Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Motorcycles Reviews (36)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-04-27 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 20 years of not riding (had kids, wife made me quit, I am back in the saddle and chose the Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 as my bike to get started again. I didn't want a bike too big or heavy to start with. This was PERFECT! I am now getting ready to sell this bike to my son who is looking for his first bike and I am ready to get back into a full-size touring bike.
- Lovin' the Ride AGAIN!, Bowie, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-25 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bike. I ride it every day. The original seat was terrible but no worries. With a Mustang wide touring with backrest, I now can ride 10 hours a day. It's just right on the power and fit and everything. If you weigh 160 pounds, the original seat is probably good. I'm so happy I put the good seat on. I would have quit riding without it. 45 miles to the gallon - I love it.
- craig eriksen, cawston

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-12 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been riding Vulcans the last 12 years, but came back to Honda four months ago. The bike had 7,100 miles on it, now it is at 15,450. It handles like a dream, is comfortable and is good for around town or around the world. It has more power than you need, it's great for 2 up riding - you can't get more motorcycle for your money than this bike.
- Tomcat, BEAUMONT, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-23 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike handles better than any other bike I've ever ridden. It fits me like a glove. The ride is very comfortable, and it has ample power for a cruiser. It's great looking, too! Its a shame that Honda quit making it. If you can find a used one, it's the best bike for the money.
- Jeff Twait, Algona, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-02 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike! My bike is so much fun, and it is not even close to short on power. This is my first bike. But it is a great bike for a new rider or someone who has been riding for years.
- anonomys, beaumont, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-07 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Shadow for one year. It had 9500 miles and I am the second owner. I love this bike, have not had problems with it at all. This is my third bike and the largest I have owned. Other than changing oil and completing the regular maintenance on it I have not done a thing to it. My wife enjoys riding double but not for long distances because the second seat is not that comfortable for long distances. It has plenty of power for the freeways. This is one bike I will keep for a long time. I have no desire for a larger bike and I ride with all the big bikes without feeling outpowered.
- Sam Hartt, Kent, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-13 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Shadow for a 1 year now. I've put 11,000 hard miles on it. I've put a K&N air filter and oil filter on it and slip on slash cut slip on and man I'm telling you for get up and go it has it all. I ride with Harleys, Gold Wings, Vulcans, Boulevards and I've not seen any of them out run it. As far as maintenance well there is none. And in the winter runs like a dream.
- Daniel R Folmer, Pomeroy, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-05 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since I don't seem to be able to find reviews of these bikes as they are accumulating miles, I thought I would drop another update from my 2006 post. I can't speak highly enough of these bikes. They hold up very well. I have about 37000 miles on mine and climbing. I've changed the oil, filters and added gas...that's it. Solid Honda reliability. Too bad they discontinued this model. If you're shopping around for one of these used, if it's been maintained, it should be a very safe bet for a good bike.
- Tim Simpson, Burns, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-04 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike brand new in 2006. I was looking for something that was easy to learn on and I am glad I bought this bike. It is very easy to ride and very forgiving if you screw up. I bought the 1100cc. I ride it every day to work and other than a minor shifting problem when the bike is cold, it works great. Upgrading to full synthetic significantly cut down the shifting problems and really only happens at 30 to 40 degrees. Once it warms up it runs great. I have run it on various runs throughout Florida and it runs like a champ. I have over 9000+ miles on this bike since 2006 and it runs as well as the day I rolled it out of the show room. It is an awesome first bike at a great value.
- Johnny Santana, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-30 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike does it all: city, back roads, interstate or just putting along. In the 38 years I have been riding, there has not been a more maintenance/trouble free bike I have ever owned or ridden and I have had a few. Yes, every bike has its foibles - this one included. But this bike is so well designed and simple to operate, run and be comfortable on, it is almost boring. In fact, there has been many a review that I have read about the 1100 Shadow that makes it out to be bland. But again, that is what makes it very special. A do-it-all bike that does all things well. Get one while you can: they quit making them in 2007. A smart rider will snap one up quick before they are gone. 14 hours, 600 miles - stopping for gas, coffee and restroom trips are no problem with this bike. Been there, done that and did not feel at all burned out or dragging from the ride. It is that comfortable. Another fantastic item is the instrument pod. Speedometer and warning lights are all packaged together above the steering bar and very simple and easy to observe at speed. You don't have to look down at the tank as you do with other cruisers. that's a very big safety issue to me. It is a wonderful bike and a wonderful experience. Yes, I thank my dealer every time I take it in for service for talking me into buying it. I will never sell or trade it off. I definitely know when I have a good thing.
- hondj02, ft wayne,, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-04 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike used but it already had Hard Krome exhaust and Mustang seat. It has plenty of power and I can go two-up with no problems. I have made interstate runs to Iowa and Wisconsin two-up. She complains about the passenger seat comfort, but we are talking about 6 hour rides on a little pad. Power-wise, the Shadow never misses a beat and it is always eager when you ask it for more power. I am very pleased with the bike. I have been riding for 40 years.
- Butch, Aurora, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-29 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THE HONDA SHADOWS ARE GREAT BIKES, SMOOTH, QUICK, AND THEY ARE REALLY WELL BALANCED. I HAVE OWNED SEVERAL DIFFERENT BIKES, FROM YAMAHA TO HARLEY. STILL WENT BACK TO HONDA. THE LIQUID COOLED ENGINE MAKES A BIG DIFFERENCE. THE FRAME ALLOWS RIDERS WITH LONG LEGS TO STRETCH OUT IN COMFORT AND NOT FEEL CRAMPED. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BIKE FOR ANYONE WHO IS LOOKING FOR A GOOD RELIABILE BIKE THAT IS USER FRIENDLY. DRAWBACKS ARE THAT THEY don't REALLY MAKE SADDLEBAGS THAT FIT. YOU WILL HAVE TO GET TURN SIGNAL RELOCATORS TO MAKE THEM FIT BETTER. IF YOU PUT THE LUGGAGE RACK ON THE BACK AND GET YOURSELF A SET OF T-BAGS, YOU WILL FIND THAT THEY WORK WELL.
- CHRIS GALLOWAY, PENNSAUKEN, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-22 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cruiser type motorcycle. Previous bikes were: CL350, Kawasaki 125, CB750 (put lots of miles on this one), and a Kawasaki Ninja 250 (great bike and best bang for the buck). I have enjoyed the Shadow Spirit. It's taken some time to get used to the footpeg location and I miss having a tachomoter. The bike runs as smooth as glass at steady throttle, but has some vibration when accelerating. I have found no problems with the stock seat and handle bar position seems just right for me. Here's my little list of nit-picks: no tachometer, ignition switch could be in a more convenient location, nuetral is sometimes hard to find when at a stop, and the above mentioned vibration when accelerating (must be a V-twin thing). I plan to put as many miles on the Spirit as possible. You can never go wrong with a Honda.
- Clifford Harper, Jonesboro, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-08 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in February of 2005 and just never wrote the review, but truly better late than never with this excellent piece of equipment. The bike I rode before this was a mediocre at best Suzuki GS500E. That was nice for a smaller crotch rocket but nothing for comfort or fun beyond breaking the speed limit. The Spirit is the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden - and that's in comparasin to more than 15 bikes in my life. Great center of gravity, sits well, rides well, and is a perfect machine in it's price range. The first time I sat on it I was able to sit with the kickstand up and my feet on the pegs for almost 30 seconds without swaying. Perfectly balanced and exceedingly superior to others in its class. If you want a new bike - even if you haven't ridden in 20 years (or if you are a new rider period) this one will not let you down. If you're new to riding take the safety riding course and go buy this roadway dream come true. The only thing more comfortable is my tempur-pedic bed - but it isn't nearly as fast or as much fun. If I had a gun to my head to say something a little negative it would have to be saddle-bag size...way too small for a bike lke this because all I want to do is ride and the bags for it will barely carry a pocket-watch. Otherwise - it's perfect.
- Dennis, Pinellas Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-16 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had an old 84 Honda Sabre I bought off a lady. That was my first mistake. Nevertheless, I hit an armadillio with it and went down. The Nighthawk behind me hit my bike and that was the end of the Sabre. I bought the last 2005 VT1100 Spirit at the Shop (That was 200 +/- miles from my house). They were great, and I've never regretted the purchase for one moment. If I had to complain about something with this bike it's the right footpeg. The designers did not compensate for the pipes and your foot tends to hang off the edge slightly. This motorcycle is the best bike on the planet for the dollar. I think it looks smart and has plenty of power for me and a passenger. Of course, I named her Scarlette!! Ride safe, and do take the MSF course. It saved my life!
- Jerry Cannon, Snellville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-06 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 49 years old. Call it mid life crisis, or the fact that 50 is staring me in the face, I went out and bought a bike. I looked for several months at Hondas, Kawasakis, Suzukis and Harleys. I had Hondas when I was a kid. The 70, 100 and 350. In High School, I had my first real date on my 350. Never had a license, sorry law enforcement, won't happen but once more. I just remembered how tough and reliable the Hondas were, especially with all the abuse I gave them as a kid. haven't ridden a bike since I was 19, I found the Spirit. It was used and at a local dealer with 2200 miles on it. After looking at it for two weeks, I finally bit the bullet. don't regret a thing. I bought it in July of 06 and have put 1600 miles on it. When I purchased it, I did a stupid thing. didn't even test drive it. Read review after review, talked to salesmen and riders that recommened the 1100. Got on the bike and took off like it was 30 years ago on my 350. After taking back roads home, 25 miles later, I thought oh my god what have I done, after pulling in my driveway with nerves a little on edge. I took the drivers test, got legal, and been riding every time I get the chance. I ride it to work and on every highway and backroad I can find on my days off. I could not believe there would be any bike out there I would rather have. The ride is amazing, power is there when I need it, and of course the reliability is there. When I get on it I feel confident I will reach my destination without any fault of the bike. I work with guys that have Harleys and love them. They also paid a huge price for love and continue to pay with all the accessories they continue to buy. that's fine if you want your money to be spent for that reason. I have kids in college and have to be fruggle with my cash. I ride along with the guys and don't feel intimidated by the HDs because I know my 1100 can perform as well or better than those big dollar items. I forgot the feeling of freedom you get when you straddle an Iron Horse. When I was a kid the freedom from parents was problably the freedom I felt back them. Now it's more like the feeling of freedom from the whole world and most everything in it. The irony of the whole thing is the girl that rode on back of my 350 over 30 years ago is the first girl to ride on my 1100, my wife. Who says history doesn't repeat itself?
- Perry Jett, Newbern, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-27 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The VLX is a good bike which I rode for awhile. I got tired of it after a few months. After checking Sportsters and Dynas, I found they cost far too much and to me did not handle as well as the Spirit 1100. After 3000 mi, this is by far the best bike for the price. It is the smoothest V-twin out there. It's quicker then the Sportster and about on par with the Dyna. The Spirit seems to fit me and most others without changing anything. Always ride safe...God bless.
- Richard, Mobile, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-15 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a year old and since I've put on over 4,500 miles. There is enough room to stretch out and more than enough power to get up and go, and I'm not a small guy. Brought this bike to Sturgis, no complaints.
- Phil H, Bemidji, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-08 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden a bike in 12 years since my daughter was born. Before now, the biggest bike I rode was a 700 Vulcan. While I was nervous about a bigger bike, this one is very easy for riding, power is there, but not jerky, handling is easy, forgiving, and can inspire confidence. Overall, for a 40 year old guy who wants to spend time on it with the family, this is a great bike. The seat is pretty comfortable, but not great. It doesn't excel in any one area, but does well in all. If you want a sport performer, look elsewhere. If you want to cruise the back roads and spend time outdoors, you got a winner.
- mark h, lake forest, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-20 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After all the bugs were worked out, I decided to give this bike the road test. 1500 miles round trip (750 a day) and I will say I'm VERY IMPRESSED!!!! Smooth, comfortable and quiet. I must suggest on long trip get the luggage rack (square tube...round won't fit unless you drill a few holes in your chrome) and a nice bag - great pair fror a long trip. Also, don't forget a nice windshield, I got a nice low profile one, it seems right for this bike and looks good too. Plus, I think a small windshields looks better, but that's my opinion...HAPPY BIKING!!!
- You Must Be Kidding (3), warwick, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-26 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this mainly because I have a 1982 Honda wagon and all the reviews here were favorable. The past six months it has been a great bike. No problems. I rated it 4 across the board simply because I'm a new owner with low miles. No long trips yet, so no opinion about that. I find the bike has plenty of go, handles well, and looks good. The distance between first and second gear is significant but I've adapted to that. The rear turn signals are in a strange place and I'm moving those soon so I can put on saddlebags.
- John Edwards, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-16 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, this bike was different than any I had ridden before. Dirt and rockets...about 13 years. I fell in love with the lines on this bike. It took a while for me to get used to the riding pegs being so far forward, but after I settled in, it was like the bike was built for me. Very smooth acceleration, cruises at 75-80 just fine, and it purrrrs like a very large tiger. It's very comfortable and the bobbed handle bars make it very easy to manuver. My brother in law had to get a Mustang seat for his V-Star, but I let him know that Honda did a great job on this one; right out of the crate, it is great!
- Lloyd, Madera, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-11 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most wonderful bike ever built! It`s the most comfortable & beautiful bike out there!I wouldn`t trade it for any other bike ever made. Though, the transmission is a little high speeded it still is a great bike. If you're looking for a better sound, buy you some cobra drag tips,and pull out the baffels, you won`t be upset!!! It is the loudest motorcycle made.
- BEN, EUPORA, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-01 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the VT1100c three months ago. I haven't ridden a bike in 30 years. This bike handles really great, has a lot of power, comfortable seat, excellent braking, and great lines. I ride every day that I can. Good job HONDA!!!!!
- Mel D., Lanham, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-09 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 (VT1100C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 100 Shadow Spirit is a fine bike, comfortable, easy to ride, and strong enough for the grind. It is geared differently than most bikes, probably because it used to have a chain and now is a shaft. Trany should have been changed, but wasn't. However, after a little practise, it does what it's supposed to. Those who criticize it for its individuality should just spend more time learning how to ride it. It's an excellent bike at an excellent price. I highly reccommend it to all who are ready for some wind in their face.
- jeff darson, ellsworth, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: