Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Motorcycles Reviews (51)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-03-12 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a little small, but comfortable, and not intimidating. It's powerful enough to be faster than almost any car, acts like a cruiser, but maneuverable. It was affordable, and I wanted my first bike to be reliable so I could concentrate on important things...this bike is reliable and built solid. No problems yet, I've owned it for almost a year. I took it out of winter storage yesterday, and it started up right away and ran smooth as when I put it away last fall. It is a little small for highway use, but for cruising around town I love it.
- Acer, Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-15 2007 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the VLX Deluxe primarily to drive to and from work (about 50 miles each way), and I've discovered a ride that's conservative with fuel and generous with excitement. The standard Honda reliability and good looks are definitely built into this bike. It handles interstate highway speeds and wind turbulence smoothly and without hesitation. I've found it to be quite comfortable on longer rides (200+ miles). I didn't expect it to provide a tour-bike ride; it's a cruiser, after all! It does well with the 4-speed, but a 5-speed would be better. I plan to ride my Honda for a very long time.
- Kenn, Casa Grande, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-06-06 2007 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've seen many comments that the 600 VLX is a good beginner's bike. That may be, but I think it is an experienced biker's bike also. Other than my butt needing a short break after an hour or so, this bike is great. And it's only 600 cc? I can get to the speed limit as fast as I need or want to. It may not be as fast as a crotch rocket, but it's not a crotch rocket. It's better on fuel than bigger and heavier bikes too. All in all, this is a great bike for anyone.
- Jeff, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-10 2007 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a nice bike with the usual excellent Honda quality. As a cruiser style, it is easy to get on and off of, and excellent for people with shorter legs. However, like most cruisers, it is impossible to use your legs to help deal with bumps, and its light weight means you feel most of them. Rides of several hundred miles are definitely not recommended. It looks great and is fine for shorter distances. Small gas tank means it stops often (about every 100 miles), but it uses regular.
- Jim Wayne, Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-30 2007 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike to ride back and forth to the train station, but now I look forward to the weekends when I take it for a nice ride. 70 on the highway is no problem. And it's pretty comfortable even for someone my size. I'm very pleased.
- Mike R., Bellmore, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2007 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a new VLX 600 Deluxe. I am extremely pleased. This bike has exceeded my expectations in every way. It is the most enjoyable way to get around Maui (where I live and work). If you are looking for a classic, fun and reliable motorcycle ... this is it!
- David Courson, Kihei, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-02 2007 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For all those short people out there (like me), this bike fits like a glove. I can put both feet on the ground and still bend my knees !! (YAY) This is my second bike, and I'm keeping her. Honestly, I love my bike. Its instant comfort and I would recommend to anyone looking to save some money on gas. The only drawback I can see is the little gas tank, though. (What an oxy moron, ay?) It only holds about 2.5 gallons, and only goes about 90 miles between refueling. Also, on highway driving (of which I do A LOT), it has a little lag time when going into a top speed, such as 70 or above. But, once the bike hits that speed, can hold for a long ride.
- kd, wichita , Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-07 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 57 years old and had not ridden a bike for about 25 years. I wanted a bike that had enough power to get me down the road at a reasonable speed (60-65 mph). I love my bike. It is perfect for what I want to do with it which is to bum around on the weekends in the back country roads of Wisconsin. I bought the bike in Oct. and put on 600 miles before Jan., even in the cold weather here in Wisconsin. I love the looks of the bike. I have put on a passenger backrest, a luggage rack and a windshield. Can't wait until spring so I can ride in on a regular basis. I would highly recommend this bike. It handles great and has plenty of power unless you're going on a cross country trip. But for day trips and over nighter's, it's perfect for me.
- Don Wedel, Oxford, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-06 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The title says it in short and to elaborate I'd have to say that for someone as inexperienced as I was and am, this bike has saved my tail many a time. The 2005 geometry and weight make the bike very balanced and easy to handle. A couple months back I had an incident where a van had pulled out in front of me and then in the shock of the moment stopped in the middle of the street, so I started my corrective back in front of the car and then quickly changed to the rear of the car skidding on the peds and bottom frame and pipes. I thought for sure I was going down on my side but the bike corrected quickly and I was able to get arround them. No doubt the grace of God was there in my midst, but it doesn't hurt to have a well balanced bike as well. I've been riding for a year now this January and have had no problems so far. Very pleased with the gas mileage, although using premium gas I haven't got much better then 45-50 mpg, not sure what the other guy is using to get 65 mpg but I'd sure like to know.
- Heins, Goodyear, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-02 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 2005 VLX 600 in the spring of 2006 and have put almost 5000 miles on it in one short Michigan riding season. It has been through hot and dry, rain and cold, sleet and hail, 32deg to 100deg, and only quit once. The battery was shot and was replaced under warranty. Everyone is right, it could use another gear, but I love riding the curving back country roads at 45mph, it is made for that. I'm a big guy, but the bike easily takes me wherever I want to go and is reasonably comfortable. I use it as a commuter about 56 miles per day and just tooling around on the weekends, 200 mile trip per day is about the max, that is 5-6 hours on the seat which is just a bit short for my size. Pass backrest holds backpack nicely for extra gear and it would be easy to put a sleeping bag behind me for overnights. Mostly 65-70 mpg, not disappointed but may upgrade to a larger ride in the future. Honda reliability is the name of this cycle.
- Sawyer, Newaygo, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-03 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2003 Honda Deluxe VTX(600cc). I ride my motorcycle daily and I look forward to it everyday. My Honda is totally reliable and safe. In the past I was a Harley rider in the past, but this bike is more than comparable and very comfortable.
- Adrianne Benson, Pompano Bch, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-21 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle in about twenty years. I grew up riding dirt bikes, so this is also my first street bike. It is nimble and easy to handle. Probably my only complaint is that I find myself searching for an extra gear, however, once I am up to speed on the highway (70 mph) I am fine. It is a sharp looking ride, too.
- Kiki, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-18 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to add my voice to the good things being said about the Honda Shadow 600 VLX. I'll soon experience my 65th birthday and I can't get enough ride time on my 2006 VLX. What a joy it is to swing my large frame over the saddle and take off. I live deep in the Appalachian Mtns. and the power to weight ratio of this bike is perfect for me. Mileage runs in the hi 50's and the power is more than enough to get me into serious trouble! The bike is perfect!
- Pat, Man, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-01 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am almost 62 and had not been on bike for over 40 yrs. I recently moved to a warm climate where you can bike year round. Was thinking of choice between boat and motorcycle. With the price of fuel answer was no-brainer. Looked at Harley Sportster and Honda models and decided on VLX Deluxe. Great choice for me for my life style. Only complaint should be 5th gear but don't do a lot of freeway driving and cruises in 55 to 60 range quite nicely. Will probably ramp up next year but until then this will do fine. Strongly recommend for older or first time bikers or short bikers. Easily handles but passenger needs to be average or below average weight for stability but this is not a drawback to consider when purchasing.
- Ralph D, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-27 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride a Rebel 250 in the early '90's, but had to sell it. Since then, the bike bug has bitten many times, and after a lot of researching I decided on the Shadow VLX. I'm glad I did! I love the seat height, and even with my short stature, I can flat-foot easily at stop lights. This bike has some get-up-and-go (I like the wide ratio through the gears, although I agree that the bike could use a 5th gear). My bike does get some looks at stop lights...I heard a kid say -man, look at all that chrome stuff!. (not to mention -hey, that's a lady on that bike!) I'm slowly starting to accessorize, and I know I'm going to have fun doing it!
- Restita D., Renton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-17 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a new rider I was very edgy about starting off at 600 cc's. After my first day I knew I had made the right choice. This bike is everything a new rider could ever want. It corners very nicely, rides smooth, starts well at intersections, and the seat height makes it a very comfortable ride for me.
- Joshua, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-03 2004 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a well-build reliable machine. It really is built to take the punishment of long-distance riding I have taken the bike all over the place and have even gone over 8k miles this year alone! The bike's handling is well balanced and stable thus forgiving. This alone makes it a real plus for a beginner and/or returning rider. When you counter steer the machine, it is very responsive and precise.
- Chris McLaughlin, Lacey, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-25 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a used 2003 VLX after learning to ride on a Rebel 250. The transition from the Rebel to the larger bike was seamless. Like many used bikes, mine came with a lot of accessories that would have cost a fortune if purchased new. One that I am very pleased with is the Mustang seat. The factory seat leaves an ugly gap in front of the gas tank. The Mustang seat closes this gap and gives you a wider, more comfortable seat with a significant amount of back support that comes in handy on the longer rides. The cobra pipes add some much needed sound to the 600 engine as well. The windshield, saddlebags, and luggage rack make for more comfortable longer rides as well. It's a great unintimidating bike for a beginner that looks great alongside the bigger bikes. And at around $4000 for a nice late-model used one, your dollar will be buying a lot more fun than the guy's beside you who's making payments on his $17,000 Harley. Drawbacks: a 5th gear would be great as would a slightly larger gas tank. Also, throw away the factory seat and replace it with the Mustang seat.
- Jason, Greenville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-14 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. Had not ridden for about 25 years and upon reaching 60th birthday decided I wanted to either, parachute, obtain a private pilot license, or buy a motorcycle. Guess which one mama voted for. Salesman asked me what I wanted, I replied "A Goldwing, but I know that is too much bike for me at this time, so I am looking at something smaller, that I don't have to reach up for the handle bars, lean forward, as was not so heavy that I could not pick it up if it fell". I thought a Rebel would do the trick and the salesman told me "You'll be back in 6 months for a bigger bike". He was right, we settled on the VLX Deluxe, Candy Red. What a beauty, I ride it to work every day. Handles very nice, looks great, very chromy. Lot's of vibration over 55mph but not so bad to make me want to get rid of it. A 5th gear would have been nice for crusin' (after all it is a cruiser class bike). I'll most likely upgrade to a larger bike, not sure if it'll be a Goldwing or not, after about a year on this sweet machine.
- John Steiner, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-05 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a 40th birthday present to myself I decided to buy a bike. After looking around and doing some research I narrowed it down to the Shadow and the V-star. After taking a look at both and checking the comfort and size for my height and weight I decided on the Shadow. What a great, fun bike. I made the perfect choice and look forward to clocking many happy miles. It's my perfect first bike!
- Christey G, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-17 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I was a little wary of what to pick. I've only owned it a couple weeks and already did a day 350+ mile ride with family. I was comfortable the whole time & got excellent gas mileage. I can't imagine starting out on any other bike! I'm already taking it in for it's 600 mile maintenance and am ready to put another couple thousand on it ASAP!!!
- Lila, Port Ludlow, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-13 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and have no regrets. This bike rides smooth and has all the power needed. Great for cruising on back roads as well as highway driving. I agree with other reviews wishing it had one more gear. Overall I give it a 10.
- Charlie, Mechanicsville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-26 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My husband and I had never owned/regularly ridden street bikes; we both had ridden dirt bikes but it had been 20 years prior to purchasing the 600's. When dreaming at the dealership, the salesman approached my husband and asked what type of bike he was looking for, after determining the 600 would be a great starter, the salesman had us both hooked. He asked what color we wanted, when blue and white came out of our mouths simultaneously, he said you will have to pick one; my husband said, "no, we want one of each as I don't want to ride on the back!" The stunned salesman gets regular visits from us gloating on our bikes every chance we get; now we are starting to drool over the next bike. These are great, a 5th gear would be nice on long trips, but we are still in love with the VLX Deluxe and will keep them for at least 3-4 more years before upgrading to the 1300's, yes, again, we will get 2! Nothing beats our bikes, except maybe spending time with the kids.
- Tammy, Rogers, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-12 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently bought my Shadow. I used to own a Kawasaki ltd 550 many moons ago. The Shadow 600 VLX puts that bike to shame. The bike handles really well, has plenty of start and top end speed and it definitely turns many heads. I also like all the accessories available for the Shadow. I do have to agree with one of the reviews that I read, that sometimes I wish it had a 5th gear not so much for speed but not owning a bike in a while I still want to grab for 5th. Overall this is a great bike for beginners or seasoned riders.
- dmotes, Leslie, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-08 2006 Honda Shadow VLX (VT600C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After becoming acquainted with riding on a 2005 Rebel, I traded up to the Shadow VLX. I am VERY happy with the trade! Better overall performance and still very economical to ride, this is a great motorcycle. Good gas mileage, reasonable to insure, and very capable in urban traffic, this is the bike that I probably should have started with. It works well with a passenger of average size. I highly recommend this machine!
- Scott J., Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: