Honda SHADOW SPIRIT 750 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (254)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda SHADOW SPIRIT 750 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda SHADOW SPIRIT 750 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-08-12 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750DC) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man have I been missing out. I have truly owned over a 100 motorcycles. I just purchased a very clean low miles Shadow Spirit 1100. This bike is awesome, rides nice plenty power, both feet on the ground. Handles great, surprisingly Nimble for a cruiser. Feels lighter than it it is. And yes it’s shaft drive. I’m a happy rider again. Hey everybody go get one while you can!
- John Graham, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-01-27 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750DC) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I last posted in 2011 and have had the bike for two years now. I now have almost 42k on the ole Honda Shadow Spirit 750DC. It has been a good, reliable bike. Pros to this bike are many. Cons are chain drive (buy a good chain and that will help) and tube tires. Mpg. averages around 50.
- Robbie, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-11-06 2012 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Taller riders would do well to install a control relocation kit. Sadly, at the time of this review, none really exist for this model. Otherwise, this is an excellent bike. It feels light and agile, and is quite responsive to a twist of the throttle.
- Damon Axelrod, Riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-04 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 C2 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has wonderful performance. But I don't understand why Honda puts on such a terrible seat. It gets very uncomfortable after about 30 minutes of riding. I replaced it with a Mustang seat and it made a world of difference. I'm getting 64 mpg., can't complain about that!
- Lindsay, Appleton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-15 2006 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750DC) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I brought this bike as gift for my wife. The power is smooth and yes it will get up and go when you twist the throttle. It handles crosswinds very well. I ride year round, that was a nice suprise. As my wife is a new rider, this bike will enable her to gain confidence very quickly. The handling is great and the bike gives you good road feedback. I would have given 5 stars for comfort but she stated that the passenger seat could be softer and a set of highway bars will give you better comfort on long rides. If you purchase this bike, you will have many hours of fun riding.
- Tattmoney, Browns Mills, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-15 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 C2 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My husband bought me my Shadow Spirit C2 for my 39th birthday this year. It is a bucket list item for me. At only 5'-4", I looked long and hard for a bike that "fit" me comfortably and something I could ride confidently as a beginner. The Shadow fits the bill. It is also forgiving of "new rider" mistakes, especially in shifting. I'm getting better, but I'm still learning to listen for the engine speed to match the gear just right. After looking at Harley Sportsters, I'm glad I chose the Shadow. It is a much nicer looking bike! The seat does get a little uncomfortable after an hour or so. Maybe a gel pad would help. Overall, I love my Shadow. I don't think I could have done better for my first bike!
- Patsy S, Salina, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-18 2009 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got back into riding after about two years. I looked at a lot of bikes, new and used. I bought this 2009 brand new with zero miles. I took it on a 100-mile ride this weekend, and it was just awesome. The ride had a lot of country roads, with lots of twists and turns, exactly what I needed to get comfortable with this bike. It runs great, handles great. This is a keeper!
- curtis alan, midlothian, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-24 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750DC) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike in a year! The 96 Rebel gave out in six months after 10,500 miles. The 84 Magna gave out in three months after 6,000 miles. I decided to go with a good reliable bike in the Shadow 750; Honda's been making this engine/transmission configuration for more than 25 years! I haven't been disappointed! I have 1,300 miles on the bike in a month. The bike has good power and gets consistently 50 mpg.
- Robbie, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-12 2008 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my Shadow Spirit on Monday and I have fallen in love at first sight. This is by far the coolest looking stock, right out of the showroom bike I have ever seen. This is my first brand new motorcycle. I had a good experience with a used bike and a horrible experience with a used bike, so I thought I would take the USED out of the equation. A dealership advertised a brand new left over from 2008 for an unbelievable price. I went and saw it and fell head over heels. It fits me like a glove. Nice acceleration, very good handling, a dream to ride. Get one of these if you can.
- Scott, Alexandria, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-03 2006 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750DC) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for beginners with some experience or seasoned veterans. Has plenty of power to haul ass with me and my GF on it for a combined weight total of around 480 lbs. Always thought that VT750's didn't have the power, but man, was I mistaken about that! A great bike all the way around, even for a big guy like me! This one is a keeper!
- Ryan W, Bowling Green, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-29 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 DC (VT750DC) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great bike for a beginner... The Honda VT750DC Shadow Spirit is low, lean, and sporty. The shaft drive Shadow Spirit welcomes you to the cruising experience with comfortable proportions and strong, easily accessible riding performance. Settle into its low, contoured seat, put your feet up and get ready for a blissful experience in every ride, forgetting all the cares of the day. Twist its throttle and the Spirit surges quickly up to speed or cruises lazily down the road with an appealing pulse of V-twin rumble.
- Ken , Ft Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-24 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this for about a year and know two others that have had the same bike. Thay have not had any problems with theres and either have I. First off this is a bike you wouldn't want to take on long tours. It's rather small and could use a little more power for the highway. At 75 mph, it's sceaming but I replaced the rear sprocket to a smaller one and that has helped a lot. The bike is great for weekend trips (one up) and commutes and just riding around. Runs like a swiss watch. It's very responsive and quick handling for a crusier which makes it a blast around town. I own another much much larger crusier and this bike is a fun change of pace after spending time on the larger one. I could go on and on about this bike, but the bike is a basic, perfectly running, fun machine. It really is a blast to wring the heck out of it. If you need just a basic motorcycle thats still a blast to own and once you have it costs very very very little to own (gas, insurance) you can't do much better then this.
- mgw, tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-23 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 C2 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I came back to riding bike about seven years ago after more than thirty years! In the last seven years I've had as many bikes! Decided I wanted something slower and more laid back due to my age and decided on a cruiser. Having ridden a Hornet600 for twelve months I was well impressed with Honda Bikes! So I bought a s/h 2007 shaft powered spirit AND I LOVE IT! So long as you aren't in to much of a hurry it has no faults. Low center of gravity so it's easy to hold up and plenty of torque for a smaller engine (750cc). Can't praise it enough. Many thanks to Honda and well done.
- john, walsall, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-13 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 C2 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a return to riding after a 20 plus year break, I spent two years riding an older bike, and researching a new one. I bought this bike with 1100 miles on it, and do not regret the decision one bit. It rides great, handles great, and pulls my almost 300 lb body with ease. The seat and brakes could be better, but everything else is just about as good as it gets.
- Ron, Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-28 2008 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not ridden a bike since 87, and was a little uneasy about riding a bigger bike but the shadow 750 came right to me. I feel in total control, and it is a blast to ride. I love it.
- David, tricities, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-11 2008 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One year old and 14k carefree miles. One longer trip of 1500 miles with Wings and Harleys. My shadow easily kept up even in the mountains and strong head winds. Could not be happier.
- gary, riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-10 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 DC (VT750DC) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding my dad's 600vlx, he talked me into buying a bike. I went with the 750 and glad I did. It has enough power for highway speed. I've had me and my wife on it at 65-70mph and it did great. Only draw back was the seat.
- brad, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-09 2008 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike in all aspects. It is extremely reliable and great fun to ride. It is really sleek!
- June Halloran, Owings, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-06 2008 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE my new bike! It took a little getting used to - bigger tank, little weightier than my 600 Shadow - but I'm not looking back. I added some Cobra pipes to beef up the exhaust noise a little, and was given the added bonus of some added performance. Now it sounds like I thought it should, and I smile even more every time I start 'er up!
- Janet, Brick, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-04 2008 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took the bike for a test drive and at first was uncomfortable, but the shocks were adjusted pretty easily and I took it for a second trip. It has plenty of power and is loud enough to get attention without being obnoxious. I really feel safe riding it because of the seat height, 25 inches. I feel like I have complete control of the road. I had no problem with the stock seat. It may be unsuitable for a constant passenger though. I've had numerous compliments without having accessorized it. I love this bike and I'm glad I chose this one over any others I had considered.
- Michael, Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-09 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 DC (VT750DC) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is my first time back on a bike for a while, and I could not have done better than this one. The ride is exceptionally comfortable and is has great handling and good power. I haven't been on it as much as I would like, but enjoy it every time out. I'm getting over 50 mpg even though I ride it hard on occasion. I love the purring engine. It is not loud with the stock pipes, but has a good sounding powerful engine. It shifts as smooth as butter.
- neilinnc, Durham, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-28 2008 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in August 2008. I ride approx. 80 miles one way. The seat had to go. It was uncomfortable after approx. 30 miles. I bought a Mustang cruising seat; what a difference! I can now ride hundreds of miles with little discomfort. It is the perfect bike for my body size and weight. It has good acceleration and cruises along at 60-70 mph with no problems. It gives a gentle rumble from the pipes without waking up the entire neighborhood. It is quite an eye-catcher. I have had numerous inquiries about where I bought the bike and several compliments as to its good looks and style. It is dressed about as good as it gets. It starts any time in any weather as soon as I hit the trigger! As usual, a good Honda product. I have a motorcycle, 4-wheeler and jet ski - all Hondas!
- Randy, Pittsburg, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-25 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 DC (VT750DC) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike and got one of the best deals (ever) for a brand new 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit. I read the reviews and wanted one. It has been over 25 years since I last rode, and the thrill is still there. This machine is sleek, fast, easy to handle, ride and maintain. It is a chain drive model (like I rode for years in my younger days). I like the OLD SCHOOL feel of the chain drive, and I do not want a windshield to take away the breathtaking experience of riding down the road on a motorcycle. The Honda Shadow Spirit is a more than the perfect bike to get back into riding. It gets around 65 miles per gallon, and I get lots of positive comments about the looks from other riders. If you won't ride it, someone else will.
- SteveS, Somewhere in , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-05 2008 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is street bike number five for me and I love it. I love my Honda so much; not because of what it is, but what it is not. It's not a status symbol; it's not an oil user; and there is not one in every driveway. <br /> The Shadow runs excellently, rides excellently, handles well and has decent stock power. Everyone says the factory seat is uncomfortable, and they are right. I bought a Mustang touring seat and it greatly changed the comfort of the bike. Now I can easily ride it 400 miles in one day. In eleven months I have put 6500 miles on it with no problems at all. I have put Vance and Hines shortshots, a Stage 2 jetkit and had the air snorkel removed with a K&#038;N filter and now it will perform as well as some cruisers twice its size. I have no problem keeping up with fuel injected bikes and no problem outrunning stock 800s. The Shadow Spirit 750 C2 is an excellent bike for a beginner or someone with experience that can't afford to spend a lot on a bike. Insurance is cheap and with the mods I have done I have gotten as good as 62.4 mpg out of a tank. It is a perfect all around bike.
- bob white, smalltown, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-01 2008 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750C2) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike a month ago. It is number 20 for me. I have had sport bikes to dual sports and raced moto. I have to say this purchase was fueled more by economy than passion. I looked at insurance, tried to find gas mileage info and of course cost. So this purchase of lucky number 20 seemed a little less exciting than usual. Well I was wrong. This bike is a ton of fun! It's good old fashion fun. Fire it up and hit it. No death defying wheelies, no jumping rail road tracks, no Grim Reaper riding double with you saying "Hey do another 100mph stand up wheelie!and no flashing lights... so far. It is enjoying the ride, the wind, the weather. It reminds me all the time to quit riding like a meathead and enjoy yourself. It has good pull off the bottom and a pretty decent mid. V-twins prefer to stay off of redline... go figure. It does have a 3/4 turn throttle so you need to turn it a lot to get WFO. Suspension is not too bad. The forks are a bit soft for my taste so I added 20ml of oil to each leg. It helped a ton! It feels like a new bike. I think I may add another 10ml though just to help fork dive. Its excellent brakes and shifting says typical Honda quality everywhere. The rear drum brake actually works pretty well. It will fade if you hit it hard a couple times but not bad for what it is. For the rake the front end has it turns really well. You can drag the pegs fairly easy, it also reminds you you're on a cruiser and to relax and enjoy the scenery. Best of all it has its own sound. It really doesn't sound like a Honda. Some Honda cruisers I think sound like big XR's, not the 750. It has its own sound and isn't a Harley copy. I really love this bike. I am shocked and still in amazement at how much fun I have on this bike. It has enough power to be fun and not enough to release the meathead inside you, or me. Perfect. Also something I never found anywhere is the MPG. I have run several tanks of gas through it and since new it has never gotten less than 52 MPG. I have not been very ginger with the throttle either, I ride it like I want to. I have had two tanks at 55mpg. So my gasoline bill has gone from $100+ per week to $24 dollars a week. A year insurance for full coverage is dirt cheap, it is paying for itself. I love it! So if you are in the market and can't decide, GO RIDE ONE! It will convince you! And by the way, the seat is a bit cruel as others have said. I tried to be tough but my 220 pound booty couldn't hang. An hour on the freeway and you will feel it!
- Brian B, Fort Wayne, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: