Honda VF500F Intercepter Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VF500F Intercepter Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VF500F Intercepter Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-10-13 1986 Honda VF500F Intercepter Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I paid $1000 for my '84 Interceptor VF500F, and it's turned out to be the best investment I've ever made. I took this bike to college, and it's become my primary transportation (even in winter). When I bought it, it ran but had carb trouble. After a good cleaning, it hasn't given me trouble since. I can take this bike on the highway, stoplight to stoplight, the race track, you name it, this bike will do it. It absorbs every bit of abuse, and only asks for more. In 3 years of cold starts and hot starts, it has never failed to fire up on the first cranking. Even on a cold day, it warms up in about 30 seconds, and then the choke is off. On hot days it never overheats either with the liquid cooling. The bike is very, very narrow, very nimble, and surprisingly fast. I don't know that it will keep up with a GSXR600, but it will actually come fairly close. The powerband is huge, from about 6-13K at the redline, which makes gear shifting optional most of the time. The brakes are superb, and handling is great also. I've owned several bikes, but none of them have had the "do anything, go anywhere" confidence of the little Interceptor. It will do all of this while running circles around its 500cc stable mates (Suzuki GS500E and Kawasaki Ninja 500). It may not be a race bike, but it'll do about 130mph on flat land, and I'd say 0-60 in under 4 seconds. Will it beat the 600's on a race track? No, probably not. But if you need to run to the grocery store on a cold day, it'll be warmed up there by the time the other bikes are out of the driveway. This is a wonderful little bike, and if you have the chance to get one I'd strongly recommend it. It'll be a shame if Honda ever abandons the V-4 engine. (Another great thing, the 500 isn't bothered by the cam issues of the 750 and 1000 model). Anyways, this bike does anything, goes anywhere, gets there fast, and does so with minimal maintenance.
- Tim K., kansas city, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-16 1986 Honda VF500F Intercepter Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own an 86 VF500, and got it for $1500! Needless to say it was a steal. Low miles, runs great, handles great, looks great. An excellent lane-splitting/commuter due to narrow width, lightweight, and maneuverability. I am currently running Avon tires and happy with them. Funny how current 500 models out there still look pretty much like this old bike. "If it's not broke..."
- Geo, Pacifica, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-08 1986 Honda VF500F Intercepter Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 1986 VF500 Intercepter for 4 yrs when I went to college in No Cal. Commuted in the rain in all. This is a great bike if your height isn't over 6ft. I have installed a size larger/flatter tires both in front & in rear, and it still did 125 m/h. I did all the routine plugs check & change, filters, oil, and chain lube. No mechanical trouble what so ever. My roommate bought a 1986 Ninja 600, so we got to swap our bikes frequently. VF 500 has a bit weaker brakes, rides a bit tall (catches wind), and less torque (I think). If you see them on sale. Grab it.
- whatdoyouride, loma linda, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-16 1986 Honda VF500F Intercepter Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my intercepter last year then got activated to go to war. When I got back I got it registered and rode from my house in SLC Utah to my girlfriends in victorville CA like 650 miles. It was the best trip I have ever had besides the frequent fuel stops I had no complaints. I love this bike!
- Tony Kuhlmann, Draper, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-13 1986 Honda VF500F Intercepter Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I honestly cannot imagine being happier with a purchase. I just bought an 84 VF500f Interceptor, and I've found out that all those wonderful things I've read are true. These pocket rockets can be had cheap these days, so get one before they're a memory. Fast like a 500 can't be, handles likes it's on rails. Flickable to the extreme. Powerband is amazingly broad and useful, no need to fart around with gear changes in the twisties, just flick and roll. If you can find the VF500f magazine review from 84, read it, it's perfectly on target. I hope to own a VFR800FI someday, but I'll be keeping the miniceptor for the twisties- I love this bike!
- Bill Pitz, Harwich, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-12 1986 Honda VF500F Intercepter Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, this is actually for the 1984 version, but I assume the 86 is much the same. I bought my bike 3 years ago, and I have put over 6000km a year on it. It now has over 60000km. My friend was afraid to buy it because of stories about problems, but this bike has been solid, even with my abuse (burnouts, crashes, etc.) I've only had to change the tires and repaint it, plus I took off the heavy stock mufflers and put on a couple of Supertrapps (note to owners: these are extremely cheap now, contact the Supertrapp people before they are all gone!) This bike is really fast for its size (top speed 126mph), but more importantly it is great fun and a bargain. On top of that, you get to be part of a legend, these bikes sold out of every dealer's showroom when they first came out. don't be afraid to take a chance on a higher mileage Interceptor, they are great for long trips (mine took me on a 700km summer drive this year). To see a pic of mine, visit www.geocities.com/interceptor_84
- speed merchant, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-29 1986 Honda VF500F Intercepter Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently purchased this bike. I intially speculated a 500cc would be underpowered, but riding this bike proved me wrong. It is well balanced and gentle in the lower rpms, and non-disappointing from about 6,000 rpm upward. While it will not out perform today's bigger brother, it will also not be left behind. For the age, the fit and finish are amazing. Factory three color paint scheme, air adjustable front and rear suspension, liquid cooled V-4, and 6 speed transmission make it an enjoyable and affordable ride.
- S.Lewis, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 1986 Honda VF500F Intercepter Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle. I rode it for eight weeks before having to store it for the winter, which came all to soon. During those eight weeks I put nearly 3kmi miles on it. it is an extremely affordable bike, usually a good bargain. Have done a couple 200+ mile days on it and had no problem with being uncomfortable on it. only complaint is that the gas tank is rather small so it limits your range and requires some planning for refueling on long hauls. The bike is quick, I often rode with a '98 vfr interceptor, and the 500 interceptor cannot be embarrassed. It's great on corners, it can be laid down quite easily with out a problem because of how slim the bike is, and always steady through the corner. It's a PERFECT first bike and then some. I strongly recommend for anyone, a cheap dose of fun with limited funds and wants a entry to the sport bike market.
- Jeff, North Country, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-24 1986 Honda VF500F Intercepter Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Honda VF500F Interceptor is so cheap now, and still such an incredibly well engineered machine, it's a real bargain. The motor is a V4, 500cc. Because of this configuration, the mass is very centered between the rider's legs and the wheels. As a consequence, the bike is unbelievably nimble. You can toss it around like a rag doll, but it never makes a mis-step in the corners. Fast, smooth, well-finished, it's a pint-sized giant-killer. On tight back roads, even today's most modern sportbikes can't embarrass the VF500F.
- Marion, Washington, DC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: