Honda Touring Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (343)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Touring Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Touring Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2019-08-31 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We're very happy with this motorcycle/trike. However, l would advise anyone considering buying a trike to absolutely. Test drive it 1st, & if they won't allow it. Then you should just walk away & continue w/ your search.
- Trace Wetzel, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-09-14 1970 Honda Gold Wing Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am lucid for a Honda Gold Wing from 1970 to 1989
- Arnt, Revetal

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-05 2012 Honda GL1800 Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very disappointing that the manufacturing was returned to Japan. I would not have purchased if I had discovered this prior to buying. I am very pleased overall with the handling, reliability, comfort, GPS system, audio system and all the options that are either standard or optional. Although I mentioned the handling is excellent, it does have one very nasty quirk. At around 40 miles per hour, the front end wants to wobble and if you hit a bump in the road that wobble is extremely severe. I have contacted a Dealer and it was inspected. The results of the inspection was very disappointing as I was told that everything is tight and there is nothing wrong with tires or any other visual problem. The Dealer Mechanic agreed that it has the wobble (Death Wobble is my term for it) but says Honda has no plan to prevent it and that I am just to hold on tight to the handlebars. That doesn't sound like a solution to me. I just wonder if some of the totalled bikes I've seen were caused by this?
- Anonymous, Akron Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-08-15 2011 Honda Ruckus (NPS50) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am an older female who has ridden motorcycles 50cc to 1200c's all my life, but in later years wanted a lightweight scooter to putz around the back roads on and this fit the bill perfectly. I gave it a 4 on comfort because the seat could use more padding,and under seat storage would be nice from the factory but everything else is 5 star. I am very happy with acceleration. I can get around 42 mph. on the flats. It climbs inclines fine although you slow down but it gets you up the hill. The dealership in Knoxville was super! In fact I went back in a week and bought another one for my other half. Clint was super and got me a great deal with no hassle or hidden charges. I plan to keep my Ruck stock for the most part. It rides great the way it is. Get one before Honda stops making them - it's a classic!
- Kim Langdale, strawberry plains, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-04-12 2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before the GL1800, I had the Honda Shadow - the VT750 which I wrote a review on, on this site as well. In 2011 I traded that in with something like 80,000 on the clock - but still running like new just like it came off the show room floor yesterday - for the GL1800. don't be fooled by the GL1800's size and weight, once it gets rolling. It seems to lose its heavy feel when standing still and corners and handles very nice with the grace of a ballerina while staying very firmly planted on the ground through corners that would make other bike rides have the hair on the back of there neck stand on end. Surprising really as this is my first GL1800 I have ever owned and it handles so light and nimble that it seems to be half of the weight that it really is. If you're seriously into touring, this is the bike to get hands down. don't let its flashy looks fool you into thinking that is a only a highway queen. I have taken my GL1800 on a 6-week, 28,000 km. touring ride through the Yukon, Alaska and North West Territories. If you think the roads are nice up there, think again. Many of the roads in the Yukon and the North West Territories are just plain gravel roads - sharp gravels that eat tires for breakfast and pot holes that you can lose a bike in! Rough...wow some, well many are so rough that the fillings in your teeth will fall out. The road's better suited to a 4-wheel drive truck then anything else. But this is what life is like up there. When it rains, then it's mud - sometimes ankle deep mud. These type of roads are the norm up there. Paved roads do not last through the harsh winters with temps dropping into the -40's and -50's for 6+ months out of the year. Again, the GL1800 excelled and handled all this in a exemplary fashion as it now became an over grown dirt bike must of the time. In all I think I did something in the area of about 3,500 or more km's up north on nothing but dirt and gravel and ankle deep mud when it rained, which was often enough. All this was done riding 2-up and loaded down to the point that I was well over the max weight limits set out in the manual. I know I was way over. I stopped at a truck weigh scale wondering just how much we weighed in at the beginning of the 6-week trip. I was well over the max. Then came the flash flood in the bad lands of Alberta that turned the small country highway I was on into a river that was near knee deep for a very long ways, and the GL1800 handled this like a real trooper. Then came the tornado, something I have never seen first hand and never experienced in my life. Now it turned into how fast can I get out of here, as there was no place to pull off, no place to hide. It was run for it, or end up becoming a part of it as in barreled right at me. With 2-up and well over weight, the GL1800 reached a speed of near 200 kmh. with ease and still had enough reserve power to take it beyond 200 and then some! The whole time it was well planted on the ground and under full control and did so with comfort. I on the other hand was nearing the point of having to need a fresh pair so shorts while staring into the eye of this monster tornado. I was doing very near 200 kmh. and being hit with leaves, twigs and other debris that was caught up and being thrown around by this killer which was now closing off my only way out its path of destruction. In a nutshell, it's a highway queen that knows how to have fun in the dirt and mud and has no problem going places that other bikes would fear to tread. For the serious touring rider this is the only bike you will ever need or want.
- Lloyd Blazs, Harrison Hotsprings, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-01-12 2001 Honda CB750 Nighthawk Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll probably never sell this bike. It's a solid all-around bike for people who'd rather ride than wrench all the time. PROS: Comfortable 1-up/2-up, easy to work on yourself, cheap to buy/insure, pretty fast, handles very well at speed, extremely reliable and no-maintenance hydraulic valves. CONS: Almost useless rear drum brake, so-so gas mileage (38 mpg. mixed city/hwy.), heavy for a 750cc @ ~500lbs wet, shifter is a bit clunky for a Honda and odd size bias ply tires. If you can find a '91-03 Nighthawk 750 in decent shape, buy it. It'll do just about anything - commute, tour, canyon carve - and won't ask for much in return. I wouldn't recommend it for a first bike because of the weight, but it'd be a perfect first "big" bike.
- bc, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-09-03 2012 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a very nice motorcycle. I moved up from a Suzuki C50T (which I loved) but the Wing offers everything and more. Highway cruising is more comfortable, plenty of speed, nice radio and suspension. I was worried about the size of the bike, being only 5'7" but the bike is very balanced and I can handle with ease. I enjoy it and ride every chance I get.
- Coach 44, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-12-10 2012 Honda Gold Wing Airbag (GL18BM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great bike. This is my first Gold Wing and it has met every expectation. Having owned a Honda Custom 450 and a Suzuki C50T (805) Boulevard, this is a "major" step up. The bike is very smooth and easier to handle with its size. At 5'-7", I was concerned about my footing, but it is very easy to manage and thanks for reverse. I cannot wait to hit the highway for a long trip.
- C-Money, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-16 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPNA Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2008 pear white Gold Wing on Sept. 15, 2012 and it's a great bike. I've only had it for one day but the ride home from the dealer was great. Thanks Joe for all your help.
- Richard, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-12 2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The engine is smooth and powerful with major power available at any engine speed. The throttle is a bit sensitive at lower speeds but not unacceptably so. Handling and braking are quite good and the bike is stable even in significant crosswinds. The weight does show up at walking speeds and the electric reverse is a life saver when backing uphill. Storage space available is phenomenal. With the addition of the taller windshield and air wings, air management is near perfect. The seat is good and my wife loves the rear seat but the passenger backrest leans too far back. For my size/weight, more outboard support would be desirable in the driver's seat and I may switch to an aftermarket seat. The suspension could be more compliant to smooth tar strips. Overall, we love it and would buy it again.
- George, Waverly, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-01 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPNA Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Turn on the music, turn off your stress, and become one with the road. This bike has an amazing capability to give the rider everything you can imagine. It is a steady ride, has amazing response on tight turns and comfort that is second to none. Take it on a long ride along Hwy 1 or park at the grocery store. The bike turns heads and out come the smiles. Every season is GoldWing season. With the power and smoothness of this Honda, you will never want to ride any other bike again.
- Rider, Westlake Village, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-06 2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is super smooth and comfortable, performs well and has decent ground clearance in turns. The navi, cb, and audio work seemlessly together for simpler operation than you might think. The switch housings put most of the controls at your fingertips. Stock lighting is more than enough as far as I am concerned. Air management is great with the help of airwings or similar. The aerodynamics are very stable at speed. Handling is so light and nimble when the bike is moving that you forget how much it weighs, however it will remind you at parking lot speeds, (a small price to pay for everything else the bike offers). The engine is in a class by itself with it's smoothness and the quality of its power delivery. The engine coupled with the handling characteristics combine for a superior riding experience.
- Dean F, Bear, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-06 2009 Honda Gold Wing Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is super smooth and comfortable, performs well, and has decent ground clearance in turns. The navi, cb, and audio work seemlessly together for simpler operation than you might think. The switch housings put most of the controls at your fingertips. Stock lighting is more than enough as far as I am concerned. Air management is great with the help of airwings or similar. The aerodynamics are very stable at speed. Handling is so light and nimble when the bike is moving that you forget how much it weighs, however it will remind you at parking lot speeds, (a small price to pay for everything else the bike offers). The engine is in a class by itself with its smoothness and the quality of its power delivery. The engine coupled with the handling characteristics combine for a superior riding experience.
- Dean F., Bear, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-01 2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great motorcycle. I previously owned a 1994 'Wing, but the improvements in ride and comfort in the '10 model are impressive. It's a great bike and I do not believe if anyone rides one, if they are honest, will be disappointed.
- Doug , Clinton, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-11 2012 Honda Gold Wing Airbag (GL18BM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2012 Gold Wing looks slightly different, but it's basically the same as it has been since 2001. I have owned seven Gold Wings since the first new GL1000 I bought in 1975. That was a four cylinder naked bike, but was an amazing advance in motorcycle engines. The 2012 still has the same 1832 cc six cylinder engine that is the heart of this great Honda motorcycle. I paid about $2,400 for that first Gold Wing brand new and now the base model lists for nearly ten times that at $23,199. I traded a 2009 ST1300 ABS with just under 10,000 miles on the odometer. I live in hot, humid Savannah, Georgia and the ST just throws too much heat onto your legs in warm weather. But I miss the smoother shifting transmission and compact feel of the ST. It's much more fun to ride than the Gold Wing, but the Wing is more comfortable. I enjoy having cruise control, stereo, the extra storage capacity, and the sound of that powerful six cylinder engine, but I miss the sportiness of the ST. The new Gold Wing has two tone paint for a different look and different saddle bags with a center tail light instead of lights on the bags. Supposedly better wind protection from the fairing, and supposedly a more comfortable seat, but so far I can't tell the difference. I'll have to wait until I have an opportunity to go on a longer ride to see if the seat is actually more comfy. The 2005 I had was the most comfortable seat of any bike I've owned. I rode nearly 1,000 miles on two separate days one week apart on that bike. I was tired, but my rear wasn't sore. Also the 2012 Wing has a better suspension according to Honda. It does seem like a softer ride, but I can't tell a difference in handling yet. Overall, I like the new look just because it looks different than previous models. It's still basically the same bike with a few more standard features than before. It isn't nearly as hot to ride as my ST was because of the fairing and because the engine sits lower. I'll have to get used to riding a barge again. It's not as much fun to ride as the ST, but a lot more comfortable for long trips.
- Tom Rash, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-10 2008 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcyle (5+ years on a 400 cc maxi-scooter, though). I was blown away by the ease of operation. Slow speed handling takes some getting used to, but at highway speeds the Wing handles as well as the scooter. The handlebars are just slightly too far front for 100% comfort, so I will have to extend them back about 1 to 1.5 inches at some point. The stereo is awesome. GPS is adequate although I understand there may be no map upgrades available, which may eventually be a problem. i highly recommend this bike!
- Brad, Glenmoore, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-04 2009 Honda Gold Wing Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 2009 GL-1800 Gold Wing with comfort and audio package in September, 2010 from a dealership in Nebraska. I got a nice trade-in for my 2010 Honda 1300 Interstate and trailered the new Gold Wing back to my home in Colorado the same day. I am 68 years old and found the Gold Wing very easy to ride and control, even after almost 5,000 miles in every type of weather.
- Dr. Roger S. Stasiak, Pueblo West, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-21 2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is absolutely incredible! I've had crotch rockets and cruisers, and neither come anywhere close to this bike. The bike is very comfortable, and it handles like a dream. I can honestly say I love this bike! You have to try one, you'll definitely be impressed.
- My 1st Goldwing, Merrillville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-16 2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Wing. I wish I would have got this bike four Harleys ago. The staff is great and made this a great purchase. This is the perfect bike it rides like a sport bike only it's fat. If you are looking for a great ride, try it, you will love it!
- ken jenkins, Archer, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-28 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 05 Anniversary model, which I purchased used March, 2009 and it currently has 30k on it. The cremey-smooth engine loves to travel and remains all-around comfortable day-after-day. Only lack of adjustable ergo's (bars/pegs/seat) and want for about 20 more hp keep it from a perfect 5-star rating across-the-board. The handling is the true surprise! Ease of turn-in, steady tracking, and stellar manuverability due to sport-bike aluminum frame and low center-of-gravity (flat 6 design/engine placement) make this a true "sport-tourer" despite the luggage and large fairing. The only limitation is a rider's abilities! Nothing gone wrong in the first 30k. This is highly recommended.
- Gary Klavans, Silver Spring, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-21 2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just wanted to tell everyone that is interested in buying a new motorcycle that after owning a 2009 Ultra Classic Harley and going for a test ride on a 2010 GoldWing, there is no comparison. The GoldWing is a far better handling bike. It has way more power and is honestly a dream to ride. I have been riding bikes for 32 years now and I only wish I had ridden a GoldWing years ago. It is by far the best motorcycle I have ever ridden. By the way I bought the Goldwing and will never go back to a Harley.
- phillip wills, McEwen, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-12 2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 2003 Illusion Blue Wing that I loved, but someone decided to run me over and total the bike so I bought a new one. My wife loves to go with and after a short trip to Des Moines for the Wing Ding, we traveled with friends (who own a 2009 Wing) to the beautiful state of Colorado. We visited our son logging over 2,900 miles through all kinds of weather and road conditions. The Wing handled fantastic even with all the junk my wife hauled along. (May need to invest in a trailer!) Can't wait till the next trip!
- Daryl Love, Northwood, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-15 2006 Honda Gold Wing GL18HPN Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was a dream of mine to get. In March, 2006 I took delivery & have never been happier. Some annoying little things have happened. Foot Peg Rubber (Torn at edge twice) and the Trunk Hinges (Wire Holders). The Dunlop Tires didn't last long enough. Clearance in the center of the bike is too low. Plastic rivets are a nice idea but tend to lose a couple. Besides that all else is great. Center of gravity is always awesome on Honda's products. Handles super for me for such a large bike. Plenty of Torque. Wished it was a 6-speed though. It would improve gas mileage which is not bad right now. It ranges from 39-45 mpg depending on how I ride. Love it over all. Keep listening to the buyer & success will continue.
- DreamWing, Brooklyn, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-31 2005 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 1989 GL 1500 before I purchased my 2005 GL 1800. I personally love them both. I have nothing but good things to say about my 05 and as of this writing I know of nothing that even comes close to the feel of the "new" goldwing. There is NOT a finer bike made.
- Jeff Eberhart, Johnston City, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-14 2009 Honda Gold Wing Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last Honda was a 1978 750 Supersport I took to Alaska from New Mexico. This one's like driving a luxury auto on two wheels. Tuck in the XM with weather report and it's a load of fun. Looking forward to many trips and riding hours.
- George E, Barnegat , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: