Honda SABRE Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (291)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda SABRE Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

jason james from bellefontaine, Ohio says:

I just don't want you to have one like mine. I have owned over 50 bikes in my day. It looks custom and it rides good. don't ride this without s

Read More (291 reviews)

Have you owned a Honda SABRE Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just don't want you to have one like mine. I have owned over 50 bikes in my day. It looks custom and it rides good. don't ride this without some experience. My bike makes Harley riders turn their heads.
- jason james, bellefontaine, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-11-28 2013 Honda Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought brand new in 2013 and I loved it! Handles great. Looks great. Very low maintenance. Only complaint is stock seat was horribly uncomfortable and there weren't a whole lot of aftermarket parts available. I would still be riding it but sadly a friend totaled it out a cpl weeks ago.
- Diva Kitten, Tampa Bay

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-11-22 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my fifth bike - I bought this bike used with only 5,000 miles. I have had no major repairs and I've taken road trips yearly. This bike is great in city commuting as well as at home on the open road. I love the balance and the power-to-weight combination. So now with 37,000 miles, I'm looking to finally trade up to a "used 2008 VTX1800" and my son will enjoy my old and still very clean VT1100.
- Ron, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-05-21 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is good if you like straight line performance, but it lacks agility through the twisties. The real power begins in second gear above 3,000 rpms. Then the fun begins with its 10,000 rpm. redline. This is not a beginner's bike and makes a great collectable.
- Mercman2, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-11-24 2006 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this at 12k miles and it was six years old. Since then I have put on over 6k miles. I ride daily and I chose this bike based on past bikes (Kawasaki 350, Yamaha 1100 full dress tour). I like the styling of it and it's not lacking on performance. It has a good ratio of quick and top speed. Cruising speed of 70 is just fine with this thing. I use it daily in the city and on trips. One must have that came with it was the Mustang seat. It is great just for what it's tagged to be. It's easy to maneuver and handle low-centered slow rides are sweet on this. When I need to pick up the pace and battle freeway traffic, it's not an issue. I would be hard pressed to go back to full dress but only for the accessories.
- Scott, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-17 2010 Honda Sabre (VT1300CS) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked mine up as a leftover. I actually wanted a Fury but the price was right for me. The power is pretty much what you would expect from a 1300cc motor and the stock pipes have a nice note for stock pipes. My only gripe is the mirrors don't give me a good look directly behind me and they could've set the foot controls a little higher. I lean hard in turns and corners and I'm constantly banging the footpegs. The ride is a little rough on Pennsylvania pothole-riddled roads but on the highway and smooth runs, the long rake makes cruising a breeze. All around, it's a solid bike and it gets plenty of looks and compliments now that I put on Cobra pipes.
- Chris, Wilkes Barre , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-22 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The look, the accessories, the acceleration, style, comfort, make for not just a great looking bike, but a sweet ride. Heads turn.
- Philly Jim, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-23 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used in the fall of 2011 with 11,500 km's on it and put on 1,000 since then. I am very impressed with the appearance, handling, power and reliability of this bike. Honda did an excellent job with this machine. It has plenty of get up and go power. Brakes provide plenty of stopping power. It's a relatively inexpensive bike but it's still got great quality. I like the shaft drive and aluminum wheels. Mine also came with factory flames. Spend half the cost of that you would on a Harley and get a Honda and the reliability that comes with it. I've owned several Honda ATV's and dirt bikes throughout the years. Take care of them and they'll run forever just about. Only complaints I have, no tachometer, and no fuel gauge. I would also suggest a Mustang seat for the longer trips.
- Chris Broesky, Wetaskiwin, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-19 2006 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motorcycles all my life, and this has been the best bike ever. I purchased my used 2006 Sabre in '06 with 1,900 miles and a windshield. My brothers also purchased bikes in 2006, brand new, one bought a Suzuki M109. and the other a Kawasaki Concourse. One day we all rode to a local dealer and inquired about schedule maintenance. The service person looked up the maintenance schedule for all our bikes, and gave my brothers a list of required maintenance. Then he said to me, I don't see anything here for the Sabre, just change your oil and ride. I must say, when we ride, my Sabre is at the front of the pack. I run with the Big Boys 16, 17 and 1800's and they all think I've had something done to my motor.
- Long time rider, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-19 2010 Honda Sabre (VT1300CS) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a bit deliquent in writing a review on this bike. I purchased it in March, 2011 and LOVE IT and I had a great experience with the folks at the dealership when I bought it! The engine is solid and provides more than enough power to get me where I want to go. The styling is superb. The only reason I don't have more miles on it is because I was at sea for four months during the summer. I'd recommend the Sabre and this dealership to anyone.
- Tim Smith, Yulee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-24 2006 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't ridden in 30 years and then I moved to Texas. that's when I decided to get a bike again. I shopped around and looked at new and used bikes. I came across my 2006 Sabre at a dealer two years ago. It didn't take long to make my mind up after seeing this bike. I have been riding now for 2+ years and wouldn't give it up for anything. I just bought a Mustang seat and boy did that make a difference. Now I don't want to get off my bike.
- Jim McPherson, Hutto, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-16 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own the 2000 1100 Sabre and let me tell you something!!! This is the best bike I ever owned. I been riding since 1993 and when I first got this bike in 2002, I did all the leather accessory buying, saddle bags, sissy bar, tassles, and tool carrier; friends loved it. I decided to go another direction with it; I decided to "show it". A friend of mine and I collaborated together and have done a fabulous paint detail on it and I have so far put it in six bike shows and have five first place trophies and one second place trophy. People mouths drop when they find out that it's a HONDA! I would not trade it for the world. In fact I know friends that have personally traded their Harley in for a Honda after seeing mine and what it could do.
- Mr. Robinson, Pueblo, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-21 2010 Honda Sabre (VT1300CS) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2010 VT1300 Sabre from a dealership in Jacksonville. I picked this bike up and put a hundred miles on it in a few hours. So far this bike is AMAZING. It's smooth riding, plenty of power, easy to handle, fits me (tall rider) and has absolutely great looks. Plus, we all know that it will be around forever with Honda's reliability.
- CJ Turner, Jacksonville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-15 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like to travel using my bike. I live in Vietnam and Cambodia and travel between those two countries every week with the Shadow Sabre. It is a great bike. It gets about 46 mpg. and has enough power even with two people on the bike and luggage. Since it is a low compression engine of 8.1, it accepts about every imaginable octane gas available. I have used everything in it because sometimes I do not have the ability to choose a better grade of fuel. I have had front shock seal problems after 15,000 miles but I think any bike would based on the road conditions. Based on the few years I have owned it, the bike has performed very well. I wish more bikes were this durable and looked this sharp. I also travel in extreme traffic conditions and it is very nimble or able to maneuver through traffic with the greatest of ease at less than 5 mph. Good Job Honda!!!
- Dave Chessey, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-26 2007 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was an impulse buy. At first glance I was not a fan of the flames but the black candy coating paint job jumped off the sales floor. This is one of the most comfortable bikes I have ever sat on. It's fast, light and a real head turner. I love my Sabre.
- Patrick Duncan, Olivebranch, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-27 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cycle in 25 years and was recommended by a friend with a 2007 VT1100C2. This cycle rides and handles amazingly. It's extremely reliable and easy to service (plugs and oil). There is much available after-market, and the only significant change I made was to install Cobra slash-cut pipes (and jet kit of course). This makes the cycle sound like the machine it is and adds performance also. I purchased this cycle with 2950 miles in 2009 and now have 15000, so you can tell I absolutely love riding this machine. The only think needing changing besides the oil/plugs are the tires. What can I say?
- JayC, Suffern, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-24 2007 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cycle I have ever bought new. I love the bike as I got it in 2008 and have had zero issues. It keeps up with the bigger bikes and is a good all around cruser. Fuel economy has been around 40/45 mpg.
- J.D., Zeeland, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-19 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my '84 Sabre due to knee surgery. It was the only time I was truly sad to sell a motorcycle. All the rest were just machines to enjoy and use. But the Big Sabre did everything. It was an excellent commuting machine with power and maneuverability in traffic. It made long high-speed rides effortless, and was a joy in the twisties. Sure there are other bikes that do each of these things better. But none that do them ALL so well. The V-4 engine has it's quirks, but once you know them, maintenance is pretty easy and inexpensive. The engine puts out less vibration than other engine motorcycle engine I know. It is rigidly mounted to the frame, but the bike has very little vibration, and the grips don't shake. When my knee recovers, I'll be looking for another one.
- Andrew A., Mt Juliet, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-10 2007 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had no problems at all with my 2007 Shadow Sabre. I love it as a first time bike rider. I saw it and immediately purchased it.
- Dereck, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-24 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The wheels on this bike help differentiate it from other cruisers immediately - one of the reasons I wanted it was that they are much easier to clean than spokes. This bike gets thumbs up in all areas except comfort - the stock seat is not very comfortable. Aside from that, great styling, low maintenance, durability, performance - it's all there. If you're considering one of these - you can't go wrong.
- Todd, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-26 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the hot rod flame 2005 in September '07 and have put over 17,000 miles on it as of this post in Jan '10. These Sabres are still it! They ride right, look right, sound right, feel right. I've made some upgrades and added a little flair but I still should be working on commission for Honda. Upgraded the seat to a button down Mustang for my passenger. I'm now looking for a low mileage 2007.
- Tim Gosteli, Springfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-05 2002 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always dreamed of owning a big fat Harley Davidson. Now that I am 39 and am on top of things, money wise I started looking for a second hand HD. To cut a long story short... HD are way way way over priced for what you get and unless you buy new, they are mostly crap. So I started looking at the Hondas and Yamahas. I test rode so many bikes until one day I got on my first Shadow ACE 1996. What a great bike. It was at a dealers so it was way expensive. I ended up with a 2002 mint cond. Sabre with 6000km's on the clock. This has to be one of the best value cruisers on the road. I love it. The only cruiser that I fit on and looked good on. Heaps of power and the gearing is huge, unlike the V-Stars. It will cruise down the road at 100km/ph in 4th then just drop it into 5th and it's purring. I also had a set of V&H Longshots installed with a K & N Filter. Had it Dynoed and there was no need to re jet it. Bummped it up to 63 torque H.P. from 55. Love the bike and will keep it forever.
- Steve, Newcastle, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-17 2006 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an excellent bike from Honda. Almost maintenace free. Replace the oil on time, check coolant, breaks and tires and you'll have an extremely reliable motorcycle. I always ride with my wife around and we like to hit the freeway for long trips. Powerful and fast. I am really impressed with its performance.
- estbmc, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-14 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a shame!!! I'm told Honda has dropped the SHADOW SABRE 1100. Goofballs!! This is not the fastest bike on the road nor the fanciest, just the best value. The power is awesome. The styling is incredible. Gas mileage is very good. Agility is very important to me, it shines. I'm an old dirtbike rider...old being the operative word here. Trust me, I know what agility truly means. For a cruiser it's terrific. Hey Honda! What's up? We want our Sabre back!!! Maybe they'll bring it back with a sixth gear and fuel injection...I hope I hope I hope! Safe ridin' to all.
- Jim Embry, Gulfport, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-04 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre (VT1100C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was a bit rusty before I hopped on, within the first 5 min it was as if I never stepped off. The power is great on this bike. My only problem with the bike is the shaft final drive; it makes curves a little different. I addapted to it quickly. All and all this is a great bike, even if your short like I am.
- Matt, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: