Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P) reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

dpage

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2008-04-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Last summer I bought my second Wing; the first was a 03. I had sold it in a fit of insanity to buy another bike - cruiser at that! Well, I got a great deal on this one as a manufacturer's rep demo. I have taken two long trips this year to Colorado and Florida, pulling a trailer. Wing was flawless! AS ALWAYS. Most importantly, the wife is happy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

Albany, New York

Reviewed on 2007-12-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have spent the last 3 years searching for the best of the big touring bikes. You would think I would have started with the Wing, but most local Honda dealers are lousy about offering test rides, and I refuse to spend that kind of money on a bike I can't ride. I started on a Harley Ultra Classic two years ago. Sweet ride. Classic looks. But not much power and it becomes a Hibachi at low speeds. Cooked me and the wife. Gone after one year and 5k miles. Next up was the BMW K1200LT. Whew baby - acceleration! Sport bike-like in its HP delivery. However, very top heavy. Monstrous brakes - like Dad's old Cadillac. Very nice Sport Touring bike. But still didn't ring my bell - nor the wife's. Gone after one year and 10k miles. Finally, I found a one year old Wing at a dealer that would let me take it out for a spin. didn't take 10 miles before the wife and I knew we'd wasted two years. More power than the LT and made it down low like the Harley (enough torque to pull stumps). The 1.8 liter 6-cylinder engine is so smooth in its delivery of power; I can sometimes get it over 100 before the wife notices. It is comfortable beyond words. Mine has a driver's backrest and armrests for the wife. She has already fallen asleep back there at least once while riding the highway. I can honestly say after having ridden the BIG THREE that the Wing is without question the best (for me). Lots of power - delivered smoothly - and comfort to ride across town, or across country. My only caveat? My Wing doesn't have ABS. My next one will.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wayne Grant

Jacksonville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-01-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been a motorcycle rider and motorcycle instructor for many years. I have owned many different motorcycles from Yamaha to HD to Honda. I have owned the 1200 Goldwing and now the 1800. Honda has listened to Goldwing owners and produced a master piece of machinery. I do a lot of riding! I considered a get around town bike but I realized that I will not be happy without my WING!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl McAloose

Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-09-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has proven to be the best bike I have ridden/owned. I have thoroughly enjoyed each H-D (Ultra, Road king and V-rod), but the technological level of the 'wing is phenomenal for the price. Handling, protection, power and fit/quality are exceptional. Seat, for me, could be firmer. Addition of the Utopia backrest has made a substantial difference along with highway boards and footboards (can't get all the Harley out of my blood, eh?) I would highly recommend. It is an intimidating bike because of sheer size, but don't let that keep you away. Handles much smaller! Great Job, HONDA!:)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

k. schlosser

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-09-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What a motorcycle! I have owned twelve Honda motorcycles and one Kawasaki in my life. My last two bikes were Valkyries and I thought they were the best all around bikes I ever owned until I met the Goldwing. Incredibly balanced and easy to ride fast. What an engine! Smooth like a Mercedes 600 class sedan and has the punch to move out like a sport bike. All this in an 850lb touring bike. Love the looks (black/chrome/alloy) with ights to help the cages see you. You can listen to your mp3 (don't get the CD player) through the integrated system and the stereo is amazing. The Harley boys and other bikers can't help looking and hearing you as you go by. Sophisticated engineering with a wicked left hook. You ride this bike and you will have to have it. The handling is incredible. You will not believe this bike can be so easy to handle. I have loved Goldwings since I was a young man, I am now 50 years young, but I thought they were too big and clumsy. Not anymore!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big Boy

Ft. Worth, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have only put a little over 8K on this thing, riding local (defined as 1 day trips of between 400-500 miles along with riding too/from work, a 65 mile round trip) and also down into Hill Country a few times. Gas mileage is between 37 & 39; hit 41 on one trip to Hill Country. The stereo is great, no problems hearing it thru the speakers (cranks classic rock pretty well on setting of 20). The headset is a little different (J&M open-face type setup; I have an HJC-Symax that I enjoy in order to hear decently thru the headset, you do have to crank it up a bit, but it does ok. CB seems to work as it should but I'm thinking that the SWR's need adjusting. I asked the local Honda dealer, they stated that they are pre-set; not sure if I go along with that, but, as long as I can TX/RX, then guess I'll live. Wife pulled on the left saddle latch and it broke, so had to go in thru the trunk and push the plunger to open it; THIS was the morning OF our little over night trip down to Austin. Oh well, warranty will cover it (is it common for those to break so easily??). Motor is quiet, smooth, strong thru all the gears (even 5th rolling on from 40-45 will get you back up to hwy speeds, so no REAL need to downshift), bike feels very comfy tandem or solo, cruise works GREAT, and the bike sits rock solid in the corners as well as straights (FYI: easy to scrape pegs with this thing, which, is not a bad thing, is it??). I pulled onto I-35W a while back with the wife onboard and red-lined 1st thru 4th; let me tell you what: the bike gets that JUMP feeling due to the torque, you can just FEEL it. One other note: very stable at 125 mph with power to spare with the wife onboard. Bottom line: while we have great memories of the fun times shared on our old trusted steed of 14 plus years ('90 Yamaha Venture Royale-1st Gen; I SURE hope she's ok and living well & still having fun), we are making new memories with this bike and look forward to many rewarding miles. Guess that's all for now (well, its enough, ain't it??). Ride safe but ride often (to the Cafe's and Grill's), and ride like ya stole it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony P.

Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Reviewed on 2006-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When I bought this motorcycle I really needed a car, but I didn't want one. This motorcycle does everything I need it to do. It can carry a huge amout, goes, turns and stops better than any motorcycle it's size has a right to. And on top of it all, it's fun to ride. I've been riding for 44 years and this motorcycle is one of the most competent machines I have ever owned. Honda has a winner here.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gene Knutson

Rio Rancho , New Mexico

Reviewed on 2006-07-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding for 38 years, and this is a winner! The handling is superb, even with a passenger on the rear. The cornering, acceleration, and technology of the bike makes it a must ride for everyone who wants the big bike, but sport bike handling. A real winner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Adams

Alpharetta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2006-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was 18 years old and riding a new Kawasaki KL-250 enduro when I saw my first GoldWing. I said then that one day I would own a new Wing. Since then I've owned a '83 GL1100, '84 GL1200 Standard (loved that bike), an '89 GL1500 and a '93 GL1500... all were used but very good bikes. This past Friday, July 14, 2006, I picked up my brand new (only 2 miles on it) black GL1800 Wing from Lawrenceville Honda and... was it ever worth the wait! This bike is incredible!!! Beautiful to look at, unbelievable audio system, impressive navigation system, smooth and comfortable ride, and very nimble and fast!!! I was secretly thinking I should consider getting a VTX 1800 or an ST1300 as I like curvy roads and speed... but this Wing can do all that the VTX and ST can do and soooo much more! I've put 275 miles on the bike since Friday and I can't wait to put the next 300k miles on it!!! My buddies and I are planning a trip to New Mexico next spring and I can't wait!!! This is the bike I am going to ride the Four Corners on... this is a Lear Jet for the highway!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Juan Silva

Altamonte Springs, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Gold Wing Premium Audio (GL18P)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased my GL1800 4 weeks ago, already rode 4,100 miles on my Wing. This is the most amazing bike, it handles the road and manuvers like a Sports Bike. My wife did not like to go riding with me until she tried the Wing, now I must sneak out if I want to go alone. I use my bike daily(work or fun), whether it's sunny, cloudy or raining, just won't leave without my Wing. My XUV has simply been sitting at my driveway and got no plans of using it unless I got to haul or pickup large items. Not a starter bike though, make sure you have the adecuate skills before riding this monster.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: