Honda ST1100 Motorcycles Reviews (21)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda ST1100 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda ST1100 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-02-28 2001 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a long range touring bike. I first test rode a BMW R1100R and then tried the ST1100. The ST1100 seemed to be smoother and I like the brakes better. I have been on several rides including 1500 miles in 33 hours. It's perfect except for two things. First, it has a high seat and is a little top heavy. Second, it takes a conscious effort to keep it below 80 mph. It's comfort zone seems to be between 80 and 85. It's a great touring bike. I've put over 6,000 miles on it in nine months.
- Mike Moreland, Abilene, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-05 1999 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got mine, used as a '96 ST. It is my dream bike. The ride is smooth, the layout comfortable. The extra GIVI' bag on the back tail is a real joy on a longer ride. Shifting is smooth and easy. The windshield is effective, but still allows for some air to keep you cool on the hotter days. I also have a Corbin seat which makes a difference to me. The large fuel tank, 7 plus gallons, means you can almost go on forever. I have taken it to PA 2 or 3 times with no issues up or down the mountains. Next, I'm trying to make it to the Honda Hoot with her. Keep riding, all!
- Ed Rivera Jr, Plainfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-29 1999 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have almost 50K on my candy apple red ST1100 and have not had any major problems with the bike. Positives are: huge gas tank (7.4 gal)+ good mileage = almost 300 mile range! Center stand, saddle bags that hold a full face helmet, Bags remove/install in a few seconds, good wind protection (body and legs), quiet, fast (130 easy), strong brakes, low maintence, doesn't look like a Harley, easy to keep clean, and hard to drag parts on twisties. Negatives are: heavy, does not like strong cross winds, hands are not well protected (cold weather), not many after market add on goodies, when you do need to service - much plastic to remove, and hard on rear tire (likes to smoke it).
- Larry, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-27 2001 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I do long haul rides from Singapore to Thailand couple of times a year for a few years now, and my bike has never let me down. Have a habit of carrying spares, tools and SOS equipment on board but these were used to help out other bikers in trouble rather than my own.
- IceAngel, Singapore, Singapore

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-11 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the ST Aug.2001 had 11000+ now has 18722 so 7500 ro so.went as far down as Natchez Miss. last year in to Louisana not a lick of trouble..40 MPG +. It,s a little hard on tires. Going to Denver this Aug. I know it will not handle like the 700. but sure can pack a lot of stuff..I need a lot of stuff..
- R.H., Davis Junction, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-13 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good motor, more power would be much better. Very reliable, no problems since purchased. Windshield being replaced, not enough protection. Grips changed to grab on foam grips, amazing difference. Need to raise handlebars, too low and forward. Added Corbin seat, much better seating position for me, but hard foam. After a few hours you have a numb butt. I agree with another review, this bike is one fine machine, but horrible in a strong wind. Changing lanes on a highway when you don't want to because the wind pushed you over is very very frightening. It's been extremely windy the last three days and I don't ride. When Yamaha brings the FJR1300 to North America, it will get serious consideration. It appears to have the remaining goodies that the ST lacks.
- Bill Rhynold, Stouffville, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-03 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a 1996 with ABS/TCS. After logging about 2,000 miles, here's what I think. Yes, everything you've heard is true. It's an EXCELLENT bike. I don't think it's too heavy--having previously ridden a Goldwing, it actually feels light. If you want to bitch about weight, get a CBR or an R1 or somesuch --you can't expect a featherweight from a bike built for long-distance touring. One (and my only) complaint (but it's a biggie): The wind. If it weren't for it's sail-like qualities, this bike would be perfect. But it's more than a little hairy when you get into crosswinds--I've already been blown several feet across lanes more than once and shudder to think what will happen when it really starts blowing (I'll find out soon enough when I head to the West Coast for a two-week romp). A GIVI Maxia 50-liter top case (required for two-up touring) adds to this woe significantly. I removed the after-market windscreen and went back to the shorter factory version, which helped somewhat. But it's still awful--I wonder how much worse it would be if everyone who thinks it's too heavy got their wish and Honda shaved off 50 pounds or so. The wind factor alone causes me to give this a low four-star rating.
- Anonymous, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-29 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Year - 1997 Mileage - 85,000 miles Problems - none Wish Honda would come out with new ST1100 model. If not, will continue riding this one until I find a better bike.
- JDR, Palm Harbor, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-18 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my 2001 ST1100 on 3/30/01 from the dealer, and rode 56 miles home. (Yes, I took the long way home, and it was the first time that I have ever been on a ST.) I had wrestled with two bikes before buying the ST; the other bike was the Triumph Trophy 1200. My local dealer had the Trophy all winter (I'm from Michigan) so I have been drooling over the Trophy the whole time, but FINALLY when they got the ST in, at first it was not love at first sight until I sat on it. The ST, as far as comfort, beats the Trophy hands down. The practicality of the ST goes far beyond the Trophy, don't get me wrong, the Trophy is a good bike, I would have bought it if there wasn't such a thing as an ST. Now I have about 500 miles on it and I'm taking it in for the first service ($276), I have no doubts or regrets about purchasing the ST. Local dealer, Town & Country in Cement City MI, is great! ST MSRP for $11,899, I was "out the door" for $11,164.00. I asked them how they do it and the sales guy, who is not on commission, said that they have a 6% mark up on all bikes and that is IT! So the price on the ST was $10,499.00 + 6% tax. Great deal, and I would recommend this dealership to anybody. The power is more then what is needed in a sport/touring bike, the breaks excellent, and I love the shaft drive. The only thing that I had to get used to was the weight (my old bike was a Nighthawk). Moving the ST around in my garage can get a bit hairy, if I'm not careful. Once the bike starts to lean, it wants to go all the way over. But all feelings of weight are lost once you exceed 5mph, and after all this is a TOURING/sport bike. Honda, in my opinion, put more touring than sport into this bike. It's more like a Lincoln LS than a mustang. But if you want the best of both worlds in one bike, the ST does it and does it with comfort and style. I would recommend this bike to any mature serious rider. I will post again when I get more miles on it. Happy riding!
- swarner2, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-11 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1990 model that I purchased two years ago. Since then I have put about 14000 km on it, most of which have been on the highway. The bike is surprisingly fast, and capable of smooth effortless running at highway speeds. If you are not careful the speed can really build up before you know it. The brakes are good, but the bike is heavy and you really need them. The tall seat also makes moving the bike a challenge if you stop on grass. The biggest failing of the bike is a tendency to lean over into a crosswind. Removing the bags improves the bike a lot in this respect, but the problem can cause some really scary moments in a gusty crosswind. A touring bike that stays in the shed on windy days isn't much fun.
- Joseph McAlpine, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-06 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike comments are largely subjective but I'll try to be objective in my comments. Had a '96 ACE...too hard on my back, no luggage capacity, and lousy weather protection (remember I ride in the Northwest where it rains a lot). Had a 'Wing, great on the highway, a real handful in city rush-hour traffic but enjoyed the 6 stack CD player and luggage capacity. With the ST1100 I have the best of both worlds...awesome power on tap (yet manageable), good protection, and decent luggage capacity. This bike retails for $15900 CDN up here, but dealers will dicker around the $13+ range if you're persistent.
- Don Copp, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-18 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding my 1998 ST1100 for about one year. Every time I take it out for a ride it's like discovering the pleasure of riding all over again. I've owned a about 20 motorcycles in my lifetime and none of the previous bikes felt anything like the ST1100. I have to confess I was reading the reviews about the BMW R1100RT's. I've seen them and think they look pretty cool. But after reading about all of the quirks every reviewer reported I realized what a great machine the ST1100 is. The St1100 is the smoothest, quickest, best handling motorcycle I've owned. I say this after owning every Japanese brand made, from super-bikes to cruisers. If your crotch-rocket is starting to break your back and deaden your palms,or you can't ride it for more than 41 minutes a stretch, trade it in on an ST1100. Get a Corbin seat on it and the proper windshield height............you're there...enjoy. CB
- C.Bailey, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-15 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently took my 1999 ST on a four-day 2000-mile run through western Colorado the weather ranged from 38 degrees to 115 degree during the trip. I weigh 200lbs and I was fully loaded; the bike took those mountain passes like Butter!. I cant tell you how much fun it is to zoom up a 10,500 ft mountain with not even a hint of power loss and then twist down the other side without multiple gear shifts. I passed a lot HD's on that trip, they didn't seem to have the power to run with me. I averaged 54mpg, and I usually run at 80mph. The bike begins to live at 85mph and is smooth as silk at 120mph. I am a proponent of this machine; in fourteen thousand miles it has not let me down. Very smooth, very reliable, plenty of room in the seat, great winds protection...Buy one, CYA.
- Richard D, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-24 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We presently own a 1994 Honda ST1100. This motorcycle really goes with two up and is reliable as any bike out there. We plan to sell this bike for a 2001 sports touring bike next year. Owned mostly Hondas but the BMW R1100RT is seriously being looked at. It's our hopes that Honda does what is being speculated: to give the good old ST1100 a facelift. Update it with heated grips, adjustable windshield,etc., etc.. Wake up Honda! Produce the SST1200 or Honda will lose riders to the BMW R1100RT.
- Glenn and TJ, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-14 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride my ST like it's a CBR900 and it doesn't let me down. It handles so well for a heavy bike. It's able to drag the foot pegs and keep up with my fast buddy on his Honda VFR. Besides it's smooth and comfortable. Just a little stiffening of the suspension both front and rear and perhaps some stickier radials and it would be just perfect. What a roadworthy bike.
- Mike Carson, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-07 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just completed a marvelous trip through Nova Scotia and Newfoundland, two up with luggage and a tank bag plus a GIVI trunk on the luggage rack and the bike handled every thing I asked of it in superb fashion. I rode the Cabot Trail with abandon and got 45 to 50 mph while doing it. It has the smoothest motor which seems to do everything in a manner which makes me feel like it isn't really having to work at it. The cruisers and the "Wings" had to look at my rear end the whole trip!!!!
- Harvey Fox, Flagler Beach , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-21 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros: Excellent wind protection, excellent touring range (300 miles +), good gas mileage (40 mpg +), comfortable riding position, electric-smooth engine, nice shifting transmission, somewhat spirited riding. Cons: Very heavy bike, especially at slow parking lot speeds. Engine could use more power.
- Bob P., Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-26 1999 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 99 Honda ST1100 new in April of 1999. So far I just love the bike. It's fast and handles better than I can drive. It seems to do everything that I want with ease. At anywhere near legal speeds, and even up to 100mph, the engine doesn't seem to be working very hard. Shifting to pass is purely optional. The engine seems to have so much torque that all you need to do is twist and go. For touring, you can load it down like a pack mule and it doesn't seem affected. I also do some sport riding with my buddies, who have pure sport bikes, and I have no trouble keeping up. The only problem I have had is the rear shock went soft. Honda replaced this under warranty immediately, so, no more problem! Thanks Honda! The only other problem is that this bike thinks our North American speed limits are some sort of joke. you're going WAY faster than you think. Could get you in trouble with the MAN. I'm getting about 450 - 475 km to a tank of gas. Also, it has the most comfortable seating position of any bike I've ever driven. What else can I say. I Luv my ST! Cheers!
- Paul Reid, Saint John, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-08 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
An awesome blend of power, handling, and weather protection built with typical Honda quality. And it comes with a 3 year/unlimited mileage warranty! Most bang for the buck in my book. Got me off a Concours.
- Mike, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-04 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 2 metal hips, this is an eceptional bike for my needs and condition. It's seamless and the transmission is exceptional. I do, however, need to find riser blocks for the handle bars. Can anyone help me with a manufacturer of the riser blocks for the ST 1100? See e-mail address below.
- Ken Kuhta, Spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-17 2000 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine is a tiger in a wolf's skin... power, comfort and great looks make this the bike to own. Honda has been working over time to have a look that is diffrent from HD and the knock offs (every one has the fat look). Finally a fresh look.
- PSmith, Calgary

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: