Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Motorcycles Reviews (33)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-10-11 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great bike. I've done lots of city riding and trips 200 to 300 miles. This was great for a beginner, I'm not - 40 years of riding. I really enjoy riding this bike.
- jim, waskom, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-02 2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Choosing this bike was one of the best decisions I ever made. 60-62 mpg. is wonderful, especially with the gas prices continually rising. I have had no problems whatsoever with the bike. Just keep up with the maintenance and this gem should last 20 years!
- Glenn, North Canton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-17 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After having a Rebel, this VLX is great for longer distances. The ride is good; 2-up riding is surprisingly good too. It looks great in the sun.
- Kevin, Ossian, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-07 2007 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike about 2 weeks ago. This is my first motorcycle but I have grown up on Honda dirt bikes, 3-wheelers, etc. (even rented scooters on vacation to ride in traffic). This bike is more than it seems. Sure, next to a 1300 and even a 750 it is smaller, but it has a lot of power. The 600cc engine is very powerful and MORE than enough to start out on. The whole layout of the bike is in one word: comfort. The swept back handlebars are perfect to learn on and are just comfortable. If you need to start out on a bike or want a nice cruiser to have for yourself, you don't need a 750; go with a VLX.
- Michael Melton, Chickamauga, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-27 2007 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 2007 Triumph Daytona 675, which is a sport bike, for this entry level cruiser. And I do not regret it one bit. So comfortable, so sleek, so smooth. That legendary Honda quality and value kind of makes me miss my Civic. Anyway, this is the perfect bike for anyone starting out, or just looking for cheap, reliable transportation. I'm 20 years old, with 4 points on my license, but my insurance is $434 a year. Not too bad in my opinion. I would recommend Shadows to anyone, regardless of age, experience, etc! They're just great bikes.
- Brandon Miller, Schofield Barracks, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2007 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike about a year ago after not having one for almost 30 years, I ride it daily rain or shine. It handles very nice for its size. However I would recommend that it have a 5 speed, when you get up around 70 the bike has a tendency to rev higher than it should. It is a perfect starter bike for anyone getting back to riding or a beginner. It combines a good power to weight ratio and good acceleration. It handles well in the rain as well.
- Ralph, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-29 2007 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am in the Army, and busted up my back a couple of years ago. I wasn't too sure whether or not I would be able to get back on a bike. I bought my new 2007 Honda VLX less than a week ago, I don't want to get off. My wife makes jokes about whether or not I am going to come home. I totally love the bike, it handles well. Even though I would like to see a 5th gear, the four speed transmission is set up quite nicely. I recommend this bike to anyone who hasn't been on in a while, or is just starting out.
- SSG Arthur Osvold, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-16 2007 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The VLX is a great bike for anybody who wants to get into cruising, and after 8 years away from cycling, I felt it was a good purchase for getting back in the saddle. With the requisite style and power to be a serious bike, and manageable weight and size it is perfect for establishing good fundamentals. Smaller bikes may seem too confining and toy-like, but much bigger compromises control for a beginner. Let's not forget, 30 years ago, a 600cc bike was a monster! The bike is stubborn in cold weather, and requires more choke than should be expected from a modern bike. The handling is great up until about 70, when the bike starts to shake, which leads to the oft-heard criticism that the bike is not suitable for highway touring. My experience says that the speed is less a problem for long distance rides than the diminutive gas tank (2.9 gallons). The brakes are solid, the handling is smooth, the suspension is sound and the acceleration is respectable. I would also recommend the bike for short or petite riders, since you would be hard pressed to find a lower seat height without spending custom cash on custom bikes, and a dry weight bike that can be righted by just about any grown up. If you decide to step up after learning the fundamentals the Honda Cruiser line offers a natural evolution for whatever level you feel ready for, from the modest jump to a Shadow 750, to a VTX 1800 (both with similar styling). Another bonus of graduating to a larger bike is that once you move to a more mainstream engine size and would be ready to invest more in your bike as a long term purchaser, you will find your options for customization increase almost infinitely. Still, no better starter bike out there.
- Dave in DC, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-01 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sheesh... where do I start? First of all, can you say 'chrome everything'. I've actually been blinded by my own chrome a few times... how cool is that! It took a minute for the silver metallic to grow on me, but I'm down with it now. The ride is like butter, just smooth and flowing. The stock hand controls are in a very comfy position although I'm gonna be changin bars, risers, grips, and mirrors to roll with my 'Maltese Cross' theme. The foot controls are the only thing I have a problem with. I'm tall and skinny and got big paddle feet. At it's most extreme adjustment, I can't get my toe under the shifter. I've been shifting with the side of my foot, and around some left turns I can't shift. I'm workin out a way to move the foot controls forward 3 inches, and tilt them back 30 degrees. Performance... yes, I have to use the bathroom more often. The very first upgrade, and perhaps the only one related to function that's gonna happen, was drag pipes. Loud pipes save lives, and also allow you to hear your engine rpm's at highway speeds. Other than that nothing needs to be done. All the baddness is already built in. The seat is very nice... and puts me in the 'ultra low and cool' position. These bikes are cooler than any hog. Lighter, reliable, better mileage, ride better, look better and I didn't get jacked in the showroom. AND... like the other dude said... it literally does pay for itself.
- Andy, Montgomery, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-10 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my VLX a week ago and I am loving it. It has the feel of a bigger bike and sounds great. Perhaps in the future I'll move up to something bigger, but for now I will enjoy my very own hog.
- Julio, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-09 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hadn't ridden in 25 yrs, am 46 and didn't want a heavy bike. 60 mile roundtrip to work gets 65 MPG! Mostly high speed riding (55-65). Me and my wife ride comfortably but next is a back rest and saddlebags so I can replace the throw over bags I stole off an old mule. My Harley Buddies have been suprisingly supportive and are impressed by me wanting to gain valuable riding time on an economical, light, and reliable bike. Also is very true the stock chrome on my deluxe model would cost you a left nut for a Harley. Lots of compliments. Needs a bigger tank-150 miles per tank safely. If you don't need 90 miles an hour this is a fantastic bike. Had to tighten chain after 350 miles but only 1/2 notch.
- DLH, Sedalia, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my used 2006 VLX Deluxe this last weekend and love it. I am a fairly big guy, and fit on it pretty well. I did take a 120 mile ride this last weekend when I picked it up and my only complaint is my inner thighs were a little cramped after a while. I love the look and feel of the bike and how it rides. I have not ridden in almost 15 years, but this bike made it easy getting back on the road. I have the silver/chrome model and have already received lots of compliments on it. I plan on spending lots of weekend mornings enjoying this little baby.
- Bill Flanagan, Gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-30 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode a 74 for 50 years. Now I own a 600cc Honda. What a great bike!! I will never go back to a big heavy bike. The SHADOW VLX DELUX is so easy to ride. I just miss not having a kick starter. I have a six year old son that rides with me. He just loves going and going... My longest two trips have been to Jacksonville and back. Three hundred miles each way. A very comfortable bike on long trips. But.... it needs a larger fuel tank. You have to stop and refuel every 100 miles or so. You ever want to talk bikes, E-mail me at U-S-M-C(at)MSN(dot)COM. Yes, that stands for United States Marine Corps. I was a Col. in the Marine Corps.
- Bruce F Harting, West Palm Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a bike that looks good, is easy to maneuver, is very reliable and well-built, and gets great mileage, this is the one for you. This bike will fit most any rider, and is a great value for the price. Lots of accessories and upgrades are available for this bike, when you get tired of the 'stock look.' An all-around great machine.
- Jami Lynn, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-29 2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I RECENTLY GOT THIS BIKE AND HAVE BEEN RIDING IT ALMOST EVERYDAY. IT WAS MY FIRST BIKE AND IT WAS TRULY EASY TO LEARN ON IT. IT HAS JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF POWER FOR A BEGGINER LIKE ME BUT AT THE SAME TIME IT HAS MORE THAN ENOUGH HP'S FOR THE HIGHWAYS. AND WITH THE HIGHLY FUEL EFFICIENT QUALITY OF THIS BIKE, I CAN GO WHEREVER I WANT WITHOUT HAVING TO WORRY ABOUT HOW MUCH IT WILL COST ME TO GO FROM POINT A TO B. I CERTAINLY RECOMMEND THE SHADOW TO ANY PERSON OUT THERE THAT HAS BEEN BITTEN BY THE BUG. BELIEVE ME, THIS IS NOT A BIKE YOU WILL SOON OUTGROW, AND IN FACT, YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE SO DEEP WITH THIS BIKE THAT YOU WILL HARDLY WANT TO LET HER GO FOR ANOTHER ONE. IT HAPPENED TO ME, AT FIRST I HAD IN MIND TO USE IT ONLY FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS AND THEN GET A CBR600 OR 1000, BUT NOW I'M NOT QUITE SURE FOR THE SHADOW IS TRULY A MAGNIFICENT MACHINE...AND IT ALSO TURNS HEADS AND RECIEVES A LOT OF COMPLIMENTS WHENEVER I PARK IT IN A CROWDED PLACE.
- SPHINX, HOUSTON, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-22 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great city bike, all the power I need. I bought my 2001 with 1200 miles on it, I now have 2400 on it. I have a bad back and the bike sits low enough for me to get on and get off of it with ease. I am so glad I bought this bike! At work today I had my Honda parked with 5 Harleys, and this guy said the Honda was the best looking bike of them all,and I agree. It really does need one more gear though.
- skip, toledo, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-20 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike new this past April, after a long hiatus from riding. Wanted to start back on a small bike. Salesman talked me into the VLX Deluxe, glad he did. Plan to keep it one year then either trade it in/sell it and move up to a Goldwing or just keep it and get a Goldwing. Performance is good, it could use a 5th gear, I find myself wanting to upshift from 4th too many times. Vibrates my teeth above 60 but you get used to it. Handles great and is responsive in the city. It is just a little too light for all highway riding conditions (mainly wind) but you can ride the highway nonetheless. I have not carried a passenger as yet so I can't report on how it handles under that sort of payload.
- John, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you actually intend to ride daily in the city, then this is simply the best cruiser to own. Anything heavier, even a 800cc, is just too hard to haul around. I kept it for a year, and got a true standard bike. I enjoyed the relaxed riding position, Honda reliability, and the V-twin torque.
- caner, athens, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-08 2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is 1st bike I have owned in 37 years. All others were honda, so why not this one. Bought it brand new. Excellent bike. Perfect to get reacquainted to riding. Lots of power. Easy to ride. Would recommend to any one.
- marc w., grain valley, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-23 2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It is my first cruiser style bike. I love way it looks. The only thing I wish that it had was one more gear. It cruises at 90mph but with the wind resistence it's pegged and at real high rpm's. One more gear would make it WAY nicer to cruise with a little more power in reserve. I love all the chrome that comes stock on this bike. I'm just looking for the right pipes to throw on it. Shined up or even a little bit dusty this bike throws a blinding reflection to all onlookers. I've even had some hard core Harley guys compliment the look of this bike.
- Jared Van Blankenstein, Covina, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-26 2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike for one month. I've had other bikes and I'm very pleased with this one. It has plenty of power and is very sharp looking. I haven't ridden with a passenger yet, so I don't know how it will handle. But for myself, it's great. Be careful, because it's got power.
- steven, cleveland, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-31 2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Absolutely, the best looking bike out there. The lines are perfect. don't understand why Honda doesn't make the same bike in a larger model (1100). My complaints are too small of a gas tank, limited power with a rider and four gears. Other than that, it's the perfect bike. I want to move up in size but I can't find anyting out there with comparable lines. The Shadow Spirit 1100 would be perfect if the wheels were spoke and the gas tank had a slight upward lean. To all, if you are just starting, or getting back into riding, buy a VLX deluxe. You won't be disappointed.
- DonaldTee, Chino Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-21 2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode for the first time just over a year ago, 2 months later I wanted my own. A month after that I bought a Honda Shadow Deluxe (metallic silver). I love it and I love driving to work through the mountains everyday, it's so much fun.
- andy, elko, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-11 2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Based on reviews, I chose the 600 for my return to the saddle after many years exclusively in 4 wheel autos. This 600 proved to be a beautiful bike that has been easily controlled while its owner gained experience. It rides powerfully enough to enjoy the feel of cruising, casting a great shadow of bike and rider alongside the road. The guys and girls on the big cruisers view this as a "peer", because its appearance may disguise its ultimate lack of size. It's a wonderful bike for the street and the back roads. I do not recommmend it, however, if you are planning to carry passengers. I have felt uncomfortable with my wife hunched up behind me on such a small mass of metal. I also do not recommend it for the high speed interstate because of a lack of power at those ultra high highway speeds. I ride there with a fear of some speed crazed driver running up behind me with my small profile and small tail light. Other than those two things, I highly recommend the bike. Never a moment's trouble, but after a time, you'll want to move up in size and power. (I am eyeing the 1300 Retro).
- mike smith, memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-28 2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike based on the reviews on this page. Nice low seat so you can plant your feet firmly on the ground. Enough rumble to sound like a bigger and more expensive bike than this is. Nothing but "oohs and ahhs" from family and co-workers. HOWEVER, do not purchase this bike if you have little or no experience like I did, ESPECIALLY if you haven't taken a safety class in riding. This is not a good bike to "practice" on; low speed maneuvers (like the ones tested on for your license) are challenging for beginners. Take the class first, get your license, and then get this bike. You and your bike will be much happier for it.
- Steve, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: