg. You can start off in top gear and it will still pull! I lowered my tire pressure to 32F/36R psi and with these stock Dunlop 250's the ride and grip is much improved in dry and wet without dinging fuel economy or rapid tire wear. This is my 23rd motorcycle and third Gold Wing. After a million miles under my belt I know what works. Last year at the Bikers Round up in Ft. Pierce I test rode ten different Harley Davidsons big twins and V-rods. None hold a candle to this Gold Wing. In my opinion, if there was a test ride given between a Gold Wing and any Harley, Harley would go out of business. I don't say this lightly since am a Harley stock holder for decades and owned two of them myself. To give you an idea of speed, I had a solo rider on a 2007 HD Screaming Eagle bagger try me riding two-up. My Wing pounced on that SE so badly it looked like child abuse. The first oil change isn't till 4K miles, all others are till 8K miles! This Tourer will save you tons of cash over a HD Tourer. Wind protection is excellent yet even in summer South Florida heat it's still bearable. Shop Gold Wing prices, I found by traveling to SC, TN or a few other states one would save about $3K-$4K.
- cpt.denny, Port St. Lucie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-27 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since I was 14 starting on little dirt bikes. This is my second heavy touring bike, the last one was a Kawasaki Voyager XII. It can't compare, the Goldwing handles like a bike half its weight and for a person of my stature (short) I can move it around in parking lots and odd places with ease. It is in my opinion the best touring bike made today. I run mostly to and from work and the gas mileage has been getting better every day (up to 39MPG so far). It eats up highways and twisty curves with ease.
- Dan Crall, Bremerton , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-23 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Went for a 200 mile ride yesterday. A lot of it was on the highway. That is what this bike does best. What a motor! This bike will cruise 100+ all day. Very impressive but it's no canyon carver. Leaning this bike over is a bit scary. Then it dawned on me about what I said in my earlier review about the Harley Dresser handling better. I took a moderate sweep around this one bend and bottomed out, scared the crap out of me. I used to lean the Dresser way further over then that I've always had Harleys and I think it's going to take time to get used to the Goldwing! I think this is why police dept.'s don't use the Goldwing. It is a tough, clumsy bike at low speeds and very little lean angle. Also, I forgot to mention, handle bars are not adjustable, but man do I love the motor.
- richard, dunedin, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-06 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Wing and I was sold after a 10 minute test ride. Had been riding a Valkyrie for 9 years and had no complaints. I always thought the Valk was very easy to ride but the Wing puts it to shame. I am getting 42 mpg and loving every minute of it. My only problem was picking up a nail at 4,000 in the rear tire, $275 I had not expected to spend. If anyone feels they may want a Wing at some point in their riding career, don't wait, do it now.
- paulbs, Loveland, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-05 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to wait before I posted. Now that I have 5,500 miles on my Wing, I can tell you it's the Lexus of motorcycle touring where the HD Ultra is the Yugo IMHO. My Wing has an average fuel economy of 43+ mpg. My best has been 46+ mpg achieved twice. This Wing will dust Big Dogs, Victorys, all stock HD's (except V-Rods) including the 2007 Screaming Eagles with my wife on board, against solo riders! This is my third Wing ('84, '89, '06) and 23rd motorcycle. I owned two BMW tourers, two HD's, 2 Ninjas and 2 CBR's to name several. I've been around the block a few times to the tune of about 1M miles in 35 years. I've test ridden all of the 2007 HD's tour bikes or big twins and none of them are even in the same ball park as the Wing. Very comfortable and more so with my Utopia backrest, Kuryakyn heel toe shifter, & Ego pegs. I have a driving range of between 250 to 300 miles per tank! All it sips on is regular gas, don't try that with HD. I can also stay in OD gear (5th) as low as 10 mph and still accelerate, never try that with an HD. This Wing just melts the miles away. I picked up mine in July here in South Florida, heat at first was an issue till I found that the foot heaters were left in the on position. Riding here in South FL during the summer months is very do able. This Wing handles like a sports bike's big brother. The radios are great, I have a satellite radio and MP-3 player as add-ons. The GPS is real cool as a basic GPS, it doesn't show you vehicle speed or other info like your after market GPS does but it does its job well and helps you navigate by voice and sight as well. Turning over your Wing to cruise control and turning your tunes up is what's this is all about. This is where the Wing truly shines, this bike is Mr. Smooth. 1st oil change isn't due for the 1st month or 4K miles, then 8K miles there after! My wife loves the Wing, possibly more so than I, don't even mention the Harley Davidson name in the same room with her and to think, we own HD stock! The only thing I wish I had but didn't get on the Wing, was the peace of mind afforded with ABS brakes. Our local dealers won't order Wings with ABS down here; they think Wings cost too much as it is and are afraid they won't sell. However in the used Wing market, that's the first thing asked, if it has ABS. Maybe that's why these dealers are still working for a living, they aren't in tune with the customers wishes. Words of caution, purchasing a Gold Wing is only the down payment on accessories!
- cpt.denny, Port St. Lucie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-27 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning and riding 11 bikes, including an '89 Goldwing and an '01 version, I decided to try a Harley Touring model this spring and acquired an '04 Road King Classic. Beautiful bike, no problems over the summer and a reasonably comfortable bike. However, I've grown to enjoy longer days in the saddle (400+ avg per day) and found the Harley left me feeling a bit more beat up than I recalled with other bikes. A local dealer I've learned to trust had a demo '06 Goldwing Navi model in Gold with lots of extras that I've been eyeing for awhile, and finally made a deal yesterday. After 750 miles over the past two days, it's great to be back with a Goldwing. The new model has very good comfort, amazing handling and smoothness. The audio system and fit / finish is a big improvement over the '01-05's and Navi system is a hoot. It makes 500 mile days a walk in the park....allowing you to enjoy more of what goes on during the ride...as well as after the ride! Maybe someday I'll have two bikes in the garage, but if I can only have one, it'll be a Goldwing.
- Dave T, St Cloud, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-05 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1984 Aspencade had treated me well all these years and it was time for an upgrade to a goldwing gl1800 what a nice machine, easy to operate all the bells and whistles and a joy to drive. California here I come!!
- Robert Holt, chateauguay, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-04 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To borrow and slightly altered old tag line, "GOLDWING, THERE IS NO SUBSTITUTE". This is the most awe inspiring motorcycle ever designed. It has the handling, poise, and muscle of a sportbike combined with shocking double take good looks and unequaled comfort and reliability. The only bike remotely in it's league is BMW's 1200LT and it lags far behind in almost every category except brand prestige. Goldwing is indeed a well deserved icon among touring bikes as well it should be. It just doesn't get any better than this.
- T. B., SPRING, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-14 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 55 and owned a lot of bikes (28 of them)since I was 14 years old. This is a wonderful piece of equipment, the Goldwing is definately everything that I've been told about them. Bottom Line NOTHING COMPARES. They're in a class of their own...Ride Safe
- Rick Rollins, Batesville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: