Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Motorcycles Reviews (58)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-01-02 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the "Vifferfor about a year now, and I absolutely LOVE this motorcycle! I have owned CBRs in the past and this bike blows them away for my needs and expectations of a great bike. Awesome cornering, acceleration and braking all exceeded my hopes. The VTEC is so much fun; it's like riding an 800cc two-stroke with a power-band! I put almost 13,000 miles on it in 10 months. It is my daily driver and I have NO complaints with anything except the usual - wish she had more power! Just buy it - don't think about it. The bike sounds like an F-1 car at 11,000 rpm!
- PETE, STUART, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-24 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride a scooter in high school some 20 years ago. Once in a while I would get on my friends Ninja 250. Last month I went all out and got an Interceptor. Let me tell you this is the first Sports Bike that I ever owned. The size, the weight and speed of this monster compared to a scooter is not comparable. For someone who is a starter after 20 years is unheard of and people tell me WHY such a BIG FAST BIKE TO START OFF WITH? But what's even more amazing is that this is the most comfortable and easy going as it gets. The ride is smooth and handles great. The power is great and despite its size and weight, it's like riding a big scooter. SO SO simple and smooth. Deadly as it looks and IS, but it rides like a pussy cat. After 20 years of jumping on something like this it took me no more than 20-30 miles to get the full hang of it. don't BE INTIMIDATED BY ITS LOOKS AND POWER. IT'S AN EASY BIKE TO RIDE YET WITH AN amazing V-TECH 16V to give you that extra kick. AWESOME bike for SPORTS and TOURING...and for GODS SAKES STOP COMPLIMENTING AT EVERY RED LIGHT!! IT LOOKS AWESOME TOO.
- Hadi. S.Z, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-20 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fourth bike. Also owned a YZF600R, cbr954rr, and tl1000r. First off, I must admit I'm biased towards Honda's because my car (Prelude) runs problem free with just oil changes and required service maintenance. With their motorcycles, the build quality is top notch...even better than their cars. So go with any Honda motorcycle and you won't regret it. Now if you're looking for an all around bike, this is it. The riding position is perfect (for me), the power is adequate, the range is good, the looks are killer, and it's a Honda so it'll run forever. If this is a weekend bike to go canyon blasting, probably not the best since you don't want that vtec kicking in during a corner. On a straightaway, though, it's a blast. I usually get bored of a bike after 3 months, but I'm keeping this for the long haul as my utilitarian vehicle.
- Tom, Orange, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-26 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I admit to being bias towards Honda, although I have converted hardcore Yamaha riders into admittance. I get it from even them on how well the bike handles, and mostly the comfort. It could use some more acceleration power but I'm not riding wheelies with it anyway. I am a big guy and this is about the right size for my comfort zone, especially with tank bags that you can rest your chest on. TWO THUMBS UP!
- Joey Hess, Missoula, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-02 2000 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had a number of different rides, and I currently ride a BMW 1150GS and the Honda--bought used in perfect condition. It is a very reliable, fun fast ride. I wish the rider position was a little more adjustable, but this is the best all around package I've ever ridden. Excellent bike. It is very fast.
- tmk, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-09 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike with 2300 miles on it and have ridden it 1100 miles in the last 2 months. I ride 90 miles a day and do an occasional weekend road trip with other riders. I've owned a sport bike (1999 ZX-9R) and other sport touring bikes (1986 CB700SC, 2000 Katana 600 & 750 both models, 1986 Interceptor 500) over the last 20 years and this one is a keeper. It's slightly heavy (500lbs +) but the V4 VTec 780cc engine makes up for the weight. The 180/55 rear tire makes for a fun ride on the twisties and I'm very confident when taking them because you feel the tire do its job. It is comfortable to ride and has a great resale value. The bike is worth the money you spend on it when buying USED like I did, in my humble opinion they are a bit expensive new. If you are in the market for a high-end sport/touring bike that can hold up against the sport bikes in the twisties and still allow you to enjoy a comfortable ride (for 4 hours or more Go VFR. If you want light weight (i.e. around 400lbs or less) and super fast (i.e. 115HP+ don't go VFR
- Jim, Oceanside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-05 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been commuting 110 miles a day year round on my '02 since I bought it new in September. The only problem at all was the speedo sensor which went out at 11,000 miles. The VFR needs a little more power so I added a Two Brothers exhaust and went up two teeth on the rear sprocket which gave it more of a kick. I get an average of 42 MPG on my freeway commute but if I get on it hard it drops to 38. I found the Metzler Z-6 tire suits the VFR well, helping it handle fairly quickly for its weight. The speedo was way optimistic so I put a recalibrator on and it reads right on now. Top speed with the TBR and sprocket change is 150 MPH verified by GPS. One negative area is the cost of a valve adjustment - because the VFR has VTEC valves the job takes 8 hrs and when done with a service check the cost is around $600.00 - Ouch! Overall this is a great bike, reliable and good handling but it would need to lose 100 LBS and gain 10 hp to be perfect....
- Steve Sysum, Aptos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-17 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my VFR, as they are called in Canada, in June 2002 and in my first year I bought the hard Honda saddle bags and went on a 20 hour straight ride from Toronto to Myrtle Beach SC. I found I was more comfortable than my friend who rode a Harley with me. This year I bought the rear trunk (rear beer box) and I find I have a weekend tour bike and a weekday crotch rocket. I do my own oil changes and find it easy to work on. I have ridden BMWs, Harleys and Jap bikes, this is by far the best bike. Oh, and I can still lift the front wheel without any effort. Just a tip, I wanted silver color so the dealers said I had to buy a brand new 2003, but, the dealers in the Toronto area had lots of 2002's in red color that they were practically giving away. So shop around if you are not color picky like I am, and save around $2000.
- Shane Brar, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-10 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have a Yamaha Royal Star cruiser, and love it. Decided to add a sportier bike to the stable. At 47, I was not interested in a pure sport bike, so I shopped every sport-touring bike on the market. Thought I had settled on the new Yamaha FJR1300, but $13k and no opportunity to see it before buying turned me off. Found a leftover 2002 at my local dealer, they made me an unbelievable deal, so here I am. Just turning it in for the 600 mile service, but I already know I made the right choice. This bike is quick, stable, and FUN. Wish I had bought one sooner.
- timmymac, san francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-28 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a holdover 2002 new as the 2003 models sat on the floor last year, so dealer was anxious to move it and the price was right. It's been happy riding ever since. This is a solid bike that does virtually everything well. It has better ergonomics than a pure sports bike, but much more comfortable and better for long rides. The only thing about the bike I wish I could change would be to take a little weight off of it. I've just cleared 4,500 miles with no mechanical problems at all. It is a solid bike for anyone who wants a sporty look, power, comfort, and a comfortable riding position.
- VFRRider, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-28 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for long trips, good on gas, plenty of power for an 800.
- witchdoctor, lewisville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-06 2000 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome torque... no need to downshift constantly like my old CBR... makes real world riding much more fun. V4 sound is intoxicating (w/ the right pipe). no more idle (pseudo-choke) as the '98-99. the fuel injection makes all-weather and all-altitude riding great (it's like having an auto-re-jet as you climb up out of the canyons). Large tank and confortable ergo's for good range (200-240 miles). Single-sided swing-arm makes for easy chain adjustments and center stand makes chain lube easy. Dash is well laid out w/ daul trip odo's, coolant temp, ambient air temp, fuel gauge and clock (all LCD), w/ analog tach and speedo. A touch on the heavy side, but the '98-01 (RC46) is the last of the "sport bike" VFR... the '02+ are more tour than sport (heavier, longer, etc.) - what a shame to ruin such a perfect bike (the hard bags are a welcomed option on the current model). The bike is "green" as well... meeting *FUTURE* EPA emission requirements! and get's fairly good mileage. Typical Honda quality & design. Solid.
- anonymous, Concord, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-08 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a bike! It is so nice having a motorcycle that can do everything so well and continuously adapt to almost any style of riding. This bike is fast, stable, comfortable, and gorgeous. As for all of you VTEC bashers out there, the engine is great regardless of its qualification as a technical marvel or advancement. The four star rating is a result of having the problem with the charging system that made my battery go dead twice. Once the problem was identified, the charging system upgrade was performed at no cost. Overall, a dynamite bike and a wonderful riding experience. Feel free to email me with any questions. Have fun and ride safe!
- brijam, Lexington, KY

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-17 2000 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this bike is GREAT it handles coners like a pro altho it takes alittle time to get used to how it turns and its fast e-nof if it was any fast u wouldent be able to tell the other day i was goin 50 in 2nd gear got on the thortlle and almost flipped the bike backwards no clamplants from me its also the smoothes sport bike iv ever been on
- nick, flossmoor, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-05 2000 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I live in the back country and the bike handles corners like nothing I've ever seen
- Tom Byers, Bushkill, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-24 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for about 2000 miles (4 months) and it's amazing. NOT ONE little problem. After selling my new Harley, this machine is amazing. Kind of like comparing a 1981 Pontiac Parisienne to a 2003 Honda Accord. This bike has only one flaw, it's not yellow!
- Shawn, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-14 2000 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The magazine testers had it right. You can either tour interstate or blitz the local canyons and almost run with the Aprilias and GSX-Rs. Bought this bike in the summer with 14000 miles on it but when I did the 16000 mile overhaul, it started stumbling at low roms. Turns out that the K&N filter was toatally clogged before and now with the clean filter and a 2 Bros, slip-on, the bike was running way too lean (EPA standards and all at sea level and me living a mile high). Went the Power Commander route ans all was sweetness. didn't really pick up any horsepower, but the smoothness of the engine is remarkable now. Also inproved the suspension with a Race Tech Gold Valve system up front with a sturdier spring and a compkete Ohlins rear shcok setup. The brakes were made even better with steel braided lines from Galfer. I'm still not totally sold on the linked brake system (squirelly when forced to ride on dirt roads), but on pavement, you don't even know they are there and brake with no noticable dive.
- Harv, Boulder, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-22 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased the bike in late July of this year and have about 3000 miles. This bike is fast and comfy, but be aware to go fast on this bike requires wringing it like a 600! It is comfy though and 300-400 mile days are pretty easy compared to a full on sport bike (my last bike was a Yammie R1 and still my favorite) Make sure you know what your buying it for!! Still pretty fast compared to the 'cages' out there. If you want REALLY fast look elsewhere, if you can live with PRETTY fast then this is a great choice. Personally I wish honda had gone with a larger engine and not the fancy VTEC... next bike will probably be a CBR-XX comfy like a VFR but mad fast like a full sportbike!
- Dave, slc, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-27 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I commute 100 miles a day all year round and this bike works perfectly for me. I have over 12,000 miles on the 2002 Interceptor so far, and owned a 2000 Intercepter before that, which I logged over 25K miles on. I'm 41, so I probably fit the profile for the typical buyer of this bike: semi old fart. This is no literbike when it comes to sheer power or handling, but it comes close enough for me. What it does offer more than the serious sport bikes is a centerstand, good weather protection, good range between fill-ups, reliability and a supremely comfortable ride. Plus the tires can last longer than 10K miles. I lust for the sport bikes and I would own a proper race replica if I could afford to own two bikes. The Interceptor is a really good compromise between the handling and power I want and the day to day practicality that I need. It is not a flawless bike, but it has fewer quirks or problems than most.
- Randy Willoughby, Langley, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-05 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awsome bike. This is one of the most stable bikes at speed (interstate speeds) that I have ever ridden. Tried a 300 mile trip with very little pain in the wrists or butt. The bike fits me well (6' and 185lbs) and wind protection is superb for this type of bike. Still looking for those Honda promised saddle bags.... V-Tec is fun to play with at 7000 rpm but it's strictly more sound than power. If you are looking for that transition from sport to touring with the emphasis on sport I would highly recommend taking a look at this one.
- KB, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-15 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike since having a little 125 when I was 14 so take this into consideration when reading my review. Before purchasing this bike, I was stuck between the CBR600FI and the Interceptor. I decided to spend the extra money for the Interceptor mainly because of the displacement differences. I made the correct choice. The Interceptor CRUISES on the highway. It will effortlessly and comfortably run 90 all day. After riding it for 2 weeks, I've put 1000 miles on it and it keeps getting smoother and smoother. The negatives about it, is that it runs hot in town and the shifts are a little clanky on low RPM's. In town with 90 degree temperatures, it will consistently run between 205 - 221 degrees. The manual says the temperature is fine as long as it does not get to 251 degrees. I've been stuck in traffic for 10 solid minutes at idle and it has never gone higher than 221. On the highway when running in open road it consistently runs between 178 - 190 degrees. Another negative is there is no storage space. I resolved that problem by purchasing a Rocket Locker seat-sak that I am very pleased with. The gas mileage is amazing. If you ride it hard, expect 32 - 36 mpg. If you are on the highway, tucked-in and cruising, expect 44 - 47 mpg. Overall, there are no surprises about the bike. It is what it is. A street bike that leans more towards the sport side than the sport-touring side.
- Andrew, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-12 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike with fuel injection and linked brakes. Previous sport bikes for me were a 1998 ZX6R and a 2000 CBR600F4. I'm having more fun as I continue to break it into the 1500 mile range. Ergos are great, vibration does not exist, and the VTEC roars at 7000 RPM on the dot!!! My Roadgear tailbag mounts well and is secure for the drives to the store and such. One thing that took some learning is shifting. You need to keep the revs up more than I ever did on the other bikes. I used to be able to shift the other bikes in the 3500 to 4500 RPM range easily and do easy rides through towns in high gear, but this demands revs or you could short-shift it. I talked to my dealer and they called Honda tech and the guy on the phone said shifting should be done in the 7000 to 8000 range. Seems a little excessive to me, but I've been assured that is what they are requiring due to the VTEC engine. Hey, fine by me!! As I've been working the bike within those parameters it has become so much more fun and keeps getting better. Just wish someone would have said something to me earlier about the RPMs. This is a great bike, pure and simple. haven't seen the hard bags yet, but I'm considering a Roadgear soft set for the long rides ahead. If you need a hand or a question feel free to drop me a line.
- Matthew, Newark, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-14 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in my '97 VFR on the the '02 and cant believe how refined this bike is. I loved the way my '97 rode,handled and fit but this bike takes it a step further. It has a BMW 'feel' to ride and handling fits me 6'4" just fine. I wish the brakes had the feel of my '97 but these will stop you very quickly, just not as progressively. Another hit for Honda.
- Dick Weidman, Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-03 2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded in my 2000 F4 for the 2002 VFR. I have 500 miles on the VFR and love it. Although it is 100 lbs heavier, it doesn't feel it. It is quick and handles great. I can't wait for the release of the hard luggage. I took the F4 on several long trips last year but he VFR is sure to be better. The seat and positioning are ten times better. I think this is the Motorcycle of the Year winner. The looks of the bike are outstanding, except for the ugly black plastic on the back of the bike. The ABS brakes work wonderfully if you are not riding on the track, which most of us aren't or we would be riding R51's. If you want a wonderful sport bike to take on longer rides, this is one heck of a machine.
- Gary Pearce, Collingswood, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-18 2000 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only problem is that it doesn't particularly do anything exceptionally well. On the flip side, I just got back from a 4 day 1756 mile trip to the Grand Canyon and not only did it not skip a beat. But after railing through all those 100MPH sweepers in Arizona and Utah there isn't another bike on the planet I'd rather have been on. It's smooth, fast (could be faster), comfortable, great looking, reliable and a fantastic all around motorcycle.
- Ryan Parfet, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: