Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Motorcycles Reviews (15)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-11-02 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned this bike for three years and it's been amazing. I added the Corbin saddle to an already comfortable bike and long trips are a blast. The only thing I might otherwise add are a set of handlebar risers and a cheap cruise for a break every once in a while, because with the large tank you don't have to stop very often. I've never had any problems other than those that were operator induced (dropping it in the garage!). My wife loves it as well and is fairly comfortable on the back; only thing more comfy would be a Gold Wing or similar on long trips, but they can't do what this will in any other situation. Last year I put 18,500 miles on it because of a long commute and I couldn't be happier with the low maintenance that this bike requires, even being chain driven. I use Royal Purple oil and have found that to work best overall in extreme highs and lows (Corpus Christi, TX and Amarillo, TX -100+ to 20 degrees - far too cold to be riding). I get about 42 miles a gallon on average and about 45-48 if it's all highway. I could see how this bike could get uncomfortable for the legs of a taller person. This bike will truly do it all and everyone who has ridden mine definitely agrees that this bike is an awesome ride. Downside: insurance companies classify it as a sport bike.
- Dustin Brooks, Amarillo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-14 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this exceptional bike for four years now and it is still my favorite. I have only had two problems. One was an electrical recall, and the other was my left fork seal busted. Other than that the bike has been perfect. It is great for long rides and great in the curves. My Interceptor and I have spent many days at the Dragon's Tail in Tennessee/North Carolina (318 curves in 11 miles). I would recommend this bike to anyone. 17,500 miles and counting!
- David Tipton, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-10 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Interceptor. I have two bikes (the wife's rule is no more than 2, so...) and just traded my 1997 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe for a new Roadliner. When I'm in the mood for more spirited riding, my Interceptor does the trick. I replaced the pipes with Scorpions, installed the fender eliminator kit, exchanged the levers (I din't like the wimpy aluminum levers that came with her), exchanged the stock seat with a Sergeant, put on a tank bra, and removed the passenger foot pegs and grab rails. In asphalt black, she looks sinister and exotic - especially with the single-sided swingarm and those 2 big polished cans jutting out from under the seat. Many stares on the road. And no one can figure out what it is. Very cool. I'm no track racer, but this bike is fast and stable. In fact, I'd say the best feature of the bike is the chassis balance. It soaks up bumps and inspires confidence both going super fast on the highway and on the sweepers - so much that I have to really remind myself to cool it when I'm riding fast. The engine sounds more like a car than a typical sport bike - very throaty and substantial, especially with the Scorpions - and just plain screams when the VTEC kicks in. I love the lights - on a dark road at night the brights light up the planet in front of you. Also the center stand makes it a snap to top off the tank when refueling and lubing the chain. Also when stored for extended periods the rear tire is off the ground. Just another neat perk that I've come to really appreciate it as I've owned and lived with her. Then there's the user-friendliness - versatile and reliable, you just can't go wrong with the bike. AND, I nabbed her for much less than sticker about a year ago now. So...I love my Interceptor. I know this is a transition bike for me, and the next one isn't a sportbike - as I get older I find myself liking more legroom. So the next one would probably be an FZ1 or FJR. But for now, I'm loving the expensive look and feel and the more reasonable, less extreme and race dedicated ergos compared to sport bikes. It's like one step between a sport bike and an FJR. The only gripes are... The speedo which is ridiculously optimistic. When the speedo indicates 80, the GPS actually reads 72! Also, I have to consciously work to keep my hands and wrists from cramping - but I don't blame the bike for this...it's actually more comfortable to me than a more dedicated sportbike. I could just be getting old!
- Michael, Franklin, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-18 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first real bike. I am just becoming comfortable with it and I can tell that we are coming out of the break-in period. It is pretty easy to shift and accelerates well. The brakes are thus far reliable and reassuring. Sometimes I think I want a "sportier" bike, but then the comfort level (and less expensive insurance) brings me back to my senses. This is all I need, at least for now. I am very pleased with it.
- chris, ricmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-15 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read many articles on the bike before selecting my 2004 Interceptor. After consideration of many models, nothing comes close in my opinion in offering the balance of characteristics I was seeking. I love the look -the single-sided swingarm, front fascia, montone paint and beautiful underseat dual exhaust make for a very expensive looking and almost sinister looking package. Honda build quality is apparent, although to be fair, the Kawi's, Yammie's and Suzook's also all rate high in my opinion in this area. I ride a 1997 Yamaha Royal Star as my other ride, so there are no problems with "overweight and underpowered" for me. I'm just nearing the end of the break-in period, and I have yet to feel the need to rev it higher or visit full throttle (although you can bet I'll enjoy getting there!) - granted, I may be gettin' old but the Interceptor feels more than fast enough for me. The v4 provides nice low-end grunt for around town stuff, and if you're into engine technology like I am, you'll love the vtec system - both the power surge and sound. The tranny has well-spaced ratios for me - good launch but also a relaxed top gear. The bike is well composed on all street surfaces and always feels planted - at high speeds and mid-corner road bumps. It feels like an extension of my body, and is comfortable enough for long Sunday morning rides. All-in-all, you can say I'm extremely pleased so far...
- M Aron, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-04 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a '96 VFR750 since new and absolutely LOVED it. Then when my wife expressed interest in wanting to be a passenger with me and we began doing a lot of mountain riding (10,000 feet above sea level), I was finding myself shifting all of the time and it was wearing on me. After tossing around the idea of purchasing pre-owned '98-'01 models, a friend convinced me to purchase the '02-Current style. I noticed a flat spot around 7K RPM's, but it wasn't so noticable that it ruined my experience. The headlight low beam pattern is MUCH better than my '94-97 styled Interceptor (always a complaint I had when riding dark roads at night). I've recently added Sylvania Silverstar H4 bulbs to the low beam and have a nice clean white light for night riding--which for me greatly increases visibility. So if you want a good reliable-sexy looking, all day comfort (for a sport bike), check out the latest Interceptor!
- Super Dave, Westminster, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-18 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's sad to see some people reviewing this bike as heavy and slow. This is NOT a hard core super light weight performance bike, nor was it designed to be as such. It's a great overall sport bike for someone who is as tall as myself, doesn't want to lie on the tank, wants to have fun in the twisties, but wants to be able to ride all day comfortably. I've owned 929RR in the past, and thought it was a light racing machine and is a blast to race. However, it's uncomfortable for all day riding. My wife and I have enjoyed this for the past several years and have a great time with it. Happy Riding!
- Dave, Westminster, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-11 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my new VFR. I upgraded from a 1976 Honda CB500T. Oh what a difference. It is the exact bike I wanted because I wanted a sport bike, but I also wanted comfort. I chose this bike over the VTX 1800, Yamaha Road Star Warrior, and Harley V-Rod. I am so glad I did, because I realized I like going fast for long rides. For its speed and agility, it is very comfortable. I put 12,600 miles on the bike in 9 months if that tells you anything. Whoever it was that said this bike was jerky when the VTEC kicks in is over exaggerating. The engine transitions very well into a 4 valve system. The power boost is noticible, but it is far from dangerous. Second, the forks are adjustable, just have to read that little book under the seat.
- Joe D, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-21 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
3 months and running, this has to be the best choice I've made in years. Almost bought a Katana until I found out about how old the technology was. This bike is light years ahead of the competition in this category. Comfortable, powerful, and all around enjoyable.
- Thumper, Kennesaw, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-10 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my old VFR, a '96, which was hard but I have been nothing but satisfied with the changes to the new model. The new bike is extremely quiet until you hit 7000 rpm and the v-tec kicks in, and you've got yourself a monster. I've recieved nothing but good comments on the looks of the bike and I can't wait to get her broken in enough to see what she can really do. Thanks Honda for keepng the VFR legend alive and well.
- chris rainwater, houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-02 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my VFR for 3 weeks and have had 3 trips of 250 to 350 miles. The bike is very smooth. The engine has a nice growl when you run it hard, but the rest of the time, it just purrs along. I've seen several comments about the bike being slow. I had a CBR 954 RR and it is considered relatively fast. There's not much difference in real world conditions. Unless you ride like a racer on the street, you probably will prefer the VFR. If you ride hard enough to appreciate the performance difference, you need to be on a track, not on the street! It's more difficult to judge your speed on the VFR relative to the CBR. It runs so much smoother you have to pay attention to the speedometer. The bike is well designed and everything works like it should. It's clear Honda was sweating the details on this bike. Most buyers go for the flash and dash bikes and ignore one of the best rides on the market.
- Alvin Davenport, Prestonsburg, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-02 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The VFR is a bike that you have to get to know, but once you do it's like a long time girlfriend that you can trust no matter what. When I first got my VFR, I was comparing it to an FZ-1 which is the funnest bike I've ever ridden. The VFR is just so... smooth. It's Honda smooth. It smoothly runs up around 90mph without you knowing it. It's not as comfortable because of the leaned over riding position, but the engine pulls from down low. The Vtech takes some getting used to if you hang around 7000 RPM, but if you go right by 7K you won't notice, but the engine runns more freely. Again, a smooth transition. Handles like a dream. So why do I like it if its not as comfortable, not as fast, not as fun as an FZ-1? Because overall it just fits my personality, my riding needs, better. I find myself reaching for the keys to the VFR more than any other bike in my garage. I have many bikes including the FJR, the VFR, and the FZ-1. FZ is faster and funner; FJR is more comfortable but bulkier; VFR just grew on me.
- shai nyi, pontiac, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-18 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
People hate the VFR 800 because it is slow and heavy...they are right,it is slow and heavy. If you want fast and light buy the r-1, gixxer or zx10. Guess what! I can keep up with my buddies who drive those bikes 70-80% of the time. And, I finish the ride without the sore neck, back and wrists. Comfort? ...If you plan to a carry a passenger, the other bikes won't even come close. I've even been told my bike looks just as good, if not better than those bikes. I can live with the vfr's relative lack of performance. How often do you use the top 20% of power anyway? Race bikes are for race tracks. In my opinion the vfr 800 is better suited for the streets. As a bonus the v-4 engine sounds awesome (can't wait for the aftermarket pipe!)
- ande, detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-26 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For a bike that was voted best in its class, it's true!! That is with a few minor modifications, I found that the suspension was set up too soft good for a rider that weighs under 150lbs so, with some help from race tech the suspension is dialed in perfectly. Engine performance felt a little week at the low end but ripped at 7g's with the VTEC made up the difference with a set of slip-ons and a power commander, by changing the OEM exhaust also shed some extra weight... almost 32lbs.This bike will hang with the big dogs (gixxer 1000 and R-1) except when they have to stop to stretch after a set of twisties, I'm leaving them to carve another set of corners combined with the ABS this bike is as close to perfect as a bike can get Thanks Honda
- WING-NUT, MELBOURNE, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-22 2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is perfect for what it is. Not the fastest bike, but I think 150-160mph is fast enough. Then the VTEC kicks in and the bike becomes fast. In the non-VTEC range (under 7000 rpm) the bike is more like in economy mode, but not slow. It's not the lightest bike, but heavy enough for the highway rides and light enough for the back road rides. Very comfortable and sporty fit but it all depends on rider. Quality is awesome, but this is a Honda!
- scott, brooklyn, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: