Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-08-15 2011 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am an older female who has ridden motorcycles 50cc to 1200c's all my life, but in later years wanted a lightweight scooter to putz around the back roads on and this fit the bill perfectly. I gave it a 4 on comfort because the seat could use more padding,and under seat storage would be nice from the factory but everything else is 5 star. I am very happy with acceleration. I can get around 42 mph. on the flats. It climbs inclines fine although you slow down but it gets you up the hill. The dealership in Knoxville was super! In fact I went back in a week and bought another one for my other half. Clint was super and got me a great deal with no hassle or hidden charges. I plan to keep my Ruck stock for the most part. It rides great the way it is. Get one before Honda stops making them - it's a classic!
- Kim Langdale, strawberry plains, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-18 2007 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up an '07 Honda Ruckus. I always wanted one and couldn't find a good deal until last week at a dealership, an '07 with 1,500 miles on it for $1,350. Wow, I didn't think twice on this and bought it. Love it!!! $6.00 for a 3-year tag required in Colorado to ride it on the streets. This will be my new street and camping (TOY) commuter. This is a keeper for sure.
- Ron Bonneau, Arvada, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-03 2006 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I originally purchased the Ruckus for the fuel savings. I have a 30 mile round trip commute. My truck gets 13 mpg, the bike gets 85 mpg. Add in that I don't have to pay $50 per month for parking, and in less than a year the bike is completely paid for with savings. The bike is stock for things that affect performance, other than the fact I use AMSOIL synthetic engine oil and gear lube. Top speed on level ground is about 35 mph. Going downhill with a tail wind I have hit about 42 mph. Climbing a steep hill the speed can drop to 15 to 20 mph. A strong head wind can also lower the top speed. Several reviewers have complained about the under seat storage. I think the Ruckus has the best hauling capacity of any scooter. I can carry a 20# propane cylinder between the seat and the battery box to get it filled. I have hauled many bags of groceries by tying the bags to the seat frame, and using cargo nets that are about one foot square. I throw a day backpack under the seat for things that you always want to carry, like a flashlight, a few tools, fuses, a brush for helmet hair, etc. I just added a Givi top box so I can leave the helmet on the bike when I don't want to bring the helmet in for some reason. The Ruckus is a people magnet. Someone always wants to talk about the bike. The Ruckus is also fun to ride, so I find myself looking for any opportunity to run an errand. When I wear out this Ruckus I will be getting another little Ruckus for commuting. I want a bigger bike for long road trips, but that would be an additional bike, not instead of the little Ruckus. I ride year round. As soon as the snow and ice melt following a storm I am riding. If it is merely cold I just wear more layers. Coldest ride so far is about five below. I run 0w-40 oil in winter.
- Paul, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-18 2007 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I initially bought this scooter for a cheap means of hauling my tail to work. Soon after buying it I found myself looking for reasons to run errands so I could cruise around town. Every time I get on it I find it nearly impossible to wipe the smile off of my face. The Ruckus is great and as long as they keep making them Honda will have a repeat buyer in me for sure.
- Ryan, Juneau, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2007 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this thing and soon after started making my trip to work and all around town 80 miles at a time. Not slow it hauls my 220 lb butt up and down hills at 40 mph all day! I am a 35yr old truck driver and you don't need to go any faster without being on the expressway and I get 97mph all day and a low fuel warning light works cool. No more crotch rockets for me!! The oil change is so easy to do by yourself it's a joke. It's two big bolts on the bottom - cool!!
- paul, Wixom, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-12 2007 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride my Ruckus to work and back every day. It is a fun way to get where you are going. I really enjoy the look on my co-workers faces when I pull in and beep the horn. The mileage is great and it is really fun to ride. Since I bought it, I have added an under seat storage bag and a Kryptonite lock. The only draw back is on long rides (rides over 30 minutes) the seat is a bit uncomfortable.
- atvfan32, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-25 2007 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased 2 new 2007 Honda Ruckus scooters (the White Camo paint scheme) in early January 2007 - a matched pair of his & hers scooters --- one for me, one for my wife. We're first-time scooter-owners. Since January 2007, she's logged almost 1500 miles on hers and I've logged almost 1300 miles on mine. We've swapped scooters a few times to ride the other scooter. Both are EXCELLENT! From 'day 1' off the dealer's lot, we've had absolutely zero trouble of any kind with these scooters! Do-it-yourself basic maintenance is very simple for those inclined. Everything works just exactly as it's supposed to work... and everything works very well! Absolutely NO regrets whatsoever in choosing the Honda Ruckus '07 scooters!!! We get tons of looks, positive comments, head-turns, etc. (not the reason for buying these, of course, but part of the overall scootering fun perhaps). Gas mileage for us has been a realistic, real-world consistent average of around 100+ MPG. These scooters handle very well in rain and wet-road conditions. They're excellent - whether driving around on neighborhood streets, to driving on very heavily congested city streets, to driving on 2-lane and 4-lane higher-speed roads (with 45-55mph speed limits). Overall, these scooters feel very safe while riding on any/every type of road and all traffic conditions we've encountered. We've had both scooters 'maxed out' at 45mph (and not just a 1-time occurrence, nor a scenario where it was a long steep downhill grade with gusty winds blowing at our backs)... 45mph on flats (factory stock). As is normal for all 49cc 4-stroke scooters - don't expect to power your way up steep hills. 25-35 mph will be more like it on uphill grades and hills. In strong head-winds, you can also expect to lose some speed as well (around 5 mph perhaps). These scooters easily pull away quickly and effortlessly from traffic lights without the feeling like the car behind you is 'breathing down your neck' and likely to run over top of you. These Ruckus scooters handle exceptionally well! Overall, it's a very nice, smooth, comfortable ride! They cruise along effortlessly at 30-35 mph, and the few horses they have don't seem to mind running at wide open throttle out on the highway at steady 40+mph speeds for extended time periods. We've had many rides covering 75-100 miles for 5-6 hour time periods... and they were running as smoothly at the end as at the beginning and throughout the rides. In cooler weather (below 45 degrees), warming them up first for 5 minutes seems to make a big difference. Everything on the 2007 factory/stock models seem to be first-class top-quality. Many of the common upgrades and modifications that are often recommended for older models don't seem to be necessary for the 2007 model. Quality = as everyone says - it's a Honda - the Honda name speaks for itself! Reliability, Performance, Comfort, Quality... the 2007 Honda Ruckus scooter truly has it ALL in 5 stars!!! As I've heard other happy Ruckus owners say, the only thing is finding yourself wishing at times that it had the extra horsepower (and higher/faster mph speed capabilities) of a larger CC engined scooter/cycle for 60+mph interstate highway type traffic speeds. For a 49cc scooter, the Honda Ruckus is truly FANTASTIC and TONS of pure FUN!!!
- REN56, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-02 2007 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased two Honda Ruckus' a few weeks ago and have been riding it every chance I get. My wife and I are having lots of fun and we both are pleased with the great handling. Top speed for me has been 35 mph on a straight flat surface, 25 mph up a good steep hill with top speed of 45 mph down hill. I weigh 250 lbs, and if this bike can cruise at this speed with me on it, then it is a great bike for only having about 5 hp. Love the looks of the bike and my wife and I are really enjoying .
- felix, san antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-16 2007 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ever since I got my Ruckus, I just cant stop scootin'. It is very rugged... I grew up on CR dirt bikes, so I tend to ride this little guy hard. I jump it on railroad crossings, bunny hop it over pot holes, etc. It seems to take it like a champ. If I had my way, Honda would make a 79cc version with a front disk brake. Though it is pretty zippy, this is definitely a 49cc engine. You will notice it most on steep hills, or in high head-wind. If you want an uber-fast scoot, get a 125 or bigger. If you want a tough little cruiser, get a Ruckus. I got mine going 42 MPH on a long flat stretch with no head-wind. Generally speaking, 35 MPH is a more realistic cruising speed for stock models. It gets up to 20 MPH quite fast, then from 20-35 MPH takes a little time. The brakes do well... for drums. The shocks are better than most little scoot's, though I may invest in a better rear shock. Smooth tranny/clutch. Great lights... the brights will light up a small soccer field. Great tires. Loud horn is nice. Cool looking design, and easy access to all fluids, and basic maintenance areas. 4 stroke is nice... quiet, clean, starts easy, 93 MPG, near zero emissions. Brushless alternator/starter is maintenance free. Starts easy and silent every time. As for reliability, I only have 200 miles on mine, so I don't know how the long haul will look. I do have a hunch though... it's a Honda. Bottom line... If you want a great, multi-purpose scooter, that looks cool and is not afraid to be ridden hard (on or off road), get a Ruckus. I highly recommend it... top of its class.
- KB of the SLC, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-09 2005 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I admit it, this things is GREAT! 80-85 MPG, if you only have it at full throttle most of the time, better if you can stand going only 25 MPH. Needs a better rear shock if your over 185lbs or so. I drive mine to work 18 miles round trip and love every second of it. Plenty of aftermarket go fast parts available if you need more than 37 MPH. I may use lighter roller weights when the stock rollers wear out for better take-off, otherwise the performance is fine for me. I'm guessing I'll get 50,000 miles out of this trouble free. Get one and you'll never wipe the smile off your face.
- Toyturbodiesel, Cavetown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-29 2005 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a scooter!!! My wife got the Metropolitan II (Metropolitan I wasn't available), and I wanted the "Ruckus". I think now she wishes she had gotten the Ruckus... hee hee! My only complaint is the storage space under the seat. I will have something made to fit the space. It's awesome and I'm having a great time with it! Only wish it came in better colors.
- Dan Gatlin, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-06 2005 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Honda Ruckus will get you anywhere you want to go, any hill, you can even stop on the steep hills and then continue, no problem. Just don't expect speed or impressive acceleration. Top speed is 60km/hr on level ground, 40-50km up medium sized hills. It does what it does well. It looks mean and cool at the same time. The 4 stroke should be bullet-proof, just don't neglect the oil. If you want a rocket, get a 2-stroke Yamaha Vino. If you want a long-term, low-performance, low maintenance, do everything machine, get a Ruckus. And if you don't need the rugged look or the off-road happy tires, get the Honda Jazz, it's got the same engine and it's 20 lbs lighter.
- Gord, Victoria, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: