Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Interceptor reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

26 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Nicky Zarras

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2007-06-29

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda Interceptor

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding since 1967. When I got back into riding I spent a year testing every bike I could borrow, test drive, or rent. I read every review and found while it gave you good information, the test drive was the best information. Only the VFR 800FI felt like I had been riding it forever. I chose it over the VTEC which was also available. I purchased mine in 2003 from the rental fleet, and still have it. It is the only bike I need. It goes 0-60 in 3.2 seconds, does 0-150-0 with no drama. It has a smooth torque and hp curve with no dips. It carries 10HP and 8 ft.lbs torque over the VTEC in midrange. The fueling is spot on, so it does not need a pipe or power commander. It will cut any corner with ease and feels planted. It rides like a luxury vehicle, yet handles like a sport bike. It can keep up with most sport bikes. The V4 VFR was rated most efficient over all other bikes by BIKE magazine. I have at 50-55 mpg on regular fuel a 275-300 mile range, and a seat I, and my passenger can feel comfortable in all day. You can mount 3 Givi hardcase bags on it so you don't have to haul your stuff and they are locked up secure. With dual Phillips Extreme H4s on it lights up any night, and the cagers see you. There is virtually no repairs. You can leave it sit for a month or more and just start it up and go. It is the best bike I have ever owned, and I have owned every make and catagory. It is not one you lust over in the showroom, but one you truely love after you own one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DJI

COLUMBUS, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-07-13

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda Interceptor

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
60+ years young, Harley rider for 10+ years got interested in sport bikes hanging out at the Hess station during Bike Week in Daytona. After a Keith Code cornering school at Mid-Ohio, started looking for something sporty that could also tour with some comfort. Spent time on friend's HondaRC51 --loved the v-twin and the power, but the position was a little uncomfortable. Found used 01 VFR 800 w/ 12,000 miles, Heli Bars (HB9801), M4 Pipe, Cheetah SST sportbike bubble shield, Nelson Rigg tank bag and new Avon Azaros-- all for $5,500.00. What a deal compared to a$16-17,000 H-D Deuce (which I still ride -- some). The VFR is a great performer. The V-4 has plenty of power (100HP) and reasonable torque (55#/ft) although the real power band comes on over 6000RPM. This is a good-looking, very stable bike that inspires confidence. The "squirt-factor" TM from 6K in 3rd or 4th gear is a rush and the exhaust is a memorable melody for enthusiastic bikers. Try it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2004-04-05

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Interceptor

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just picked the bike up on Saturday and have put about 100 miles on her. I did a lot of research before buying this bike. I looked from HD models to even BMW's. For all of the new technology (VTEC, ABS, FI, LBS) the new Interceptor blows away the competition. I am looking forward to getting thru the break in period and add some pipes and see what the VTEC is all about. The fit and finish are of course top notch, I also think the VFR has a great look and the best part is you will not see one next to you at a stop light. So if you are looking for a great bang for the buck, sport bike, cruiser, or commuter you can't go wrong with the new Interceptor.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Lewis

Perrys5burg, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-04-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Interceptor

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a friend who purchased a 1984 Interceptor 700. That was a sweet ride especially for the day. Twenty years later, I purchased a 2003 Interceptor and the bike still does not disappoint! It has the looks, handling and the speed, but what I like best is that you don't see very many around, which makes mine grab that much more attention. No flashy graphics...not needed. It looks fast just standing still!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

First Reviewer

Boca Raton, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-03-26

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Interceptor

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am the first reviewer from Florida. Now I have 4400 miles on the bike and it is just getting better and better everyday. Everything stock on the bike, only changes: a tank pad and removed the unnecessary passenger grab handles and foot pegs, the back looks much cleaner now. Had the sub frame recall done. After 3k miles the bike really opened up much better and runs unbelievably smooth. I intend to keep this one for a long time. Ride safe everyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

scott

brroklyn, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2004-03-17

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Interceptor

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike handles great, sounds great, goes real good, but the 7000rpm hesitation thing is a little bothersome. Much lighter than on paper, and looks awesome.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Corey

Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Reviewed on 2004-01-14

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda Interceptor

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased a new 2001 carryover VFR when I saw the 2002. I was a previous VFR owner(1986)and new the V4 was the way to go. With a couple modifications (Corbin seat and Throttlemeister), I rode to Colorado and back (2200 miles)in 5 days with very little problems. The trip home I rode 800 miles in one day. You can easily ride 500 miles in one day on this bike with a custom seat. The bike handles like a dream, more power than necessary on the street and amazing looks. I plan to add bar risers this spring and continue to pile up the miles. The only complaint is that the gas tank isn't larger.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anthony

Pico Rivera, California

Reviewed on 2003-12-26

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Interceptor

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Got my silver 2003 non ABS for my birthday. Definitely a good looking bike. Real tight. Smooth acceleration, smooth ride. After riding a CBR600 for 4 years, makes me wonder, what was I thinking then?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anthony

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2003-12-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Interceptor

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just picked up my interceptor on the 22nd of december at my local dealer. I love how this bike looks and read about every bike available. I spent around $5,000 just buying magazines and reading and test riding. I am totally glad I got this bike what can I say this is the best bike made period.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

james

Duluth, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2003-12-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Interceptor

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great machine. Purchased in March of 2003. Imediatly ordered bags and staintunes. Install them at the same time and it will save you hours of labour(find a 12mm drill bit to install the bags and the directions for the bags could use a digital photo to aide in installing.) Also, when installing the pipes use a alignment tool for routing near the right peg. The fuel injection has a flat spot around 4500 rpm and you may only notice this in traffic. Note the bike has a flat spot with or with out the pipes. My bike once in a blue moon idles down at a stop sign then quits if i don't catch it. Then I restart it and it's like it never happened. The dealer can't find anything wrong. These are not the fastest interceptors but they do everything so well and look and sound faboulous. The fairing has plastic push fastners that are almost impossible to remove with out destroying so I just pull the fairing back to change oil. As for the competition it's lighter than a BMW and the Ducati st-4 (previous bike) it has much better lights, thousands cheaper to service and chain adjustments are a snap. Fuel economy is 38-40 mpg on the highway and don't go to far past 200 miles. The factory seat is fine and you can do stoppies with fresh tires. If i could have one change it would be 120 rear wheel horspower. Good luck and try to wear a VFR out.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 26 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: