Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles Reviews (54)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-05-15 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a Yamaha Sport Tourer to my 2006 Honda Shadow. It is an overall great bike. I did an immediately change from the stock grips to ISO grips. There is not much vibration from the bike but the ISO grips did improve the ride. I also got rid of the buck horn handlebars and installed drag bars. This for me also improved the ride. I always rode a Sports Tourer and could not figure out why my shadow did not truly feel comfortable to me. I finally realized it was my sitting position. This is what prompted me to go with the drag handlebars. I am glad I did. The quality of riding my Shadow has improved tremendously.
- csmit391, Grove City, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-27 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike used in August with 14,500 miles and have had a hard time staying off of it! The ride is comfy, quiet and smooth. Thanks to a fairly dry fall and a very warm winter this year, I have put over 4,000 miles on this bike since I bought it in August! From 19F degrees to 90F degrees it has started every time. So far, its been more reliable than the the USPS.
- Steve Benefit, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-06 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2007 1100 Shadow Spirit in March, 2010. It was one of two bikes the dealer had left. I now have 3,200 miles on it and love it. The longest trip so far has been about 300 miles. I wish Honda would come back with this series but with fuel injection. Would buy it at the drop of a hat. So far I think this is the best bike around and the best looking bike around.
- Ray Burns, Bowie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-29 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this 2007 Silver 1100 Shadow Spirit in the spring of 2011. It had 30 miles on it. I didn't really start riding it until August, and have put 3,000 miles on it since then. When I bought it, it was equipped with a Memphis Shades windshield and MC Enterprises floorboards. The gearshift controls that go with the floorboards are poorly fitted and they wobble. I've had to make adjustments so that the bike will shift into all five gears. I drove this bike down through Montana and it performed flawlessly. I did have a minor problem with the rad cap and thermostat. My local dealer fixed it up and did some diagnostics to ensure no major problems. No other issues.
- lendirk, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-02 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I love my bike. I have some complaints about the gear rationing. Around town 1st gear is too low and 2nd gear is too high. But on the highway, it's better than the last Harley I owned. That was 30 years ago though. Still I love the dependability of my Honda.
- David Chadduck, jamestown, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-06 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last posting on this bike was 11/23/2006. I've had open heart surgery and some health issues so I don't ride as much. I just replaced the tires with Dunlop K555 (J). They are smooth at 35 mph. or 70 mph. The Spirit 1100 is a great bike with a great engine. I've seen a couple of these with over 100,000 miles on them. I wish Honda still made this model. Always ride safe.
- Richard, Mobile , Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-13 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Stock Number #10622 A versatile ride to say the least. The Shadow is at home with one or two passengers. Well mannered on the curves, as well as distance touring. The 1100 lends itself well to both cruiser and touring riding. This one is equipped with the backrest and windshield. I noticed the grips were vibration reduction after market, they follow the Honda line designs.
- W Andrew Long, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-17 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had 2 of these bikes. Different years. My first bike was a '99. Loved it and it's still being ridden to this day. Now I have an '04 and still love it just as much as before. You can't beat the reliability and dirt cheap maintenance costs on this one. A great bike for anyone! Highly recommended. They never should have stopped making this bike for that garbage 1300. This is an unkillable motor.
- Adam S., Lecanto, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-15 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had 3 of these bikes (different years of course) and every one was a winner. Starts everytime, rides smooth, over all nice bike. They never should have quit making them!! WAS LAST OF OLD STYLE BIKES. ONLY COMPLAINT, SEAT HEIGHT TOO HIGH.
- Sonny, East Pgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-09 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike for just over a year and I really enjoy it. The ride is smooth and comfortable and has the power when needed. The only real disadvantage I have found is there are not many accessories that fit this year/model for some reason. I would recommend this bike for anyone that wants a reliable and fun bike to ride.
- WOODY, ST. GEORGE, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-25 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm glad to see all the great reviews on here. I bought my bike in May 08 and ride everyday, unless it's raining. It's a great bike!! My only question is how do all of you get that kind of mileage? I'm lucky to get 40mpg most of the time I'm closer to 30 or 35mph. Do I just ride too hard? I love to have fun!!
- Rich, Valley City , North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-18 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike used with less than 1000 miles on it at a terrific price. Was looking for bike with tubeless tires, shaft or belt drive. Few days after bought it drove straight thru to Wash DC. Have made several trips to east coast and find it extremely comfortable. Gas mileage in high 40's at 60-65 which is plenty fast for me. Original owner installed cobra floorboards which really improves comfort on long trips. I've added luggage rack and small bar clamp windshield. Tank bag and a large sissy bar bag handle traveling needs. No maint lifters and shaft drive have been a real plus to cut maint costs. Only negative has been electric fuel pump went out at about 9,000 miles. Replaced and have had no other issues. Bike very easy on tires as it still OEM on it which have a lot of miles left in them, especially the front. Went with Honda as I had a 750 Nighthawk with 123,000 miles with zero reliabilty issues I sold when purchased my Triumph Bonneville. I don't understand the current trend towards large cc bikes that get less gas mileage than my Ford Ranger truck. I suspect we'll see the 1100cc back in the line up as the trend in Europe appears to be going to smaller cc bikes. Great bike/great ride/great purchase.
- larry, indianapolis

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-04 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in June of 2008 and have put 3800 miles on it. The one that I got was the last one that the dealer had in the showroom and he told me that Honda was not going to make this model anymore which in my opinion is a shame. I have been riding motorcycles since I was 16 and have owned several bikes over the years and this bike by far is the best one that I have ever owned. Honda made a mistake by discontinuing this bike. Well maybe in a couple of years they will refit the bike and bring it back.
- Terry, Asheville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-01 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so much fun to ride. It cruises great at all speeds, but I like it best on the twisties. It has so much low end torque that you rarely have to downshift. Even the MSF guys I know think it's one of the best bikes Honda ever made. My only complaint is that Honda discontinued the line. I suppose 20-plus years on a production run is all the suits can handle... too bad! I wanted to get one for my wife when she was ready.
- RADIO BILL, WATSONVILLE, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-17 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2007 last March and put about 3000 miles on it. It is a great bike with no problems. Honda has been great with service. I can't wait to get it out this year. It is definitely well worth the money. It has lots of power and rides like a much larger bike than what it is. It is the last of its kind.
- fallgc, hamilton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-03 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My son and I drove separate bikes from Indiana to San Francisco, CA and up the Pacific Coast highway into Oregon. That was 5 days from Rochester, NY; 1 in the pickup and 4 on bikes. We hit 103 degree temps, rain, hail, hills and flats. It ran well whether at 8600 feet or sea level. The bike handled well, had adequate power, and was extremely reliable. I felt much less fatigue than my son who kidded me I was riding a couch. We did push fairly hard making the trip to CA in 5 days. When we hit the twisties, as my son calls them, his 994 cc sport tourer did leave me lagging behind. This was also partially my desire to enjoy the west coast for the first time and the fact I was carrying all the camping gear. The only fact I would change is the cruising range. My son could go about 50 miles further than I. My range was around 120 miles, adequate reserve to cross the Salt Flats. I believe it was 76 miles with no filling stations or places to stop. All in all it was a great trip & a good experience.
- California or Bust, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-16 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Shadow for 2 years and put over 17500 in that time period. Over all it's a great bike. My only complaint is that after riding the bike for 45 min to a hour, my rear end starts to hurt. Hopefully, when I get a new seat that will take care of that but for the money you spend, it's a great bike.
- Marcus, Shreveport, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-11 2007 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Back in the saddle after a 15 year hiatus!!! Upon completion of extensive research from forums to blogs such as this, the Honda VT1100C Shadow was the choice buy. The stars aligned on 7/7/07 (only happens once a century) and I'm now a Spirit owner. The bike fits like a glove right out of the box. Upon addition of saddlebags and small windshield it will be ready for some long haul cruising.
- Howard, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-11 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, the performance has been great. Just replaced rear tire at 6000 miles. OEM rear tire was down to 3mm of rubber. Purchased Metezler ME 880 Marathon. PSI is different than OEM tire. Knock on wood, have not had any mechanical problems. Have changed out shocks & front fork springs with Progressives. It did make a difference. Gas mileage avg is around 46 mpg.
- Sarge309, La Marque, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-06 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything I could've wanted. It has enough power to keep going on the highway at 80-90 mph,is extremely comfortable and still has had no problems since I got it in August. of '04 and I have been riding it hard and often. It is very light, people think it is a 750 but the power is anything but. Very comfortable for passengers also. Also gets compliments from other riders. I'm glad I got a Honda.
- sean, waterford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-30 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am pushin' 60. In college had a Honda 50, 150, and 305. Waited about 38 years to get the kids through college. In '02 I bought a Honda VLX600 Deluxe to see if I would still enjoy riding. Well, after 12,000 miles the first summer, I realized not only did I love it again but needed more than a four speed. All the friends rode Harleys and encouraged me to go that route. However, in '03 at a Bike Night, I saw this Shadow Spirit 1100. Just so happened the owner was looking at an VTX1800, and so I bought it. I now have 20,000 miles on it. Last weekend I rode the Harley Wide Glide at a Dealership open house. I wouldn't trade for anything. In fact, all the Harley guys were asking me about my bike. In my opinion, this is the bike.
- Mike Hamilton, West Chester, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-26 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE THIS BIKE! IT'S WHAT I WANTED. IT'S ALL I EXPECTED. I DO HAVE A FEW COMPLAINTS... THE ACCELLERATION IS GOOD, BUT I NEED MORE. IT CORNERS GOOD, BUT PEGS SCRAPE AND A RAM AIR INTAKE NEEDS TO BE MADE FOR THIS BIKE.
- ERIC , WALLINGFORD, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-26 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello Fellow Enthusiasts: <br /> I bought my new 2004 Shadow VT1100C in July but during the first week of October a group of my friends and I rode 1,753 miles from Windsor/Detroit across Ohio, West Virginia, Virgina and North Carolina. The trip was down the Blue Ridge Mountain Parkway to Cherokee, NC. We returned north on Hwy. 129 (Deals Gap) then I-75 to Detroit. My VT1100C Shadow performed perfectly. Tons of power and smooth. I found the bike very comfortable and did not have any use for 'Monkey Butt' powder. This bike is also great on the hills and twisties. I love this bike, a real joy to ride. Thanks Honda!! Ride safe everyone.
- Chris S., Essex, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-16 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A very nice cruiser, I found this baby last August. It is a 1996 and has 1800 miles only. The only thing that I would like to have is a bigger fuel tank, I have to refuel every 150 miles, can go to 200, but I feel more comfortable with 150.
- Magnum, Fletcher, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-10 2004 Honda Shadow Spirit (VT1100C) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Almost bought the Sabre but my spouse liked the seating comfort/position of the Spirit better, so I made her happy! haven't regretted it one bit. Longest trip 1,750 miles roundtrip with no problems. It is geared a little high for in-town cruising, but I just keep it in 3rd or 4th gear to avoid bogging down. For the money don't think you can beat this bike. Took off the tank badges to get a clean, solid black look. Love it.
- MW, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: