Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda ST1100 reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

21 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

IceAngel

Singapore, Singapore

Reviewed on 2003-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda ST1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I do long haul rides from Singapore to Thailand couple of times a year for a few years now, and my bike has never let me down. Have a habit of carrying spares, tools and SOS equipment on board but these were used to help out other bikers in trouble rather than my own.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Moreland

Abilene, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-02-28

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda ST1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was looking for a long range touring bike. I first test rode a BMW R1100R and then tried the ST1100. The ST1100 seemed to be smoother and I like the brakes better. I have been on several rides including 1500 miles in 33 hours. It's perfect except for two things. First, it has a high seat and is a little top heavy. Second, it takes a conscious effort to keep it below 80 mph. It's comfort zone seems to be between 80 and 85. It's a great touring bike. I've put over 6,000 miles on it in nine months.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ed Rivera Jr

Plainfield, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2005-04-05

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Honda ST1100

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I got mine, used as a '96 ST. It is my dream bike. The ride is smooth, the layout comfortable. The extra GIVI' bag on the back tail is a real joy on a longer ride. Shifting is smooth and easy. The windshield is effective, but still allows for some air to keep you cool on the hotter days. I also have a Corbin seat which makes a difference to me. The large fuel tank, 7 plus gallons, means you can almost go on forever. I have taken it to PA 2 or 3 times with no issues up or down the mountains. Next, I'm trying to make it to the Honda Hoot with her. Keep riding, all!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-02-29

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Honda ST1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have almost 50K on my candy apple red ST1100 and have not had any major problems with the bike. Positives are: huge gas tank (7.4 gal)+ good mileage = almost 300 mile range! Center stand, saddle bags that hold a full face helmet, Bags remove/install in a few seconds, good wind protection (body and legs), quiet, fast (130 easy), strong brakes, low maintence, doesn't look like a Harley, easy to keep clean, and hard to drag parts on twisties. Negatives are: heavy, does not like strong cross winds, hands are not well protected (cold weather), not many after market add on goodies, when you do need to service - much plastic to remove, and hard on rear tire (likes to smoke it).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

R.H.

Davis Junction, Illinois

Reviewed on 2002-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda ST1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got the ST Aug.2001 had 11000+ now has 18722 so 7500 ro so.went as far down as Natchez Miss. last year in to Louisana not a lick of trouble..40 MPG +. It,s a little hard on tires. Going to Denver this Aug. I know it will not handle like the 700. but sure can pack a lot of stuff..I need a lot of stuff..
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Rhynold

Stouffville, Ontario

Reviewed on 2001-07-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda ST1100

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Good motor, more power would be much better. Very reliable, no problems since purchased. Windshield being replaced, not enough protection. Grips changed to grab on foam grips, amazing difference. Need to raise handlebars, too low and forward. Added Corbin seat, much better seating position for me, but hard foam. After a few hours you have a numb butt. I agree with another review, this bike is one fine machine, but horrible in a strong wind. Changing lanes on a highway when you don't want to because the wind pushed you over is very very frightening. It's been extremely windy the last three days and I don't ride. When Yamaha brings the FJR1300 to North America, it will get serious consideration. It appears to have the remaining goodies that the ST lacks.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

St. Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2001-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda ST1100

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I recently bought a 1996 with ABS/TCS. After logging about 2,000 miles, here's what I think. Yes, everything you've heard is true. It's an EXCELLENT bike. I don't think it's too heavy--having previously ridden a Goldwing, it actually feels light. If you want to squawk about weight, get a CBR or an R1 or somesuch --you can't expect a featherweight from a bike built for long-distance touring. One (and my only) complaint (but it's a biggie): The wind. If it weren't for it's sail-like qualities, this bike would be perfect. But it's more than a little hairy when you get into crosswinds--I've already been blown several feet across lanes more than once and shudder to think what will happen when it really starts blowing (I'll find out soon enough when I head to the West Coast for a two-week romp). A GIVI Maxia 50-liter top case (required for two-up touring) adds to this woe significantly. I removed the after-market windscreen and went back to the shorter factory version, which helped somewhat. But it's still awful--I wonder how much worse it would be if everyone who thinks it's too heavy got their wish and Honda shaved off 50 pounds or so. The wind factor alone causes me to give this a low four-star rating.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JDR

Palm Harbor, Florida

Reviewed on 2001-06-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda ST1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Year - 1997 Mileage - 85,000 miles Problems - none Wish Honda would come out with new ST1100 model. If not, will continue riding this one until I find a better bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

swarner2

Michigan

Reviewed on 2001-04-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda ST1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just picked up my 2001 ST1100 on 3/30/01 from the dealer, and rode 56 miles home. (Yes, I took the long way home, and it was the first time that I have ever been on a ST.) I had wrestled with two bikes before buying the ST; the other bike was the Triumph Trophy 1200. My local dealer had the Trophy all winter (I'm from Michigan) so I have been drooling over the Trophy the whole time, but FINALLY when they got the ST in, at first it was not love at first sight until I sat on it. The ST, as far as comfort, beats the Trophy hands down. The practicality of the ST goes far beyond the Trophy, don't get me wrong, the Trophy is a good bike, I would have bought it if there wasn't such a thing as an ST. Now I have about 500 miles on it and I'm taking it in for the first service ($276), I have no doubts or regrets about purchasing the ST. Local dealer, Town & Country in Cement City MI, is great! ST MSRP for $11,899, I was "out the door" for $11,164.00. I asked them how they do it and the sales guy, who is not on commission, said that they have a 6% mark up on all bikes and that is IT! So the price on the ST was $10,499.00 + 6% tax. Great deal, and I would recommend this dealership to anybody. The power is more then what is needed in a sport/touring bike, the breaks excellent, and I love the shaft drive. The only thing that I had to get used to was the weight (my old bike was a Nighthawk). Moving the ST around in my garage can get a bit hairy, if I'm not careful. Once the bike starts to lean, it wants to go all the way over. But all feelings of weight are lost once you exceed 5mph, and after all this is a TOURING/sport bike. Honda, in my opinion, put more touring than sport into this bike. It's more like a Lincoln LS than a mustang. But if you want the best of both worlds in one bike, the ST does it and does it with comfort and style. I would recommend this bike to any mature serious rider. I will post again when I get more miles on it. Happy riding!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joseph McAlpine

Canada

Reviewed on 2001-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda ST1100

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
I have a 1990 model that I purchased two years ago. Since then I have put about 14000 km on it, most of which have been on the highway. The bike is surprisingly fast, and capable of smooth effortless running at highway speeds. If you are not careful the speed can really build up before you know it. The brakes are good, but the bike is heavy and you really need them. The tall seat also makes moving the bike a challenge if you stop on grass. The biggest failing of the bike is a tendency to lean over into a crosswind. Removing the bags improves the bike a lot in this respect, but the problem can cause some really scary moments in a gusty crosswind. A touring bike that stays in the shed on windy days isn't much fun.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 21 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: