Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles Reviews (21)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-07-01 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike last spring a year ago. Mine came with crash-bars, Chrome foot pegs, leather-like saddlebags, windshield, a brand new spare front tire and an extra set of pipes. All thrown in for the price. It looks like new. It belonged to an older guy that wanted to get a new Gold- Wing. I gave $3500. cash what a deal. I had a 86kawa full dress. I couldn't reach the ground with my feet without leaning over. This bike fits me just fine 5'7". I have taken it on many poker runs and all over the place. I live in the top of Texas and can get to NM, or colo, with-in just a few hours. This bike has not given me a moment of trouble. It has plenty of space for extra stuff. And can run highway speeds all day long. The only thing I would change would be the size of the gas tank. It'll go 140 miles before I have to go to reserve. However I'm 58 yrs. young and the stops at that distance are usually welcome. If ya get my drift:) The bike has plenty of power and is very stable at highway speeds and lower. I would recommend this bike to anybody.
- devosbalz, Amarillo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-01 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man, I love this bike, so you can guess my review is very positive. The reach to the grips was a little long so I increased the risers an inch (wish I done 2 inches)and after market pipes are on my short list, otherwise....It is me all the way. I dig the look and the feel of this layed back, chopper(ish) cruiser!
- Midnrider, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-01 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Jet it, pipe it, and get over it. Its a great bike that handles well in town and on the highway and gets decent mileage. Its not even a bad bike for someone starting out if they happen to be over 6 ft. and 200 lbs. Ride it and love it!
- AmbientShadow, Audubon, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-27 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
INEXPENSIVE,GOOD HANDLING, NICE SOUND, PRETTY GOOD ACCELERATION, NICE FEEL.
- THEDOG, CINCINNATI, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-10 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2000 spirit and gave it to the wife and now have a 2002...I did put Cobra slash cuts on it and got more power and acceleration not to mention it now sounds much better....also extremely conformable, I can ride all day and the saddle is great
- Dave Z, Richton Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-04 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had 10 bikes from 7 different mfgs and have learned whats important for me on what I ride. My 02 VT 1100c has it all. water cooled,wet sump, shaft drive,no valve adjustment,buckhorn bars,runs on 87 octane, good OEM seat, COMFORTABLE, FUN TO RIDE, light weight for a cruser,excellent suspension travel and ground clearence. This bike is a great all arounder that fills every riding need except off road. I hope Honda never stops makeing them!!!!
- D.J. Ruehle, Williamsburg,OH, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-11 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Spirit now 18 months and once you fix the lean conditon it runs fine. This 1100 started out with 47hp, today 54hp with meager torque at 65ft lbs. Honda over the years has lengthed cam duration tweaked valve and ignition timing to keep up with higher cc bikes. Unfortunately they did not increase cc's or the low 8:01 compression, making this bike a mid to high rpm power band. Once you learn how to operate this bike at the low end the gears don't seem to be tall. Case and point VTX 1300 which is slightly boared and stroked by 1/2 inch with compresson up to 9:2 over the 1100. Keep in mind the 1100's are dual pin crank with hydraulic valve adjusters, the VTX 1300 is single pin crank with manual valve adjusters. Which do you think would be cheaper to manufacture? Enjoy the Spirit for what it is.
- Ray, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-08 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2002 Black Shadow Spirit in early April. This bike is easy to start (I've never even had to choke it yet, just give it a little gas while hitting the starter button) runs smooth and has a broad power band. Tall gearing took a little getting used to, but I like it now. I've made a few modifications to it, mostly cosmetic and could not be happier. The bike is comfortable, easy to ride, and looks cool. My only complaint was the backfireing while decelerating but I fixed that by adjusting the fuel/air mixture. I've drilled out my pipes with a 2 1/8" bi-metal hole saw which gives the bike a much better sound. With this mod, no rejetting is required. I've added some miscellaneous accessories to customize it to my taste. If you want to take a look at it, visit http://home.earthlink.net/~venjurak
- Jon McCormick, Pittsboro, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-19 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i agrree with one of the posts here the bike is geared way to tall. mine shudders and will buck some if in high gear at 55 mph and you roll on the throttle. although geared to high the torque of the motor carries me 270pounds and the bikes weight away from a stop with out a lot of clutch slipping. one problem i have that makes me sick. i have had a couple of hondas and rode several more but this 1100 spirit 2002 model if i were allowed to ride the bike before purchasing i would have dropped it like a hot potatoe. the transmission sucks. i have riden older harleys that shift like butter compaired to this thing. 1 to 2nd shift clunks bangs and grinds and generally is very embarrasing to ride through town. i went back to my dealer for the 600 mile check up and he laughed at me and said it was normal. i couldn't believe this. i took my bike to another dealer. service manager there rode it then took another new 1100 spirit off the show room floor and he rode it as well and had me ride it too. now the new one seemed much better but i thought the shift qualities of it were a little abbrasive to me personally as well. seems honda has forgotten how to make a transmission smooth and easy to shift. this service manager aggreed with me there is something wrong with the trans. he said he would call honda and get back to me. honda won't allow dealers to tear down for major disassembly for inspection and pay for it under warranty unless the trans locks up, is missing a gear completly or you have a bearing hanging out the side of it. dealer was great he made his contacts with in honda but they would not authorize an inspection disassembly with out some of the problems listed above and cover it under warranty. now the dealer service guy was very nice he said he would tear it down but didn't want me to fork over $600 for the inspection in case the transmission is truly normal. honda elaborated no more than to say it was normal and the transmission is not broken in yet aprox 1000 miles on it. i tried to find a phone number for honda to try and talk to someone but thats like trying to talk to a ghost. any one ever see a phone number for honda or an email address for them?? i shouldn't put the bike down to hard. motor runs good has anice torque curve looks good and handles very well but i am so grated trying to ride it in town or out on the road trying to keep it from klunking grinding and banging going in to the next gear 1st to 2nd is the pitts. i may be foolish but i am considering trading it for a vtx 1300 honda service manager said the trans in it is much better. and i thought buyer beware was only ment for purchasing something used.
- palal, rochelle, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-07 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 01 Spirit 1100 used with about 2500 Mi. on it. The original owner had taken great cosmetic care of the bike and added a MF Windshield, Cobra Drag Pipes and a set of W&Max saddle bags. but it was in sad need of servicing....changed the oil and oil filter, air filter and spark plugs and replaced the cobra baffles with a set of HP Plus baffles. Totally different Ride. No more stalling at low speeds, hesitation on acceleration, and the cooling fan hasn't cut on once since the oil change (I did have it checked to be sure nothing happened while changing the oil). AND, you can actually start it according to the owners manual (start with full choke idle for 30 seconds and then kill the choke) previously took 10-15 minutes to come up to operating temp.... at any rate it is a great ride at a very moderate price.
- ravskau, Tupelo, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-05 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the stock machine, I have upgraded the exhaust by replacing the mufflers with a set of Jardine slipons and replaced the stock air filter with a K&N. No need for rejetting unless you remove the baffels in the mufflers. Believe me, it's loud enough with them installed. I have noticed a positive change in performance with these two additions. It sounds respectable too. I haven't checked the gas mileage but it doesn't appear to be a noticeable difference either way. The installation of a windscreen, light bar and hard saddle bags and a recent purchase of the highway (crash) bars makes this bike perfect for my use. I think you can get the best prices on the internet if you do some homework. It worked for me. My serious riding is generally done on the weekends like most of you and I average about 250 miles on each ride. Yeah, I'm ready to get off about then! Next venture is to upgrade the seat. Any thoughts out there? Enjoy the bike, It's a great all around machine. Oh, to the person who here's the shifting clank, it's quite common but can be somewhat reduced by using a motorcycle specific oil. I don't know why but it does seem to work. Stay tune for more thoughts. See you all at Biketoberfest, Daytona Beach!
- Dandy Don , Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-28 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
brand new,dark red,have owned it 4 weeks.gear ratios are tall but appear especially beneficial in traffic.rear turn signal lights in bad position for saddle bags but various extensions can be bought to move them back.for a raked out front,this bike seems to handle very well,stays on it's feet!like other's coments i look forward to rejetting the carbs,perhaps changing the pipes and breather to help make this bike all it can be.a friend of mine,highly experienced biker, says the engine acts if it's begging for more power,especially more air!it is fact the carbs are way to lean,mechanic confirmed.i constantly look forward to being on this bike.very comfortable ride.i look forward more and more to making it "my bike".
- d, knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-07 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got the cruiser bug, sold my CBRF4 got a black Spirit750. I was apprehensive at first because of the performance difference. But riding a cruiser is a whole new world of motorcycling. Very comfortable, plenty of power for under 80mph riding, very cool. I enjoy being a biker again. sportbikes look fast, go fast and like to prove they are fast, cruisers look cool, sound cool,and ride cool. personal preferences will dictate modifications, but stone stock it is one heck of a bike!!
- Jason Epley, Galion, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-13 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a purple 2002 shadow 1-month ago and had cobra slashcut drag pipes and a jet kit installed. Bike sounds great (important to remember it's not a HD). Good power, shifting is also good (I'm not constantly changing gears so I can concentrate on the ride), and looks great. Overall, great bike, great price, great sound, and fun, fun, fun to ride. I'd recommend to anyone.
- Greg, Hampton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-12 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my 2002 "pearl red" spirit, drove home from Garner, little bit on 2 lane highway, 15 miles on interstate, and 5 on city streets.... still a little clumsy on the start, awkward on the complete stop... hey? it's been a lone time since I rode (1979) . I was surprised to see how easy the starts became, all the reviews about problems were baseless, and to the man who didn't get out of 1st gear in town?? I went up and down the gears with no problems....looking forward to more great weather, and many miles of happy motoring.....
- skootchNC, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-30 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have read some of the other reviews about complaints of stalling. I have had my Spirit a short time and you have to learn how to throttle and clutch. This is a cruiser not just a town bike. For the fellow that says he cant get out of 2nd gear around town I say buy a smaller bike if that is all you do. I like the fact that once I get out of town I still have 3 more gears to grab. It's a great ride and the more I ride it the more I love it
- Dave Veitenheimer, Otis Orchards, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-10 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
AS the previous guys have said, the shadow spirit will stall. So will the 2002 nighthawk, which I have if you idle too long at a light. You have to either rejet it, like the one guy did, or goose it a little before you take off. Theses bikes were made to be cruisers and therefore the gear ratios are a bit tall for running around town. Couple that with Honda's lean idle philosophy, which is done to reduce emmissions at idle and you have the problem.
- John Gibson, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-04 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Folks, I must admit that my impression of this motorcycle has changed drastically!!!! IT IS Awesome!!! After 30 days of driving and logging close to 1500 miles, I got really tired of stalling getting into traffic, Damn near got hit twice. I stalled this thing when starting into a turn and dropped it on the side. My previous two "three" star reports revealed what a pig this thing was. Even after the dealer service at 600 miles, the machine was no better. This weekend I took two hours and installed a jet kit from Dynojet, What a change!!! this thing runs like a raped ape, No more stalling. The transition through the RPM range is flawless. It is too bad that Honda couldn't do something like this out of the factory. The difference is noteworthy. I still have issue with the tranny not always making it into low gear, but I'll figure that out too. Since the jet kit, this machine has not stalled once. I'm convienced there was a problem, right from the crate. In summation, NOW this is the machine everyone else was talking about, only a little bit better.
- Anonymous, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-20 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm sure Cliff is much more experienced than I am at riding. This is my first motorcycle, I'm 52 years old. But doesn't running around town and hardly shifting out of second gear sound to you like the gearing is really too tall???
- Art S, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-15 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In deference to Art who wrote the first review, I thoroughly enjoyed this bike. In the Reno area here you can test drive as long as you have a motorcycle license. The Spirit is a fun ride and in the city I rarely have to take it out of second gear. It is a little slow to warm up, but once it has it does just fine. Acceleration is more than adequate and it shifts quite smoothly. My only complaint would be the lack of a fuel gauge, but I can live without that. It sits very comfortable and my daughter loves the back seat. Pegs are set nicely and the bike is easy to balance.
- Cliff Parker, Sparks, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-05 2002 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a 2002 Yellow Spirit and having Cobra slash cut classic exhaust installed along with rejetting the carbs. Have not picked up the bike as yet but will let everyone know how she sounds and performs. Glen
- Glen, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: