Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Motorcycles Reviews (22)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-04-23 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used in the fall of 2011 with 11,500 km's on it and put on 1,000 since then. I am very impressed with the appearance, handling, power and reliability of this bike. Honda did an excellent job with this machine. It has plenty of get up and go power. Brakes provide plenty of stopping power. It's a relatively inexpensive bike but it's still got great quality. I like the shaft drive and aluminum wheels. Mine also came with factory flames. Spend half the cost of that you would on a Harley and get a Honda and the reliability that comes with it. I've owned several Honda ATV's and dirt bikes throughout the years. Take care of them and they'll run forever just about. Only complaints I have, no tachometer, and no fuel gauge. I would also suggest a Mustang seat for the longer trips.
- Chris Broesky, Wetaskiwin, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-16 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own the 2000 1100 Sabre and let me tell you something!!! This is the best bike I ever owned. I been riding since 1993 and when I first got this bike in 2002, I did all the leather accessory buying, saddle bags, sissy bar, tassles, and tool carrier; friends loved it. I decided to go another direction with it; I decided to "show it". A friend of mine and I collaborated together and have done a fabulous paint detail on it and I have so far put it in six bike shows and have five first place trophies and one second place trophy. People mouths drop when they find out that it's a HONDA! I would not trade it for the world. In fact I know friends that have personally traded their Harley in for a Honda after seeing mine and what it could do.
- Mr. Robinson, Pueblo, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-15 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like to travel using my bike. I live in Vietnam and Cambodia and travel between those two countries every week with the Shadow Sabre. It is a great bike. It gets about 46 mpg. and has enough power even with two people on the bike and luggage. Since it is a low compression engine of 8.1, it accepts about every imaginable octane gas available. I have used everything in it because sometimes I do not have the ability to choose a better grade of fuel. I have had front shock seal problems after 15,000 miles but I think any bike would based on the road conditions. Based on the few years I have owned it, the bike has performed very well. I wish more bikes were this durable and looked this sharp. I also travel in extreme traffic conditions and it is very nimble or able to maneuver through traffic with the greatest of ease at less than 5 mph. Good Job Honda!!!
- Dave Chessey, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-06 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just don't want you to have one like mine. I have owned over 50 bikes in my day. It looks custom and it rides good. don't ride this without some experience. My bike makes Harley riders turn their heads.
- jason james, bellefontaine, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-14 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a shame!!! I'm told Honda has dropped the SHADOW SABRE 1100. Goofballs!! This is not the fastest bike on the road nor the fanciest, just the best value. The power is awesome. The styling is incredible. Gas mileage is very good. Agility is very important to me, it shines. I'm an old dirtbike rider...old being the operative word here. Trust me, I know what agility truly means. For a cruiser it's terrific. Hey Honda! What's up? We want our Sabre back!!! Maybe they'll bring it back with a sixth gear and fuel injection...I hope I hope I hope! Safe ridin' to all.
- Jim Embry, Gulfport, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-12 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden this bike across the country twice and have done over 500 miles a day with the stock seat. I was comfortable all the way 6k plus round trip and a great ride all the way. The bike is agile and has the power you want in all the gears. I cannot say anything bad about it. It is solid in the corners and steady at 100 mph +. I do not know what would be a better biked for the money.
- Paul Kaine, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-09 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I was looking to buy a bike, I wanted something sleek, lean and mean. What I did not want was some overweight behemoth that handles like a pig on a shovel. And I'm not one to over-dress a bike. So when I saw my 2006 midnight black Sabre sitting on the showroom floor I had one question: Do you have one still in the crate? They said yes, so I bought it. Now every bike has its good points and its bad points and the Sabre is no exception. On the downside my biggest gripe is the saddle. Last summer I went on a 3000 km (about 1860 mile) tour from Edmonton to Vancouver Island and back - there are some fantastic twisties on that trip - and after an hour my backside really started to hurt and it got progressively worse as the day went on. Needless to say I now have a Mustang saddle on order and from all the reviews that I've read it should do the trick - I hope. Other than that I think the headlamp is a little weak: it may be good enough for night driving in the city, but at night on a country highway, I want to blind any critters standing in the ditch long before they can jump in front of me. My last complaint is NO TACH. I know that tachless is common with cruisers, but I'll never understand why. Now for the good stuff. As far as cruisers go the Sabre is a very agile, well balanced piece of machinery. It can handle the twisties quite gracefully, in a solid confidence inspiring manner. It has plenty of pep for city driving, but is equally at home cruising the highways for extended periods of time. In short it is a well rounded Honda quality motorcycle that I'll be driving for a long time to come and a very classy ride.
- Robert, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-23 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I took the MSF class in 10/06, and purchased the Sabre in 11/06. 10,000 miles later in 8/07, I'm quite satisfied. Every so often, I'm asked by observers who didn't notice the Honda Shadow Sabre decal, if it's a custom. Though I haven't done much to it. Power delivery is fantastic. 2 plugs per cyclinder, 3 valves per cylinder, and the gearing must help greatly. The reviews by various publications are correct: It keeps pulling strongly all of the way to the rev limiter. Though I have yet to hit the rev limiter in 5th gear, even though I was riding at 130 mph or more. The brakes are great. They are definitely strong enough. Enjoy The seat... Well, let's just say that you'll probably want to unstaple the leather cover, and replace the innards with memory foam from Joanne's Fabrics. But then again, I may ride more than 5 hours without rest on weekends... I originally thought that I should have saved more money and bought the VTX1300. But in retrospect, the VTX1300 would have been too cumbersome. I prefer the flickability and agility of the Sabre (VT1100C2). It's much easier to flog, and my awareness extends to it's boundaries more easily. I think that this is the perfect medium between a humongous, less agile cruiser, and a small cruiser without enough power.
- Nastyhawg, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-25 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Sabre in July of 05. I went from an 04 Honda Aero to this bike. At the time I also owned an 05 Kawasaki ZZR600. The Aero was a nice bike if you keep it under 65. At 65, it feels like it is wound very tight. The darn thing will only go 80 mph with me on it. So, I went to the Sabre. What a nice bike. It feels like it is not even trying at 65. I have taken it on a 1000 mile trip and it was wonderful. The power was there and I could cruise all day. Now if you are coming from a 6 speed monster of a bike you might feel like the Sabre is wound too tight at higher speeds, but the Sabre is a different kind of bike. It's more agile and peppy than your 800 lb monster bikes. The many accessories that are available for this bike will also boggle the mind. You can deck this bike out to look like a retro cruiser or make it look like a custom bobber, what ever you want because there are so many parts out there. Any way, if you are looking at the other 1100's out there I suggest taking a closer look at the Sabre. It's faster than any other 1100 cruiser and for that matter, most bigger cruisers. It's also easier to change the oil than others like the V-Star where you have to pull the pipes off every time you change the oil filter, now who wants to do that? I'll bet that most of the V-Stars out there now have the original oil filter still in them because nobody wants to pull the exhaust off when they change the oil. Anyway, Honda Sabre 1100 Shadow is the the way to go.
- Randy, Monmouth, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-06 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden different bikes. This bike is overlooked way to much, because of the VTX'S. But this bike is way easier to handle and quicker than the VTX'S, but everybody thinks the bigger the bike the better it is,(THIS BIKE PROVES THAT THEORY WRONG). My brother has a Harley SoftTail and my Sabre is much faster than his bike and more reliable. And the Sabre is still great on gas mileage. I've gotten 50 miles to the gallon at the most so far and haven't rejetted it yet but will be in the near future. Perfect Bike all around to me.
- Chris Biggerstaff, Spartanburg, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-03 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great around town or long road trip bike, it is very very reliable, pleanty of power and handling is awesome. I have owned other bikes that just dont stack up, my bike is a 2002 with 17000 miles and except for normal maintenance it's been a perfect bike.
- todd proctor, cameron park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-13 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Sabre since July 2003 and have put 28000 miles on her. The Sabre is an excellent mid-weight bike with plenty of power even for two-up riding. Light is right, as far as I am concerned. I have looked into getting a larger bike, but with the extra power comes extra weight, as far as cruisers go. So, I have decided to keep the Sabre. It handles great.
- Hank Hogue, Louisville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-31 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the way this bike feels, but there are a few things I would change. First off, the foot pegs are too small. With the addition of my highway bars, it is sometimes a hassle to maneuver my foot around to shift. I am going to be getting the floorboards which will enable me to upshift with my heel and downshift with my toe. That will be the last addition to this bike I would make. Too much more would make it look gaudy. It is a pretty good sized bike with plenty of power when you need it. It can comfortably cruise without too much effort at 60-65 in 4th gear. This is the first shaft-driven bike I have had, and I thought it might be a bit rough on the shifts, but it is smooth and a nice ride. I would recommend this to anyone from the occasional rider to the everyday rider to a cross country rider. It is surprisingly comfortable, but if you are tall I highly recommend the highway bars with the pegs so you can extend your legs.
- Potsie, Holloman Air Force Base, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-09 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode my bike to New Orleans to visit family, and the shadow sabre rode like a King. The bike did not give me any problems going or coming back . Each time when I would stop for gas and food, my body felt great. The longest I rode one day was 800 miles and my body felt great when I got off the bike. In 5th gear the bike can cruise at 85 all day. I love the way the bike glides on the interstate, I would recomend this bike to any one that likes to tour this great big country.
- Raheem, Brooklyn , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-06 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This could be the perfect bike. Quick and large, smooth and powerful. Great looks and great price. I know the bang for your buck can not be beat. This bike makes sense for almost everyone.
- Rogo, St. Cloud, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-02 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a young rider and this is only my second bike. I went from a ninja to the sabre because of how tall I am. This bike is extremely comfortable and has plenty of leg room. The bike handles great and has tons of power. I feel like I can smoke anything with this. Overall it is a great looking and great performing bike.
- Kevin Boyer, Lancaster, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-02 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I decided to replace my old motorcycle, I began researching on-line with three basic criteria: high reliability with minimal maintenance, good handling in a wide variety of conditions (my commute is half twisty Mt. roads and half freeway), and comfortable for long voyages. I'm happy to say that the Sabre totally fits those criteria. I've had it 7 weeks now and I passed 2700mi yesterday. Mostly commuting, but I did one long trip >1200mi in two riding days. It's easy to maneuver on tight twisty Mt. roads; haven't scraped any metal, although I have scraped by boot heels a few times. It does great on the freeway, even at 80 a twist of the throttle yields plenty of power. And all day in the saddle is no problem. As someone else posted, it may not be the best for any single application, but it handles every situation well. that's what I wanted and that's what I got. All around great bike. Buy it!!
- Ric Vilbig, Ben Lomond, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-26 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2001 sabre because of the looks. I've owned 5 Hondas over the years and am riding a 1800n now. My sabre was/is still a great bike. my son-in law now rides the sabre and still has no problems. I'd buy another one no sweat.
- t-bone, sand springs, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-26 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike had problems from the first day. The engine would cut off and misfire after the first 35 miles. It took 3 trips to the dealer to find the problem. The dealer kept telling me I bought bad gas and removed the carburators and tank twice to clean them. On my third trip they finally figured out it was a loose pin in the wiring harness that was causing the engine to misfire. I finaly took my "new" bike for a 80 mile ride and had no problems. I went from a 360lb bike to this 600lb one and I can't believe how easy it is to control. Except for the extra scratches the service department added to the bike, the overall fit and finish is good. The bike has good power and I can cruise comfortably at 65mph and have plenty power left over for a burst of speed for passing even with my hefty weight. I just wish I didn't have to spend the first weekend trying to take scratches out instead of riding.
- Daniel Negulici, Woodside, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-29 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You can't go wrong with the purchase of this bike. The ride is smooth and response is great (even with a passenger), easy to handle and great on gas mileage. The bike looks great even with stock parts. If you are looking for a great bike for the money, this is the one!
- IDN, PATERSON, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-10 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a true sleeper. Overshadowed by the VTX, the Sabre has classic lines, great low and mid range torque and great handling. Aftermarket exhaust gives the Sabre incredible grunt.
- Rider, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-06 2005 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100 (VT1100C2) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes since 1966 and this is by far the very best bike I have ever ridden. I have had everything from trail to superbikes to Silverwings and this Sabre is the most comfortable to ride ever. Plenty of power. Minimal vibration. Only bike I ever had that I would not hesitate to take on a road trip across the country. Next stop is Hwy 1 to Key West. The fit and finish on this bike is fantastic. Self adjusting valves and large fuel tank are great. I believe this is the last bike I will buy unless I get a newer model of the same.
- Chris Rogers, Palm Harbor, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: