Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Motorcycles Reviews (70)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-06-14 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started with the bigger bikes 800+ CCs for my first bike. In fact I have traded up quite quickly on my bikes, 800 to 1200 in a matter of months and have not gotten a bike below 1200 since. Had to ride a 250 cc for my motorcycle safety class and was so uncomfortable and had a hard time even controlling something that small with no power that I was convinced that anything below 500 CC was dangerous to even be on the road. So when my girlfriend wanted to buy a bike I tried very hard to talk her out of buying a 250 cc bike. Convinced her, but could not find a 500/800 CC bike that was small enough for her since she wanted her first one to be low enough to touch flat footed and she is 5 foot 2 inches tall. She even talked about buying a trike instead. Then I saw this bike and was convinced she would love its size, power, and look. I was right! Took her to see it and she fell in love and said that this is was her bike, this is the one for her. Since she did not have her MC license yet I had to ride it home from the dealership for her. Half-way home I was convinced that this was the best starter bike you could ever hope for. It has enough power for the highway, is comfortable to ride on, reasonably priced, and best of all is easy to control. Now, I even take it out for a spin every once in a while (I use the reason that I have to make sure everything is running right but really it is just a fun little bike to ride around town on). And, best of all my girlfriend is no longer intimidated by the thought of riding a motorcycle, in fact she is hooked and we get to spend quality time riding our bikes together. This bike is so comfortable to her that she is already talking about giving this one to her 16 year old son in a year and trading up. I have to say it will probably be a bigger Honda Shadow since both of us have been so impressed with their performance for my girlfriend and my other female friends that ride the 800 CC Shadow line of bikes. They just seem to be new rider friendly and that is a good thing when getting started riding motorcycles is intimidating enough as it is.
- Mark Krug, Independence, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-18 1999 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 1999 Shadow VLX Deluxe a month ago. It is the best bike I have ever had. I am a pretty big guy and it takes me down the road really well. There is nothing I can put down about the bike for I have ridden many different bikes and this by far is a A++ Bike!!!
- Mark Foster, Kent, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-19 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great combination of style as well as performance. I bought it used a little over a year ago with 7K miles on it. I started to learn how to ride street after having a few years of riding dirt bikes under my belt. Once I learned what the bike was capable of I went ahead and bobbed it out. Now it is about 20 lbs. lighter and really gets up! This bike gives a comfortable ride with good gas mileage (~65 mpg) while still giving me all the power I need to get out of the way or just get out onto the open road. I cannot say enough good things about this bike. The 4-gear tranny is just fine by me. I don't see why this bike would even need a 5th gear. I am enjoying putting miles on my bike with just regular maintenance, chain lube, oil changes, keeping the tires up to pressure spec, etc. It is a GREAT BIKE for exploring your wild side; at least for the average beginner.
- Ronny, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-25 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay guys, I am 6ft 2in and 275. I ride 100 miles to work each way on my Shadow. I run on Interstate 75. Yes, the bike will carry big boys. Yes, I also have a 79 Goldwing. I like the sporster style ride of the Shadow. I get 42 miles to the gallon on average at 78 miles per hour. AND YES, the seat IS a PAIN in the butt. Definitely get a upgrade seat for it, mine has 8100 miles on it. I put 4200 miles on it the first year I had it which was 2005. I got mine new then and have loved having it. Mustang makes a great seat for it and vance hines make a great set of pipes.
- al , forsyth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-06 1999 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike two months ago. It is my first REAL bike, and I love it. It is easy to ride and low maintenence so far. I hope it gives me many years of pleasure and fun in the sun here in Florida.
- Dan, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-18 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In May of 2005, I got an opportunity to buy this bike from a friend. It only had 2500 miles on it; the price was right and the bike looked GREAT. I had not ridden for 30 years, I rode for a little over a month to get my balance back; then took my wife who never rode before, and she loved it. We go for rides as often as we can and we both really enjoy this bike. Another neat thing is it took many years but it's great to hear my kids and grandchildren say that you're pretty cool! I would recommend this bike to anyone who is looking for a bike at a good price, rides good, and looks great. Ride Safe
- 53 year old rider, Carnegie, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-05 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my very first bike ever, I took the MSF riding course and luckily enough learned on a rebel. This bike handles very well, a little sluggish when it is cold, but adjust the idle up a bit, and let it warm up a min and you are riding fine. It has the look and feel of a harley, but not the cost. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a starter bike. Right now it is a commuter bike, and I tell you I've never wanted to go to work more now than ever :-).
- Thomas, Hales Corners, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-02 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my first bike a day before I turned 35. That was one week ago. I went into the bike shop with my brother, sat on a few bikes, was intimidated at first by the 600's and wanted something smaller. The owner assured me that a 600 would be perfect to learn to ride on. I knew I wanted a cruiser. So I went toward the Honda Shadows. I sat on the VLX and fell in love. I spent an hour just sitting on the bike and getting a feel for it. Another hour later, I was a proud owner! My first bike! What made the deal even sweeter was that the whole time we all assumed I was looking at a 2005. When it came time to purchase, we found it was a 2003 that had been sitting in the wherehouse all this time. One of the guys at the wherehouse pulled it, mistaking it for an '05. Not only did I get an'03, but a brand spankin' new '03 with only 1 mile registered on it! Two days later, I get a short lesson from big bro in a parking lot. I quickly caught on and found that for a beginner, the bike is quite easy to handle. Two more rides later and I was on the road! I love my Shadow and plan to keep it for a while! I'll be taking my MSF class so that I will know how to ride safely on the road. But for now, scootin' around town is just fine.
- Stephanie Green, Mountain View, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-25 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm new to riding, only rode dirt bikes as a kid. I started off with a Honda Rebel 250 about two months ago and it was a nice starter bike but was missing the power I wanted. The Honda Shadow is a great solid bike. I love it. My wife and I love cruising on it and I commute to work on it also. I love all the chrome, the sound when you take off, and the seat height is very comfortable, it makes me feel like I'm sitting on a fatboy. This is a great bike all around.
- Lewis Jackson, Racine, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-27 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Honda VLX 600 Deluxe has been a perfect bike for me to start riding again after a 20 year layoff. The kids are grown and it's time to have some fun again! People constantly stop me to congratulate me on how the bike looks. Honda's combination of good looks, perfect quality (the bike has only been in the shop for routine maintenance!), and superb reliability make this a perfect bike to get started with. Not that a 5 speed and more cc's wouldn't improve this bike, but it does everything I ask it to. A new Honda VTX 1300 is coming up next!
- Mike G., Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-23 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After two Kawasaki bike's and one was a Vulcan and then a Harley for five years. I found the bike that will run well and get me where I'm going. I don't feel beat to death with vibration when I get there either. It's a very good bike and I didn't have to spend an arm and leg to get it, like the Harley I had.
- Nelson Brown, Muskogee, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-16 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my VLX Deluxe new in 2000. It was my first bike, and at 600cc's it was a little intimidating. Being only 5'3" tall, seat height was a major deciding factor for me. This bike allowed me to flatfoot it at stoplights, and though the front end seemed a little heavy and the long wheelbase took a little getting used to, it was a great bike to start out on. I found the bike comfortable for some medium-range touring, after buying a windshield, saddlebags, and a backrest. The gas tank capacity is small, but since it's not really a tourer I didn't getting off every 120 miles or so to fill up and stretch my legs. As far as reliability, never any problems. Took a little coaxing for cold mornings, but never failed to start and keep running to my destination. Performance wise, it didn't have tons of power or speed, but as an intro into the world of motorcycling it was plenty to cut my teeth on. I'd highly recommend the bike for inexperienced, shorter riders, especially those that want their first bike to be big enough for the highway. Lots of chrome! Enjoy!
- JD, Green Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-30 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, and so far it's been great. The only disadvantage is that it takes 10-15 minutes to warm up on cold mornings.
- Brian, Fort Walton Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-26 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife rides a VLX 600. She has the same problem. Most of the time it has to run about 3 minutes before it is ready to go. I have talked to other riders of the 600 and they all have the same problem. I guess they are just cold natured. Other than that it is a great bike.
- joe, Easley, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-22 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It has been a little more than a year with this bike & I still like it. Some folks just don't get it! This is not my first bike{read the review smooooth} nor am I a novice rider, just a guy who appreciates a quality ride. I just got back from a short 60 mile ride doing @ 80 mph all the way with a smooth ride all the way! In town it is nimble & pleasing to other riders. Some times I look at the new bikes & the bigger bikes, untill the next ride & then realize this is all the bike needed to enjoy the open road!
- shytownbb, Redding, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-27 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it. I took a class and after trying several bikes, I decided on the VLX. It has plenty of power for commuting. I took my wife for a ride and it carried us both fine with no problems. I put 1000 miles on it the first month because it is so much fun to ride. It handles really well and I like having only 4 gears to shift through. It is definately cold blooded but runs great after a few minutes warm up. I would recommend it as a first bike to anyone who is a little shorter in stature like me, 5'9". If you are much taller it may be too small (seat is close to front)
- John Jay, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-19 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike ever. I'm so glad that I chose it. It's a 2000 model and I've put over 16000 miles on it. It is a great starter bike for men and women. If by any chance I have to have another bike it will be the vlx.
- Shannon, North Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-03 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I AM A RIDER THAT HAS BEEN AWAY FROM RIDING FOR 25 YRS BUT WHEN I SAW THIS BIKE I FELL IN LOVE WITH IT. HANDLES GREAT IN TURNS AND STOPPING AND FOR ME PLENTY OF POWER AFTER ALL I didn't BUY IT TO RACE. IT IS COLD HEARTED BUT BY THE TIME I GET READY IT IS READY. RIDING IT ON THE HWY IS GREAT AND AFTER ADDING A WINDSHIELD IT WAS EVEN BETTER. I RIDE WITH ALL MY HARLEY FRIENDS AND THEY ALL SAY IT IS BEATIFUL AND THEY DO LIKE THE WAY IT HANDLES VERRRY SMOOTH. SO YES I WOULD SAY IT GETS FIVE STARS FROM ME.
- KAREN, KANSAS CITY, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-14 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It's my first one, and in 4 days I have already put 250 miles in it. I have gotten a lot of compliments. I even got one while I was at the dealer. I hadn't even started it up for the first time. I just finished the paperwork and was getting my helmet on and some blond was saying she liked my bike and started asking me questions like "do you like it", "Is it fast enough for you?" I had to tell he I just bought it and haven't tried it yet.
- Johnny, Shakopee, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-13 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Unlike some of the other viewers, I've had my bike since the beginning of June and I just broke it in...335 miles. I bought it to commute to work with and got transferred to another job with no parking, so thats the only reason. The bike handles really well in the city and on the highway. At my union hall, I parked it with all the Harleys and no one knew it was a Honda right away. For me, its perfect for now. I know someday I'll upgrade, but the insurance is affordable and it gets me to where I'm going. It's really sharp looking (I got the Pearl Blue) and I've gotten tons of positive feedback about it. Well worth the investment and again, very affordable. I get about 52 MPG.
- 43 Year Old Beginner, Revere, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-24 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent starter bike. A bit small though...thank goodness I didn't get the Rebel. I've been riding for 5 weeks and raked up almost 2000 miles. The only problem is that I foresee a trade up in about 6 months. Great for city driving, a little scary on the highways. When speeds get up to about 65+ the motor strains a bit.
- Brandon P, Rockwall, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-17 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just put the first 1,000 miles on my new shadow VLX, and I am completely satisfied with everything about it. It is my first bike, don't know about all the others. This bike gives you a smooth ride, turn heads, has good acceleration, and as far as being a four speed, that's just one less gear to contend with. I think that you get much more than you pay for. Go for it!
- 55 year old grandpa, New Albany, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-10 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding for 18 years west/east coast crotch rockets to crusiers. This is a great bike for starting out on. Handling stooping are good. Power is ok have to wait for it to get there after 55-60 MPH. Corners good. Being on the east coast it's one problem is warming up it is cold blooded. On cold mornings would have to warm it up for ten min. I would call this a great comuter bike. I grew out of this rather quickly. Moving up to a vxt1300. I would recommend this bike to first timers and beginners.
- Rob, Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-09 1999 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 99 vlx dlx is, to me, an excellent bike. I've had mine for a year now, but its not the first vlx I've owned. I really like the 99 style better than the earlier models. the bike has plenty of power, excellent gas milage(on long rides, im getting about 55-60 mpg!!) I bought mine for 3500 bucks and it only had 3000 miles! hell of a good lookin bike for the money, and all sorts of add-ons you can purchase. I'd recommend to anyone to buy one of these bikes, new riders or experienced ones.
- Marc Lowery, Harrison, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-06 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding a long time. I ride with my friends who all own harleys. I have no problems keeping up with them on the highways. And I get just as many looks as they do. This bike is indeed one of the nicest I have owned. don't hesitate....go buy one.
- Carl, Akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: