Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD) reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

33 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

jim

waskom, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-10-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a great bike. I've done lots of city riding and trips 200 to 300 miles. This was great for a beginner, I'm not - 40 years of riding. I really enjoy riding this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Glenn

North Canton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2011-06-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Choosing this bike was one of the best decisions I ever made. 60-62 mpg. is wonderful, especially with the gas prices continually rising. I have had no problems whatsoever with the bike. Just keep up with the maintenance and this gem should last 20 years!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin

Ossian, Indiana

Reviewed on 2008-04-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After having a Rebel, this VLX is great for longer distances. The ride is good; 2-up riding is surprisingly good too. It looks great in the sun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Melton

Chickamauga, Georgia

Reviewed on 2008-03-07

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got this bike about 2 weeks ago. This is my first motorcycle but I have grown up on Honda dirt bikes, 3-wheelers, etc. (even rented scooters on vacation to ride in traffic). This bike is more than it seems. Sure, next to a 1300 and even a 750 it is smaller, but it has a lot of power. The 600cc engine is very powerful and MORE than enough to start out on. The whole layout of the bike is in one word: comfort. The swept back handlebars are perfect to learn on and are just comfortable. If you need to start out on a bike or want a nice cruiser to have for yourself, you don't need a 750; go with a VLX.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brandon Miller

Schofield Barracks, Hawaii

Reviewed on 2007-12-27

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded in my 2007 Triumph Daytona 675, which is a sport bike, for this entry level cruiser. And I do not regret it one bit. So comfortable, so sleek, so smooth. That legendary Honda quality and value kind of makes me miss my Civic. Anyway, this is the perfect bike for anyone starting out, or just looking for cheap, reliable transportation. I'm 20 years old, with 4 points on my license, but my insurance is $434 a year. Not too bad in my opinion. I would recommend Shadows to anyone, regardless of age, experience, etc! They're just great bikes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ralph

Tulsa, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2007-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD)

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased this bike about a year ago after not having one for almost 30 years, I ride it daily rain or shine. It handles very nice for its size. However I would recommend that it have a 5 speed, when you get up around 70 the bike has a tendency to rev higher than it should. It is a perfect starter bike for anyone getting back to riding or a beginner. It combines a good power to weight ratio and good acceleration. It handles well in the rain as well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

SSG Arthur Osvold

Killeen, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am in the Army, and busted up my back a couple of years ago. I wasn't too sure whether or not I would be able to get back on a bike. I bought my new 2007 Honda VLX less than a week ago, I don't want to get off. My wife makes jokes about whether or not I am going to come home. I totally love the bike, it handles well. Even though I would like to see a 5th gear, the four speed transmission is set up quite nicely. I recommend this bike to anyone who hasn't been on in a while, or is just starting out.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave in DC

Washington, District of Columbia

Reviewed on 2007-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD)

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The VLX is a great bike for anybody who wants to get into cruising, and after 8 years away from cycling, I felt it was a good purchase for getting back in the saddle. With the requisite style and power to be a serious bike, and manageable weight and size it is perfect for establishing good fundamentals. Smaller bikes may seem too confining and toy-like, but much bigger compromises control for a beginner. Let's not forget, 30 years ago, a 600cc bike was a monster! The bike is stubborn in cold weather, and requires more choke than should be expected from a modern bike. The handling is great up until about 70, when the bike starts to shake, which leads to the oft-heard criticism that the bike is not suitable for highway touring. My experience says that the speed is less a problem for long distance rides than the diminutive gas tank (2.9 gallons). The brakes are solid, the handling is smooth, the suspension is sound and the acceleration is respectable. I would also recommend the bike for short or petite riders, since you would be hard pressed to find a lower seat height without spending custom cash on custom bikes, and a dry weight bike that can be righted by just about any grown up. If you decide to step up after learning the fundamentals the Honda Cruiser line offers a natural evolution for whatever level you feel ready for, from the modest jump to a Shadow 750, to a VTX 1800 (both with similar styling). Another bonus of graduating to a larger bike is that once you move to a more mainstream engine size and would be ready to invest more in your bike as a long term purchaser, you will find your options for customization increase almost infinitely. Still, no better starter bike out there.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andy

Montgomery, Illinois

Reviewed on 2007-07-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Sheesh... where do I start? First of all, can you say 'chrome everything'. I've actually been blinded by my own chrome a few times... how cool is that! It took a minute for the silver metallic to grow on me, but I'm down with it now. The ride is like butter, just smooth and flowing. The stock hand controls are in a very comfy position although I'm gonna be changin bars, risers, grips, and mirrors to roll with my 'Maltese Cross' theme. The foot controls are the only thing I have a problem with. I'm tall and skinny and got big paddle feet. At it's most extreme adjustment, I can't get my toe under the shifter. I've been shifting with the side of my foot, and around some left turns I can't shift. I'm workin out a way to move the foot controls forward 3 inches, and tilt them back 30 degrees. Performance... yes, I have to use the bathroom more often. The very first upgrade, and perhaps the only one related to function that's gonna happen, was drag pipes. Loud pipes save lives, and also allow you to hear your engine rpm's at highway speeds. Other than that nothing needs to be done. All the baddness is already built in. The seat is very nice... and puts me in the 'ultra low and cool' position. These bikes are cooler than any hog. Lighter, reliable, better mileage, ride better, look better and I didn't get jacked in the showroom. AND... like the other dude said... it literally does pay for itself.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Julio

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-06-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe (VT600CD)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just purchased my VLX a week ago and I am loving it. It has the feel of a bigger bike and sounds great. Perhaps in the future I'll move up to something bigger, but for now I will enjoy my very own hog.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 33 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: