Honda Magna Motorcycles Reviews (113)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Magna Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Magna Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-06-26 1999 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 55 years young as the wife would say, and over 39 years of riding all kinds of bikes. I would like to say that for the price and pound for pound, there is no better bike than my 99 Magna. It's plenty fast off the line and just keeps on pulling all he way to its red line and holds that line in most any S curve. The breaks could be a little more reassuring, two disks up front and one in the back would be nice. But the stock lay out gets the job done. The comfort is just a soft seat away from being perfect. This was easily corrected by taking off the stock vinyl, replacing the foam with a stiffer denser foam and reinstalling the new seat cover, all for under a 100 bucks. As for the looks of the stock Magna, the design has withstood the years and in my opinion looks better than most new bikes. What that leaves me to mention is the quality of this bike. Mine is 12 years old with over 20k and my bike could pass for new, and runs as well or better. Everything should be built as well. This may be my last bike and if so I'm happy to have it.
- Shcherbina1, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-23 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new 2003 Honda Magna in December of 2002. I have put 13,000 miles on it since then. I still get a thrill every time I crank down on the throttle. I've kept mine in mint condition with service at the local Honda dealer twice a year. I'm considering putting performance pipes on it and getting the carburetors rejetted. It's too bad Honda does not make an equivalent model any more. Mine is going to wear out sometime and there are no similar bikes available.
- BillB, Germantown, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-26 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only owned this bike for a couple of weeks but it is quite a bike. I bought a V4 1983 Sabre at this time last year when I got a deal I couldn't refuse. The Sabre is too big for me and I finally found a 2003 Magna in mint condition with a Mustang seat which is very comfortable. The Vance and Hines exhaust are very loud and I may switch back to the old pipes if I can find someone to buy these ones. While I love the bike, I'm somewhat disappointed with all the downgrades from the first generaton V4 Manga that came out in 1982. Shaft to chain drive, six speed to five, twin front disc to single. But all in all this is a very nice bike. Not much out there with a 28 in. seat height that is comfortable performs like the V4.
- Bruce Mitchell, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-09 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I sold my 500 Magna to buy this 1995 750cd, the 500 was fast, but the difference is like night and day. I have a lot of upgrades on this cruiser. I'm planning on getting another for a street racer. I just love this bike! I didn't ride for 20 years and am sorry I didn't get one of these when I could have gotten one new! I wish they would make a new one 1000 cc with 6 speed and disk brakes all around with a bigger tank.
- nickymetro, northeast, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-06 2000 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from a fellow that only added 1600 miles to it since new in 96. Thats not many miles in 8 years. I now have over 12000 miles on it and it continues to run strong and dependable. It has lots of power to out run most Harleys and sports around the corners to leave em in the dust. I recommend a Magna as an all around fun bike that won't dissappoint you or your wallet.
- Brian, Nyack, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-01 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Magna new in 97 and moved from Michigan to Kansas to Colorado. This bike has cruised the expressways in Detoit, the Great Plains of Kansas and the mountains of Colorado, Wyoming and Montana. I've changed oil and lubed the chain and tightened it on occasion. I've changed the coolant and brake fluid at 16K but that's it. The performance has been great! The reliability has been perfect. It has surprised a lot of people who have ridden in the twisties in the mountains with me. We have always gotten compliments on the looks. In 2003 I gave the Magna to my wife and bought a Yamaha FZ1. She has riden it for 2 years and just loves it. My nieghbor recently took it for a ride and unfortunately totaled it. We were crushed. We've been looking for a replacement bike for a month and My wife has now told me we are not looking at anything else. She will not want another bike unless she has another pristeen Magna. Anybody have one for sale, reasonably close? Help me Please. What a great ride.
- Tom Buchhop, Fort Collins, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-05 1999 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1997 Magna is hands down the best bike I've ever owned in 32 years of motorcycle riding. It looks good and sounds great with Cobra pipes. It has a nice sound that almost (but not quite) reminds me of a Sportster, but all I have to do is blip the throttle and the Sportster is in my rear view for keeps. My bike was rejetted for the pipes and I don't have the flat spot that I've heard others complain about. My only gripes are (1) the small tank, which requires refilling at somewhere between 85-110 miles depending on how spirited my riding is, and (2) the stock saddle, which is great for around town but really starts to hurt your derriere after about one hour of sustained riding. The riding position and handling are a great improvement over the VT500C Shadow I owned before the Magna. I disagree with the reviewers who say this bike needs a 6th gear. The close ratio 5 speed is fine for me although I wish top gear was just a little smaller to keep the engine revs down.
- Sam, Lincoln, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-12 1999 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my 1998 Honda Manga now for 3 years and put 6000 miles on it. The previous owner put 18,000 miles on it. Regular maintenance is the key to putting miles on the bike. The only down side to the Magna is, it needs a bigger gas tank. The Magna is a great bike and it's well respected among the hardcore bikers. In fact Motorcycle Cruiser magazine has always put it in muscle cruiser tests with bikes such as the Honda VTX, Valkryie, Yamaha V-Max, Harley V-Rod etc. The Magna held its own against these other bikes even though it had less than half the dispacement. I keep thinking of trading up for a VTX... but why?
- SLANG, PHILADELPHIA, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-06 1999 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have about 2,000 miles on a '98 I bought in AZ. I've had seven bikes previous - all kinds: bmw, Yamaha, triumph and this is, by far, my favorite rig. Reasons to love it are many. 1) It's very quick. 2) It rips through corners 3) Love the chain drive, great acceleration. 4) It's comfortable as far as bar reach and the "sporty" peg position gives you more leverage in turns. Downsides are few: 1) Rear brake is a bit mushy 2) Stock seat is inhuman. 3) Not a GREAT touring bike - gets a bit buzzy above 75 mph. Get a Mustang seat - it is the best I've ever had. Overall, I love my Magna.
- Paul, Oaks, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-01 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike was a 600. After riding it for two weeks, I was not impressed with the bike. I went back to the dealer to return the bike, behold there was this awesome machine looking sleek and powerful saying "buy me and you won't be disappointed", so I did. WHAT A MACHINE! This is one powerful and easy handling bike. I've upgraded the exhaust to a Vance and Hines exhaust. I've also installed the Mustang seat with the driver and passenger backrest. The only thing Honda needs to do is to make it with a bigger gas tank and a six speed transmission. Also find another location for the helmet lock and more accessories. Thanks Honda for a great motorcycle. "BRING BACK THE MAGNA"
- Michael Jenkins, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-04 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has comfort, style, power, reliabilty, and handles great. After riding it for a year I'm so glad I chose a Magna. The V4 is as smooth as it gets.
- Magnam, Albany, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-27 1999 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're looking for performance at the best price in the cruiser category you found your motorcycle (leg room aside). If you're looking for a return on your investment then buy a house because motorcycling is for passion not profit. I pretty much live in Harley territory and I haven't been beaten by a Harley yet on my 99 Magna. Which just kills them when they find out it's only a 750. I've raced from a dead start and a rolling start to give them a chance. As you will notice most of them don't understand weight to power ratio. So I chuckle when I hear "but I got a stage 3 kit with eagle heads!". Which will cost you about $10,000 extra on that HOG. I paid $7,500 for my Magna and next to the Vmax, Vrod(porche motor not Harley), and Valkerie, the Magna is next in line for performance cruisers. This is a fact. So in short, YES it is the best performance you can buy for your money.
- Ed Brewer, Buffalo, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-22 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome! Smokes any cruiser on the road except a Harley V Rod, a Yamaha V Max, and the Honda Valk, and it even keeps up with the Valk, up too around 100mph before the Valk pulls away (I know because my father has a Valk and we have tested). In the short run though the Magna will even handle the Valk. If you have this available to you then go and buy it right now before the owner gets smart and keeps it or someone else who knows better buys it right away! I wouldn't get rid of mine unless they bring it back out, I love it so much!!
- Ken Miller, Wauwatosa, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-02 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Magna is an incredible motorcycle that almost has the speed of a bullet bike. The Interceptor engine was taken and put into a cruiser and what came of that was remarkable! I love my Magna and it devistates me to know that Honda stopped making it! This is the number one bike for a LOT of people. GREAT FOR WOMEN! What were they thinking when they quit making it???????
- Michelle Mosley, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-19 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Handles like a sport bike. Almost sounds like one. However, with four pipes the tone when rpm's are lower. It does need a bigger tank and aftermarket pipes with a jet kit to increase performance and drive distance. It could also use a bigger sprocket in the front (or smaller in the rear) for lower rpm's at interstate cruising. A sixth gear in this bike would have been awsome. All of these things are minor compared to its factory state. I would recommend this bike to anyone who likes a sport engine cruiser!
- Terry, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-25 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in a 2002 Vulcan 750 for a 1998 Magna. People think I am crazy, but my Vulcan's driveshaft assembly broke and left me stranded on the Garden State Parkway. I had no choice but to get rid of the bike and only a Honda Dealer was willing to accept it on trade in that condition. I've owned a Ninja, TW200, Virago and a Vulcan. Hands down, the Magna is the smoothest, quietest, most powerful engine I have ever experienced. The Magna handles well and has a nice soft ride to it. Being 5'6", the ergonomics fit me perfectly. Taller riders may be cramped because the bars have a short reach and the footpegs are rearward, keeping my knees bent at a right angle. The seating position is more upright than I expected. This makes for more comfort. The Magna is absolutely a blast to ride, however, I do have some suggestions to improve the Magna, if Honda decides to bring it out of retirement: (1) Make the ignition and steering lock one unit and place it in the dashboard. (2) A hinged fuel cap. (3)Increase the fuel capacity to 4.5 gallons.
- J. Vetrano, Pt. Pleasant, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-15 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanting to get back into riding after 35 yrs, I started looking at Harleys. My first cycle was a Honda 305 Scrambler so I checked out a nearly new 2002 Magna from a private owner, and the looking was over. What an awesome machine. Looks are killer, runs like a screamer, and is very easy, comfortable, and confident on mountain roads or Atlanta's freeways. Quality engineering and performance is just what you would expect from Honda, and if you compare the total cost of ownership, you will be hard pressed to beat the Magna.
- Jake, Roswell, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-04 1999 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 1998 Magna back in the summer of 2002, and this is my first bike. I had considered sport bikes and even a Harley. I couldn't justify the cost of a Harley with turn of the century technology, and didn't need to go as fast as possible on a sport bike, so I turned to the Magna. I'm extremely pleased with my decision to get a Magna. Financially a good decision as well. Ergonomics are right on for my height and weight too. This bike has plenty of get up and go, with great low end and mid range power. You can rev the engine and take the twisties no problem or just set back and cruise. You get the best of both worlds (to an extent) with the 90-degree V4. But...I do have complaints as well. First off, the gas tank is too small, around 100 miles and your looking for a gas station. With no gas gauge, you have to keep an eye on your miles, and I've run out of gas consistently around 125-130 miles, before switching the reserve on. Second, the seat is too soft. After 50 miles, you are getting numb and I find myself standing at lights to get the blood flowing again. Other than that I love this bike, and have really no other complaints. I would recommend this bike to anyone!
- Joe, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-15 2002 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great around-the-town & back-roads cruiser. Someone over 6 foot tall my find the bike to be a bit small on longer cruises, say over 300 miles. So an upgraded seat might do the trick quite well, it has for me. Great bike overall!
- GR1ZZ, Kalamazoo, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-12 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike last August (2003). I tried over a dozen bikes from 600cc and up. I tried different brand names, sizes etc. When I came back after the first trial run on the Magna750 my wife took one look at me and said: "I see" I ran it a lot during August/September, winter comes early here. It is an amazing machine; the handling and the power are extraordinary. Beat "racers" at the red light, but still cruises smoothly even with a passenger through the whole range.
- MoB, Helsinki, Finland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-10 1999 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There are only a couple of problems with this bike. The first is the tank capacity is too small. The second is the air intake is restricted because of the tiny inlets are fed by spoilers on the handlebar neck, under the tank and curved into the huge airbox. The airbox is the reason the tank is so small. If you put a windshield on this bike, you are directing air away from the tank, and starving it for fresh air. Despite the problems, I find that I can ride with any type of motorcycle group. I'm still keeping mine!
- William, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-29 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 56 years old and returned to motorcycling after a 24-year layoff. Since the age of 17, I've owned a '64 50cc Sport, '65 305 Super Hawk, '71 CB350, '76 CB750 and still have a 01 CBR600F4I, which my son rides. I bought the 2003 Magna in Feb 2003 and have just over 3,000 local miles on it. The only problem was a fuel pump that produced "insufficient fuel flow" at about 2,200 miles. I have never had a mechanical problem with Honda and was surprised (as was the dealer) at the fuel pump problem. It was fixed and has been perfect since. The Magna is an excellent midsize sport cruiser with plenty of power and torque. It is comfortable for my 6'1"/200lb frame. It's center of gravity and weight distribution makes it easy to throw into any curve. I looked at H-D's and could not justify the price/performance over Honda. It's truly a shame that the Magna is being discontinued. However, if I know Honda's history, they are going to replace it with something even better. We ask for an 1100, 1200, or 1300cc version. I believe we will get what we wish for. Honda has always listened to their consumers.
- J. Cummo, Beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-20 2003 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just finished purchasing our first bike. 03 Honda Magna. It was a 12hr round trip to go pick up this bike. Well worth it Beatiful machine, smooth running, and loads of fun to ride. Looked at plenty of other beautiful bikes out there but the more I looked the more I liked the Magna and just had to find one and make it my own. Looking forward to many years of pleasure with this bike. Easy bike to fall in love with. Keep it between the ditches. Best of luck.
- Ed M, katy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-03 2001 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After almost a year of comparing, researching, and speculating, I bought my magna. Sleek, sexy, and sporty. V-twin guys cant get over how smooth the engine is, or how fast I pull away! Just put on the Vance & Hines pipes w/ k&n and jet kit.... I have never heard such a beautiful sound. Power from idle to 9500+ with no flat spots, and a tone that will get the girls. Harley who?
- badbludak2k, Sullivan, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-18 1999 Honda Magna Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like both cruisers and sport bikes but like most, can not afford to have one of each. The Magna is a perfect combination of the two. The ride is smooth and very fast. Not super-bike fast but it has some serious get-up and go. I'm not sure there is a V-twin out there that could keep up. Insurance is cheap as well. (about one tenth of a sport bike) If you want the best of both worlds, try a Magna!
- joe, Algonquin, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: