Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Nighthawk 750 reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

85 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Al

Illinois

Reviewed on 2020-02-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
I bought a 91 nighthawk from its original owner with around 9000 miles. It’s been an excellent bike, but for a taller individual like myself (6,2) it hurts my back and legs on long trips. It also in my opinion could greatly be improved if it had a sixth gear. Other then that it’s been fantastic. I’d recommend one to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis

California

Reviewed on 2022-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
For anyone looking for the best all around cheap street bike, look no further. 31,282 miles on the clock and I've never touched the motor or even the carbs. Pros: Dead reliable, excellent engine and transmission, Good torquey power, quality made, easy to maneuver around town for a rather heavy bike, confident solid handling (lives high speed sweepers), comfortable riding position, nice exhaust note, naked retro looks, easy to work on, cheap to buy and maintain. Cons: Brakes are reliable and don't fade, but stopping power is all in front. Rear drum feels slightly wooden, and locks up easy, could use a 6th gear for better freeway cruising, not even a gas gauge on mine but no biggie..one less thing to break...I use the odometer (get about 140 miles on a tank but I weigh 235 and 6'2" frame), She's a bit cold blooded on cool mornings at start up... Choke it to 2000 rpm for a couple minutes or she'll stumble. Overall a satisfying personality with juicy power and yet no racer pretensions. It's not as quick and fast as many bikes, but considering it's age, it keeps up surprisingly well and does everything you ask it to.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bret Winingar

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2022-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed1992 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
On my third Nighthawk 750; first a 2003, then a 91, now on a 92. I keep selling them for other CBS, a 500X, a CB1100, two 919's, but keep going back to the 750; they're that good. I've have crossed the country on my 91, including some of the dirt high mountain passes in Colorado that I had no business having a street bike on, and she kept on rolling. No carb mods despite spending a good bit of time above 10k'. I now have a set of Progressive rear springs and front braided steel brake line, and the best tires that I have found are Avon RoadRiders; they stick like glue and last forever. I love not ever having to worry about the smell of antifreeze from a air cooled bike, and it's as smooth as any bike I've ever ridden. Anyone who calls this bike boring needs to have their testosterone checked...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Martin-Farez

California

Reviewed on 2020-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
I've had this bike for 12 years 22k miles to date.4 sets of Dunlops,4 air filters 5 oil changes,3 chains,1 set of shoes and one headlight bulb is all I needed to do. I have never taken the valve cover off. The brakes are a little wooden and I wish it had a fifth gear. She's air cooled if course and always been a little but cold blooded but after 5 minutes the bike is s pleasure. It feels solid and it pulls very nicely. It's sure footed and handles it's weight surprisingly well. I love the way it sounds. Mine is extra clean and people dig the now retro look. It's become cool looking with that black motor and 4 gleaming pipes shooting out. I don't think you can do better for the money. Pros: Reliable, Great motor, Comfortable, Good power. Cons: Weakish brakes, Cold blooded in the morning.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Hays

Springfield, Missouri

Reviewed on 2012-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had not owned a street bike in years, and that was a late 80's Yamaha Virago 750, which I commuted the freeways of So Cal. December of 2011. I sold a trail bike and had about $2k in my pocket when I stumbled into a 2001 Nighthawk for $1,250. The tires were about to rot off the bike. The Corbin seat was ripped. It had about 22,500 on the clock. New tires, seat repair, and saddle bags with cash left over and a great ride. I was a kid when I first saw the CB750. I should have bought one instead of the Virago back in the day. Mpg. in the 40's unless I ride it like it's stolen. Best money I ever spent.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

SuperD

Milledgeville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2010-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased my 2002 NH 750 about a month ago and when I first rode it, I was really amazed how smooth it ran and how manageable it was in all aspects. I haven't ridden a bike in about 10-12 years and my last bike was an old 1976 yamaha 500. But when I got on this bike the feeling instantly came back to me. Even though the nighthawk felt a little heavy to me, when I got it rolling, it balanced itself rather nicely. I would recommend this bike to just about anyone...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

zzzoomer

Knoxville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2009-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 35 years, decided to begin riding a bike again - after all that is what some going thru a mid-life crisis do... Yep, I took the safety class and realized why my teenage motorcycle mishaps occurred - well worth the money and time, might save your life. Anyway, researched bikes for 4 months before purchasing my 2000 Nighthawk 750. I felt I needed a bike with at least 60bhp for my frame, didn't like the feel of a sportbike and thought the cruisers too hard to control being so low and heavy. I found the Nighthawk to have autoadjusting hydraulic lifters plus a history of reliability. I purchased mine in May, 2008 with 16k+ miles - today it has about 20k+ miles on it. I use the bike for commuting 20 miles each way each day (weather permitting) on rural roads, city streets downtown, local highways and the inter-state. It is quite at home in all of these environments. It has the power to hold its own on the interstate and the maneuverability to deal with the caged drivers in the city. Fourteen months and 4k miles later I feel can offer the following to those considering buying one: Pro's: High reliability, new parts seem to be easy to get considering the last year this model was sold in the US was 2003, very maneuverable and predicable for the new rider, seems to receive a lot of respect from the sport bike riders and cruiser riders alike, you don't see one on every street corner, plenty of power to ride two up on the highway, low cost of maintenance. Cons: Drum brake on the rear and single disc rotor on the front, few upgrade options from 3rd party vendors, front fork springs are mushy and nonadjustable, oem seat will give you monkey butt after 30 minutes of riding, tricking handling when riding two up (adults) on city streets, no grab bar for riders, oem handlebar bushings are made of foam rubber requiring replacement each season or more often, doesn't come standard with a center stand although it can be added easily, no gas gauge, no gear indicator (must calculate from the tach)or keep count. Things I wish Honda had put on it as standard features: single rear disc brake, dual front disc brakes, comfortable seat with grab bar, aluminum handlebar bushings, adjustable front forks, center stand in addition to the kick stand, maintenance free battery, a model with 1200cc option. Conclusion: all bikes have their plus's and minus's and the Nighthawk 750 is no different. I love the bike and it was just right for the commuter bike I wanted. Two or three of the bigger bikes are trying to lure me away from the little girl so I am not sure how long I will keep her. I just wish Honda had kept up with the model upgrading its features to meet the public's demands. Every bike manufacturer thinks the American public wants a Ducati or Harley look alike. The Nighthawk 750 (more or less) is still sold in Japan as a CB750. It is the same motor, same body with a brake upgrade and updated looks. It would be nice for Honda to reintroduce the model to the US market.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jerred

Tulsa, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2009-04-19

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2002 Honda Nighthawk 750 and it runs awesome. I was really surprised with the power of this bike. It is faster than it looks.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Jarrettsville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2008-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2000 Nighthawk 750 in 2005. I have put on 6000 miles, mostly in clear weather commutes and pleasure rides. I always get over 50 mpg and always enjoy riding from March to November. Plenty of power, easy to maneuver and low maintenance. This is the perfect bike for the person riding every day.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nighthawk96

Columbia, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Nighthawk 750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I happened to see a 1996 Nighthawk 750 for sale across the street from our local Honda car dealer. Turned out this bike belonged to one of their mechanics. After doing doing some research on the internet, I purchased this bike. This included center stand, windshield, sissy bar and engine guards. Bike had new chain, sprokets and a new battery. Mileage; slightly less than 20k. It was in pristine showroom condition and ran perfectly.(still is and still does!) The last bike I owned was a 1971 Honda CB350 twin, which I traded in on a car in 1974. I am extremely happy with this bike. Put a Corbin seat on it right away, which is WAY more comfortable than the stock seat, and is a must for any Nighthawk owner. I ride this bike about 500 miles a month all year around, both to work and for pleasure. Wife rides with me occasionally. Have looked at Honda's 919 and Yamaha's FZI as possible upgrades, however neither the riding position nor the seats on these bikes are close to the comfort I experience on the Nighthawk. I get 44 MPG with two up on the interstate at 80. Average 48 in normal mix of local and highway driving and have gotten as high as 54 MPG on a 55-60 MPH cruise. This bike likes to go 70 or better on back roads and will easily top 100 with windshield. Yes, there is bigger and better out there, but at what price?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 85 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: