Honda Interceptor Motorcycles Reviews (26)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Interceptor Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Interceptor Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-06-29 2001 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since 1967. When I got back into riding I spent a year testing every bike I could borrow, test drive, or rent. I read every review and found while it gave you good information, the test drive was the best information. Only the VFR 800FI felt like I had been riding it forever. I chose it over the VTEC which was also available. I purchased mine in 2003 from the rental fleet, and still have it. It is the only bike I need. It goes 0-60 in 3.2 seconds, does 0-150-0 with no drama. It has a smooth torque and hp curve with no dips. It carries 10HP and 8 ft.lbs torque over the VTEC in midrange. The fueling is spot on, so it does not need a pipe or power commander. It will cut any corner with ease and feels planted. It rides like a luxury vehicle, yet handles like a sport bike. It can keep up with most sport bikes. The V4 VFR was rated most efficient over all other bikes by BIKE magazine. I have at 50-55 mpg on regular fuel a 275-300 mile range, and a seat I, and my passenger can feel comfortable in all day. You can mount 3 Givi hardcase bags on it so you don't have to haul your stuff and they are locked up secure. With dual Phillips Extreme H4s on it lights up any night, and the cagers see you. There is virtually no repairs. You can leave it sit for a month or more and just start it up and go. It is the best bike I have ever owned, and I have owned every make and catagory. It is not one you lust over in the showroom, but one you truely love after you own one.
- Nicky Zarras, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-13 2001 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
60+ years young, Harley rider for 10+ years got interested in sport bikes hanging out at the Hess station during Bike Week in Daytona. After a Keith Code cornering school at Mid-Ohio, started looking for something sporty that could also tour with some comfort. Spent time on friend's HondaRC51 --loved the v-twin and the power, but the position was a little uncomfortable. Found used 01 VFR 800 w/ 12,000 miles, Heli Bars (HB9801), M4 Pipe, Cheetah SST sportbike bubble shield, Nelson Rigg tank bag and new Avon Azaros-- all for $5,500.00. What a deal compared to a$16-17,000 H-D Deuce (which I still ride -- some). The VFR is a great performer. The V-4 has plenty of power (100HP) and reasonable torque (55#/ft) although the real power band comes on over 6000RPM. This is a good-looking, very stable bike that inspires confidence. The "squirt-factor" TM from 6K in 3rd or 4th gear is a rush and the exhaust is a memorable melody for enthusiastic bikers. Try it.
- DJI, COLUMBUS, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-05 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked the bike up on Saturday and have put about 100 miles on her. I did a lot of research before buying this bike. I looked from HD models to even BMW's. For all of the new technology (VTEC, ABS, FI, LBS) the new Interceptor blows away the competition. I am looking forward to getting thru the break in period and add some pipes and see what the VTEC is all about. The fit and finish are of course top notch, I also think the VFR has a great look and the best part is you will not see one next to you at a stop light. So if you are looking for a great bang for the buck, sport bike, cruiser, or commuter you can't go wrong with the new Interceptor.
- Brian, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-04 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a friend who purchased a 1984 Interceptor 700. That was a sweet ride especially for the day. Twenty years later, I purchased a 2003 Interceptor and the bike still does not disappoint! It has the looks, handling and the speed, but what I like best is that you don't see very many around, which makes mine grab that much more attention. No flashy graphics...not needed. It looks fast just standing still!
- Jeff Lewis, Perrys5burg, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-26 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am the first reviewer from Florida. Now I have 4400 miles on the bike and it is just getting better and better everyday. Everything stock on the bike, only changes: a tank pad and removed the unnecessary passenger grab handles and foot pegs, the back looks much cleaner now. Had the sub frame recall done. After 3k miles the bike really opened up much better and runs unbelievably smooth. I intend to keep this one for a long time. Ride safe everyone.
- First Reviewer, Boca Raton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-17 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike handles great, sounds great, goes real good, but the 7000rpm hesitation thing is a little bothersome. Much lighter than on paper, and looks awesome.
- scott, brroklyn, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-14 2001 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 2001 carryover VFR when I saw the 2002. I was a previous VFR owner(1986)and new the V4 was the way to go. With a couple modifications (Corbin seat and Throttlemeister), I rode to Colorado and back (2200 miles)in 5 days with very little problems. The trip home I rode 800 miles in one day. You can easily ride 500 miles in one day on this bike with a custom seat. The bike handles like a dream, more power than necessary on the street and amazing looks. I plan to add bar risers this spring and continue to pile up the miles. The only complaint is that the gas tank isn't larger.
- Corey, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-26 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my silver 2003 non ABS for my birthday. Definitely a good looking bike. Real tight. Smooth acceleration, smooth ride. After riding a CBR600 for 4 years, makes me wonder, what was I thinking then?
- Anthony, Pico Rivera, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-22 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up my interceptor on the 22nd of december at my local dealer. I love how this bike looks and read about every bike available. I spent around $5,000 just buying magazines and reading and test riding. I am totally glad I got this bike what can I say this is the best bike made period.
- Anthony, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-22 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great machine. Purchased in March of 2003. Imediatly ordered bags and staintunes. Install them at the same time and it will save you hours of labour(find a 12mm drill bit to install the bags and the directions for the bags could use a digital photo to aide in installing.) Also, when installing the pipes use a alignment tool for routing near the right peg. The fuel injection has a flat spot around 4500 rpm and you may only notice this in traffic. Note the bike has a flat spot with or with out the pipes. My bike once in a blue moon idles down at a stop sign then quits if i don't catch it. Then I restart it and it's like it never happened. The dealer can't find anything wrong. These are not the fastest interceptors but they do everything so well and look and sound faboulous. The fairing has plastic push fastners that are almost impossible to remove with out destroying so I just pull the fairing back to change oil. As for the competition it's lighter than a BMW and the Ducati st-4 (previous bike) it has much better lights, thousands cheaper to service and chain adjustments are a snap. Fuel economy is 38-40 mpg on the highway and don't go to far past 200 miles. The factory seat is fine and you can do stoppies with fresh tires. If i could have one change it would be 120 rear wheel horspower. Good luck and try to wear a VFR out.
- james, Duluth, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-06 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden a lot of bikes, this one is far superior to anything. It is nimble, yet it will blow you away with a twist of the throttle!
- Scott, Rutledge, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-29 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is in its own category. The V-4 provides all the power you could want. With the slightest touch on the throttle the bike pulls ahead hunting for 140+mph straights and carves into the corners with grace. My ABS has helped me more than once and unlike other bikes I barley notice any fork dive. Very comfortable and agile, I've been on it for over 4 hours straight, less a fuel stop, and was only fatigued by the weight of my helmet. If anyone does a lot of traveling on a bike, toss on the optional hard bags and you've got a replacement for your car!
- Dan Gagnon, Doylestown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 15 bikes in 15 years. The VFR is the first bike that I have loved. I rode 350 miles the first day on it. It is fast but such a smooth ride too. Heading to Canada next week. Thanks Honda!
- Chad, Indiana, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-31 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I had the best time while buying my '03 VFR800 I own a '90 VFR750 and have almost 100,000 miles on it. I am glad to see that Honda has not changed the feel of the bike (except for much more power and better handling) since my first VFR. I am looking forward to enhancing the performance with some Staintune pipes in the future, but for now, one word describes the bike...WOW!
- Patrick Herron, Clear Lake, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-11 2001 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '01 vfr 4 weeks ago and I feel like I'm standing on the front of the titanic with my arms stretched screaming I'm king of the world. The power is beyond good, the bikes ride is butter smooth. The only draw back is the titanic scale weight of this marvelous machine (I decided one day that I'd like to see what the bike would look like on it's side). I seriously pulled a hamstring uprighting the beast. All in all, I'm really impressed with the bike and I'm planning to buy another if honda raises displacement value.
- Steve C, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-26 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My New Interceptor is an amazing machine. Since it has started breaking in, I feel as if I have become one with the bike. The throttle response is as responsive as the thought it self, as if your wrist is connected to the rear wheel. I love the way it looks from every angle! After testing lots of other motorcycles, the Interceptor is the bike that I did not have to compromise anything. It has it all!!!!
- Tony, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-29 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike compliments my 1991 VFR perfectly. The ride is virtually flawless, the engine sounds and responds perfectly. Love the bike.
- Mark Walters, Pekin, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-01 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a very capable, asphalt eating machine! It corners very well, accelerates like a crackhead being chased by the MAN! It looks very clean and sporty and it sounds great with the stock exhaust. Brakes are phenomenal, and I got the ABS model! Previous bike was a Suzuki Katana, no comparison. Honda did well!
- Ruffneck, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-24 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle is comfortable and looks very cool. It doesn't have any ugly stripes. Very mature and sophisticated.
- Dave, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-12 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After agonising over several bikes I finally decided to update my VFR to the latest model. Adding Staintune pipes significantly improved the overall enjoyment. The handling of the new bike compared to previous model is the area which has been the most impressive. All Honda have to do now is increase the capacity to 1000cc !!
- Paul Amey, Adelaide, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-25 2003 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got mine in silver and the first time turning the key was a complete joy. Hit the start button and I don't even think the engine made a complete revolution befor it kicked over. It took about 2 minutes to warm up and off I went. Just a stroll around the block showed me that this is still everybit sporty as well as refined. The 959 can be for the young ones but this will suttle you in for a smooth ride. The sounds from the pipes are pleasing. The throttle was VERY responsive, and the several turns I took in it were like cutting with a sharp knife. I put 30 miles on it in two trips and was very pleased. I love the linked breaking!! I have problems with my right ankle so this helps out tremendously. I am VERY pleased with my 800 VFR. Thanks Honda
- John Mabry, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-09 2001 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
the vfr is one great machine. you can cruise around comfortable and the bike will be quite forgiving. probaly most comfortable sportbike around.should u feel like digging in....hang on! will keep up with just about anything, signs off around 145mph, will definately rip all the way to 130mph, acceleration slows from there. kinda heavy but honda did a great job centralizing the mass (v4), feels lighter than it is. motor is very strong when reved, great on the backroads. brakes are great, linked is not my fav but will do the job, handles great very stable in corners, changes direction well. most riders think they need the fastest or most flickable machine, but the truth is this. most sportbikes out perform their riders by a mile. if u can do it, the vfr can too, plus be comfortable. lots of room in this bike. ride safe
- pasystm, denton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-25 2001 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last bike (11 years ago) was an '84 Nighthawk S and I miss it. I've read many articles about how the VFR is such a comfortable do it all bike, but make no mistake about it, it's a sport bike, not a standard. I took a 1 hour ride the other night and it killed my wrists. I used to spend 3 hours strafing the canyons in Colorado on my Nighthawk pain free. I don't know how people tour on these things. To be honest, my wrists/hands were the only parts bothering me, butt & back were fine. Perhaps on a faster road the wind blast would take some pressure off the hands. The bike probably is comfortable for a sport bike, I just have no frame of reference (plus I'm old!). While the riding position is not my favorite, this bike is very easy to get used to. Smooth shifting & progressive V-4 power delivery. Tame but useable power below 6K for us rusty old guys, with a big power surge coming on after that. After 6K is also when you start to hear that cool V-4 sound that sets the bike apart from all those in-line fours. It kind of reminds me of a small block Chevy V-8 screaming at redline.
- Brian, Jackson, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-30 2001 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 35 yrs young and have already owned standards to toures and can tell you this is the one to have if you can only have one bike. You get 80% of what most bikes have to offer and in most cases a lot more.Those of you concerned that the VFR won't offer enough perfomance, stop! Unless you are a track-day addict or self-confesed horsespower junkie you won't be disapointed. Only very experienced and determined litre class riders with good stretches of road and little self preservation instinct, will pull a gap on you. At that point leave those heroics for the track. In the real world the VFR is all you could want and a whole lot more. The feel, the sound, the balance of power and handling that inspires confidence. To top it all off, a V4 engine that adds character, something many bikes lack. Go get one and welcome to the real world.
- Rick. Tompkins , Tornto, Ontario, Reunion

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-04 2001 Honda Interceptor Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a 53 year old rider, I needed a bike that was comfortable and handles.Sold my 87 Goldwing,good bike,and have never looked back. Best sound in all off bikedoom,good looks,have taken it on 4 day trips covering 1500 miles no problems. NOt the fastest,not the lightest, just the best street bike,especially if you can afford only one,this is the bike fo you.
- g edwards, wenatchee, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: