Honda Shadow Aero Motorcycles Reviews (43)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Aero Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow Aero Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2016-03-07 2015 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got back into cycling after 25 years and choose the Shadow Aero to do just that. Perfect bike for me as i am tall. Very maneuverable, comfortable and with more than ecology power for this 56 year old girl. Took care of the not so comfortable seat by replacing it with a Mustang Low Rider with back support. Definitely recommend this bike for reliability, comfort and going on long or short rides.
- Anonymous, Smyrna, TN

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-04 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't say enough about what a great bike this is. It is comfortable, economical, extremely reliable, and everything is in the right place. In 46,000 miles in about three years the bike has been in the shop for a repair ONCE. Sure, I've done all the usual maintenance: brakes, tires, fluids, plugs and all that; but it has broken down exactly once in 46,000 miles, for an oil leak. It can't get much better than that. Put Kuryakyn grips on and the V-twin vibes don't bother your hands. Put a driver backrest on and windshield and watch fatigue on long rides go away. I'll keep this one until I wear it out.
- Brad, Harford County, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-24 2002 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2002 was the only year the Aero 1100 had a dual crankpin engine. This gives is a much smoother and peppier ride than earlier versions. Love my Aero. Good all-around performance. Very comfortable on long trips due to low vibration, yet it's nimble around town. Inner tubes and weak front braking are the only downsides that I can think of.
- Michael, Greenville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-02 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1100 aero is Honda's best example of a finished cruiser. I say finished because all of the details are "finished" polished, satin aluminum, etc. The headlight gauge cluster looks and performs better than a handlebar or tank mounted gauge cluster. I have kept up or passed nearly every imaginable cruiser, so the power is "Adequate". The floor boards are huge I have size 15 shoes and they fit nicely on the boards. The heel-toe shifter is long enough to stay out of the way until needed. The sound has a nice rumble, but is quiet in its stock form. The maintenance is negligible compared to some manufacturers. The bike is a head turner and I will keep it for a long time. If only Honda would make a VT1800C3 or a new 1800 Valk then we are talking!
- Mark, Medina, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-30 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just love the bike. It handles like a dream and really turns heads. It's always mistaken for being a H-D Heritage. I upgraded items to really make it look 50s. The only downfall I can see is the turn signals don't automaticaly return. But it's not worth any points off this awesome bike. I will run it until it (or I) dies.
- Phatdaddy, Roseville, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-01 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BOUGHT IT USED THIS PAST SPRING. YOU JUST CANNOT BEAT THE OVERALL LOOK OF THIS BIKE. THE RIDE IS AWESOME, YOU THINK THAT you're RIDING A MUCH MORE EXPENSEIVE BIKE. TODAY'S CRUISERS JUST don't MATCH THIS BIKE'S LOOKS, THE DEEP WIDE FENDERS WITH THE CHROME MOLDING ARE CLASSIC RETRO LOOKING, AND THEN ADDING THE BIG FAT WHITE WALLS JUST PUT ANOTHER NOTCH OF THAT CLASSIC LOOK TO THE OVERALL FIT AND FINISH. THE EXHAUST IS TOO QUIET FOR ME, BUT IT DOES HAVE A NICE LOOK TO IT. THE TWO INTO ONE THEME REALLY WORKS ON THIS BIKE. AT EIGHT FEET LONG IT WAS THE LONGEST PRODUCTION CRUISER HONDA MANFACTURED, THERE ARE SO MANY GOODIES OUT THERE TO ADD IT ALL COMES DOWN TO PERSONAL PREFENCE. THE SINGLE PIN CRANK MOTOR SHAKES A LITTLE BUT IT'S NOT AS BAD AS SOME OTHERS HAVE SAID, IT HAS PRETTY GOOD POWER. IT CAN BE IMPROVED BUT you're NOT BUYING A SPEED BIKE HERE, IF YOU WANT SOMETHING FASTER THEN you're GEARING MORE TO A SPORT BIKE. IT'S REALLY A SHAME THEY STOPPED PRODUCTION OF THIS MODEL (750 AERO IS NO COMP) IF YOU CAN FIND A USED ONE OUT THERE SNATCH IT UP, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. AND TO SUM IT UP, YOU CANT BEAT THE SHAFT DRIVE AND HONDA'S RELIABILITY!
- TONY .D, SI, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-31 2002 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I've been thinking of getting a motorcycle for a while now and talked my dad and uncle to get one with me. I got a Shadow Aero 750. My dad and uncle got the Sabre's. I just took my bike in for it's first tune up after putting 1,026 miles on it. What can I say ...I love it. The 750 cc's are plenty of power to pull me and my girlfriend around with out losing power. Keep in mind people I've done a hundred and ten miles per hour on it with me and her riding. Who would want to ride faster than that? Not really sure what it tops out at. Stops great, turns wonderful because of the low seat on it. I do wish it had disc brakes on the back wheel. Pretty bike I got the pearl blue and black. People say all the time is that a custom paint job or is that a Harley. This bike has a fat boy look to it. Has no problem keeping up with my dad and uncle's 1100cc sabre's. My legs sit prefect on the pegs. I don't feel cramped but you should sit on it and see what you think. The way I figure I'm getting 155 mile with a tanks of gas till I click to the reserve. And the gas tank holds 3.7 gallons .7 is reserve. So about 55 miles to the gallon. Not bad with gas prices going up. Ok now the bad stuff. The air filter being plastic is a bad thing. My chaps rub it as I ride and is now taking the paint off it. Of course I could change to a smaller one that doesn't stick out so far but oh wait no accessories are out for it yet. I got tried of waiting for parts to start coming out and made my own saddle bag guards. They have parts on websites but don't have them in stock yet.... I said (what??) Now my girlfriend was saying when she rides her feet fall asleep. Maybe that's because I haven't got the sissy bar yet for her. Other than that No big problems. If I had to buy all over again for the price I'd buy it again.
- chris champion, gadsden , Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-18 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had a few bikes in my time. This is the ultimate riders choice. It has speed, comfort and looks that you would dream for. Mine is all chromed out and dressed up. I ride in a club with mostly Harleys. It is a showpiece. Every time I stop I am stroked about my Harley. The joke is on them I didn't pay the high dollar but I have the sound and I think better looks than the Harley. I can't wait till warmer weather to have it under me. I never ever see one for resale. I see plenty of Harleys. If you ever have one, you will not let it go. I want to thank Honda Motor Cycles for making a dream come true for me.
- R.D. Rich, Merry Lake, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-19 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
5 stars says it all. Have an '02 orange/black with extras. handles great/ looks better! Always gets looks and people wanting to know what it is! Simply put, it is a got to have bike.
- MICHAEL, COLONIAL HEIGHTS, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-28 2002 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
LOVE THE BIKE, SMOOTH RIDER COMFORT.. THE ONLY THING IS THE GEARING IN IT, I THINK IT NEEDS MORE TOP END, MAYBE A HIGHER GEAR RATIO...
- MARK MARSH, STOLLINGS, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-09 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have actually have a 1999 aero and my father has a 2000 but there virtually the same bike. I've ridden the bike 17,000miles and haven't had any problems.Once you get use to the feel it's a comfortable bike.The single pin motor vibrates but I like a feel to feel the motorcycle. 2001 they switched to a smoother motor with a bit more horsepower. It could use about 10 more horsepower.The radiatior is a bit obtrusive and the drive shaft leaves an open space.Another negative is they don't hold their resale value. Overall it's alot more stylish then the other japanese v-twins and dependable.
- Benjamin M Cassidy, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-23 2002 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2002 Honda Aero now for almost a year. It is an outstanding motorcycle. It's handling and response are second to none. The styling is a real "Head-turner".
- Tad Timberlake, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-22 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I get lots of thumbs-up around town. I have the orange and white paint with the fat whitewalls. Very retro. I have since added a backrest for the wife, luggage rack, windshield and lowers (for when it's cold). Great bike for around town and shor hops outof town. Ergonomics are not good for a long trip. Needs a better seat. Lots of vibration with the Harley-style single-pin crank. Other than that it's a perfect bike. won't ever trade it. Made add a touring bike to the collection, though, someday.
- Randy, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-28 2002 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 2002 Aero two weeks ago. The style of the bike was the biggest selling point. I love the retro style. The engine is strong for a bike in this weight class. I have owned several HD's over the years and this dollar for dollar tops em all.
- Daryl Turner, Pink Hill, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-18 2002 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just purchased a 1999 hadow Areo from a dealer bike only had 2300 miles on it not even broken in. the previous owner had put a set of Leather-Lyke Saddle Bags on it and a set of Vance and Hines long shot pipes. Great sound!!! I had been looking at bikes for the past year and this one beats them all hands down style, handling and price I looked at the HD no way $$$. This bike turns heads The only draw back I found was seat confort. After riding several types of bikes over the yeas I found none better.
- Garry Snow, Crumpler, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-12 2002 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked long and hard for a new bike to end my 10 yr. hiatus from riding. I looked at HD's and Victory's but for the price and reliabilty you can't beat this bike. It is by far prettier than any other I tried and it has plenty of horses. The only thing I am going to change is the exhaust. A bike this great needs a great sound too!
- Terry McQuade, Dalton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-26 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For the Money that is! I test rode all the rest but for Cruiser Bikes it came down to Honda and Kawasaki. I rode both new Honda VTX's. The VTX1800 is a great Bike if you have money to spare and you want to make frequent Gas stops. I was disappointed with the VTX1300 (see review) and think that the VT1100 motor feels more torqy. Overall the Aero is the best looking and most rounded Bike out there and if you can find one used with all the accessories like I did, you can't go wrong. It is fun to ride and gets all the looks. I give it a 10 plus Grin Factor!
- Joe, Niagara Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-18 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2002 Aero this June and by the middle of July I have almost 3000 miles on it. I traded in a 1999 ACE 750.(sick of chain and valve maint.)I love the ride, Took it to the Americade and watched heads turn. It's a little doggy around town but makes up for it on the highway. The bike almost turns itself. Only wish it had a gas gauge. Taking the bike to Nova Scotia in August!
- John, Conway, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-27 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 20,000 miles on my '98 single-pin 1100 Aero now and I've put on darn near every chrome goodie and option you can find for this bike. It is, quite simply, one of the best looking bikes ever made. Actually there's only 1 drawback - and that's in the horsepower department. I've put on Cobra pipes, installed jets and done everything but bore out the motor and I still feel like its about 25 HP short of where it should be. So, while I dearly love the looks, sound, looks, handling, looks and comfort (did I mention looks?) - I think I may be venturing out into high horsepower Valkyrie country soon.
- David, Marlton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-14 1999 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great Bike. Good looks. Plenty of goodies available. Sounds great with Vance and Hines pipes.
- Shannon, Seneca, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-10 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought bike new in Feb. 1999, had to wait a couple months for snow to melt for my first ride on it. I might mention that I have not riden a bike in almost 20 years. I will never forget the first ride-loved it more than ???
- Doug Everman, Celina, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-10 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Some purists may state that the only "authentic" way to listen to the 1940 Duke Ellington Orchestra is to listen to the original 78's. I'll take the CD anytime. Just because you want a classic look, why be limited to an air cooled, pushrod machine. Where else could you find such a stunning retro bike with such high tech (read low maintenance) features like overhead hydraulic valves and liquid cooling. The only thing this bike lacks that would render it completely flawless is fuel injection. Other than that, this is just about the most perfect cruiser I've owned. Smooth, powerful and quiet as a ghost, it is such a delight to cruise down a small town main street on a Sunday morning. I've added a Memphis Fats windshield (good product, good customer service) and a pair of Chase Harper saddlebags (great product, great customer service). Both can be removed or attached in minutes, which is very fitting as this bike is a great vehicle for a short pleasure ride or a trip to the coast. If you can accept the limitations of a long wheelbase, it handles well even at low speeds. Once you're up there in fourth or fifth it seems to drive itself. A great bike if like me, at the end of your ride, you are not seeking a checkered flag but a cold beer.
- Jerry, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-25 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, Brought it early spring, I've put around 4000 miles on it, no problems. When it's parked next to next to other cruisers, people always comment how nice it looks and sounds. You can't go wrong with this bike.
- V.Vaicunas, North New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-05 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike about a month and can't find anything wrong with it. Smooth, responsive, stylish and a pleasure for one or two people. I put a windshield and sissy bar for comfort. Neither caused any handling problems.
- H. Taylor, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-03 2000 Honda Shadow Aero Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i purchased a 2002 Honda Aero. this is a fantastic bike that out retros and out performs and even out Harley's Harley Davidson. Honda has corrected power or lack of power issues with the dual crankpin motor. it handles great. the only thing is it needs room to turn.. And the only cons i have on the bike are the same as the others point out is the lack of a fuel gauge and maybe a better seat...at least for long hauls. Anyway.. this is a great bike that cost half the price of a Harley with three times the reliability..
- F.E., Fort Walton Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: