Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Motorcycles Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-03-28 2008 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. I bought it used and am very impressed with it. The braking needs improvement and the speed is perfect for this scooter. Any faster with the braking system and you are a having problems. There is room to make this scooter better than it all ready is. They just need work on the braking system. Besides that, the gear oil needs a fill hole, two bolts for it - one for air and drain plug which it has. Besides this I would rate it a 10 across the board.
- owner, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-05 2008 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my metro in 08. It's given me nothing but satisfaction. I ride it almost daily, weather permitting. I highly recommend the metro for its style, dependability, and overall good on gas.
- Aceone70, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-17 2005 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like everything about this machine and ride it to work almost everyday the weather is above 35 degrees.
- Bob Kleinsteiber, Watertown, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-14 2008 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got one for my wife and she loves it. Now she scoots around town on it. Great scooter!
- timi, farmingville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-06 2008 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new Metro and it has given nothing but the best service you can imagine. It's great on gas and handy to have to ride to the store. I've ridden it more the past few months due to the gas prices then I have in the previous 5 years. A great scooter for a great value. The dealership gave me a great scooter at a great price!
- Gary Lowe, Russellville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-23 2007 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked for about a year before purchasing my pink hibiscus Met. I am really enjoying it more than I expected. It is so much fun to ride around town. I live 3 miles from work and most of my activity is within a 20 mile radius from my home. The braking is a little less than I would like and being a taller person, it is not comfortable for hours on end (as I sometimes wind up doing on weekends). But I do not believe you will find any better under 50cc and you will definitely not find any with the Honda reliability.
- Me, Grapevine, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-16 2007 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this a month ago to use in Miami, but we lost the condo, so I brought it back home. Now my truck is only used for taking the boat out, otherwise the Metro is absolutely perfect for any trip into town. It even handles well in the rain and will run 42 all day. It's smooth, comfortable and gets about 95 mpg. My truck is getting the break it needs after 300,000 miles.
- Tom J., Mims, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-04 2007 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this for commuting (20 miles round trip). Took all of one day to determine what a great ride it is. Bought new from dealer. While it can only go 40 mph, that is fine for me as the posted speed on my commuting roads do not exceed this. So far, I have been averaging 120 mpg. There is ample (and comfortable) seating and foot rest area. Storage under seat good for my helmet, lock and a few small items. Controls are easy to use. Headlight is remarkably powerful. Locking center kickstand a plus. Manual kickstart east to use (used it just to see how it works). And the scooter is very quiet even at 40 mph (Had a two stroke next to me at a stop light. We both accelerated to 40 and I was so annoyed by the whining of his engine.) I wish there was a standard storage compartment in the front (can be purchased as an accessory). This is available on Honda scooters sold in other countries. Also, I carry a laptop and the Honda trunck (which can be purchased separately) is too small for this. The other iffy is the braking. It brakes reliably, but definitely I slow down when approaching stop lights. I extensively researched other scooters online and talked to many scooter owners. Lesson of the day - stay away from the Chinese clunkers (they are cheap and break down and hard to find parts) and stick with the Italian, Japanese, Korean or Taiwanese brands (in that order). Looking forward to enjoying the Honda peace-of-mind and quality for many, many years.
- Anonymous, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-24 2007 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Metropolitan this spring and I have really enjoyed it. It is considered a moped and requires no registration with the DMV, insurance, or state inspection. I ride it to work in nice weather or just putter around town. It will go 40m + mph and gets overe 100 mpg. I have not had any trouble with it at all. I think it makes a very viable and economical extra vehicle with no hidden costs.
- ojb, lynchburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2005 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my scooter for a bit over a year. I ride it every day to and from work (4.5 miles each way). I LOVE IT. It is cheaper than the bus system out here. Not to mention FASTER! So far I have changed the oil 3 times (because I ride it everyday), the air filter once, and the back tire (nail) and it runs like a gem. When it is below 55 it doesn't like to run cold. I let it warm up about 10 min then it rides just fine.
- CHRISTINA, MILWAUKIE, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-30 2005 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I find the scooter very easy to ride. It has a governor and will not exceed 40 m.p.h. Excellent fuel economy. It is fun to ride, has water cooled engine, and easy to read speedo display. I have used it to make several runs to the pharmacy and convenience store. Im' looking forward to many years of continued Honda quality performance. The checkered flag color scheme gives it that Nascar camp ground look.
- Anonymous, baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-14 2006 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 06 Met since March and have put over 1300 miles on it so far. I use it to commute back and forth to work every day, and across town to the university for classes too. I have ridden it all over the city, and will never go back to my car if I can help it! I save the car for out of town trips, and that's about it! I have ridden in horrible weather, with no problems. This scooter is perfect for anyone who can handle sticking to roads with posted speeds of 45 mph and under...I have to say this -I can easily get my Met up to about 40 - 42 on anything except an incline.... and I am gettting 115 mpg so far. Avoid bumps when you can - shocks are not the softest!
- Steph, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-02 2005 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this little Scooter for one reason. I just couldn't survive without a motorcycle around the house. My Doctor made me sell the big one. (Burgman 650). Yes, this little one has been an adjustment. However, it is a real pleasure to ride around town. I bought the basket for the front and a windshield. It is a lot of fun. The storage room is just enough for milk or a six pack. I have used the basket and it holds drinks, hats and the like. The performance is good because I am not a very big man. My next door neighbor is 6'5" and weighs a good 250. He rode it and had a big smile on his face. This is no highway machine but it is great for zooming around town. At 155 and 5'5" it does 40 mph. FUN FUN FUN!!!!!
- Steve Gillaspie, Tinley Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-26 2005 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 1,000 miles on my 2006 Honda Metropolitan in about six weeks. I'm riding it WAY more than I anticipated, which is partly because it is so fun, and also partly because it is so cheap to run! So far I've gotten consistent runs of 100 miles per gallon. The scooter starts right up every time, and the fit and finish are great. Everything works. It corners amazingly well at relatively high speeds. By relative, I mean the Metro tops out at 38 MPH on flat ground. I have no problem with the overall speed, but I'm beginning to get a little weary of the sluggish performance when faced with hills that are either steep or long. So far it's been a simple process of moving over into the bike lane to let traffic pass. People around here are super-aggressive in their SUVs, but they actually treat the scooter with courtesy and respect. A 50cc scooter is going to be slow up hills, so I can't really knock the Metro for that. One thing on the Metropolitan I can criticize is the brake system. It is simply inadequate for driving amongst traffic. I'm not exaggerating when I say that I can stop my bicycle faster from the same speeds as I can my Metropolitan. I consider the brakes to be unsafe, actually. They just have no bite. It gets to the point that if you see a traffic light go yellow, you have this agonizing second where you have to decide if you're going to run the yellow, or go into panic braking mode. I've been choosing the yellow lights as the safer option, and I do not like that. that's the main reason I'm already shopping for a motorcycle. If you don't mind going slow up hills, and you can somehow get over the poor braking, everything else about the Metropolitan is great.
- Thomas Mullin, Danville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-13 2005 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had it a week and I love it, peoples heads are turning everywhere I go. With these gas prices why wouldn't they!!! I have an SUV and let me say it feels real good to fill up with $5.00 than to fill up with $85.00. I travel 12 miles round trip everyday to and from work and it only takes me seven more min. than it does driving my SUV. I'm bummed that winter is around the corner now and that I wish I would have purchased it sooner, I guess I can continue to ride until my face and nose go numb. I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!
- KatCej, Atwater, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-19 2005 Honda Metropolitan (CHF50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had all types of bikes from a Goldwing to dirt bikes. I presently have a Honda Sabre 1100 and a Ducati Monster. But I have to say, riding around on a scooter is like magic. It is like you are on vacation having a blast but you are in your home town. The Metro runs well and right out of the gate will do 39mph. Good brakes and storage is a plus. I was worried about leg room but that is not a problem once you are underway. I would not venture onto major highways since you really can't get out of traffic easily but for secondary roads and around town, this is really the way for American's to learn how to travel cheaply and with environmental benefits over the 4,000lb SUV's. It just so happens to be a ton of fun too. It costs $18,000 less than most Harley's. So far, everyone has told me they need one of these scooters too. People crane their necks to see what you are driving at stop lights. And everyone has to ask what you have when you get off at a store or restaurant. So far, the Metro is fun and based upon the other reviews, my family can save money at 40mph and 100mpg. Nice machine Honda!!
- Michael Cranmer, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: