Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-31 2005 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having owned bikes from the 70's through current and loving the sport bike riding stance I have run the gambit of bikes. I loved my 87 VFR and the torque it provided and other than some street legal 2 strokes I would have to say that the 'get up and go' of the V motors far outweighs the top end speed for me. If I wanted that I would add NOS anyway. My previous bike was the venerable ZX-11 which was a nice bike, but my RC51 blows the doors off it for overall uniqueness and desire to keep it until I die (NOT ON THE RC). This bike has made me start to shop for the RC45 and RC30 as well just to make a collection for myself. One thing I absolutely love is with very little money, you can eat Ducatti's alive! :)
- SKWYD, Sandy, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-30 2006 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently bought a new one. It looks like no other bike, in terms of it's cosmetic make-up and pipes. When I bought the bike, I heard many, too expensive, it's a different animal, it's more for the performing artist rider, etc. statements/comments than I have ever heard in terms of whether or not to buy a vehicle; it was maddening, but in the end I suppose that's what sold me?! What this bike is for, is plain and simple - it's to take corners fast and more stable than any other bike out there. As for speed, it's not that. This is an AMA/ World Superbike winner and a V-Twin need I say more? If you want all the looks in the world with the impressive cornering power of RC-51 this bike is for you. If you want top end speed, look elsewhere.
- Michael, Oakdale, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-04 2004 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the 4th bike I have owned, and the 2nd new one. Previous were a 88 Radian, 86 GSX-R750 LTD, and an 87 GSX-R1100. I was really attracted by the looks of the bike, and once I understood technically what it was, I had to have one. Certainly opinion but I thought it was the best looking of any of the Japanese sportbikes. You certainly don't see yourself coming and going; I think I have only seen 5 others in all of the time I have owned it. Things I love the most are the power, how solid it feels, the engine sound, and the fact that it works better the faster you go. It has definitely allowed me to improve my riding skills, since there is so much power in any gear I can concentrate more on handling and my line. The stock exhaust is fairly quiet, I really I could hear more of its sound at upper rpms. The bike is extremely reliable and cheap to maintain. Things I don't like are the weight and the seat - the angle and the lack of padding. To some degree, I'm not a fan of the paint job. I decided not to put all of the stickers on. I wish it had a more understated paint job, like the black on the 05-06 model. I am used to the riding position and can do 6-9 hour rides stopping only for gas and coffee. About 5 hours into what my friend joked as 'touring' do I finally realize that I'm still heading the wrong direction, and I'm sore. It's definitely not much fun to commute on or ride in traffic, but being near Pittsburgh, in every direction not very far away there are sweet roads, especially Laurel Highlands, and the West Virginia and western Maryland pandhandles. I have ridden in 14 counties in Western PA and probably about 15 other counties in WVA, Maryland and Ohio, putting about 4700 miles/year of 100% pleasure riding.
- Rich Marshall, McDonald (near Pittsburgh), Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-09 2005 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A long time admirer of Honda engineering and the LeMans winning RC-51, I decided to purchase one of the last ones left in Canada. I am not accustomed to sportbike ergonomics , let alone those of a race replica, so the ride home from the dealer wasn't the most comfortable. But boy was I having fun! The sound of that race-proven V-twin with its gear-driven cams which sound like a supercharger was intoxicating. If you understand that the RC is a detuned version of a full-on race machine, and are willing to live with its comfort deficits, then you will not be disappointed. The quality is there, the design is there, the price for all this exotic hardware is right. People don't know what to make of it because the RC doesn't sound like a typical sportbike; and you won't see one on every block like a GSXR/R1/Ninja. In sum, the RC-51 isn't the fastest and lightest, but it is fast enough for most (124 rear wheel HP afterall) and has an endearing nature which will keep it in my possession till death.
- HRCguru, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-26 2005 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
While this V-twin gives away a little on the horsepower and weight side of the coin, it gets a whole lot on the torque and handling side. Contradictory statement? No. While this bike is (and has always been) heavier than the average sport bike, it corners like it is on rails. Sure footed, smooth power delivery give the rider more confidence to go deeper and harder into a corner than most. I have ridden twins, tripples and fours and this is the bike I ended up with. I originally owned a 2001 bike which I loved for a few years (and 1000's of miles) but due to some unfortunate events I had to sell her to my closest friend. When I was ready to come back to biking, I thought I would shoot for more power. While the extra power was fun, nothing gives you the feeling of knee-dragging at "uber-speed". So after hopping from this bike to that, that engine configuration to the next, I realized that the RC is where my heart is and where my behind belongs! My Honda will be in my family as long as I am.
- Fabrice, Weston, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-14 2005 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great bike!!! OK, so I love Honda, and I'd love to tell you every Honda is great. . .but the RC51 - WOW. I've owned many bikes, some very fast. . .but none as much fun as the RC51. Lots of torque - smooth V-twin power - awesome V-twin rumble - solid Honda chasis and handling. Everytime I ride this bike it makes me smile. This may not be a great bike for long trips, but for local stuff, errands, daytrips, etc. you couldn't find a more fun way to get from point A to point B. (And I just love the look I get from people when that V-twin rumbles, actually. . .explodes, to life!)
- Stu Segal, Metuchen, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-28 2004 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a monster of a machine and a pig by some standards. This machine is heavy to push around and if you need to pick it up. I have owned nothing but inline fours to this point and have always enjoyed the power to weight ratio offered by those machines. (GSXR 1000, 929RR, etc.) However, in my years of riding (over 25) I've noticed the machines able to stay with me were the twins. I'm not talking staightaway speed here. That combination of low-end torque and maneuverability allowed those riders to actually keep me in sight. Then there's that sound! It seems to touch you deep down, much like the feeling one might get from hearing a V-8 engine purr. This machine may be a pig in the garage but on the street she is nimble, powerful, forgiving and reliable. If you are looking for flat out speed this is not the machine for you. If you are looking for a head-turning sound, over-the-top handling characteristics and reliablity second to none, then welcome to "Twin-Heaven"!
- John Hufford, Unionville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-10 2004 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike and the RC-51 has been an awesome ride so far. Rode to Baltimore Inner Harbor and back to Wilmington, DE and the comfort level was great - no pains or aches. The seat is firm and very comfortable. This bike has plenty of power and stops on a dime. Great alternate to the car commute.
- John Jennelly, Wilmington, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-20 2004 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought the RC51 and love it. I've been riding twins a while, just not a Honda twin. Love the sound, the manageable power and the steller handling. Suspension setup is critical with this bike.
- ian tutzauer, califon, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-09 2004 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a number of bikes including 2 VFR's, the most recent being a 2002. While the VFR was a wonderful machine, I did not have the soulful experience I have with the RC51. Each time I ride the RC51, it feels better and a part of me. I appreciate the torque and the unbelievable sound of the v-twin. The ride is not particularly comfortable, with a significant amount of stress on the hands and wrists. However, I did not expect anything less but as I become more comfortable with the RC51, the stress is lessened, perhaps because of a more relaxed riding style. I love the colour scheme for the 2004, notably the white tail section and silver swingarm. These characteristics I believe are an improvement over the 2003. I do not have anything negative to comment on the RC51. It is a spectacular motorbike and a bargain when compared to the Ducati 999 and the Aprilia Mille Factory. If the RC51 was of Italian origin, no doubt the price would be double.
- Harry Miller, Kelowna, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-12 2004 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first V-twin sportbike, and WOW!!! This thing is a blast! This bike is for curves, and dragging your knees at the track. What a sweet powerband. No, it's not the fastest or quickest by a long shot. But through the canyons, I want no other bike between my legs. And the sound it makes at 9,000 RPM with my Yoshi mufflers is so sweet I would pay just to hear it. Anyway, I am madly in love.
- plumcrazy, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-25 2004 Honda RC51 (RVT1000R) Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When you first ride this bike you realize it is the most stable and smooth bike you have ridden. The smooth power has you going twice as fast as you think you are. Then you roll off the gas to set up for your first sweeper, the engine compression works as a brake and the bike laughs at you and says "is that it thats all you got?". Then the magic happens... the bike seems to train you to ride all over again. Is it fast yes, any new sport bike is. If you want a wheelie monster, go look somewhere else for that. This is a true machine aimed at performance of sweeping curves and it will be in your blood for ever. I don't think it's the best bike that is or ever will be built, but it will remain in my possesion for years and other models come and go from my garage.
- cfrc51, snellville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: