Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda RC51 reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jon Van Zandt

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2019-09-03

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda RC51

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
Bought new in 2003,still ride every season, still want no other. Have luggage system for trips. Sato exhaust matched with Dan Kyle tuned powercommander, Throttle Meister,Corbin seat and tank grips. I'm 6'1" 195lbs. Love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Thuma

Marana, Arizona

Reviewed on 2011-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda RC51

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first V-twin and I love it. The bike wheelies great with just a snap of the throttle! I love the sound and torque. It's so much difference from a 4 cyl. to a V-twin! I have had 14 bikes from a '91 GSXR to a '93 CBRF2, a '94 CBR 900RR to a twin turbo Busa but I am having the best time with this. The 4 cylinder starts making power in higher rpms but the RC51 hits the power range out of the hole! I love this bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Will Graham

Boone, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2006-10-30

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda RC51

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great track bike. Super stable with gobs of easy to use power. V-twin puts power down so much better than a spiky 4. Suspension is easy to set up. Many cool parts available. They are a little on the piggy side but still steer very well. Brakes have good feel and power. Smoothest of the big twin superbikes. Uncomfortable if ridden over 25 min with the stock seat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JC Costarakis

Marathon Shores, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-06-15

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda RC51

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my RC51 since new (bought as a left over in 2005 with 1 mile). I have about 2800 miles on the bike now and 3rd set of tires (Dunlop 208GP soft compound). I take the bike to the mountains about 2 times a year (Deals Gap, Cherohala Skyway) and this bike is VERY quick and nimble for its weight. The torque for coming out of the corners is phenomenal. The engine delivers a smooth steady torque/hp rate all through the gears. Some people claim of a dip in the mid range - which is easily fixed with a very simple 30-minute modification. Rear sets/shifter and brake already high enough for the advanced rider, yet still comfortable. No feeling of flexing into the corners unless you are braking really, really, hard like a racer, then it's very minimal. The sturdy, rigid, frame keeps both wheels planted firmly and keeps you feeling in control. Not to mention, Honda is a reputation for being reliable. This is my 8th Honda I have ever owned and I have owned everything from Kawasaki's, to Suzuki's, to Yamaha's. No other company compares. Great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brandon Harrison

Warsaw, Illinois

Reviewed on 2005-12-06

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda RC51

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
While not the smoothest in traffic or most comfortable, who buys an rc51 to ride in traffic? Get it on the open road and it hugs the corners as if it is on rails. Likes to cruise at 80+! Downsides are that it eats tires and I have to constantly tighten every nut and bolt because they vibrate loose. Upsides far outweigh the down. Had it 10 months, put 13000 miles on it, and love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

DFW, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-07-30

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda RC51

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First of all, when you look at this bike and its amazing details, you realize that it is made with precise engineering and high quality parts...Magnesium heads and clutch cover, Stout frame, heavily braced swingarm, and hydraulic clutch are awesome. '01 RC51's are rare...Unlike the hundred's of R1's and GSXR's you see out on the road. The RC51 is unique. This bike is smooth. Forget what you've heard about v-twins. The 2001 RC51 runs very smooth and you can be going very fast, but the motor doesn't feel like it's straining like other bikes do. Extremely stable. I was surprised at the stability this bike has. Very calm and smooth at high speeds. The 2001 RC51 runs very cool. 180 degrees on the highway. I've heard of guys with the '02 and up models running warm. But the '01s run nice and cool. Most people don't realize that most inline 4's run the same temps and hotter. The seat is hard but that can easily be fixed with an aftermarket seat. Overall this is a great bike. High quality, reliable, good handling, and a very strong Vtwin motor.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jon Mavrick

Peru, Indiana

Reviewed on 2004-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda RC51

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have always ridden a Honda 4 cylinder sport bike but after buying my 2002 Honda RC51 new I'm very pleased. This bike isn't the most comfortable sport bike that Honda makes but if you want some performance and want it fast....this is the bike to buy. Its a head turner too. I just recently installed Erion Racing Slip-on pipes and they not only sound alot better than the stock but actually improved the performance too. When you think Honda...think "Performance First" and "Best on earth."
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chad Larsen

Holladay, Utah

Reviewed on 2004-03-02

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda RC51

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have ridden just about every possible street legal liter bike out there and I have been a Honda loyalist since 1993. I have owned Honda 900's, 929's and 1 954 and I finally broke the in line 4 trend and bought this incredible V twin bike. I am not a speed freak since the only place to go top speed is on a track but, I ride canyons regularly and I can say that this bike is absolutely confidence inspiring. My first tight sweeper was magical. I felt much more at ease in a steep lean angle on the RC than with any 900. The power delivery throughout the turns is smooth and not so jumpy when you get on the gas through the apex. If anybody is wondering what liter bike eats up a decreasing radius turn like a 600, this is the bike. It isn't the most comfortable bike but who wants to go touring on a superbike. If you get the chance, don't pass this one up. 5 stars all the way (except comfort). You wont regret it. This bike will also be a collector's item soon since this is the last year of production. Happy riding!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J-Dub

Kenmore, New York

Reviewed on 2004-02-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda RC51

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
But nothing lifting a few weights can't cure. That is if you like tossing your bike from side to side, and dipping in the curves like I do. This is a sturdy and durable bike. You feel a bit of vibration through the bars, but it's not annoying. Some changes needed to be made to my 2002 though. Starting with that hard as hell seat (first season). Then the rear sprocket had to go. I went up two teeth and man what a difference off the line. I also added a set of beatiful Moriwaki low mount pipes. All I can say is lovely. Not too loud, and definitely not passive. Nice and beefy. Also, I cut a few holes in the flap (Instead of removing it.) that closes off the air creating a dive in power after a certain number of revs. Then when it hits a higher number it opens back up (that was second season). These little changes have made me enjoy this bike in ways you can only imagine. 9,600 miles has told me so. This season I added a power commander 3r, Scotts damper, and a slew of cosmetics you have to see to believe. I expect to pile on another 5-6 grand by the end of the season. The only thing I want to do next is add an after market air box. I hear it will really make the exhaust come alive. Will I do it? Not from the looks of my wallet.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Baer

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2003-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda RC51

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
All I can say is I've ridden many bikes and none are as fun as the RC51, hands down! More power than usable on the street and the most solid well balanced ride. Take this bike to the twisties and realize what a twin is all about!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: