Honda Shadow Sabre Motorcycles Reviews (70)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Sabre Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow Sabre Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-11-22 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my fifth bike - I bought this bike used with only 5,000 miles. I have had no major repairs and I've taken road trips yearly. This bike is great in city commuting as well as at home on the open road. I love the balance and the power-to-weight combination. So now with 37,000 miles, I'm looking to finally trade up to a "used 2008 VTX1800" and my son will enjoy my old and still very clean VT1100.
- Ron, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-05 2002 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always dreamed of owning a big fat Harley Davidson. Now that I am 39 and am on top of things, money wise I started looking for a second hand HD. To cut a long story short... HD are way way way over priced for what you get and unless you buy new, they are mostly crap. So I started looking at the Hondas and Yamahas. I test rode so many bikes until one day I got on my first Shadow ACE 1996. What a great bike. It was at a dealers so it was way expensive. I ended up with a 2002 mint cond. Sabre with 6000km's on the clock. This has to be one of the best value cruisers on the road. I love it. The only cruiser that I fit on and looked good on. Heaps of power and the gearing is huge, unlike the V-Stars. It will cruise down the road at 100km/ph in 4th then just drop it into 5th and it's purring. I also had a set of V&H Longshots installed with a K & N Filter. Had it Dynoed and there was no need to re jet it. Bummped it up to 63 torque H.P. from 55. Love the bike and will keep it forever.
- Steve, Newcastle, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-08 2002 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 02 two years ago with 5,000 miles on it and have since put 15,000 on. I have not had one single problem with this incredible bike. I ride with many types of bikes and have no problem running with any of them. I have Cobra slash cut drags, bags and a memphis shades wind shield. Even two up riding is no problem as my wife has taken an interest. I have been on several other bikes and at my height, this is by far the most comfortable. I have a corbin seat and kuryuken grips and pegs, and custom paint (color called FX that changes color as you move around it). I recommend this bike to anyone looking for a fun ride, low upkeep, and extreme dependability.
- d.curry, yukon, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-25 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a new rider, I was originally looking at the Shadow 600. Thinking that was too small, I then checked out the 750 and was one day away from buying the Spirit 750 when I saw the Sabre for sale. My first thought was that an 1100 would be too much bike for a new rider. It just ain't so. The Sabre takes care of you and eases you into motorcycling in a very nice way. I use it mostly as a commuter but I really look forward to weekend rides. It's got it all really. Plenty of power without throwing you off the bike. It's fairly comfortable, stops with no problem, handles easy and it gets admiring nods from other riders. The shifting is a little clunky...mostly downshifting from 2nd to 1st. It's also a little cold-blooded. You'll need to warm it up. No maintenance problems so far. Honda got it right with this bike.
- Mike, Jackson, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-19 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a 750 ACE in on this "Kick Butt" Black Sabre and I wish I had purchased it to begin with. I really like the handling and the smooth acceleration. The factory exhaust had to go, it sounded like an old VW Bug .. My DG Hard Khromes made a real difference as well as the VH jet kit. I have made a lot of mid distance trips on it and am heading for a full ride to Sturgis this year .. I have upgraded to the Mustang tourer seat for this one.. numb butt no more..
- David Setzer, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-10 2002 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Honda Shadow Sabre is great riding bike. I have a 2002 Sabre pearl red with flames. It handles good and rides very smooth. The problem is the seat. I bought a mustang seat for it, and it now rides more comfortably.
- Kevin McCormick, Hillsboro, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-13 2002 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had at least 30 bikes in my life time, all used, but I bought this off the show room floor. It is silver on silver and 1100cc of raw power. It's a head turner and people just rave about its looks, and it rides good. This is the bike for me but now I want the 1800cc Jeff Lane.
- Jeff Lane, Corona, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-15 2001 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike runs great and I like the style of the wheels. I run Perelli tires on it and they stick to the road great. The handling is the best of any tire I have ever tried. The power is pretty good. Just got it jetted and put on hard krome 2 and a half DD's, straight pipes no baffels. And a high flow K-N air filter. It's really loud and fast. Had a bit of a time getting things to run right but now it screams.
- Ken Jahna, Newbern, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-17 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 Shadow Sabre used from a dealer and can't say enough about it. I get asked all the time about the paint job and overall looks of the bike. I hope to soon change the exhaust and give it a little more throaty sound though. I felt very comfortable with this bike from the first time I sat on it.
- Mel Costa, Lodi, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-14 2002 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike after some serious surgery. I owned a Honda Goldwing and the look was just too old for a 45 year old rider. The Sabre is smooth, powerful and reliable. Drivers roll down their windows to talk about the orange flame paint. Other riders admire the custom wheels and set up. The best part about the bike is that you can cruise town with your custom bike buddies and look good, and then on the weekends you can put on a windshield and T-bag and ride all day. Not many bikes offer that versatility. Get the Honda engine guard, Kuryaken footpegs, a sissy bar and some saddlebags for town. And buy a Memphis Shade windshield for the long trips. You will love the power, handling and the fact that it never breaks down or needs servicing to keep going. The bike weighs 600lbs but it is nimble and you can lean into corners like a standard bike. I just love Honda.
- Mike Cranmer, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-11 2001 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2001 Sabre was bought basically for my wife at first. I grew up riding anything on two wheels I could get my hands on. I have a '72 Shovelhead I was needing parts for, and I had my bike from high school,(1986 V65 Magna). I loved that bike. I sold it for the cash, but having the Shovel, I still kinda wanted to have a spare scooter around. My old lady wanted to start riding, so we finally decided on a new 2001 Shadow Sabre. I fell in love with how easy it was to ride right away. It does lack a little in the power department, but keeps up with my friend's Vulcan just fine. I am 6 ft and on a long ride, the mid/foward position of the pegs gets a little cramped, so if you are taller and want to go iron butt some where, might not be to comfortable, but otherwise, she is a fine little scoot for anyone who wants reliable transportation. Gotta love Honda dependability also. I give it 4 stars, only taking off on power and leg room for larger riders.
- bigbear, katy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-09 2002 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the pearl orange with flames paint. I have put all but 3900 miles on this bike with most of them being two-up with my wife. We have ridden to Myrtle Beach Bike Week once. We made a one day ride of 771 miles on this bike. It does have a Mustang seat, though (a must have for long rides). We travel extensivly on this bike and have never had anything but good things to say about it. We ride with mostly Harley riders and even most of them admit that it gets more looks than their bikes. So far it just keeps on going and going. We have lots of chrome added and don't think we will change brands in the near future.
- Tim Adkisson, Sikeston, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-30 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '03 Shadow Sabre 1100 in Dec. 2002. My first reaction was how the seat was positioned. It sat a little higher than my Shadow 750 Spirit. But, in time I got used to it. The stock pipes were horrible and were replaced with Cobras the first week. I have since changed out the wide slung handlebars for drag bars (from the 750 Spirit) and added some chrome features. However, I see a lot of Sabres that are over done with accessories. I prefer a nice clean look without a lot of added accessories. This is a sport bike....not a big cruiser. So, before adding a windshield, saddle bags, back rest and a lot of unnecessary stuff.....take a look at how clean the bike looks without it all.
- James Denton, Morrison, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-16 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought my 2004 Honda Shadow Sabre and I love it. The more I ride it the more I love it. I put a set of Hard Krome pipes on it and it feels like I gained 30% more HP. The bike pulls very hard in every gear. The Sabre has great build quality and looks great too. To sum this bike up, it is the best bang for the buck.
- Ben Frantzen, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-13 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Sabre isn't the fastest bike in the world but it will do a solid 115mph! I pretty much had the throttle pegged. This bike feels its best at 80mph all day long. The gears ratios are pretty forgiving. The bike feels light when you're going down the road. A good buy for the money. It leans well and accelerates nicely.
- egarcia, ruston, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-07 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in the fall of 03 from a local Honda dealer after 20 years between bikes. Had to wait 4+ weeks for delivery. The frame underside had some visible rust, which I sanded & painted. The seat is bad. Replaced with a Mustang seat in which is great. Noticeable improvement thru-out the power curve with a Cobra jet kit, K&N air filter & Cobra lo boy staggered pipes - like a whole new bike. A lot louder now, but sounds like a motorcycle instead of a lawn mower. Original pipes are also heavy. Speedo reads 80 when going 74 (damn lawyers). It is a great overall bike and fun in the curves. Bigger tank would be nice - about 34 - 36 mpg provides 150 mile range. Right foot can't fit the peg without hitting the rear brake lever. Cool paint scheme -everyone asks who painted it. Almost time for a new rear tire.
- jtd, moab, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-19 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great looking cruiser, simple but elegant lines. Excellent on road handling, you can even see in the mirrors at any speed. Performance is good but will not rip your head off. The bike is very well balanced and easy to handle in the parking lot. I had not ridden for almost 15 years and this bike was like putting on an old shoe. I have added a lot of chrome, exhaust, etc. The bike will never sound like a HD but it can be made to sound very good with Cobras or V&H and then wrap the baffles with S/S wool and that stopped that blarty sound, a much deeper rumble now. I'm very happy with this bike, yes a few more HP would be good but isn't it the human thing to always want more.
- Robert Haywood, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-08 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a short big guy and I am very happy with my sabre. Lots of power and torque it will run with the other big bikes, my Sabre seems to like to cruise at 70-80 mph with no problem. Even with a twist of the throttle at 80 mph it gets up and goes. The only thing I changed is the seat, had memory foam and gel pad put in seat. I get a few comments on the bike every one likes it.
- rick oldham, seffner, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-06 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, the bike is a winner. A smooth, predictable powerband, flawless shifting, and a willingness to flick through the twisties that allows you to forget you're on a cruiser makes this one of the sweetest Hondas I've owned. My one and only complaint with the bike is the seat. While it looks like it belongs on the bike, it can get a bit uncomfortable after an hour or two; Of course, when I drape my ankles over the foot pegs, I've got all-day comfort.
- Thomas R. Faw, McGuire AFB, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-14 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been looking for a bike for two years before I found the Sabre on the Honda web site. I called my local dealer and he didn't have one on the showroom floor but he had a red one due in at his store in early February only weeks away. I went to the dealer to leave a deposit and it was mine less than one hour from the time I first saw it on the website.
- Matthew G Ford, Kenner, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-03 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The sabre is awesome, plenty of power and a beautiful paint scheme. Mine is tricked out with barons drag bars, side vertical licence relocation plate, a vance and hines logshot pipes. More to come of it.
- , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-17 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never owned or road on a motorcycle until I took a motorcycle safety coures on a Buell about four months ago. Following the course I purchaded a used '03 Sabre. I found the transition to the Sabre easy and felt comfortable on it after a few days of riding. I am sure I will enjoy it for years to come. It has plenty of power. The bike in general turns a lot of heads and I get a lot of complements on it.
- Russell Harris, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-04 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Seems like a lot of guys returning to riding are gravitating to this machine. Compared to the bikes of yesteryear, this one is heads above anything that existed in this category 20-30 years ago. Honda has a way with engines....hydraulic lifters, 3 valves per cyl., liquid cooling, drive shaft, great looking cast wheels, tubeless tires, and a fit and finish of execeptional quality....all work together to create the quintessential cruiser. Torquey, easy power combine with responsive handling and good clearance to offer an enjoyable ride everytime. Personally wish it had dual discs, but in fact the big single does do the job, in cooperation with the smaller rear one. I personally like a blend of performance, handling, smoothness, good looks, decent mileage, ....all of which are represented nicely in this ride. I thought I was going to buy the 1600 Vulcan, til I rode it for around 10 miles....toooo heavy for this dude. Then I thought a return to BMW land from my past would suit me. Rode several, didn't like any of the seating positions, but still like the ride and handling of a Beemer. The Sabre is much smoother, handles road imperfections better, much more relaxed riding position, and handles almost as well, and the front brakes work when you want them to, not when the program tells them too as on the Beemers these days. Yes, this is the very essence of a satisfying motorcycle experience, with just enough mass, power, torque, handling, clearance, comfort, to suit a lot of riders that know what they do not like in a bike. A search that took me thru many makes/models, in the end led me to previously overlooked ones including this bike and the Honda VTX 1300, which I also think highly of. These machines are the distillation of Honda's diligence in the evolution of motorcycles using feedback from riders over 40 years in my own experience, and that change shows in the advancements in every area, not the least of which is in the quality of details which is quite evident on these machines. The Sabre is more genuine in those details between these two models, having less plastic parts, and a more raw-edged feel than the stylistic VTX, tugging at your heart with cues from the long history of V-twin development. I really like this bike, and can't wait til the weather turns decent, even for a day or two as it often does in Va. in winter. Safe riding to all readers/riders out there. Happy Trails.
- Paul DesRoches, Chesterfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-21 2003 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently put 150 miles on my new 03 Sabre. I had my wife along for the ride. Half was at 75/80 mph and half was at 40/50 mph. The ride was awesome. My wife never complained of a sore butt and the bike returned an honest 46 mpg. Without a doubt the best bike I've ever owned.
- Bob DeRouen, Slidell, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-20 2002 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My sabre is my first big bike.I have 13,000 miles on it and it still runs like new. The cobra pips really give it a nice strong sound. I really just use it for trips. This bike is strong I can go 75 to 80 mph on a climb(hill) and not have to drop gears and thats with my wife on the back seat. The fastest that I have ridden it is over 110 mph. It always starts with no problems and the ride is smooth I get about 42 to 46 mpg about 165 to 170 a trip. The back seat is not as comfortable as your girl may like but it is better than some bikes out their. On top of all that the bike is a looker and fat and heads will turn. One more thing the heat in Texas is not a problem for this bike. The sabre is water cooled with an electric fan.
- Edward Olivarez, Sterling City, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: