Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Shadow VLX reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

36 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

John

Carey, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Shadow VLX

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have heard that this is a great starter bike for a small person but i am 6'1 200lbs and I feel very comfortable so for those bigger people who want to start riding this is the bike for you too.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

david

mansfield, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Honda Shadow VLX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My wife and I bought a new 1999 Honda Shadow VLX 600, well back in 1999. From the moment I took off from the dealerships lot, I knew that this was a perfect ride. I changed the stock mufflers and went with cobra drag pipes also rejeted the carb. It made a big difference in this little bike's performance (exellent sound from a 600). Highway ridin' ain't all that bad either. My wife and I together weigh in @ just a little over 300 pounds and we've had it in the mountains of West Virginia @ least 6 times. Very nice ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Williams

Eutawville, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2005-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda Shadow VLX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The first time I sat on this bike in the dealers showroom it fit like a glove. I tried different one but kept coming back to the 600. I've had it now for 5 years and have ridden all over the East coast and never seemed to get tired of riding it.On one trip we rode about 700 miles in one day. It just seems to stick to the road no matter the conditions. Usually gives around 65 mpg on regular. Never had any problems, and have only done normal maintance to it. The only problem I found in riding it is that on interstate riding its working to hard around 75 mph. On quality I have to give it a lower rating though due to the chrome started rusting within the first year.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MOUNTAIN MAN

NEW BERN, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2005-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Honda Shadow VLX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is one of the most reliable, fun motorcycles on the planet. Mine had 6,000 miles when purchased 18 months ago and now has 23,000+ with no maintenance problems whatsoever. I use only AMSOIL 20W-50 V-Twin Synthetic Motorcycle Oil and consider it to be the best on the market.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Toine

Veldhoven, Netherlands

Reviewed on 2003-08-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Shadow VLX

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is my first motorcycle, I've owned it now for over one year and I'm loving it. A dream has to come true, cause as a small child I always wanted to ride a cruiser. Loving the sound of the exhaust and the impressive amount of chrome(I even don't mind polishing it). As I am a short person (1,74m) this is the ideal bike for me, with a relaxing forward control an a position of the seat which couldn't be better. The only thing I had to get used to is that the speed of the machine is indicated in mph in large digits and kpm in small digits. In Holland everything is in kpm so that has taken me some time to get used to. I will have enormous fun with this bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donald Ward

Silverstreet, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Shadow VLX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This was my first bike and i have only had it for 2 weeks and have put over 600 miles on it. I dont have any problems on long trips. I.E 200+ miles at a time. Only wish it had a bigger tank. I can go 150 miles and then I need to fuel up. Has plenty of power and rides like a dream. I looked at almost every bike in the 5 to 7,000 price range and this is by far the best bike out there for the money. I can't spend enough time on it. Lots of chrome from the factory and I get compliments on it all the time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-07-10

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Shadow VLX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This was my very first street motorcycle. I was nervous for about 2 minutes. The bike feels light and easy and won't scare you if you hammer down the throttle. I will always remember the shadow 600 as the bike that gave me the passion to ride. I will buy a bigger bike later, and let my woman ride this one. There are numerous sites online that you can customize your shadow to almost look like a show bike/ chopper with bolt on parts. Quit thinking about it...just buy it ! it's one of the best things I ever did.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan

Belcourt, North Dakota

Reviewed on 2003-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Shadow VLX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and i did not even expect to buy a bike at the time. When I saw it sitting in the show room i knew right then and there i had to have it. What really sold me was the sticker price, i could not believe that a bike that looked that good could cost so little. The ride is awsome and i simply love it. I agree it does have a slight vibration on high speeds but is not too bad. a great bike for anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dino

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Shadow VLX

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This bike is perfect for my wife. She is 4'11". She can ride my Harley but having her ride next to me on this bike has been wonderful.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

daniel

ventura, California

Reviewed on 2003-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda Shadow VLX

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This was my first bike, so I wanted something with enough power that I wouldn't outgrow it too quickly, but small enough to feel confident on. It came down to a choice between a Yamaha VStar or the Honda Shadow, and the Shadow just seemed to fit me better. I can honestly say I don't think there is a better bike for a first time rider, especially if you're not a big person (I'm 5'8" and 120lbs). I've got a co-worker who's probably 5'2" who the same model (older year). We both LOVE it. The only reason I knocked it one star was the simple reason that, being a small bike, it is near impossible to find accessories for it, unless you buy straight from Honda. Small, soft saddlebags are available if you don't need to carry much, but I'd really rather have hard. In all, I think the headline sums it up: its a great commuter bike, with no problems so far.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 36 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: