Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles Reviews (36)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-11-10 1999 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I bought a new 1999 Honda Shadow VLX 600, well back in 1999. From the moment I took off from the dealerships lot, I knew that this was a perfect ride. I changed the stock mufflers and went with cobra drag pipes also rejeted the carb. It made a big difference in this little bike's performance (exellent sound from a 600). Highway ridin' ain't all that bad either. My wife and I together weigh in @ just a little over 300 pounds and we've had it in the mountains of West Virginia @ least 6 times. Very nice ride.
- david, mansfield, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-08 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first time I sat on this bike in the dealers showroom it fit like a glove. I tried different one but kept coming back to the 600. I've had it now for 5 years and have ridden all over the East coast and never seemed to get tired of riding it.On one trip we rode about 700 miles in one day. It just seems to stick to the road no matter the conditions. Usually gives around 65 mpg on regular. Never had any problems, and have only done normal maintance to it. The only problem I found in riding it is that on interstate riding its working to hard around 75 mph. On quality I have to give it a lower rating though due to the chrome started rusting within the first year.
- Bill Williams, Eutawville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-07 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have heard that this is a great starter bike for a small person but i am 6'1 200lbs and I feel very comfortable so for those bigger people who want to start riding this is the bike for you too.
- John, Carey, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-11 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of the most reliable, fun motorcycles on the planet. Mine had 6,000 miles when purchased 18 months ago and now has 23,000+ with no maintenance problems whatsoever. I use only AMSOIL 20W-50 V-Twin Synthetic Motorcycle Oil and consider it to be the best on the market.
- MOUNTAIN MAN, NEW BERN, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-06 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle, I've owned it now for over one year and I'm loving it. A dream has to come true, cause as a small child I always wanted to ride a cruiser. Loving the sound of the exhaust and the impressive amount of chrome(I even don't mind polishing it). As I am a short person (1,74m) this is the ideal bike for me, with a relaxing forward control an a position of the seat which couldn't be better. The only thing I had to get used to is that the speed of the machine is indicated in mph in large digits and kpm in small digits. In Holland everything is in kpm so that has taken me some time to get used to. I will have enormous fun with this bike.
- Toine , Veldhoven, Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-14 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike and i have only had it for 2 weeks and have put over 600 miles on it. I dont have any problems on long trips. I.E 200+ miles at a time. Only wish it had a bigger tank. I can go 150 miles and then I need to fuel up. Has plenty of power and rides like a dream. I looked at almost every bike in the 5 to 7,000 price range and this is by far the best bike out there for the money. I can't spend enough time on it. Lots of chrome from the factory and I get compliments on it all the time.
- Donald Ward, Silverstreet, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-10 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my very first street motorcycle. I was nervous for about 2 minutes. The bike feels light and easy and won't scare you if you hammer down the throttle. I will always remember the shadow 600 as the bike that gave me the passion to ride. I will buy a bigger bike later, and let my woman ride this one. There are numerous sites online that you can customize your shadow to almost look like a show bike/ chopper with bolt on parts. Quit thinking about it...just buy it ! it's one of the best things I ever did.
- Tim, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-09 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and i did not even expect to buy a bike at the time. When I saw it sitting in the show room i knew right then and there i had to have it. What really sold me was the sticker price, i could not believe that a bike that looked that good could cost so little. The ride is awsome and i simply love it. I agree it does have a slight vibration on high speeds but is not too bad. a great bike for anyone.
- Ryan , Belcourt, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is perfect for my wife. She is 4'11". She can ride my Harley but having her ride next to me on this bike has been wonderful.
- Dino, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-10 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike, so I wanted something with enough power that I wouldn't outgrow it too quickly, but small enough to feel confident on. It came down to a choice between a Yamaha VStar or the Honda Shadow, and the Shadow just seemed to fit me better. I can honestly say I don't think there is a better bike for a first time rider, especially if you're not a big person (I'm 5'8" and 120lbs). I've got a co-worker who's probably 5'2" who the same model (older year). We both LOVE it. The only reason I knocked it one star was the simple reason that, being a small bike, it is near impossible to find accessories for it, unless you buy straight from Honda. Small, soft saddlebags are available if you don't need to carry much, but I'd really rather have hard. In all, I think the headline sums it up: its a great commuter bike, with no problems so far.
- daniel, ventura, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-10 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike at a fantastic price. And for just a few hundred $$$ you can drastically, that is right I said drastically increase performance by adding aftermarket pipes, rejetting and a k&n airfilter. Before my vlx would cruise comfortably at 55. Now I cruise comfortably at 70 - 75. You decide....
- Chip, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-25 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently purchased a 2002 VLX after being out of the riding scene for 25 years. I was at a dealer looking at the Shadow 750's until the VLX caught my eye. That was it - I bought it! I've been riding it all summer and into the early fall. It's a great bike. Handles like a dream - extremely comfortable for long rides. The 4 speed is a bit of a pain and at speeds over 60mph you get a little vibration but other than that-I love this bike! I've added some chrome to mine, Cobra pipes, saddle bags and a few other goodies. I've attached a pic. Now tell me she's not a pretty sight!
- A.Berk, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-22 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just started riding this past year. I bought the VLX600 because I wasn't sure how big of a bike to get for my first one. The bike looks great and is fast for it's size. I'm 5'3" and 125 so it fits me nicely. I do wish it had the fifth gear. It's a little rough on bumps. Though I like this bike, I'm already looking for a bigger faster bike. I'm looking at the Kawasaki 800 Classic or Kawasaki 1500 Classic. Anyone out there could help me? I like the 800, but not crazy about the chain driven.
- Kim, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-28 2003 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not been on a bike in over 25 years so I was somewhat anxious about the size (600cc) and weight (450 lbs) of the Shadow VLX. After riding the bike over one weekend, I couldn't be happier with my purchase. It didn't take me long at all to get comfortable with the weight on stops and sharp curves. The 4-speed is just fine for the light cruising I do on the back roads. The Shadow rides smooth and handles very well. Most of all, I love the look. People are amazed when I tell them it's only a 600. I love all the chrome and the V-twin design. This bike looks much bigger than it is. To those concerned like me about getting back into biking, I would highly recommend this bike as a great entry back into cruising.
- Dave, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-10 2000 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been a dyed-in-the-wool Honda man for several years, but they just seem to keep making their products better all the time! I recently bought a new Shadow VLX 600, and was amazed at the features and maneuverability this little bike with an attitude really has! It is the perfect bike for the casual rider, easy to afford and maintain. I would recommend this bike to all!
- Tim, Morristown, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-04 2000 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street bike and I'm glad I got it. Handles great and power is Ok. Needs 10-15HP more. Also needs a 5 speed tranny. Can't keep up with my buddies on their sportbikes. They don't wait long. I wouldn't want any more weight for back country rides. We ride mostly windy roads and it corners super! At 80 mph is where I stop tho!
- tom, portland, or

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-13 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I simply love my 2002 Shadow VLX. I read many of the reviews on the VLX while surfing the net, including the one's here. This is my 1st motorcycle. When I first saw it in the showroom, I drooled! You wont find a better looking bike at that price. I wanted a beginner's bike that wouldn't be embarrassing to be seen on, and all I get is complements and questions like,"Is that a Harley?" People are floored when I tell them it's a Honda and costs only $5000.00 new. I have a 29" inseam yet both feet are firmly planted on the pavement with room to spare. It handles like a dream. I get a little depressed when I pull up to the garage for the night, I just want to keep going! I have no problem with the 4 gear tranny, I can pass cars on the parkways easily (bike starts buzzing at 70 MPH, but that's ok). The bike seems happiest when I take it out to eastern Long Island on the twisties doing 55-65 MPH. It handles curves very well. My only complaint about the bike is that it doesn't take bumps as well as I would like. But otherwise, I have nothing but praise for this great bike.
- Jim Conde, New York City, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-11 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After Jay from DothanPowerSports from Dothan ,Alabama and I have completely redone my 2001 VLX it has turned some heads and really performs very well. I have submitted 2 pics to show you!! Oh by the way my Cobra drag pipes has an awsome sound!
- Jim Lipsomb, Newville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-10 2000 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rate this bike exceptional, why? I have one, one of the smallest I have, but has quite a Punch! Jay (from DothanPowersports of Alabama) and myself has made my bike a project!! It is fully chromed out, I have Cobra drag pipes, soon to have a supercharger on, the looke we have made this bike and the performance we have got in it, has made even the true born Harley owners come to look and hear this outstanding bike!! It is not a "sissy" bike! It is powerful and handles great!! I will keep on standing firm on my VLX!!!!!!!!
- Jim Lipscomb, Newville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-29 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay, I lied, I have a '93 VLX with MANY miles on it. If you're thinking of buying one, DO IT. Very reliable. I've been riding for years and it is a great bike. I would urge a possible carb. re-jet....she goes like a bat. I may buy a new bike this year (750 Spirit?)because I need more power and another gear. But she always starts, so I just hop on & go.
- A woman rider, small town, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-19 1999 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the Shadow in September right after taking the MSF class and what a great ride! I have put in many miles without any complaints. The only thing I would like to change would be to add a fifth gear. I have added a windshield, backrest, and saddlebags. Thanks to the ease of operating this bike, I'm now looking to buy a larger bike in the spring. This will make the perfect bike for my wife after she takes the MSF course.
- Matt Parks, Lawrence, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-16 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just had to add my 2 cents worth, since I see mostly male comments. I bought my VLX in 1999, and have had the breeze through my hair ever since. I have to say that this is a great ladies bike. Enough power to keep up with the boys, quick, and a sharp looking bike. After adding some Vance and Hines pipes, I don't want to give it up. This bike gets some attention.
- Redd Bikerf, Aurora, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-13 2002 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took the MSF course on September 14th and bought the VLX the next weekend! It was highly recommended by a fellow worker. He was right on the money! This is a great bike for a beginner, especially me, since I have never ridden a motorcycle before September. The seat height, weight, and performance is perfect for someone new to motorcycle riding. I am planning on installing a Memphis Shades windshield in the near future and perhaps some saddle bags. Otherwise, this bike looks and runs great. The only reason that I gave it a 4 star rating is the missing fifth gear! When is Honda going to put a 5 speed transmission on the VLX?
- Pascal Eason, Pleasant Hill, MO USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-01 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike after a year of riding and I am impressed. I bought my 600vlx with almost 500 miles on it and someone had already put some beautiful sounding jardine pipes on it. I took my endorsement test with this bike and it handled beautifully. The only word of warning I would have for future owners is -- if you want high-end speed this isn't the bike for you. I could only top mine out at 95 with my chin on the tank. But hey, I bought it for cruising and that's what this bike does best. Not only does it feel comfortable to ride but it feels safer also. I feel more that I'm riding in it rather than on it. I lost count of the compliments I have gotten and being on a shoestring budget this bike's price was right up my alley. "Ride on"
- Doug Myers, Niles, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-14 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All my family has always owned H-D, even my grandfather, so when I bought this VT600C I was almost disowned. Well I did not have the cash for a Harley and after riding for 3 weeks now I am glad I bought this bike. My mom actually has gotten to ride the 600 and told me that this was the first cycle she rode that she could actually identify objects in the mirrors. Harleys shake a lot. Grandpa is still pissed but at least he told me that it was a damm good looking bike, but not a thumping Harley.
- Allen Acker, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: