Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Motorcycles Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-05-31 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I RODE THIS ACE TOUR FOR THREE YEARS BEFORE I TRADED HER IN ON AN 02 GOLDWING. THOUGH THE WING IS AN OUTSTANDING MACHINE, I MISS THE SHADOW. IF YOU ENJOY TROUBLE FREE BASIC RIDING WITH SPACE TO PUT YOUR "STUFF", THIS IS THE MOTORCYCLE FOR YOU. I NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH HER, OR ANY DISLIKES. THE ONLY REASON I TRADED WAS BECAUSE MY WIFE LIKED THE PASSENGER SEAT ON THE WING BETTER. THE SHADOW HAS A COBRA HIGHWAY BAR AND PEGS, COBRA FOOTBOARDS, A LUGGAGE RACK AND BACKREST, LEATHER TANK STRAP WITH TWO POCKETS, LED TAIL/BRAKE LIGHT BULBS AND ELECTRICAL CONNECTION BRAND REAR TURN SIGNAL CONVERTORS(LED RUNNING AND BRAKE LIGHTS IN THE TURN SIGNAL HOUSINGS.) REALLY, A GREAT RIDE.
- PAUL WESTERMAN, BRIGHTON, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-23 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my ACE T brand new. It is the best bike I have ever owned and I have had a lot of bikes. The overhall performance is good, the handling is superb and for the money, you can't go wrong. You can not find a bike that will even come close to the quality of this fine motorcycle.
- Bill Reed, Lee's Summit, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-27 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having ridden the ACE for about 10K miles, I'm fairly pleased with it overall. It is a good around town bike but lacks the top end power to make highway use comfortable. At speed (above 70mph) it tends to run out of power too early and you have to be aware of your speed and the bike's ability (or lack of) to pass large trucks with power to spare - the burst of speed isn't there when you want it at top end. Around town on the other hand, it is a pleasure to operate as it is light and easy to handle in parking lots, has plenty of power for traffic and has hard bags to fill when shopping. The windshield is effective to about 60 mph then the buffeting becomes irritating, making the bike tiring to ride for long distances. Carving through the mountain roads is a pleasure, as well as it is well mannered - but it's not a sport bike, so don't try carving too hard. The brakes are lacking in a hard stop. It needs a second rotor up front to bring it to a stop sooner. I love its clean lines, its lack of unnecessary bits and pieces hanging off here and there, and it has really stylish wheels.
- Ray Boucher, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-10 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wonderful bike....mine has 6400 miles...just purchased it used two months ago (7-03). Very smooth...no vibrating at any speed. A little lite on chrome...but that was easy to fix. After almost 1200 miles I average 42 mpg. Highway and city.
- Bob, Mankato, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-05 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great straight line tourer. Engine quite adequate for one up. High center of gravity compared to some of the competition. Extremely reliable. I put on 17K without a single problem. Put on a Mustang seat for better comfort. Cruises at 70 but above that it is working. Traded for a full dresser which handles better.
- j c relis, denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-08 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 42,000 miles on my ACE and am very happy with it. Notice that I said happy, not ecstatic! Checking the oil is an absolute pain in the butt. I can check it 10 times and get a different reading every time (?) Ignition switch is in a lousy position - I shut it off with the kill switch every time then get off and shut it off with the key. Is there any particular reason why all of these manufacturers are putting these ignition keys so you have to be a contortionist to use them? Power is good but not impressive. The good stuff? The windshield is great, the hard saddlebags are great, I put a JCWHITNEY luggage rack and backrest on. Big mistake! The chrome absolutely sucks! I put Cobra floorboards on, and they are great! All things considered, a great bike.
- Bill, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-29 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a used silver and black '99 Ace Tourer last week as my "re-entry bike". I have owned 5 bikes prior to this one, but had not done much riding for 15 years. Previous bikes were smaller (550cc was the largest). This is my first Honda. As a 50 year old, my interests were primarily in middle distance two-up touring with at least some level of comfort. This bike seems to fit the bill quite nicely. The ACE is sort of like a Golden Retriever in the way it is large and strong, but has a very gentle disposition and is a pleasure to spend time with. I had certain expectations based on reviews I had read, both here and elsewhere. Expectations that were met would include Honda quality (they really do seem to make the nicest bikes for the money - I say this in spite of a long standing Yamaha bias), good wind protection, supple ride and nice-but-not-too-loud exhaust note. Expectations that were exceeded would include the smoothness of the engine at all speeds (mirrors are absolutely clear even when accelerating), power delievery which I would describe as being like an old V-8 powered Buick (smooth and powerful, but especially smooth). Also, the overall comfort level is much better than expected, including the seat which seems hard at first, but really isn't. Most reviews I read tend to speak in absolutes, or they compare a bike to some other bike of which the reader has no knowledge. If you have the same problem finding meaningful information about a bike, I hope this information will prove to be helpful: I would say that the bike is at its best when running 65-70 mph on secondary roads. It seems ideally suited to two-up touring for trips up to 200-300 miles in a day. No doubt, one could ride it across the country, but a Gold Wing would be a better choice for that. The ACE Tourer is, however, the better choice if you don't necessarily plan to spend most of your time on the highway, as it is fairly nimble around town. The locking hard luggage is so handy you quickly wonder how anyone gets by without it. I live in AZ where you don't have to go far to find changes in elevation that translate into different weather conditions, so being able to pack extra layers even for a day trip is quite a nice feature. Being able to lock up the cell phone and other valuables when getting a bite to eat is also very nice. To sum it all up, if you are a somewhat "mature" rider looking for a versatile bike that can also comfortably do an overnight trip to somewhere 300 miles from home, this would seem to be an unbeatable choice. Too bad Honda discontinued them for 2002, but there are good used ones out there.
- Jack Irwin, Scottsdale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-21 1999 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my 99 Tourer. Thought about an 02 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500, 02 Yamaha V & Road stars, but saw this used (only 745 miles on the clock when I bought it) bike in the corner. Got it for $6700, thousands under the new prices; so in this department, I'm pleased with my purchase. I traded my 95 Yamaha Virago in and while riding home, the first thing I noticed was the quickness of the 1100cc powerplant. Was able to hit 35 in first, 55 in second and over 70 in third. Have two more gears to play with. I don't think I will test their limits. Another noticable difference was the quality of the ride. The tourer weighs about 630 lbs and gives a smoother ride. Overall I am pleased my purchase and this bike. Managed to log a few hundred miles before the real cold NE Ohio weather set in. I'll spend this winter adding some chrome (highway bar, light bar, saddlebag top rails and floorboards) and of course, waiting for the first nice spring day.
- Andy, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-24 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased the Shadow Tourer after months of research. I'm returning to motorcycling after an 18-year hiatus. I wanted a classic appearance, V-twin torque, and better than average performance. The Shadow delivers: 65 MPH in 2nd gear, 85 in third, and I haven't tested the limit in fourth or fifth gear. No problem riding two-up with loaded bags. I get a lot of admiring looks wherever I go. 2600 miles so far and no regrets.
- DRB, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-27 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As an older ("mature"?) rider and just getting back into riding after many years, I searched long and hard on what to buy. Finally decided on the Shadow ACE Tourer and, having taken delivery on April 27th, 2001, simply love it. Have only accumulated 600 miles (goes in for service July 5th), but have found it great fun, great riding, great control, and "modest" mileage (about 40 mpg). More after the summer riding season and more experience with this great bike. In the meantime, comments welcome at the e mail address above. Bill
- Rider, Northern New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have this type of bike (1998 Shadow A.C.E) but one problem it has no saddlebags and as spoke wheels it the basic type not the tourer. It seems Honda will sell you the basic but will not advertise it. But as far as performance and one heck of a thump. lol. I love this bike. I have custom the pipes to get the sound I want with rejetting its great and you can customize the heck out of it too.The balance is great even for a 5 foot3 140lb lady. You will have to pry my cold hands off this bike before I give it up..
- amy, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-14 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked mine up on Wed. 4/11/01. Prior to purchasing the Tourer, I looked at several other bikes trying to get the biggest bang for the buck. Invariably I would always come back to the tourer. I felt the balance and feel of the bike was great, and it just seemed as if the handle bars fell just right for perfect hand placement. I rolled out of the shop with 0.6 miles on the odometer and now have 75 miles on it. I don't have a lot of time to ride in the week. I'll go more this weekend. The bike handles like a dream, with plenty of horsepower to get out of the way of the cages. I'd recommend this bike to anyone anytime.
- P. Keranen, Haysville, KS

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-10 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BOUGHT MY TOURER IN NOVEMBER OF 2000 AND HAVE RIDDEN IT TO ALMOST 4000 MILES SINCE. THE BIKE PERFORMS PRETTY GOOD. HAS DECENT WIND PROTECTION BUT NEEDS A DIFFERENT SEAT. THERE ARE AFTER MARKET GOODIES FOR IT, BUT I CAN ONLY FIND ONE AFTER MARKET EXHAUST THAT BEING A VANCE AND HINES. OVERALL THE BIKE IS GOOD, BUT THE GAS MILEAGE SUCKS. WHEN I FIRST CHECKED OUT THE MILEAGE I GOT ABOUT 125 MILES PER TANKFUL. SINCE IT STARTED TURNING WARMER I HAVE BEEN RIDING MORE AND FOUND OUT ON THE HIGHWAY I NEED GAS ABOUT EVERY 93 TO 100 MILES. SINCE THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A TOURING BIKE I WOULD HAVE EXPECTED A LITTLE MORE RANGE. OVERALL THE BIKE IS A GOOD BARGAIN. I HAVE TWO BIKES THE OTHER ONE IS A KAWASAKI ZRX1100, BUT I DO LIKE THE WAY THE MOTOR FEELS ON MY TOURER AND AM NOT DISAPPOINTED WHENEVER I RIDE IT. OTHER THAN THE GAS MILEAGE AND POSSIBLY THE SEAT I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS AND AM HAPPY THAT I OWN THIS BIKE.
- FELIX VALADEZ, Midwest City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Plenty of aftermarket goodys to be had. I installed Cobra case guards(be prepared to pay hansomly),saddlebag toprails,siderails,front fender tip(jc whitney),passenger backrest and front and rear floorboards. All this cost about 1200.00.The result is to the tune of approximatly 9800.00 out the door(because I installed the goody`s myself.)I have a georgeous custom dependable road/tour MC that out performs stock other V-Twins significantly on acceleration,maintinance cost and beats all but HD on miledge.In short,All the flash for half the cash!!!!!!! The only complaints-I`m changing the seat for a Russell all-day and honda needs to make the heel/toe shifter act less like a dang HD(uddin,ka-thack,uddin,ka-thack,uddin,ka-thack ETC>..... Shiney Side Up Ya`ll RT(at large in Az.)
- R.T. Turner, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-09 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would give this bike a "5" rating but nobody is perfect. Since June 14. 1999 I have accumulated over 20,000 miles on my Shadow Tourer.That makes a total of 15 months. Does it say something for the bike? My only complaint is rear tire mileage. I don't ride hard! Since Dunlop is the only supplier of the tires for this bike I am at their mercy. Ready to order my fourth tire! That is about 7,000 miles per tire. Otherwise I really like it. Installed Honda backrest/rack, engine guard/pegs, Baker Wings, tank bag. Recently completed a 1,769 mile trip in Michigan. Not ready to sell this one! Ride safe!
- Jack, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-31 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned the bike for 2 months and love it. It looks good and rides great. It's also very comfortable on long rides.
- james nuttall jr, Easton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-24 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After searching and reviewing several large cruisers and touring bikes, I found that this machine is more value for the dollar than the equally impressive Vulcan Nomad FI. Initially the seat would begin to inflict pain at about 40 minutes ride time. However, now it seems to have broken in to fit me and I can go much longer. Fit and finish is excellent overall. Mine came without a washer/spacer for the rubber grommet on the left windshield bracket. I had to find a washer so I could tighten up the bracket. I suspect that in the dealer prep they lost it or got in a hurry. Fuel mileage is about average. I'm getting about 40 MPG overall, but then again; I really scoot down the road on the Interstate. I also play hard on the back roads.
- Greg Bray, Richmond, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-06 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 3rd Honda, first I had a 98 ACE, sold it for a Goldwing, but a GW is like a car with out the doors. I got a Yamaha classic that I only rode for 300 miles and traded for a 2000 1100 ACE. I added Hwy bars, floorboards, (the pegs are not very well situated for using the rear brakes). Also added sissy bar. I am very happy with the ACE. It rides comfy and sounds very good.
- The Dogman, Deport, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-10 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my Shadow ACE Tourer for 5 months, and my wife and I have enjoyed several day trips on it, as well as carrying me to work every day. The bike is comfortable, easy to manuever, and responsive on the road. It's a great bike for city as well as country riding. I love it.
- Anonymous, Lancaster, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-17 2000 Honda Shadow Ace Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're looking for a good touring machine, at a great price, the Honda Shadow Ace Tourer is the bike to look at. Tons of after market chrome goodies are available to customize. I've owned this bike for nearly a year and I love it.
- Anonymous, Northern New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: