Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-05-21 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is good if you like straight line performance, but it lacks agility through the twisties. The real power begins in second gear above 3,000 rpms. Then the fun begins with its 10,000 rpm. redline. This is not a beginner's bike and makes a great collectable.
- Mercman2, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-19 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my '84 Sabre due to knee surgery. It was the only time I was truly sad to sell a motorcycle. All the rest were just machines to enjoy and use. But the Big Sabre did everything. It was an excellent commuting machine with power and maneuverability in traffic. It made long high-speed rides effortless, and was a joy in the twisties. Sure there are other bikes that do each of these things better. But none that do them ALL so well. The V-4 engine has it's quirks, but once you know them, maintenance is pretty easy and inexpensive. The engine puts out less vibration than other engine motorcycle engine I know. It is rigidly mounted to the frame, but the bike has very little vibration, and the grips don't shake. When my knee recovers, I'll be looking for another one.
- Andrew A., Mt Juliet, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-29 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 84 VF100 V65 Sabre in 2005. At the time I wasn't aware of just HOW powerful this bike is. I like the standard position. I'm a big guy and this is a big, tall bike. At 6'1", I can just put both feet flat on the ground when stopped. It's top heavy, but with my size I find I can throw it around ok. As I mentioned this bike has POWER. Most bikes have a distinct power band (good low end torque, or power that doesn't really kick in until you hit 4-5k rpm). Not this bike. This bike had tons of smooth power in every gear at every rpm. It's seamless. Just twist the throttle and accelerate as fast and hard as you want, for as long as you want. A true muscle bike. The only downside is the lack of a windscreen/fairing (they are out there, I just don't have one). At about 70 mph you have to hold on for dear life. And 70 mph comes quick!
- KH, Jersey Shore, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-04 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '84 used with 1600 miles on it back in '86. It has a terrific power band that doesn't care what gear it's in. It is a HEAVY bike and with a long wheelbase, so it has to be muscled in the twisties. Absolutely no engine/oil issues (use Mobil 1). I've ridden several times up to Idaho (800+ miles) and now the bike uses about a pint of oil. Not bad. It still runs strong. It has been/continues to be a great bike. GO HONDA!!!
- Dave in the desert, Glendale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-22 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was an incredible deal. I found it used with only 10,000 miles on it. It was like brand new. It has features that most bikes don't come with today, such as; gear indicator, self canceling turn signals, two way adjustable handlebars, altimeter, and voltmeter. This bike is incredibly quick for a 1985. It is capable of 150MPH plus, I have done 140 MPH and it just flies like a bat out of hell. It is very comfortable for long distance rides. It out-accelerates, out-climbs, out-handles and out-lasts every Harley-Davidson on the road. In fact, I've ridden a few new ST1300's that are not as fun as this machine. It would be nice if Honda would re-introduce this machine, but they would probably cost at least $25,000.00 if they re-created it with the same standards today.
- Kevin Nichols, Littleton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-21 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one powerful motor , great brakes, suspension is comfortable, the anti-dive front end works great just a super bike
- JBB, MACON, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-19 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1984 Honda V65 Sabre I have owned this bike for 18 years. Many great trips in the California sierras.28,000 miles and I am days away from doing all of the highway 49. There has never beem a time that this great bike has let me down. It's hard to explain the feeling riding this bike at speed. Strong and stable. One of Honda's super machines...
- John Yost, Sunnyvale, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-19 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned six goldwings, and many other Honda's and not to mention one V65 Magna and three V65 Sabre's. You really can't compair this bike with many others. I love the awsome acceleration. With the factory fairing this is the perfect 100hp+ sport touring bike you can ask for. excellent fuel range (220 miles). I loved the wheelies the Magna was capable of, take it to 9,000 rpm and dump the cluth in third and hang on! I didn't like the seating position. It was easily fixed with a sleeping bag to lean against!V65's don't run right unless you adjust the valves and synch the carbs together during tune-ups. I restored my Magna from six milk crates and it took me six months taking my time and I loved every moment of it. I now have a 84 with 24,000 miles on it, I had to drive almost a thousand miles to get a perfect bike-worth every penny!!
- JLZ, San Jacinto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-27 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'v only riden two bikes and this is one of them. With the hondaline faring this bike fits all my needs. i ride it back and forth to work everyday from march thru october, and plan to take a 3000 mile trip this summer. It is very fast and nothing can match its versatility.
- chad, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-26 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Powerful, very stable at high speeds. Good gas mileage and reliable. You better hang on when you crank on the throttle on the highway because it will absolutely scare the pants off you. Has good bottom end power also if you like to run around at low rpm. I've owned about 30 bikes. Sporster, Harley Knucklehead, Flathead, Panhead, Indians, Triumphs and multiple rice burners and this is the best of em all.
- Wes Wilhite, Caldwell, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-17 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden every day for the last three year; it is my primary transportation. It handles well in rain, sun, heat and cold. Given not much more than rudimentary maintenance, this thing has taken everything I could throw at it. Gets up and goes from any gear, corners pretty good and takes my 240 lbs. around effortlessly. Riding this has been an absolute pleasure. I am sold FOREVER on big bikes. Doesn't vibrate much, like other bikes I've ridden.
- Raz, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-07 1984 Honda VF1100S V65 Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My mechanic asked to make positive I knew just what a monster I was buying. Seventy MPH in 1st, with five more gears to go. 180-MPH speed rated Dunlop's, as wide as I could put on it. Docile around town, untouchable on the highways, and eats Corvettes just because it's fun dashing their ego's! Someone asked me the bikes "power-band; I said "it starts in 1st when you put it in gear and only stops when you run out of nerve. Not that I like my bike of course. This is my eleventh bike. I started riding at thirteen, I'm still crazy. I also have a '79 CBX, and a '80 CB750F-SS. All three are perfect. With the V65 Saber, you can really hurt yourself if you are not a good rider. It WILL get out from under you.
- George, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: